i noe this will make a lot of you angry if TP does implement this. :cheeky:

but seriously, i think there is really a need to do so. i have seen too many kayu drivers on the road, and some would just killed due to their unfamilar with the controls.

driving is something that comes with experience, but i noe a lot of 18 year old go and take license then when they are 20 or even 30 then start driving. by the time, their skills are no longer applicable. some, like my auntie who pass when she is 22 has put her license in the refrigerator for 40 years before start to drive. :sian:

it would be better that a car driver take Class 3 when he is definitely going to drive everyday than take it first and drive donkey years later.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

• Replies 21

I thk you mean "Set a expiring date for class 3 licence if the person does not drive a car everyday", right?

Well, I support your motion but how to implement it?

How to check that a person drives a car everyday, once a week, once a month, once a year or none at all?

In any case, there is a class 3 refresher course organised by driving centres specially for those who have class 3 licence but have no confidence to drive on the road after keeping their licence in the fridge for many years. The instructors will refresh with them the skills and the highway code, no test, just clock hours only.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

i din mean that. the key thing is to make them have no turning back. if they want to drive a car, then they must buy a car after, say 1 year. no car, then sorry your license will expire. and if they buy a car, you think these ppl bear to see their car sitting in the carpark, say for 10 years or even 40 years like my auntie of terror?

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

i feel the approach is wrong, driving is like swimming or riding a bicycle, once u learned and mastered the skill, it stays wif u for the rest of ur life.

the problem tat u highlighted is due to a new driver who have not 'clocked' enuff road experience. so someone who started driving a few years after obtaining license is still literally a "probation driver" without having to display p-plate by law.

one possible implementation is tat all new drivers (regardless of license-pass date) must display p-plate for 1yr. but then, how to enforce tat?

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

the main problem is, how many 18year olds can afford to get a car on their own?or how many families can or are willing to provide their 18 year old son and daughter with a car?The reason many of them take their class 3 license is due to peer pressure. they see their friends around them taking their license and they will definitely would wanna take because then they can say "Ha! I can drive now!" that's the mindset and it's here to stay for a very long time. u can't blame them, it's society for wanting them to get a license at 18.

so after getting a class 3 license at 18,with no car to drive, how to have road experience?rob and steal a car GTA style?rent a car to drive everyday?go back to the driving schools for refresher course everyday?

i din mean that. the key thing is to make them have no turning back. if they want to drive a car, then they must buy a car after, say 1 year. no car, then sorry your license will expire. and if they buy a car, you think these ppl bear to see their car sitting in the carpark, say for 10 years or even 40 years like my auntie of terror?

make them buy a car after 1 year?so the Money God is giving money out once u turn 19?

you might as well say the same thing to 18 year olds who get their class 2b license but can't afford a bike.after 1 year of not owning a bike, your license gets revoked. FTW!!!!

your notion is ridiculous.

I have to disagree with the thread starter on this. At the end of the day, the onus is on the license holder to be responsible while behind the wheel. If it has been a long time since he has driven, that the individual has the responsibility to go attend some refresher course or something on his/her own accord. The fact that the person already holds a valid drivers license, the Law empowers him to drive at his own free will, but has to bear whatever consequences that follow, should anything happen. And given the situation in Singapore, where many youths upon turning 18 go take up and hold valid driving license, how many can actually afford to own/maintain a car? I think the notion present is ludicrous. Sorry if I sound a little agitated, but the thing is, if this time limit were were in place, many of my peers would see their hard earned licenses become invalid... Even for my case, my Class 3 license was sitting idle for coming to 2 years now, and it was only in recent few monthes that I had the opportunity to drive on an occasional basis...

Ride Free, Ride Hard, and Ride Safe.

Current ride:Hyundai i30 CW (Sept 2016 - Present)

Yamaha FZ1-S (Aug 2014 - Present)

Previous ride: Honda Tiger 200 (Oct 2009 - Jun 2012)

Suzuki GSR 600 (Jun 2012 - Sept 2013)

Hyundai Matrix (Jun 2013 - Aug 2016)

My opinion is that, its not all about the skills or experiences a driver has. Its more about attitude when they driving OTR. No matter how skillfull or super experience the drivers are, but attitude bo chap 1 (example dont bother to check blind spot or give signal or give way), those are road killers. 2cents worth. :)

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

Not all of us has the capacity to drive a car whenever we want. For some, it's a choice not to drive despite getting their license early. Even a daily driver may drive like a drunkard; all boils down to the driver's capability.

We can say the same thing too for riders - set an age. All is fair if you choose to implement the idea you've suggested.

haiyoh... so u saying only those that own cars can have license? stupidlah like dat.. many ppl take license also so that they can drive when required... like rent/borrow fren's / relatives car during festive season, or rent pickup/van when got things to move etc etc.. also got car co-op to join mah... why must buy car?

Liverpool revival has started....

lol if everyone whom passed class 3 must buy their 'own' car upon passing or risk losing their license, I bet traffic conditions in Singapore would degenerate to a curb crawling pace everywhere.. there would simply be too many cars on the road.

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2A-GSXR400(SCRAPPED),ZXR400(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

http://www.1000ps.at/magazin/yamaha/yamaha_r1_8gross.jpg

got money then buy car lor

no money dun ever think about it lor

long time nv drive then go driving centre for refresher course lor

or else dun ever drive and be a hazard to other ppl lor

even if u drive after passing, pls be more careful n considerate to other rd users lor

if u are a experienced driver, dun drive like a kuku or drive reckless lor

pls drive or ride defensively lor

My opinion is that, its not all about the skills or experiences a driver has. Its more about attitude when they driving OTR. No matter how skillfull or super experience the drivers are, but attitude bo chap 1 (example dont bother to check blind spot or give signal or give way), those are road killers. 2cents worth. :)

i agree. my uncle went to vietnam recently and he was telling me that for example vehicles turning right will give way to oncoming vehicles. after like 1 minute, oncoming vehicles will stop and give way to vehicles that are turning right and vice versa. all this are done w/o the aid of any traffic lights. it's the attitude that counts

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

all this are done w/o the aid of any traffic lights. it's the attitude that counts

i like this way of traffic, shows tat the ppl willing to give n take, diff countries diff culture.

our traffic system is gd but WTH SG ppl are doing:faint:

i like this way of traffic, shows tat the ppl willing to give n take, diff countries diff culture.

our traffic system is gd but WTH SG ppl are doing:faint:

sometimes i think our traffic system is way too good till a point where traffic lights are build solely for pedestrians to cross and it does irritates the motorists at times. less than 20m, a traffic light is being encountered.

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

wtb trailer :D

Specifications: needs to have a V 12 engine + a super charger installed !

Must do a 0-100km/h in under 6 seconds !

I want to take my class 5 soon haha

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

Hum wats cooler than cruising through orchard road with a fking huge a$% trailer !

King of the road lolz

They should commercialize class 5 vehicles for the general public and make it affordable ( i.e : under 100k )

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

Retake TP test every year.

Can choose to use your own car. :D

Fantastic idea !! but online simulation enough ah... not enough testers to go around

Liverpool revival has started....

wtb trailer :D

Specifications: needs to have a V 12 engine + a super charger installed !

Must do a 0-100km/h in under 6 seconds !

I want to take my class 5 soon haha

more like give 2sec signal and inch out at the same time