hi..planning to upgrade 2A

still cant choose between cbr n gxr

so wanna ask a few Qs...

how much in total did u spend on ur bike $$$$/total yr u riding the bike??(dun count the machine n insure count onli maintaince)

did u regret getting that bike ??

any thing u dun like ab the bike ??ex. viabrate alot ..handle hot..etc etc..

thanks !!

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by TnT@Jan 14 2006, 06:57 PM

Singapore Bikes Forum Anniversary 2005

Date: 14 / 15 Jan 2006

Timing: Saturday 14/01/06 from 10am to 6pm, till Sunday 15/01/06 from 10am till 12pm

Venue: Marina South Car Park B

SingaporeBikes.com will be celebrating our 4th anniversary in the year 2006. They have arranged a carnival for 2 days to be held in Marina South Carpark B on the 14th and 15th of January.

There will be a designer Backpack Bag to be given out as gifts during the 2 day event. Quantity is limited so early bird secures!

Any guys & gers wanna go?

Lets set it on Sunday as most of us in here will off.

Date: Sunday 15 Jan 2006

Time: 10.30am

1) TnT aka Peter

2) alex (sun noon)

3) Evil_Twin

4) Xue

5) Arcfire

6) Addictive aka Nan

7) Ivan

8) JOe

9) Tianhao

10) Kevin (if no rain)

11) Icez

12) Mick

13) Shawn

14) ah_kiat

15) ktkt

Note: Guys, try not to be late. At 10am, STOC guys will be meeting at Kallang KFC also. So there will be few other gps which are meeting there also. Expected movement to Marina South Car Park B will be 11am sharp. Thanks.

Can't fixed up my dirt bike in time.... So local ride!

Anyone wanna go into 2nd link after the Fair?

Bring passport/cash card along.

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by daydream@Jan 14 2006, 10:18 PM

so wanna ask a few Qs...

how much in total did u spend on ur bike $$$$/total yr u riding the bike??(dun count the machine n insure count onli maintaince)

thanks !!

Rode for abt 9 mths liao, spent abt 1k which include cdi, clutch cable, servicing, new tires, 2 x full servicing(carb wash + seals and floats, airfilter, plugs engine oil etc), and etc i could not remember liao. Mostly wear and tear parts. Cannot expect much from a 10yrs old bike so its pretty fine. rather then u dun spent a single cent and suffer the fate of vehicle having problem every week/day or watever and getting yourself pissed off. So far, I very satisfied thou the amount i spent is not small, but at least i'm assured of the condition of my bike. Problem wise so far so good, for 2nd hand bike is more of like a game of luck. (machine price 2k + the 1k I'd spent) for a bike like my baby and I'm enjoying my ride. I always rem this sentence, U pay peanuts u get monkey so tt's the rational behind it.

Originally posted by daydream@Jan 14 2006, 10:18 PM

so wanna ask a few Qs...

thanks !!

Depends on the condition of the G4 you get, but I'm very fussy.

Servicing and repair

Engine oil change 3.2L - $48, DIY

Oil filter - $12, DIY

Fork oil, seal and front wheel bearing - $120, Seng Motor Hung

Clean and balance carburetor - $3, DIY

Front brake pads and fluid change - $47, DIY

Repair damage right brake caliper screw hole - $10, Perak Road

Flush radiator and change coolant - $22(redline water wetter + distilled water), DIY

Repair non working front and rear brake light - $0, DIY

Repair poor contact at starter switch - $3, DIY

Repair leaking valve cover - $31, DIY

Used parts purchase and replace

Head Fairing, Headlight, right brake disc, mirror, choke cable, clutch lever, brake lever, pillion foot rest, left and right rear set, spark plug coil set - $250

98' Katana750 rear shock upgrade - $165

Cosmetic

Sand and paint the rusty subframe - $2, DIY

Strip paint off rims - $12, DIY

Sand and spray rusty header with high temp paint - $8, DIY

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Hi folks.

How do u know if ur rear shock absorber is a goner?

I've never sat on a sportsbike prior to getting this G4 so really can't gauge.

I kinda bang bang my backside on the seat but somehow like no rebound? Is that because of settings or because it needs rebuilding?

And where is the choke leh?

I poke poke my finger inside the carb here and there until finger all black black but no choke leh? :confused:

U guys change ur battery every year? What are the symptoms that a battery is gonna get whacked soon?

Ok I know.. I kept asking about battery issues.. :sweat:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Singapore Bikes Forum Anniversary 2005

Date: 14 / 15 Jan 2006

Timing: Saturday 14/01/06 from 10am to 6pm, till Sunday 15/01/06 from 10am till 12pm

Venue: Marina South Car Park B

SingaporeBikes.com will be celebrating our 4th anniversary in the year 2006. They have arranged a carnival for 2 days to be held in Marina South Carpark B on the 14th and 15th of January.

There will be a designer Backpack Bag to be given out as gifts during the 2 day event. Quantity is limited so early bird secures!

Any guys & gers wanna go?

Lets set it on Sunday as most of us in here will off.

Date: Sunday 15 Jan 2006

Time: 10.30am

1) TnT aka Peter

2) alex (sun noon)

3) Evil_Twin

4) Xue

5) Arcfire

6) Addictive aka Nan

7) Ivan

8) JOe

9) Tianhao

10) Kevin (if no rain)

11) Icez

12) Mick

13) ah_kiat

14) ktkt

Note: Guys, try not to be late. At 10am, STOC guys will be meeting at Kallang KFC also. So there will be few other gps which are meeting there also. Expected movement to Marina South Car Park B will be 11am sharp. Thanks.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

think not joining already~~ enjoy guys!!

http://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_32.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_24.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_29.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_23.jpg
Originally posted by Naz@Jan 15 2006, 12:06 AM

Hi folks.

How do u know if ur rear shock absorber is a goner?

I've never sat on a sportsbike prior to getting this G4 so really can't gauge.

I kinda bang bang my backside on the seat but somehow like no rebound? Is that because of settings or because it needs rebuilding?

And where is the choke leh?

I poke poke my finger inside the carb here and there until finger all black black but no choke leh? :confused:

U guys change ur battery every year? What are the symptoms that a battery is gonna get whacked soon?

Ok I know.. I kept asking about battery issues.. :sweat:

How to gauge rear shock is a goner?

a. Oil leaking

b. Air leaking (N/A for G4)

c. Shock is not cushioning the road imperfections as intended.

d. Adnormal rear shock noise

For the original G4 shock, only the preload is adjustable. Not sure if it is rebound adjustable. Check your shock to confirm.

The choke activation mechanism is on the left hand swtich, attached to a cable connected to the carburetor choke pulley mechanism. Check to see if you have the cable or not.

Mine was removed when I got the bike, it was tune slightly rich so choke is not required to start the bike when cold, because the tab to hold the end of the cable has broken off, which is common for most G4 because its made of hard plastic. Unlike the bandit 400 and my gsxr750wp which use metal.

I bought a used choke cable and connected it to the left side switch then secure the end of the cable to the remaining of the broken tab on the carb with cable tie, it worked as it used to be. Later I'm gona to use hard wire to secure the cable to the carb, instead of cable tie so I dun need to cut the cable tie everytime I take out the carb for cleaning.

For the battery, check once a while its holding charge at 12.5V, just stick a multimeter on the terminals when bike is not running. If its lesser, take it out and check if the battery has bloated or deform externally if not bring to shop and charge up and monitor for a few days if its holding charge. If battery casing has deformed or its not holding charge time to change new battery.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

hey guys... sorry that i din make it today... got a call this morning abt 6... got recalled back for duty.. the fu**** on duty today gave mc... say cannot make it.. then i am the standby... lan lan have to go back.... sorry again!!

Originally posted by xue@Jan 15 2006, 01:32 PM

xue album - Malacca Trip 06

sori for the late uploads, work is like sh*t so bz.. feel free to browse but not much pics, my cam no batt half way.. lolx.. :sian:

It wouldn't be called "working" if it ain't shitty. :sweat:

Too bad didn't see you today at the carnival.

Peter won the 2nd prize, a jacket!!! :cheer:

Paiseh....paiseh.... went back empty handed. :cry:

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 15 2006, 06:01 PM

i forgot the magnets

sian :sian:

Good to cya guys again....erm..wat can i say bout the carnival...well...haha..no comments...

congrat to our peter who won the jacket worth $450 make sure u wear on nxt outin hor...

ppl who attended

1. :)

2. Ivan n his frd

3. Alex n his frd

4. Arcfire

5. ken

6. kevin n Shalgia

7. peter

8. Joe n Jean

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by paiseh@Jan 15 2006, 06:11 PM

i forgot the magnets

sian :sian:

Aiyah.... I got bring but forgot to pass it to you....

See when u free, come to my place or Jurong at my work place.

But Mon-Wed, I going for course at Bugis area... so will be in town area. :sweat:

Originally posted by paiseh@Jan 14 2006, 09:42 PM

steady. i print

If Paiseh never print out coupon, Peter won't have won the jacket.

So next time kopi session on Peter! :cheer:

Originally posted by S750WP@Jan 15 2006, 09:05 AM

For the battery, check once a while its holding charge at 12.5V, just stick a multimeter on the terminals when bike is not running. If its lesser, take it out and check if the battery has bloated or deform externally if not bring to shop and charge up and monitor for a few days if its holding charge. If battery casing has deformed or its not holding charge time to change new battery.

Thanx for the info! :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 15 2006, 08:05 PM

If Paiseh never print out coupon, Peter won't have won the jacket.

yea......

paiseh.....Own you a drink and a KISS......

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Originally posted by Addictive@Jan 14 2006, 05:17 PM

Ferrous: After some description, i think i got the wrong thing liao. Wat i was referring is the 2 circular metal tt hold on to the air intake vent that is mount to the frame, as for the clamps that cover the carb, mine dun have leh. How? anything to fix tt?

Those clamps look pretty normal, tink can get at neighborhood hardware shops and jus clamp onto ur bike urself ba

08 Jun 2004 - 30 May 2005 : NSR150SP (FT ****X)

17 Aug 2005 - 24 Aug 2005 : ZXR400L8 (FQ ****L)

25 Jun 2005 - 22 Jul 2006 : GSXR400RN (FK ****A)

22 Aug 2006 - 31 Jan 2007 : GSXR600K1 (FT ****U)

31 Jan 2007 - Present : (G* ****Z)

congrats to the lucky one.

$450.. wow...

looks like gd stuff... fieldsheer..

ferrous> din realise u act owned a zxr4 .. n how come so short period onli? tot u riding g4.

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@Jan 15 2006, 09:48 PM

ferrous> din realise u act owned a zxr4 .. n how come so short period onli? tot u riding g4.

haha yupz...i nvr did own one in fact..haha was jus the sub-rider for the friend who own the zx4, then rode it for one week helping him do some servicing while he waiting for his 2A TP

haha that week was the week i rode alot cos took turns giving attention to both rides, riding my own g4 and his zx4 to kip both battery charged up

...once he passed and servicing done, passed the bike back to him :smile:

08 Jun 2004 - 30 May 2005 : NSR150SP (FT ****X)

17 Aug 2005 - 24 Aug 2005 : ZXR400L8 (FQ ****L)

25 Jun 2005 - 22 Jul 2006 : GSXR400RN (FK ****A)

22 Aug 2006 - 31 Jan 2007 : GSXR600K1 (FT ****U)

31 Jan 2007 - Present : (G* ****Z)

hmm....then which bike more power.....as last time i hear that zx400r can overrun a gsxr400r.....

and controlling wise....

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 15 2006, 08:01 PM

Aiyah.... I got bring but forgot to pass it to you....

See when u free, come to my place or Jurong at my work place.

But Mon-Wed, I going for course at Bugis area... so will be in town area. :sweat:

wa swee. i meet u at bugis area tmr. bring ur magnets. i go find u!!

Originally posted by TnT@Jan 15 2006, 09:40 PM

yea......

paiseh.....Own you a drink and a KISS......

i dun wan the drink, i wan the kiss :lovestruck:

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/434283502/2.jpg

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/903652622/1.jpg

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/1549802946/3.jpg

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/970535757/4.jpg

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/1290242946/5.jpg

http://www.photoi.org/share/upload3/1/2/2051539493/6.jpg

This is GPR exhaust tat broke into 2 from tian hao's X9

pls support GPR, support them to make better exhaust. even so, GPR will never be on my want-to-buy-pipes-list

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 15 2006, 06:01 PM

wanted to go.. but abit lazy.. :sweat: