http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:m_NI5yXnsVNGoM:http://www.dirstar.com/dirstar/resources/images/msn_icon.jpg http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:9_0IDEIu7X9RoM:http://media.collegepublisher.com/media/paper689/stills/1pkb8q65.jpg http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:rI1uclvoVSLNNM:http://www.computer-brain.net/wp-content/uploads/2006/12/96px-skype_icon.png

let's talk here...

any garbage... core dump... trash.. recycle stuff..

or simply kopi .. http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:BahUiQpxCSFTcM:http://www.naic.edu/aorss/webcam/images/icons/java_icon.gif

• Replies 54

hey nelly..

me usually meet up with vincekam on friday lunch time.. around CBD area..

so how bout ya ??

Once upon a time, I used to work in an area called the Central Business District.

I have since left that area that's nicely cordoned by the some transport authority. Must be the radiation from some overhead gantries and eye strain from politically-correct old ladies that's left me with a terrible migraine.

Now I'm in Jurong, getting my day's worth of noxious fumes :)

Ok, sarcastic poetry aside there. I'd be glad to meet both of ya for a cuppa and am alright for meetups in the evening, but I think this usually comes into conflict with both your timings there.

And one more thing: Looks like the boys of I.T. had gone :(

The I.T. Introductory thread had went underwater so I had to fish it up back to the surface.

In the meantime, I see if I can work something out, but this depends on the activity around here.

okay then..

well, me and vincekam usually try to fish out the younger ones among many old ladies during lunch times.. hehe..

and uncle vince stays at far east and after office hour meet ups are rare due to family commitments (i still drop by lavender food court time by time to see SBF guys..)

may be when there's IT Fair.. Job Fair... watever Fair.. then we can go together..

I don't call them OLD LADIES, kmax. It's rude :-)

Let's call them mature :-)

I stay at the end of eastern side, and I like to ride up till tuas checkpoint. But cannot go across as promise.

I'm looking for people to lunch at West Coast mac today from 12:30pm till 5:00pm.

okay then..

well, me and vincekam usually try to fish out the younger ones among many old ladies during lunch times.. hehe..

and uncle vince stays at far east and after office hour meet ups are rare due to family commitments (i still drop by lavender food court time by time to see SBF guys..)

may be when there's IT Fair.. Job Fair... watever Fair.. then we can go together..

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

so envy you... 12:30 till 5:00 hehe..

i guess west coast mac is flooded with younger ones too...

btw my laptop just died.. surfing SBF last night... and window hang... rebooted from task manager and never came around..

still can see window loading bar... but never pass that..

too tired to troubleshoot last night..

strange thing is i got a call from a friend yesterday that his laptop just gone bust..HDD not detactable..

and i got a call from another friend past 2 days for the same thing.. well.. let's go to SLT..

I am skipping my lunch from Mon - Thur.

So I can afford to use 5hrs to eat for a whole work week :-)

Mac is not really flooded with the younger ones.

Many working class used that place to take a break too.

Suddenly some many laptop issue huh.

dump them away.. take a break. It's Friday.

so envy you... 12:30 till 5:00 hehe..

i guess west coast mac is flooded with younger ones too...

btw my laptop just died.. surfing SBF last night... and window hang... rebooted from task manager and never came around..

still can see window loading bar... but never pass that..

too tired to troubleshoot last night..

strange thing is i got a call from a friend yesterday that his laptop just gone bust..HDD not detactable..

and i got a call from another friend past 2 days for the same thing.. well.. let's go to SLT..

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

I am skipping my lunch from Mon - Thur.

So I can afford to use 5hrs to eat for a whole work week :-)

Mac is not really flooded with the younger ones.

Many working class used that place to take a break too.

Suddenly some many laptop issue huh.

dump them away.. take a break. It's Friday.

Is it just me or do HDD failures coincide with upcoming IT fairs :lol:

Nah, j/k...

Well, I could have joined if I was able to. Still in camp for my once-a-year thing...

For those that can undestand the joke... :)

http://xkcd.com/138/

http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/pointers.png

My head hurt figuring out what you meant and I hate you too!

EDIT: I said "pointers" as in tips, not memory pointers !!!!!!1111

LOL! So farnie LOL! Pointers! Get it?

For those who don't know:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pointers

EDIT: Gosh i can't stop reading the comics from that source!

Edited by crazydj

that was 5~6 years ago during under graduate... :sian: ah my brain is not that good...

I got one:

kmax: With regards to the recent incident that you had with one of your devices, hope this comic will cheer you up :)

http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/1758/tnf20080509atakungfu.jpg

this reminds me of Gamesharks code during Playstation days.

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

lol.. why not aligned to 4 byte boundaries? rare to see that for memory.

omg... :eek:

LOL! So farnie LOL! Pointers! Get it?

For those who don't know:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pointers

EDIT: Gosh i can't stop reading the comics from that source!

Lol... yeah, happened to me too when I first came across xkcd... burnt the whole weekend starting all the way from comic #1 :cheeky:

Edited by chuan.z

nelly.... i didnt shocked my hdd.. it was standing alone on table... just went *poof*

anyway.. went to SLT.. and this one laptop repair shop say.. leave it it them, they'll run diagnostic and let me know what's wrong..

so i leave my laptop with them and came back. About 15 minutes later.... the aunty from shop called me.. laptop HDD spoilt... to change new 160GB, 2.5" SATA... is 190 S$.... DVDRW drive was spolit too... new one... 140 S$..

first i didnt know the price....but after hwzone and http://www.videopro.com.sg/scanpl.php says that 160 GB is about 65 S$.... okay... so i am walking http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:ztsuiZYflpDh3M:http://images-3.redbubble.net/img/art/size:large/view:main/1219617-1-mr-carrot-head.jpg

went back to the shop, said thank you aunty for ur kind service but poor me cant afford ur HDD... and she said why dont want to change..then i said because other shops selling so much different price.... yet she still keep on smiling and tell me, "i know, but that is HDD alone price, we will install window and office for u" :sian:

yeah, like i dont know how to install window... :(

she's good salesmanship that still want to sell HDD alone at the price listed from othershops..

well, from another shop, i got to buy new DVDRW drive as my poor laptop has boot function only from CD and floppy (but it does not comes with floppy drive, hell, i havent seen one in ages)

came back home, dig out my old CD collection and found XP installer disk... installed ok, but no drivers.. even compaq site does not have any driver for my lappy model for XP as they are pre-loaded with vista home...

well.. have to look for vista again in mininova.... but now i can surf net and do some work...

I got one:

kmax: With regards to the recent incident that you had with one of your devices, hope this comic will cheer you up :)

http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/1758/tnf20080509atakungfu.jpg

lol.. i like this.. are they still called master n slave? I tot i remembered reading some news that they are gonna change that concept. Even that was eons ago..

Walk a thousand miles.

lol.. i like this.. are they still called master n slave? I tot i remembered reading some news that they are gonna change that concept. Even that was eons ago..

Hey there.

I think it's called sATA.

The last time I've serviced a sATA equipped computer, I'd just simply plug in the sATA hard drive, enter the BIOS and set the boot order, and then forget about the rest. No master/slave configuration to worry about, unlike the older IDE (now called pATA) :cool:

nelly.... i didnt shocked my hdd.. it was standing alone on table... just went *poof*

anyway.. went to SLT.. and this one laptop repair shop say.. leave it it them, they'll run diagnostic and let me know what's wrong..

so i leave my laptop with them and came back. About 15 minutes later.... the aunty from shop called me.. laptop HDD spoilt... to change new 160GB, 2.5" SATA... is 190 S$.... DVDRW drive was spolit too... new one... 140 S$..

first i didnt know the price....but after hwzone and http://www.videopro.com.sg/scanpl.php says that 160 GB is about 65 S$.... okay... so i am walking

went back to the shop, said thank you aunty for ur kind service but poor me cant afford ur HDD... and she said why dont want to change..then i said because other shops selling so much different price.... yet she still keep on smiling and tell me, "i know, but that is HDD alone price, we will install window and office for u"

yeah, like i dont know how to install window...

she's good salesmanship that still want to sell HDD alone at the price listed from othershops..

well, from another shop, i got to buy new DVDRW drive as my poor laptop has boot function only from CD and floppy (but it does not comes with floppy drive, hell, i havent seen one in ages)

came back home, dig out my old CD collection and found XP installer disk... installed ok, but no drivers.. even compaq site does not have any driver for my lappy model for XP as they are pre-loaded with vista home...

well.. have to look for vista again.... but now i can surf net and do some work...

Well, I have this mindset in which businesses in Singapore have to mark up prices to pay for their rent, even if their goods are imported in bulk. I guess I was right about SL Square being the same.

Our country so LJ one....but I'm going to reserve this grouse and digression for another time.

With regards to your encounter, I have a few things in mind:

1. The huge price quote that she has given you probably includes service charge. Then again, maybe it's not true since the price quote is more than double the price of the hard drive.

2. One chinese lady I spoke to a few years back said SLS offered to help her install Windows XP. She discovered that that copy that they supplied to her was pirated.

3. My sister's boyfriend got his 160GB hard drive for 100-something bucks. Minus the installation of course.

4. It seems to me 160GB is the smallest-capacity hard drive that you can find in the Singaporean market today.

I like to DIY the install of hard disk drives and Windows.

It's actually just as simple as changing the 4-stroke oil on your bike and adjusting chain slack. But of course, need to get your hands dirty, computer or bike-wise.

Nowadays, these laptop and PC suppliers like to lock-in the things that the consumer can use. Like yours, they give you disc images of Windows+drivers to do a 1-shot copy em over to your hard drive. IMO I don't like this readymade kind of solution.

Why not wait for Windows 7? Coming out soon leh. Heard it's got lots of improvements and fixes stuff that Vista users were unhappy about.

=====

If you want, you can look for either me or Palmer. Not too sure about Palmer, but my rate for consultation is a hot chocolate with a scoop of ice-cream on top :p

eh? Isnt Windows 7 already out? At least out for MSDN subscribers. I think i away from Singapore for too long and god damn oz is slower for every darn thing.

yea i agree that changing them is kinda easy. but now a days i dont bother self assembling my own pc, just buy everything 1 shot ask the guy assemble not like you gonna save alot anyway.

Walk a thousand miles.

Hey there.

If you want, you can look for either me or Palmer. Not too sure about Palmer, but my rate for consultation is a hot chocolate with a scoop of ice-cream on top :p

i have pm palmer but havent heard from him yet.

for hot chocolate with ice-cream.. deal... let me know when u r free..

or are u still in RT ?

Hey there.

I think it's called sATA.

The last time I've serviced a sATA equipped computer, I'd just simply plug in the sATA hard drive, enter the BIOS and set the boot order, and then forget about the rest. No master/slave configuration to worry about, unlike the older IDE (now called pATA) :cool:

Well, I have this mindset in which businesses in Singapore have to mark up prices to pay for their rent, even if their goods are imported in bulk. I guess I was right about SL Square being the same.

Our country so LJ one....but I'm going to reserve this grouse and digression for another time.

With regards to your encounter, I have a few things in mind:

1. The huge price quote that she has given you probably includes service charge. Then again, maybe it's not true since the price quote is more than double the price of the hard drive.

2. One chinese lady I spoke to a few years back said SLS offered to help her install Windows XP. She discovered that that copy that they supplied to her was pirated.

3. My sister's boyfriend got his 160GB hard drive for 100-something bucks. Minus the installation of course.

4. It seems to me 160GB is the smallest-capacity hard drive that you can find in the Singaporean market today.

I like to DIY the install of hard disk drives and Windows.

It's actually just as simple as changing the 4-stroke oil on your bike and adjusting chain slack. But of course, need to get your hands dirty, computer or bike-wise.

Nowadays, these laptop and PC suppliers like to lock-in the things that the consumer can use. Like yours, they give you disc images of Windows+drivers to do a 1-shot copy em over to your hard drive. IMO I don't like this readymade kind of solution.

Why not wait for Windows 7? Coming out soon leh. Heard it's got lots of improvements and fixes stuff that Vista users were unhappy about.

=====

I am still familiar with the PATA or IDE configuration. You physically connect the irritating and gigantic ribbon cables and set the jumper settings accordingly. Now its so high tech and all. Last time maximum of 4 devices, sure cannot go wrong one.

"DIY the install of hard disk drives and Windows."

It's actually just as simple as changing the 4-stroke oil on your bike and adjusting chain slack."

I am still familiar with the PATA or IDE configuration. You physically connect the irritating and gigantic ribbon cables and set the jumper settings accordingly. Now its so high tech and all. Last time maximum of 4 devices, sure cannot go wrong one.

"DIY the install of hard disk drives and Windows."

It's actually just as simple as changing the 4-stroke oil on your bike and adjusting chain slack."

... its quite easy to install windows now days

Class2B>TP on 22 May -Passed

Class 3>TP on 11 March -Passed

Class 2A>? start by 2009 may 22

Class 4>? start by 2009

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=92543&d=1235736836

I enjoy DIY:cheeky: always can reached 98475561/kwanheng"Jason"

I find it hard to move back to windows after i left the shackles of windows and move into OSX n Linux. It's much more stable an easier to use than windows. At least installing programs doesnt go into the evil area called the registry.

Walk a thousand miles.