Somehow, its hard to believe that DID can go wrong with the recommendation of cleaning chains with kerosene. But I have never come across DID chain lube. Anyone here have?

• Replies 1k

guyz...i juz changed mi chain n sprockets...chain-X-ring chain i tink,gold color 1...

ani advise hw 2 maintain the chain so as it will hav a longer lifespan?

was told by mi mech dat x-rind more durable... :confused:

wheres my siggy?!?!

guyz...i juz changed mi chain n sprockets...chain-X-ring chain i tink,gold color 1...

it is.. but preventive maintenance is required to fulfill it's potential :lol: lube regularly, clean thoroughly once a week, think there's lots of reading material in this thread already... :D

get a scott-oiler! :D

why can't we use petroluem or its distillates on o-ring, x-ring chains ?

simple, the rings. the rings are made of a sillicon based elastomer. they actually seal a layer of thick greasey lubricant between the pins and bushings.

why do we need to clean the chain ? can't we just spray more lub ?

most chain lubs are nowadays "fling-free", i.e. they stick to your chain like flies to $hit. therefore road dust also stick like $hit to your chains. causing more friction than you have before you sprayed the lub on.

wat's the deal with not brushing my chain and high pressure water ?

brush, i suppose refer to hard plastic brushes ( toothbrush and above ) and metal brushes with might destroy the rings, enuff said.

high pressure water jets penetrate the rings and then you have water + grease sealed in. so much for being kiasu :)

why do i use diesel ?

when u use a petroluem product on the rings, they contract and shrink, and then the petroluem actually washes away the lubricant that was originally sealed in. so u end up wif a half fu@ked o or x ring chain that is worse than a heavy duty one. the same thing, however, won't happen wif diesel and kerosene. And since kerosene is combustible and diesel is not, especially in our weather, therefore, diesel.

How about engine oil ?

best! chain gets lubed and dirt flings off. but it flings off and dirties your bike like hell. unless you can drip it little by little ( remember scottoiler and loobman ?? )

wat is the best lub ?

a oil bath. i've seen some ah pek bikes that have the chain sealed in and the chain runs thru a oil bath. the same thing happens to your timing chain inside the engine... see how long it lasts ? :)

other than that ?

scottoiler, loobman, frequent oiling wif engine oil, cleaning before you use chain lub

my 2 cents... erm make that 20 cents worth

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

why is X better thn O ?

http://www.rk-excel.co.jp/english/tech1.htm

the X has 2 sealing points as compared to the O's single point.

also, pressure exerted on the outside face of the chain will actually help to tighten the seal. instead of allowing it to penetrate, as in the case of the oring.

seal better = better lubed internally= longer life = more durable

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

Somehow, its hard to believe that DID can go wrong with the recommendation of cleaning chains with kerosene. But I have never come across DID chain lube. Anyone here have?

i sell frying pan

i also sell dish washing detergent,

of cos i recommend my own detergent to you

MD

does DID sell kerosene?

even if they did, it'll cost a bomb by the time it's exported here.

MD

add some of my experience here.

regularly, i would jack up the rear of my bike.

buy diesel and use thick cotton cloth.

use it to clean every link of the chain.

no more grease and dirt on the chain.

up and down, in bewteen each link.

clean until my original gold colour shows.

then spray chain lube on it.

im using maxima chain lube and i stand by it.

i used before motorex. aint that good. leave a colour on ur chain.

tried PJ1 blue and black. too watery.

tried castrol chain wax. leaves rims dirty.

tried putoline. stupid LAB. reccomend me lousy stuffs and a mess to clear up

tried Huntings chain lube. not too sure abt it...

never use degreasers as they strip the chain of whatever lubricants they have.

if u really got the time, u can strip the chain and soak it in kerosene. hang dry. lube it plenty.

but .. i doubt anyone will do it

if u really got the time, u can strip the chain and soak it in kerosene. hang dry. lube it plenty.

but .. i doubt anyone will do it

clean with kerosene is ok but not soaking. we don't want to remove the internal lubricants sealed within the o-rings.

Your best friend in forum :: Search ::

Anyone using Putoline blue before? Just tried it and seems not as greasy as the white foam one. Any comments? I t hink the blkue stuff makes the chain look dirty... :nono:

Ride with the WIND!!

here's a noob qn. wld pj1 work alright on a non o-ring chain? i forgot to check abt that when i bought the canister :confused:

hi there, if you got a NON o-ring chain, you shouldn't worry about anything. it'll work or sure.. we care when we got an o-ring chain cos o-rings are rubber (high-grade, low-grade, viton low friction yada yada). we don't want anything in the lube that destroys that rubber. plain metal chain, no worries... besides, PJ1 is pretty good, from some offline reviews...

hey, thx man :D

I've just applied pj1 blue to the chain after cleaning it many time with wd40 and soap. it seems pretty okay, just that my chain buffer is loose and it keeps rubbing against the chain

i'm switching to Motul chain lube.. :smile: giving it a try, colourless and heard good comments about it.

life is just about living for people who loves u.

i'm switching to Motul chain lube.. :smile: giving it a try, colourless and heard good comments about it.

keep us updated!! i have great faith in their products.. :thumb:

sure thing.. :smile: i'm going to buy a bottle of kerosene to wash my chain later.. nothing to do, not enough sleep :dozed:... then don't feel like sleeping :cry: then go wash chain lor.. :D

life is just about living for people who loves u.

well,can i use 2t to lube my steed chain with a brush?

Or hw abt those sewing machine oil?

Pls comment

No 2t man, if u wan cheap, take the remainder of yr 4t and apply but be prepared for major fly-off onto yr rim. try and wipe off the excess too.

also, pls clean yr chain regularly as it will get dirty with all the sand and dirt faster.

sewing machine oil may be fine but o_O go easy man

Guest GuiNNeSS
well,can i use 2t to lube my steed chain with a brush?

Or hw abt those sewing machine oil?

Pls comment

You may use that, but they won't STAY on your chain. Please lah... bottle of chain lube/spray/wax/oil costs only about $10. Dun skimp..... if the chain breaks whilst you are on the road..... then...... goodluck to you man.

Technically, o'ring x'ring chains require 80+W oil, so if you use "gear" oil you are still ok..... anything less.....

So how often or long shld we lube e chain??heard every 500KM or after heavy rain?? :confused:

Any suggestions?? :sweat:

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

http://www.gixxer.com/photopost/data/505/4377LavillaDesktop2.jpg

You may use that, but they won't STAY on your chain. Please lah... bottle of chain lube/spray/wax/oil costs only about $10. Dun skimp..... if the chain breaks whilst you are on the road..... then...... goodluck to you man.

Technically, o'ring x'ring chains require 80+W oil, so if you use "gear" oil you are still ok..... anything less.....

Er.. hi i'm new here... just wish to ask what is the diff for the chain lube/spray/wax/oil? from the bike shop, wax and lube is not same. Chain wax only wax the chain and not lube the chain. is this truth?? :confused:

waxing is done with the same purpose of lubricating the chain to reduce wear and tear. it's the same my friend. unless you wax the chain to remove hairs or something... :eek:

I must say not a lot of folks here like Castrol chain wax... i noe, it does flings off and stick to ur rims and underseat. What i did is juz to spray WD40 on a cloth and wipe off from my rims when I spring clean my bike. But other than dat, it serves itz purpose well. Any comments?

"Contemplate thy powers, contemplate thy wants and thy connections; so shalt thou discover the duties of life, and be directed in all thy ways."