CB250 Nighthawk, Following  

17 members have voted

1. 1. CB250 Nighthawk, Following

• Coe sufficient
    • Modding potential
    • Parts availability
    • Plugs change frequency
    • Engine oil type and change frequency
    • Lifespan of original parts
    • Flexibility of cheaper parts use
    • Moifying potential
    • Able to use any grade of petrol fuel
    • Potential for 4 rounds of COE
    • Easy to pass inspection
    • Low road tax
    • Daily ride potential
    • Low fuel consumption
    • Ease of maintenance
    • Ease of riding

I have a CB400 SFY HyperVTEC. I bought a new CDI for it but still doesn't startup. However if I try using a CDI from a non-VTEC cb400, it starts and runs fine, minus the VTEC engaging.

What could be the problem here?

Too much petrol in my blood.

• Replies 2.5k

I have a CB400 SFY HyperVTEC. I bought a new CDI for it but still doesn't startup. However if I try using a CDI from a non-VTEC cb400, it starts and runs fine, minus the VTEC engaging.

What could be the problem here?

is it those aftermarket ones from hongkong/china? probably its faulty?

No, its OKI. I believe its a Honda OEM part.

I was told there were two version of CDI by same part numbers..one is for recondition bikes (imported) which is different..cost about $600+. The one we have here is $300+.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

hi bro's.. might sound stupid but wanna check frome xperience s4 riders..

after riding for some time, my temp light is on. what can be the problem and what must i do?

thanks in advance for your help bro's...

hi bro's.. might sound stupid but wanna check frome xperience s4 riders..

after riding for some time, my temp light is on. what can be the problem and what must i do?

thanks in advance for your help bro's...

This is REALLY BAD!..it means that your engine is overheating and coolant system is not working the way it should. The "temp" light in red is a warning. Check your coolant tank level (right hand side below seat..have to take off seat and the side cover) for coolant level.

If this goes on..your engine block can cracked. The caused can be bad radiator fan switch, fan, thermostat or coolant pump that are damage by rust inside your coolant system due to water use with coolant.

If its non of the above..could be bad wiring fault.

hmmmm his goes on then goes off after some time... not too sure if need to get a mech to check it out..?

One way or the other, you have to do something. Pm me if you need my help.

thanks ah pek. will check n let u knw. what abt sudden reduce in F/C? aniway im riding a spec1

Oh yah..Spec 1. My favoruite among all the Vtecs :angel:

Reduce ib FC is very subjective. Nothing ever stay the same and chnages are "Constant". Too many factors from tyres use to wear and tear. Can be improved but not the necessarily item that causes it. Heat is one of the main culprit that causes it..and heat comes from friction. Once you get that underway..it should improved. Beside that, poor electrical load also causes bad combustion which is another poor FC factor.

Can type a whole lot here but you read my posting for Non Vtec thread, you should pick up more answers thenyou need.

Reduce ib FC is very subjective. Nothing ever stay the same and chnages are "Constant". Too many factors from tyres use to wear and tear. Can be improved but not the necessarily item that causes it. Heat is one of the main culprit that causes it..and heat comes from friction. Once you get that underway..it should improved. Beside that, poor electrical load also causes bad combustion which is another poor FC factor.

Can type a whole lot here but you read my posting for Non Vtec thread, you should pick up more answers thenyou need.

ah pek

how to reduce heat and friction? Beside your X1-R and coolant. I realise when bike on stationary or travelling short distance with alot of stopping at trafic lights, the engine dissipates alot of heat, can be felt from the leg, and the fan sometime starts to cut in.

but while after travelling on highway, my finger can still touch the crash bar, feeling cool as ever.

pai seh that thread so many pages hard to find...

ah pek

how to reduce heat and friction? Beside your X1-R and coolant. I realise when bike on stationary or travelling short distance with alot of stopping at trafic lights, the engine dissipates alot of heat, can be felt from the leg, and the fan sometime starts to cut in.

but while after travelling on highway, my finger can still touch the crash bar, feeling cool as ever.

pai seh that thread so many pages hard to find...

Crashbar?..that has nothing to do with heat..its not even directly link to the engine accept the body frame.

If you are serious about taking away the heat and have $$$$s to spare, nothing better then doing a internal "ceramic" coating to the overhead engine block and "thermal" coating internallya nd externally.

There are liquid engineering stuff that does that for ceramic coating internally beside manual process. There is also thermal coating spray on for externally but I think you would not like the white greyish colour stuff being seen on your external part of exhaust and engine block cooling fins.

Anyway..good only for track purposes where engine rins really hot. Don't forget that engine opertaion temperature work best at 93 to 98 degree just before boiling point at 100 degree Celsius.

Crashbar?..that has nothing to do with heat..its not even directly link to the engine accept the body frame.

If you are serious about taking away the heat and have $$$$s to spare, nothing better then doing a internal "ceramic" coating to the overhead engine block and "thermal" coating internallya nd externally.

There are liquid engineering stuff that does that for ceramic coating internally beside manual process. There is also thermal coating spray on for externally but I think you would not like the white greyish colour stuff being seen on your external part of exhaust and engine block cooling fins.

Anyway..good only for track purposes where engine rins really hot. Don't forget that engine opertaion temperature work best at 93 to 98 degree just before boiling point at 100 degree Celsius.

icic thx for the info....

sometimes your leg "accidentally" touch the crash bar while riding,

so thats where roughly know the bike is giving out lots of heat...

thats how i gauge... keke..

thansk ah pek!

icic thx for the info....

sometimes your leg "accidentally" touch the crash bar while riding,

so thats where roughly know the bike is giving out lots of heat...

thats how i gauge... keke..

Wah....ha...x3! Can borrow your leg or not or where to buy..can use as an engine block heat detector leh...LOL!..wanna test test my heat on engine block after riding 5 km :angel:

how ah pek

hows ur temperature sensor coming along?

is it accurate?

how ah pek

hows ur temperature sensor coming along?

is it accurate?

So far so good but over the last two weeks or so...realised that it so hard to get to 93 degreed Celsius mannn! Mine coolant system must be too good lah...LOL!

where to install this sensor?

How much is it?

where to install this sensor?

How much is it?

Wah..you want to e the 1st person arhh?...LOL! Come here I show you lah first.:angel:

I just recently serviced my bike after purchasing it, now there seems to be this "squeeky" sound when i break to a complete stop. It seems like its coming from the front and it also has this "Yee-yee" sound.

Is it my fork needs to be serviced?

I just recently serviced my bike after purchasing it, now there seems to be this "squeeky" sound when i break to a complete stop. It seems like its coming from the front and it also has this "Yee-yee" sound.

Is it my fork needs to be serviced?

No...check all your cables like speedo, hydraulic brake hoses..etc..anything rubbing each other. Best test is to spray some WD40 around the area.:sian:

Ah Pek.. Wat coolant you using..??

Merce Benz.

You're using Voltronic R31?

OEM Merc Benz coolant.

Where do you get it from?! :cheeky::angel:

Not the Voltronic R31 that you find in some mototiam as it's premixed at 50/50 for direct usage..the one I have is 'active'..concentrated that's, you can mixed to your own ratio preference.

I got mine thru an indirect source who I do not who they got it from.