haha den mine more simple..3bolt nut.keke

yah..of coz for those i noe gt discount lah.agar agar wun be more den $20 bah..u guys can check for me how much the shop quote for tis service?

yah tonite 10.30pm hor...gonna perform wheelie wif freehand* :p

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

hello peeps,

just bought a gsxr400 and overall speaking i think its a good purchase. pleased to join you guys as well (hope im in the right thread though).

however, there are a few basic things i wanna ask for basic maintenance stuff and i know they're not properly phrased, but just help wherever u can =D

1. i noticed there is no fuel gauge on the gsxr400, im fine with that but i just need to know how far it can go on a full tank.

2. still on the fuel gauge thing- no way one can be installed on the gsxr400?

3. my bike before this is an sp and the idling screw is easily located- where is the idling screw for the gsxr400?

4. issit just me or does the gsxr perform poorly at low speeds? my 3/4/5 gear seems to be travelling at the nearly the same range of speed, but when it hits 6th gear, it seems like i can throttle it forever without really hitting 'resistance'.

5. had alot of feedback from friends saying that gsxr400 is a problematic bike, particularly in terms of wiring. i hope you guys can give me some examples of what they are.

thanks alot guys.

Sep'04 - Nov'05 (1yr, 2mths): NSR150SP (FR2577Z)

Nov'05 - Dec'06 (1yr, 1mths): GSX400R (FJ6410L)

Dec'06 - Sep'08 (1yr, 9mths): CBR929RR (FS3851U)

Sep'08 - Mar'12 (3yr, 5mths): TA200 (FV4581B)

Mar'12 - ???????????????????: GL200R (FBE5662G)

Originally posted by okl@Nov 11 2005, 06:23 PM

hello peeps,

just bought a gsxr400 and overall speaking i think its a good purchase. pleased to join you guys as well (hope im in the right thread though).

however, there are a few basic things i wanna ask for basic maintenance stuff and i know they're not properly phrased, but just help wherever u can =D

1. i noticed there is no fuel gauge on the gsxr400, im fine with that but i just need to know how far it can go on a full tank.

2. still on the fuel gauge thing- no way one can be installed on the gsxr400?

3. my bike before this is an sp and the idling screw is easily located- where is the idling screw for the gsxr400?

4. had alot of feedback from friends saying that gsxr400 is a problematic bike, particularly in terms of wiring. i hope you guys can give me some examples of what they are.

thanks alot guys.

halo okl,

welcome to the fantasy of G4.

let me help up of ur question...

1.the average fc for g4 is ard230-270km(17liter)* n reserve can go up to 30km.actualli for g4 its eazi to check...u can juz open the tank cap.if drain tat mean its time to pump*

2.yes..its possible...but its not worth it as u noe ur bike FC. :smile:

3.the idling in juz below/under the oiltank..u juz place ur hand inside between carb n oiltank...try to feel.u gt wat i mean?

4.as tis bike is more den 10yr old...of coz gt prob..but depend how u ride.honestly it quite hard to find a gd condition G4.

most common prob is-rectifier,starter,wiring,cdi(if u suay*)

as long as u change ur EO on time n wear n tear stuff..shouldnt b a prob...do ask if u still need any help.Enjoy ur ride... :thumb: burn the rubber nt ur soul

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by IceZ@Nov 11 2005, 06:38 PM

halo okl,

1.the average fc for g4 is ard230-270km(17liter)* n reserve can go up to 30km.actualli for g4 its eazi to check...u can juz open the tank cap.if drain tat mean its time to pump*

2.yes..its possible...but its not worth it as u noe ur bike FC. :smile:

3.the idling in juz below/under the oiltank..u juz place ur hand inside between carb n oiltank...try to feel.u gt wat i mean?

4.as tis bike is more den 10yr old...of coz gt prob..but depend how u ride.honestly it quite hard to find a gd condition G4.

as long as u change ur EO on time n wear n tear stuff..shouldnt b a prob...do ask if u still need any help.Enjoy ur ride... :thumb: burn the rubber nt ur soul

:thumb: i really respect this guy man. he is always there to ans question.

chris also will ans. but chris recently abit sian liao. :cheeky: haha maybe becoz of exam stress :mad:

QUOTE (IceZ @ Nov 11 2005, 06:38 PM)

halo okl,

2.yes..its possible...but its not worth it as u noe ur bike FC.

as long as u change ur EO on time n wear n tear stuff..shouldnt b a prob...do ask if u still need any help.Enjoy ur ride... burn the rubber nt ur soul

Originally posted by paiseh@Nov 11 2005, 06:45 PM

:thumb: i really respect this guy man. he is always there to ans question.

chris also will ans. but chris recently abit sian liao. :cheeky: haha maybe becoz of exam stress :mad:

How cum not much of my qns is being answr??:sian: :confused: :cry: :cry: :mad:

Originally posted by Wilson_cool@Nov 11 2005, 12:52 AM

QUOTE (S750WP @ Nov 10 2005, 11:59 PM)

$65 inclusive of everything, gasket and coolant as well, I think its cheaper than own self DIY. Basically the shims hardly worn out, its reusable, so Guan Hoe just swap the correct shim size from his workshop with your bike to get the correct spec.

The shim if you buy on your own cost $8 per shim, imagine a total of 16 shims on the G4. The valve cover gasket already cost $38 and coolant change somemore leh. $65 is very worth spending.

I'll be doing mine next month, as I'll going U.S for a week then.

Izzit becos you know the lao ban that y so cheap if not i also wanna go and do leh......Anyone can tell me where and their number cos all i know you guys always mention is somewher in paya lebar industrial but eactly wher is not much mention...

:sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

wah.. once again, the place seems to be bustling with activities... so sianzz.. every day in camp once in a while come out onli see so many activities... when will i ORD???? sorry guys :offtopic: hope u guys don mind my crap hahhaa...

i think i will be going over to planet soon again... maybe this couple of weeks... anyone keen to go also.?? haha maybe can meet up and go together or mit there...

Originally posted by mickccm@Nov 11 2005, 07:42 PM

wah.. once again, the place seems to be bustling with activities... so sianzz.. every day in camp once in a while come out onli see so many activities... when will i ORD???? sorry guys :offtopic: hope u guys don mind my crap hahhaa...

i think i will be going over to planet soon again... maybe this couple of weeks... anyone keen to go also.?? haha maybe can meet up and go together or mit there...

i might be going there too...

darn it! pillion seat stuck and left radiator fan not working..

Originally posted by IceZ@Nov 11 2005, 06:17 PM

haha den mine more simple..3bolt nut.keke

yah..of coz for those i noe gt discount lah.agar agar wun be more den $20 bah..u guys can check for me how much the shop quote for tis service?

yah tonite 10.30pm hor...gonna perform wheelie wif freehand* :p

how abt stoppie without brake?

juz now riding back ........realise the lights on my speedometer , temp gauge n rpm meter dun have........den suddenly on pie rpm meter got light again ......the rest dun have.........anybody can engligten me??? bulb fuse?????

when one door of happiness closes,another opens but often we took so long to look at the closed door that we dont see the one which has been opened for us

Originally posted by Addictive@Nov 11 2005, 07:48 PM

i might be going there too...

darn it! pillion seat stuck and left radiator fan not working..

hey, when u going?? let mi know lor.. i see if i can make it too... this week most prob can't coz on standby... don wan later go half way then kena recall... then sianzzz liao.. hai~ bobi don kena call back....

Originally posted by bubuunited@Nov 12 2005, 02:01 AM

how do u wheelie wif g4?anyone experience enuf to pass down ur skills?

rev to 8k rpm throw clutch, when front wheel lifts off, try to maintain ur throttle control.

this is when it is stationary. when it is on the move.. hmm.. not quite possible

Originally posted by paiseh@Nov 12 2005, 03:09 AM

rev to 8k rpm throw clutch, when front wheel lifts off, try to maintain ur throttle control.

this is when it is stationary. when it is on the move.. hmm.. not quite possible

rev to 8rpm?u mean if i maintain throttle...the bike will wheelie all the way?can go gear 2 when on wheelie or not?

Originally posted by bubuunited@Nov 12 2005, 04:30 AM

rev to 8rpm?u mean if i maintain throttle...the bike will wheelie all the way?can go gear 2 when on wheelie or not?

canot, u clutch in change gear immediately the bike loses the torque and it will fall.

Originally posted by paiseh@Nov 12 2005, 05:05 AM

canot, u clutch in change gear immediately the bike loses the torque and it will fall.

but i eva saw ppl do b4 wheelie few hundred metres changing gears.how do u do it den?depend on the bike type issit?

ani 1 here fix air horn ?

where u place the horn ?

where u get the horn done?

i gt airhorn liao but dunno where can fix on this bike leh... if put beside the side fairing, i heard it will melt...

http://www.fyc-concepts.com/

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

but u got da bracket anot?? below da pic where i circled red colour is where i placed my stebel horns... maybe u can take a look. U also can go bikeworkz there install... da boss say can. I got mine my fixed at LAB.

Place there da horn wont melt wan.. coz its away from the carb and engine. U wanna placed it at ur stock position which is below ur sai tao or fork also can.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by bubuunited@Nov 12 2005, 05:32 AM

but i eva saw ppl do b4 wheelie few hundred metres changing gears.how do u do it den?depend on the bike type issit?

hmm.. tat one i not to sure. i heard tat b4, myself nv tried b4, also never see b4.

but for G4, tats wat i experienced. :sweat:

Originally posted by sp rider 06@Nov 12 2005, 01:55 AM

juz now riding back ........realise the lights on my speedometer , temp gauge n rpm meter dun have........den suddenly on pie rpm meter got light again ......the rest dun have.........anybody can engligten me??? bulb fuse?????

your meter bulb spoil liao le lah... u can take out n see for urself. :smile: the bulb only cost $1 each or lesser...

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by mark_kdx@Nov 10 2005, 08:10 PM

hi,i'm a newbie.....heard alot about G4.kind of interested in it and wanting to get newer ones rather than those older one..also ppl say that S4 can easily let G4 smell smoke,issit true?.projectgsxr,u seem very knowledgeable bout bikes,r u a mech?just asking cos curious...just my 2 cents :)

G4 itself is an old bike i must admit. but with TLC and luck, u can get one that is worth its while..

I'm not a mech and I'm not very knowledgeable.. There are many out there who are much more knowledgeable than me. I'll help where i can.. I'm still a learner... I'm still learning every min..

abt ur G4 and S4, both has got their limits. Both are designed to work differently.. Smoke out here and there, There will still be other bikes that come along and overtake u.

I presume u havent heard a Honda wave track time faster than R1? not that any bike sucks butt its the rider's skill. There are many factors to consider...

hope this ans ur qn? peace! :smile:

Brocks Rocks!!!! Best for Kawa.

What is power without control?...

Give Up Riding! :pity:

Originally posted by Wilson_cool@Nov 11 2005, 12:52 AM

Izzit becos you know the lao ban that y so cheap if not i also wanna go and do leh......Anyone can tell me where and their number cos all i know you guys always mention is somewher in paya lebar industrial but eactly wher is not much mention...:sian: :confused: :giddy:

blk 1043 paya lebar ind park 01-148 or is it 150, its the corner shop. there is a temple diagonally opp it.

Originally posted by sp rider 06@Nov 12 2005, 01:55 AM

Go to Dunlop St. there is a back alley once u enter dunlop St. There is a motor shop called Mah Motor. there will be a fat uncle (mech) ask him abt it. he will sell u. I got mine at $1, think u can bargain if u buy 3, fuel gauge can change also.

Ah boy selling on for $0.50 but always fuse one.