• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

ferrous : He quoted $220...w/o mid pipe...just endcan only.

phill : I bought the yoshi at $180. As for the other racing pipe i guess u need to lias with ferrous on getting the mid pipe custom make.

hi im frm malaysia n i own a FK plate s'pore gsxr400 M model... I would like to get an end can for my bike...illegal ones are preferable cuz i cant live in silence n here its not that strict.. Any1 can help me out?

n also my monoshock is getting old....although it havent break down yet... just in case one day it will i would like to get a spare one... any1 of u keep spare monoshock n would like to sell..? how much difference is the brand new one and a good condition 2nd hand one.... or is there any additional option of getting an aftermarket ones..?

do you guys know wat causes my bike to overheat easily... cos the temp. went up very fast.... my brother suspect its the water pump. i dont know much bout the bike actulli, cos my uncle jus gave it 2 me... newbie on 2a... hehe...

any ideas?...

Originally posted by epin@May 21 2006, 10:30 AM

do you guys know wat causes my bike to overheat easily... cos the temp. went up very fast.... my brother suspect its the water pump. i dont know much bout the bike actulli, cos my uncle jus gave it 2 me... newbie on 2a... hehe...

any ideas?...

try change ure coolant n see how, n also check ure spare coolant too, water pump spoil only when leaking on tat part.:goodluck:

Originally posted by epin@May 21 2006, 11:11 AM

thanx man.. i'll check on it...

just wondering, how will it cost to change the carburator?.... mine's quite old....

i did saw 2nd carb selling at $50...but i'm unsure about the condition internally...exterior looks ok. can try looking arnd in the "garage sales" section.

Originally posted by DarkVader@May 21 2006, 02:12 AM

dude, where u stay in malaysia? which part?

i stay in kuala lumpur.. so is ther any1 which can help me out?

Originally posted by renxun@May 22 2006, 01:55 PM

i stay in kuala lumpur.. so is ther any1 which can help me out?

haha too far liao, cant help u, u need to ride down here for ure parts, new rear shock around 330sg.:sweat:

Originally posted by empty@May 21 2006, 09:51 PM

my bike e petrol tube 1 out of 2 gt 1 spoilt liao... how much to change?

hmmm...i dun think it shld be expensive. cos i u can buy those normal tube from the hardware shop and try...i think its about 80cents per metre ba.

Bro, no offense. But do not buy the normal hose u get from hardware shops. They aren't chemical resistant. Will melt.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

hey have u guys experienced inconsistent idling before?

like at rest (traffic light stops, etc), the idling will go from 1.5rpm to 2rpm down to 1.5 and 2..

I don't think it's stuck throttle.. what could be the problem.. hmm..

"You float like a feather.. In a beautiful world.."

Originally posted by snk+May 20 2006, 08:28 PM-->
QUOTE (snk @ May 20 2006, 08:28 PM)
ferrous : He quoted $220...w/o mid pipe...just endcan only.

phill : I bought the yoshi at $180. As for the other racing pipe i guess u need to lias with ferrous on getting the mid pipe custom make. [/b]

ic...but it seems that nobody here interested in the mid-pipe....

08 Jun 2004 - 30 May 2005 : NSR150SP (FT ****X)

17 Aug 2005 - 24 Aug 2005 : ZXR400L8 (FQ ****L)

25 Jun 2005 - 22 Jul 2006 : GSXR400RN (FK ****A)

22 Aug 2006 - 31 Jan 2007 : GSXR600K1 (FT ****U)

31 Jan 2007 - Present : (G* ****Z)

Originally posted by stardust@May 23 2006, 09:53 AM

like at rest (traffic light stops, etc), the idling will go from 1.5rpm to 2rpm down to 1.5 and 2..

yes, i experience that on my g4 last year when i 1st got my bike, my mech did a carb wash and re-tune using some meters and idling has since been very stable :smile: recommend ah kiong from combine motors :thumb:

08 Jun 2004 - 30 May 2005 : NSR150SP (FT ****X)

17 Aug 2005 - 24 Aug 2005 : ZXR400L8 (FQ ****L)

25 Jun 2005 - 22 Jul 2006 : GSXR400RN (FK ****A)

22 Aug 2006 - 31 Jan 2007 : GSXR600K1 (FT ****U)

31 Jan 2007 - Present : (G* ****Z)

Originally posted by stardust@May 23 2006, 09:53 AM

Do check your sparkplugs.

For me, when I have such a problem (which was like a LOT these two months), i know one plug is asleep in a wet and moist dark abyss...

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

"one plug is asleep in a wet and moist dark abyss" .. hmm...

X.X

hahaha.. thanks for answering guys. I just changed my plugs so that couldn't be it. I washed and re-tuned quite recently in December or January, so.. that is not it either?

Mech adjusted idling when I told him about the problem.. but it's abit too low now! only like what.. 0.25-0.5rpm now.. x.x is it alright? or should I adjust it higher a beeeeeet?

Originally posted by Addictive@May 1 2006, 12:29 AM

Hi afiqmufc86, first of all I would like to welcome you to the g4 company. Seems like we have some affiliations from the bikes we rode before. I did ride a rs125 for a couple of months as my first bike pior to my current gsxr400 rr model.

Now I shall answer your queries,

1) I would recommend ah beng at bikeworkz. I got my bike tuned 2 times by him. He does a good job on carb tuning.

2)I do experienced this high tone while travelling and I guess it's pretty normal especially on gear 5, 6. This exhaust roar sounds great during first 3 gears. IMO, real power kicks in after 100km/h.

3)As mentioned in the 1st ans. The only thing u need to do to this bike is to fix the necessary wear and tear parts bit by bit since it's over 10yrs old to avoid any unnecessary breakdown. Save enuff doughs to touch up, treat it well and u will not let you down.

If you have more enquires, find one day we can sit down for a chat and drink. Anyway we haf an outing to 2nd link for makan on the coming sat, 6th May, perhaps you would want to join us. Cheers and happy riding.

Hi can i check with u does ah beng rebuilt very old bikes? can u gimme his location and the number?

I have a very old 1989 sp model waiting to be rebuilt.

Does he charge over the norm?

http://www.sqream.net/sqream/ride7-11-06/IMG_4469.jpg

I love old SKOOL!!! And all my bikes....

sorry guys after i saw the post from why pay more i got the add and number for bikeworkz.

http://www.sqream.net/sqream/ride7-11-06/IMG_4469.jpg

I love old SKOOL!!! And all my bikes....

Originally posted by stardust@May 23 2006, 11:19 PM

"one plug is asleep in a wet and moist dark abyss" .. hmm...

X.X

hahaha.. thanks for answering guys. I just changed my plugs so that couldn't be it. I washed and re-tuned quite recently in December or January, so.. that is not it either?

Mech adjusted idling when I told him about the problem.. but it's abit too low now! only like what.. 0.25-0.5rpm now.. x.x is it alright? or should I adjust it higher a beeeeeet?

one plug sleepin in a wet abyss = ur plug is fouled and sleeping in a puddle of petrol on top of the cylinder head.

What I would do (I ain't an expert so don't quote me on this, please) is to really check if your four plugs are indeed firing. I had this problem whereby two of my plug cables aren't the conventional copper ones but fibrous instead (so called racing cables, that's a sham). Plug our the cable from the plug cable head and place it near ur body frame, start ur bike and see if there are sparks.

Alternatively, your carburettor is not properly balanced. Time for servicing it.

I purposely set the idling above 1K when my bike went haywire. Yeah, when all's good, u should set it between 0.5-0.7K rpm. But definitely not when ur idling is running crazily. When u are stopping at traffic light, it'll go below 0.25 and subsequently shuts off when the light turns green...

and that's where the fun starts of being gan cheong and such..

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

Well...it seems i found the rite webpage....i saw this nice gsz red i n color at bedok south ave.3....wondering if its owner is in this forum....licence plate...fg7773.....i think....Plus....me looking for a GSX too....anyone knows where they haf lotsa gsx ard....??

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x222/polabears/sideways.jpg
Originally posted by Naz@May 24 2006, 01:32 AM

Pt 1. one plug sleepin in a wet abyss = ur plug is fouled and sleeping in a puddle of petrol on top of the cylinder head.

Pt 2. I purposely set the idling above 1K when my bike went haywire.

Pt 3. and that's where the fun starts of being gan cheong and such..

Regarding Pt 2, did you purposely set the idling high to prevent the bike from stalling? Or to test some other thing out? I would like to be able to distinguish between the plugs but sadly, even if they were Apples and Oranges, they would all look like Apples to me. Theory knowledge is worth nothing when there's no appropriate practical knowledge. Sigh.. and yes, that sentence is meant as a jab at myself lah.

And Pt 3.. talk about gan cheong man. Imagine just on that fateful few days back, I was stranded along the road shoulder of the expressway with no wallet, no handphone, nothing. Penniless, needing to pee urgently, stuck in the middle of practically nowhere, bike down. But it was quite an experience! Hahaha..

PS. actually, I thought there was some kinda hidden meaning in Pt 1 maaaaan. HAHAHA.. (think along the crooked path. x.x)