I often have drinks with my wife at Jalan Kayu and I notice that a lot of ppl tend to drive very fast there like there's a sing that reads, "Please rev till redline" somewhere. Well maybe not only at Jalan Kayu but usually places where there's lots of ppl and places where drivers and bikers gathers mostly. Why they do it I think you guys knows better then I do. But what I'm concerned is the safety of the pedestrians, the road is very very narrow and you've got a lot of vehicles parked at the side of the road. So it's almost impossible for drivers to see if there's anyone attempting to cross. A lot of foreign workers often gather there and we all know that they are not always very careful when crossing roads to say the least. How can I propose to the authority? Should I write to the TP of LTA regarding this matter? I hope they can have a couple of speed regulating humps there to slow the traffic a little. I also want to bring up the issue of the many road sign that are blocked by trees on our roads esp on expressways. What the use of having them when you can't read them, a lot of them can only be seen when you get really close. How many times have you seen drivers change direction suddenly after realizing that they are about to miss the exit?

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

• Replies 11

i use to blast my army 5-ton thru there almost everyday when i was still a nsf ,was young that time :> , im use to be from seletar camp . . .

anyway i also suggest they erect at least 3 road hump there , those type of pedestrian hump , that is raise quite high .

cos i got a feeling one day an idiot will smash his car into one of the kopitiam killing a few ppl ... and its not a joke , im serious bout it.

good iniative bro... I think its a good idea. At least strips is sufficient I guess. Its a slight bend there also.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/9578/image7zr0.gif. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"It's much easier to turn a friendship into love, than love into friendship."

I don't know why but I have the feeling that no humps will be constructed there. Speed strips could be dangerous.. all you need is one reckless driver/rider coming fast and losing control on the strips during a wet day to create a tragedy.. going into the monsoon drain or plow into the coffeeshops.

If our friendly guys in white appeared there everyday for a week during peak hours... wonders would happen..

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Originally posted by Enotsol@Nov 8 2006, 06:54 AM

I don't know why but I have the feeling that no humps will be constructed there. Speed strips could be dangerous.. all you need is one reckless driver/rider coming fast and losing control on the strips during a wet day to create a tragedy.. going into the monsoon drain or plow into the coffeeshops.

If our friendly guys in white appeared there everyday for a week during peak hours... wonders would happen..

Actually they do go there pretty often, but to catch illegal parking mostly.. Peak hours?? There got many peak hours, morning when ppl go to work, evening when ppl come back from work and all tru the night when ppl go makan.. So I think must set up police post there already.. Haha..

Anyway to further the point about tree blocking the view of road signs, I would suggest that LTA or their contractors drive tru the expressway to check after they do tree pruning to see if they are visible. If not no point pruning right?

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

The high hump will cause all those lower body kit lover to jam brake...not able to stop in good time, all the prata diner will have carbon fiber parts flying over their head from time to time....hahahah... :cheeky:

I rather have the carbon fibre parts on my plate than cars ploughing into diners

A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity;

an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.

Originally posted by SeribuCC@Nov 9 2006, 06:12 PM

I rather have the carbon fibre parts on my plate than cars ploughing into diners

And we have a lot of SBF bikers who frequent there also.. Most of them park at the pavment.. Imagine some Ah Beng ram their car into those bikes.. Anyway I always park at the car park to save trouble..

Back to topic, who should I write to?? Can some kind soul please gime the e-mail address or something? Thanks!

Riot-Bike Co.

i personally have written emails to LTA with regards to some vegetation which i felt were seriously blocking the view of drivers/riders exiting from BKE(towards johor direction) at Dairy Farm road exit.

it is damn difficult to look out for oncoming traffic when u r at the filter lane merging with the road

good news is they responded and directed me to NEA which is the right organisation to talk to regarding vegetation

bad news is their contractor went down to the exact site and took a look, called me on my phone and told me that the condition of the vegetation were all very healthy. so he cant cut them down totally. at best, he can only trim the vegetation.

conclusion: vegetation more important than human lives

Originally posted by tourer84@Nov 12 2006, 10:37 PM

LoL. It is the disruption of Singapore's fengshui which they are afraid of... :p

:lol: good one!

agree that it's more of a LTA thing.