wah.. ask mi to b white mice ar... lol:sweat: bt i thinkin wanna go k&t or gh do... i get to find out tat 1 set of jetting & flood cost about $50+... 4 sets = $200++... muz save up alot 1st.. muz wait for next month pay le... :cheers:
what is wrong with yours? thought you just service your carb?
  • Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

what is wrong with yours? thought you just service your carb?

huh?? wat u mean?? tat time they juz normal service din change any parts...

o smoke pay smoke.. united we grow

1st: FT5705R nsr 150 sp 2nd: FT5043S nsr 150 sp

3rd: FZ9167K yamaha x1 4th: FP5793G s4 vs

5th: FBA2925P cbr 600 rr 6th: FBA7389D yamaha x1

7th: FT8373U nsr 150 sp 8th: FM1102T gsxr 400

9th: FS783C s4vtec 10th: F*3*B yamaha yzf r6

11th: FN3643E cbr 400 rr now: FBD5**8E yamaha x1r

huh?? wat u mean?? tat time they juz normal service din change any parts...
icic... so when you doing? if you do @ k&t, let me know abt it. cosidering doing it up but still dont know go where do.

hmm... ok... bt mi maself oso thinking wher shou i go... wait tilpay day den say...:dozed:

no matter where u guys go...give a review bout it man..lol..anyway..ben...k&t carb servicing not very zai...they don't really do a good job cleaning the carb..but no doubt their tuning is solid =)

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

no matter where u guys go...give a review bout it man..lol..anyway..ben...k&t carb servicing not very zai...they don't really do a good job cleaning the carb..but no doubt their tuning is solid =)
you & jelly eh. 1 say gh not so gd, 1 say k&t not very zai. like that how eh?? :faint:

haha...go to a bikeshop that do a good job cleaning..then go k&t to tune...$_$

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

huh?? izit....:dozed: stress sia...

haha... gd thing about gh is they wont ask u to change if thier feel it still can b use... eg: mine coolant pump slight leaking bt they din ask mi to change bt leak until coolant empty.. bt think wil go back to gh to change mine carb parts... hope they do a nice job...

wah... like tat waste alot of money sia...$$$$ bt can give an example how gd is k&t tuning?? ride veri smooth?? save petrol?? or...?? sori ar i ask alot...

haha... gd thing about gh is they wont ask u to change if thier feel it still can b use... eg: mine coolant pump slight leaking bt they din ask mi to change bt leak until coolant empty.. bt think wil go back to gh to change mine carb parts... hope they do a nice job...

wah... like tat waste alot of money sia...$$$$ bt can give an example how gd is k&t tuning?? ride veri smooth?? save petrol?? or...?? sori ar i ask alot...:angel:

yeah..and sometimes guan hoe will touch up ur bike for u for free..and the workmanship fee is very reasonable unlike some bike shops...if u service ur carb and guan hoe..tell us how much u spend k...anyway...K&T tuning is good in the sense that they will check ur air-fuel ratio...they will stick this sensor into ur exhaust pipe and measure the amount of CO and CO2 discharged..other bike shops usually they just use the carb tuner and thats it...and after tuning ur bike..ur ride will be smoother and idling will be more stable...u can feel the difference juz by listening to the idling sound..its like more rhythmic...u know some bikes their idling always fluctuates..as for whether it will save ur petrol or not...hmm..it depends on how ur bike was tuned the previous time?..lol...if last time was terrible..then i think u'll see the difference =)

Slow rider lives longer

yeah..and sometimes guan hoe will touch up ur bike for u for free..and the workmanship fee is very reasonable unlike some bike shops...if u service ur carb and guan hoe..tell us how much u spend k...anyway...K&T tuning is good in the sense that they will check ur air-fuel ratio...they will stick this sensor into ur exhaust pipe and measure the amount of CO and CO2 discharged..other bike shops usually they just use the carb tuner and thats it...and after tuning ur bike..ur ride will be smoother and idling will be more stable...u can feel the difference juz by listening to the idling sound..its like more rhythmic...u know some bikes their idling always fluctuates..as for whether it will save ur petrol or not...hmm..it depends on how ur bike was tuned the previous time?..lol...if last time was terrible..then i think u'll see the difference =)
but just to let them tune only cost $40!

jelly, tell u wat lah, you go ask k&t if 2 bikes tune, got cheaper anot lah. hahaha.

oo.. ok... thanx...

jelly, tell u wat lah, you go ask k&t if 2 bikes tune, got cheaper anot lah. hahaha.

haha... hmm... mayb can try ar.... lol..

Bro there are more to tuning than just going to the shop and let the machine(and mechanic) do the work. Kinda hard for me to explain it here so if you got the free time just read through this article http://www.cyclewerksracing.com/Carb%20Tuuning.htm#n

Go under "Tuning Gauges". All bike shops use tuning gauges with AF(air fuel) ratio meter and EGT (exhaust-gas-temperature) gauge(the one K&T use to put inside your exhaust). But these tuning equipments are secondary. The most important thing in carb tuning is to "wash" the carb, replace the jets (fuel and air) as well as the floats. A good mechanic is required to position all the floats in such a way that all are synchronise in a same angle. Only when all the parts inside the carburetor are replaced only then the bike can be tuned to maximise its full potential. Hope this helps :thumb:

I don't think can get cheaper bro. I asked before got me and five others wanna do tuning(the first time I got my G4 was still a noob then) still charge S$40 a bike.

Bro there are more to tuning than just going to the shop and let the machine(and mechanic) do the work. Kinda hard for me to explain it here so if you got the free time just read through this article http://www.cyclewerksracing.com/Carb%20Tuuning.htm#n

Go under "Tuning Gauges". All bike shops use tuning gauges with AF(air fuel) ratio meter and EGT (exhaust-gas-temperature) gauge(the one K&T use to put inside your exhaust). But these tuning equipments are secondary. The most important thing in carb tuning is to "wash" the carb, replace the jets (fuel and air) as well as the floats. A good mechanic is required to position all the floats in such a way that all are synchronise in a same angle. Only when all the parts inside the carburetor are replaced only then the bike can be tuned to maximise its full potential. Hope this helps :thumb:

I don't think can get cheaper bro. I asked before got me and five others wanna do tuning(the first time I got my G4 was still a noob then) still charge S$40 a bike.

hmm..so which bikeshop has got mechanic that can do such a good job?...got any recommendation?

Slow rider lives longer

hmm..so which bikeshop has got mechanic that can do such a good job?...got any recommendation?

Depends on yourself. I do my full service, carb wash and tuning etc at He Xin a motor shop at Caltex petrol kiosk along Braddell Road beside SPC. IMO the mechanic does a very good job however he works alone as such he will need 1 day to do full service. Ah Keong his name.

hmm... so normally how much u spend?? like changin tat jetting & float?? gh told mi no ned to change all e jetting & float de... onli change if its spoil... stress sia... dunnoe wher to go sia... scare kana chop, scare nvr do a gd job, scare alot of things sia...:dozed:

aiya, go gh lo. they may have 3mth warranty. "may ah", i dont know!!:angel:

Hi guys, i personally do up my bike at k&t when i took over this bike (from joshli) 4 months back. As my bike FC is very low - like 160+km before reserve, went there to service and tune. Their servicing is not that detailed like what Gr4vity said. For me, tuning will feel the lil' bit of difference. Pipe tuning only $40, he will advise you to take carb and pipe tuning which is like $80.

My main purpose is to solve my fuel consumption problem so they told me to change my 4 rubber insulator and 4 o rings (as they are worn off) which cost me around $150+, do carb and pipe tuning for about $80+, change air filter, and doing up the little stuffs like changing all spark plugs and engine oil then my FC will be better. Spent $300+ there but seems like my FC only up by abit. To be precise, run 180 must on reserve. So went back there questioning. Was told i've to do more stuffs like changing all the pins in the carb and all the clutch plates which will cost $5xx.

Wasn't quite satisfied as i expect them to tell me to do up everything together and they shouldnt say by doing all that i listed above, my FC will be greatly improved. Hence i don't know whether i should proceed to change my pins with them as their pricing is abit expensive and im afraid i won't get to see the result after spending another $500+ again.

The thing which i don't really like is - As my FC is still very low, they re-tune it but seems like after the 2nd tuning, my bike totally lost power after i rode. I went back there and clarify. Was told that if wanna improve my FC, bike performance will not be like last time. They didn't even tell me they gonna tune my bike to be petrol saving when i prefer my bike to be powerful. I rather pay more for petrol man. Immediately i told them to tune back to previously as my bike performance and power meant more to me.

Didn't went back there since then.. what i can say that maybe in terms of servicing not that detailed and their parts are abit more expensive. I guess they don't really know much about our GSXR, but they did up a good job with my friends RVF. They're very famous with RVFs.

Hmmm, you can try to tune your bike there as i believe they're the only one or few that have the tuning machine. Pipe tuning will not be enough, they will tell you to do the carb together to see the difference. So overall be prepared to spend $80+. Btw, the boss, clifford is quite a friendly chap to talk to, but most likely i won't be going back there again.

Just my experience !

I think about S$200-S$250. That was like last year july. After which every 5000km or 3 months(whichever comes earlier) just change sparkplug and engine oil.

Hi guys, i personally do up my bike at k&t when i took over this bike (from joshli) 4 months back. As my bike FC is very low - like 160+km before reserve, went there to service and tune. Their servicing is not that detailed like what Gr4vity said. For me, tuning will feel the lil' bit of difference. Pipe tuning only $40, he will advise you to take carb and pipe tuning which is like $80.

My main purpose is to solve my fuel consumption problem so they told me to change my 4 rubber insulator and 4 o rings (as they are worn off) which cost me around $150+, do carb and pipe tuning for about $80+, change air filter, and doing up the little stuffs like changing all spark plugs and engine oil then my FC will be better. Spent $300+ there but seems like my FC only up by abit. To be precise, run 180 must on reserve. So went back there questioning. Was told i've to do more stuffs like changing all the pins in the carb and all the clutch plates which will cost $5xx.

Wasn't quite satisfied as i expect them to tell me to do up everything together and they shouldnt say by doing all that i listed above, my FC will be greatly improved. Hence i don't know whether i should proceed to change my pins with them as their pricing is abit expensive and im afraid i won't get to see the result after spending another $500+ again.

The thing which i don't really like is - As my FC is still very low, they re-tune it but seems like after the 2nd tuning, my bike totally lost power after i rode. I went back there and clarify. Was told that if wanna improve my FC, bike performance will not be like last time. They didn't even tell me they gonna tune my bike to be petrol saving when i prefer my bike to be powerful. I rather pay more for petrol man. Immediately i told them to tune back to previously as my bike performance and power meant more to me.

Didn't went back there since then.. what i can say that maybe in terms of servicing not that detailed and their parts are abit more expensive. I guess they don't really know much about our GSXR, but they did up a good job with my friends RVF. They're very famous with RVFs.

Hmmm, you can try to tune your bike there as i believe they're the only one or few that have the tuning machine. Pipe tuning will not be enough, they will tell you to do the carb together to see the difference. So overall be prepared to spend $80+. Btw, the boss, clifford is quite a friendly chap to talk to, but most likely i won't be going back there again.

Just my experience !

Whoa you already spent S$300 on what you described as "full servicing"

to me. S$150+ for just 4 insulators and 4 o-rings? Glad to hear you won't be going back there again. A quite costly lesson learnt.

with air filter i think. Yup its costly i know. i actually hesistate but since they opened up and wanna tune my bike, i just have to go with it.

Edited by Lane
aiya, go gh lo. they may have 3mth warranty. "may ah", i dont know!!:angel:

hmm... ya.. shou b goin back gh on monday morning... any1 wanna tag along...??

Just my experience !

wah... heard u like tat say kinda stress for mi oso... pending.......

eh i dun get it. so many things done to bike for pwr etc but no track junkies here? :(

comecome. someone organise a trip down lei

cool bro... i goin track in aug wit mine frenz for e 1st time... im all ready...:cheeky: woohoo... goin to try & play....:thumb::cheers:

hmm... ya.. shou b goin back gh on monday morning... any1 wanna tag along...??

wah... heard u like tat say kinda stress for mi oso... pending.......

cool bro... i goin track in aug wit mine frenz for e 1st time... im all ready...:cheeky: woohoo... goin to try & play....:thumb::cheers:

what time are u going down..if i can wake up in time..i'll make my way down..u doing ur carb?

Just my experience !

wah..now they separate carb tuning and pipe tuning?...last time it used to be together for $40 man...i think if u want to try improve ur fuel consumption/change o-rings + insulators..u can try going down to guan hoe...coz their parts $$ not as ex as k&t and their workmanship fee is more reasonable..no promise though..but of coz..i doubt u'll need to change them any time soon since u juz changed everything :thumb: anyway..did clifford test ride ur bike after he tune it?..usually he'll do that

Slow rider lives longer