Don't waste money. You change the auto choke, It will come back again.

I think I might found the solution to this problem.

The following were quote from STOC website.

Had the same problem when i got my 06 STX about 2 years ago. Replace autochoke and problem came back. But was then resolved when i sent it back again. The mechanic (Meng Tong) told me that there are 8 small holes in the air filter chamber, that is, if you take out the air filter you can see the 8 holes in the housing. These 8 holes should be clean. After he did that and tune fast idle at 1.5k ok for about 9 months. He said that the cleaning action would usually resolved the autochoke problem for about 9 months to 1.5 year.

When washing my air filter about several months ago, told the mechanic (another one) to do the same, so far been perfect except for only one occasion. Mileage since first cleaning the 8 holes was about 20k so far. Autochoke problem first hit when bike mileage was about 57k.

Hope this helps.

Edited by tszkit
  • Replies 6.6k

thats right mate .i'm now a kawa rider.

So very sad :cry:

But then hor, good for you :thumb:

1 Live, so Live It

Rides: Yamaha CV125, Cagiva 125, Piaggio sFera 80, BMW K1200LT, Honda ST1100, PGO Gmax 150, Honda ST1300

Hi Bros

For those who have installed the deflectors on your STX, do share if you have encountered any weave for the front. I have experience a little as I believe the bike is now pushing more air away with speed. More is felt when challenged with big vehicles on the road.

:shy:

1 Live, so Live It

Rides: Yamaha CV125, Cagiva 125, Piaggio sFera 80, BMW K1200LT, Honda ST1100, PGO Gmax 150, Honda ST1300

thats right mate .i'm now a kawa rider.

wow tats a great ride :) super fast and voted best sports tourer :)

"Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. It doesn't mean its wrong or right."

I think I might found the solution to this problem.

The following were quote from STOC website.

Had the same problem when i got my 06 STX about 2 years ago. Replace autochoke and problem came back. But was then resolved when i sent it back again. The mechanic (Meng Tong) told me that there are 8 small holes in the air filter chamber, that is, if you take out the air filter you can see the 8 holes in the housing. These 8 holes should be clean. After he did that and tune fast idle at 1.5k ok for about 9 months. He said that the cleaning action would usually resolved the autochoke problem for about 9 months to 1.5 year.

When washing my air filter about several months ago, told the mechanic (another one) to do the same, so far been perfect except for only one occasion. Mileage since first cleaning the 8 holes was about 20k so far. Autochoke problem first hit when bike mileage was about 57k.

Hope this helps.

hmm, initially my stx had no issues with auto choke. then recently after servicing, once in a while i would have similar problems, such as low rpm and occasionally it would die. But twisting the throttle would restart the auto choke process but sometimes rpm would drop and i would usually have to twist the throttle about 2-3 times to get the autochoke to really work.

I find this a bit odd since my bike only has 15K on it.

doh!

Will the next one be here sooner ??

We have seen the attached one in artist representation before. I have here one that is the actual model

We have also heard predictions that it may model after the new 2010 VFR1200 ???

My guess is as good as yours... and hopefully we will see it much sooner :dot:

Wow!! impressive! hope that the price is not more than 25,000 :cheers:

http://www.animated-gifs.eu/transportation-riders/0016.gif http://www.animated-gifs.eu/transportation-riders/0077.gif

Sent my bike to workshop last Thursday, the mechanic clean up the

air box area and tune the autochoke. Charge me $60 for labor and $130

for K & N filter.

On Saturday, FI Blink 2 times means Map sensor may not be properly installed. Sent the bike back again. He charge me $30 labor and 2 bottles

of coolant cost $30. So total is $60.

I feel he should not have charge me labor for the second time. Think it should be his job to correct the problem in the same area.

Do let me know whether I've been chop.

PS: He did replaced the coolant and flushed the radiator but the problem STILL AROUND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by tszkit
interested of buying my ST11..? reply me via email at [email protected] give u details...

wad ur budget,i intend to sell mine soon,mine is st1100 yr2002 coe left 2yrs renewable,but i still left few thousands instalment,gave me a sms wad ur budget see is it worth to sell away.....92394043,kenny:cheeky:

hi guys.. im a newbie reporting with a old ST11... jus a quick question.. i need to change the front tire for my V model.. any advice regarding the size? 120 or 110 for the front? V model non abs.. thks so much , seefus :D

My rides since 1994:Nsr Hornet 125/Yamaha LC125/RD125/Suzuki RG125 Light Sprinter/CBR400 Hurricane/Suzuki GSXR 750/Honda XR250/KAWA ZXR750/Yamaha R1 03/Gilera Runner Fxr/ Suzuki GSXR1000 K6/Harley Sportster 1200S/Yamaha 04R1/BMW R1100r/Suzuki SRAD GSXR750/KTM 640SM/Harley VRod VSRCAW/HOnda Fireblade 929/R6'04/St1100V/DRZ400Sm_K8/Current-Aprilia RSV Tuono 1000R

Hi ST1300 bros

I have got a Premiercycle passenger backrest for sale.

Condition 9.5/10, Retails about S$450+ including shipping

Selling at S$360

http://www.premiercycleaccessories.com/Passenger_Backrest_p/12003.htm

Premier BR 1.jpg

1 Live, so Live It

for K & N filter.

On Saturday, FI Blink 2 times means Map sensor may not be properly installed. Sent the bike back again. He charge me $30 labor and 2 bottles

I feel he should not have charge me labor for the second time. Think it should be his job to correct the problem in the same area.

PS: He did replaced the coolant and flushed the radiator but the problem STILL AROUND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Definitely not reasonable. Plus the problem is not resolved despite the second time job. You could tell the mechanic that the problem wasn't there before he did the job. No idea if the mechanic's trying to screw around but you can always try to reason and negotiate with him during the third job.

Nic

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

for K & N filter.

Can Pm me the shop you went to?

Definitely not reasonable. Plus the problem is not resolved despite the second time job. You could tell the mechanic that the problem wasn't there before he did the job. No idea if the mechanic's trying to screw around but you can always try to reason and negotiate with him during the third job.

Nic

He definitely overcharge me!!!

You only pay $10 for labor in other shop for change the air filter, but he charge

me $60 for doing nothing much different!!!

I guess it is like that lah!!!

Don't think will bring back the bike for the third time. The $90 I will take it as tuition fee!!!

The name of the shop? Oh, look up , it is in the purple color.

Good reputation? Questionable!!!

Edited by tszkit
hi guys.. im a newbie reporting with a old ST11... jus a quick question.. i need to change the front tire for my V model.. any advice regarding the size? 120 or 110 for the front? V model non abs.. thks so much , seefus :D

Hi Slowpoke . Welcome to the club, For your front tire is up to you some of us like it in 110 and some like it in 120. For me i got my bike it comes with size 120 and now I just bought size 110 metzeler Z6 INTERACT Hmmm the different is size 120 is heavier and 110 is lighter

Hope this will help you :cheeky::thumb:

:shy:

Hi guys, where can i find original st11 headlight bulb beside fjt and chong aik? Thanks

I AM BACK!!!!!

Hi guys, where can i find original st11 headlight bulb beside fjt and chong aik? Thanks

the light bulb you are looking for is a H4 lightbulb. Car accessories shop also carry this. But must take notice of the power of the bulb. If not wrong ST11/ST13 should be using somewhere around the region of 55W/65W ?

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

My mechanic told me H4 drawing too much power. Need the original one is better. Anyone knows where to get?

I AM BACK!!!!!

My mechanic told me H4 drawing too much power. Need the original one is better. Anyone knows where to get?

Bro, the original headlight bulb is H4, unless you headlight holder has been modified.

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

Bro... H4 is refering to the type of light bulb... not the power of the light bulb..

There are many types (Different types of power rating) of H4 light bulb...55W/65w ; 100w/100w etc etc....

Would suggest you dun use too high power ones as it might 1) Drain off your battery life span / power distrubution to your bike's system weaken 2) Your bulb holder will melt (long run)....

Pls check with your mechanic what talk is he trying to tell / advise you...regarding high drawing of power of H4.... When I read this...I also blurr...

Just my 2 cents....

Ride Safe

HI FUTURE ST1300 OWNERS

DO not buy @ above silver st1300,it is supposed to be scrapped.cheers & good luck.:angel:

Which Silver you are refering to??

Ok guys thanks

wah..... Tanarthur... looking at ur postnotes looks like u had a bad deal...

hope all ur bike prob quickly settled n have a tip top condition bike with just the normal maintainace. :thumb:

Hi fellow STX bros... and also ST11 lah

Thot of organising a simple kopi session to share about STX farkles and maybe get advice on up-keeping the bike. After that maybe a ride over to JB for fill up and supper ?

Date : 16 Jul (Friday)

Time : 730 - 8pm

Location: Either Central/West for 1hr + before heading cross border, or cross border for kopi and supper directly.

Plans: pm me your name, email and contact so that I can liaise outside this thread

Ride Safe

1 Live, so Live It