Honda ST1100

Simon Soh

Good day to all ST11 bikers,

have a few question to ask, was testing a ST11 bike today and when i revthe Bike to 4k plus rpm i can hear cranking sound think from the pipe area .. can anybody enlighten ???

Another thing is that the bike i am looking at seems t have alot of white smoke when i rev today ... what could be the cause pls enlighten thks

Glenn :cheer:

• Replies 6.6k

Originally posted by glennloh@Mar 2 2005, 10:13 PM

Good day to all ST11 bikers,

have a few question to ask, was testing a ST11 bike today and when i revthe Bike to 4k plus rpm i can hear cranking sound think from the pipe area .. can anybody enlighten ???

Another thing is that the bike i am looking at seems t have alot of white smoke when i rev today ... what could be the cause pls enlighten thks

glennloh,

at stationary, u will damaged the engine at unneccessary high reving rpm.

mind to be more specific of 'cranking sound' u quoted.

might be worn rings or other damages around cam/valve rod seals area burning engine oil out from combustion chamber.

expand ur search again if u r not too excited with only this ST1100.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Simon, the cranking sound does not last long ... and its like when rpm reach more than 4k plus , i can hear "clamp ... clamp.. " sound .. but onli few short ones onli ...

so as the bike shop say abt tuning will do .. So th posible fault you memtion is it serious and how to comfirm the fault if it is realli wat u saw ... ??? So as i can reflect to the shop and tell them change ... u see ..

and also regarding the white smoke leh .. pls enlighten ...

Tks Regards

Originally posted by glennloh@Mar 3 2005, 09:41 AM

Simon, the cranking sound does not last long ... and its like when rpm reach more than 4k plus , i can hear "clamp ... clamp.. " sound .. but onli few short ones onli ...

so as the bike shop say abt tuning will do .. So th posible fault you memtion is it serious and how to comfirm the fault if it is realli wat u saw ... ??? So as i can reflect to the shop and tell them change ... u see ..

and also regarding the white smoke leh .. pls enlighten ...

Tks Regards

white smoke = not healthy engine = many repair work = many money spend...

is the sound u were saying is like a bang bang noise....

if it is bang bang sound, possible problem

air in-take rubber piping wear out or crack which cause leakage, possibel area...it can be any where in the system....!!! heee...

cheers....

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid144/p9e54de4d0b4905a59d5dd3014acc66de/f67cabae.jpg

Originally posted by shadowman@Mar 3 2005, 10:25 AM

white smoke = not healthy engine = many repair work = many money spend...

is the sound u were saying is like a bang bang noise....

if it is bang bang sound, possible problem

air in-take rubber piping wear out or crack which cause leakage, possibel area...it can be any where in the system....!!! heee...

cheers....

its not of a bang bang sound ... but like metal cranking sound ...

white smoke = not healthy engine = many repair work = many money spend... then how .. ??? so is advisable not to go for the bike .. ???

So is it costly to service the air in-take rubber piping ??? if thats the possible prob .. ???

Originally posted by glennloh@Mar 3 2005, 02:15 PM

its not of a bang bang sound ... but like metal cranking sound ...

white smoke = not healthy engine = many repair work = many money spend... then how .. ??? so is advisable not to go for the bike .. ???

So is it costly to service the air in-take rubber piping ??? if thats the possible prob .. ???

glennloh,

where is the bike.?

Simon Soh

Glenn....

We have been trying to find out the BikeShop name and exact location

Lots of us move around everyday outside... and possible can look see look see

If it is not convenience to disclose... either PM us or Call us...

me phone no. : 90088200

Ubi Rd 1 have more then 10 bikeshop leh.... only 3-4 shops have big bike like ST

Hmmmm.... Dexing , MotorSale , ???????

I work at Ubi ....

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by amen23@Mar 2 2005, 08:45 AM

Most of Honda bikes have a soft front so what most owners do is change the fork oil to a higher vicosity which will help. As u have just got your bike it best to do a service on it including changing the fork seal so that u have a better handling and worry free....

thanks bro simon n amen23..will do servicing next time i go looi's

Originally posted by PearlST@Mar 3 2005, 08:37 PM

Glenn....

We have been trying to find out the BikeShop name and exact location

Lots of us move around everyday outside... and possible can look see look see

If it is not convenience to disclose... either PM us or Call us...

me phone no. : 90088200

Ubi Rd 1 have more then 10 bikeshop leh.... only 3-4 shops have big bike like ST

Hmmmm.... Dexing , MotorSale , ???????

I work at Ubi ....

Hi Pearlst,

Sorry for the trouble ... actually the shop is at ubi road 1 blk 2020A bike shop name wing huat trading ...

well the exact location is hmmmm how to say ... as stated in the map roughly ...

WingHuat Trading or moto

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

UBI ROAD 1

| |===========================================-

| | coffee shop

| |============================================

|

|

| |=============================================

| | motor sales dexing

| |

| | planet motor

| |=============================================

Bro, so if u can help me go take a look maybe prior 1/2 hr to 45 mins you call me i will meet you there loh can

Thks with regards

Glenn

PS: but think u better call me first b4 u go down heard the bike shop boss say he wanna send the bike for inspections tomolo ... so maybe i call them see the bike there or not ... my mobile 96841334 Glenn

Originally posted by amen23@Mar 3 2005, 11:16 PM

"U all wan, can go together "

Hummm....if 10 over ST go together what the boss think :confused:

Haahahah true man ... but anyway nothing wrong even go together ....

but like tat i paiseh leh ... must treat everyone coffee here liao like tat ....

hahah

Originally posted by hsp_89@Mar 3 2005, 10:56 PM

I know where the shop is...cos my bike shop mah.. :p

U all wan, can go together :)

Bro since tats ur bike shop ... so hows your review on them .. ??? they give empty promise one .. ???

scared later i take bike liao they pattern liao man ...

and also their servicing for bikes good or not .. ??? anyway wat bike u riding .. ???

Sorry for the :offtopic:

Firstly...hsp89 aka Andy ride a beaST as in his Pic

Andy, kenneth, Bruise, Jerry, + 3 other ST friends and myself all work in Ubi

Not necessary for all to go there together...

sECONDLY.... u have almost committed to that Bike liao...

viewing is better understanding only....and to get the Bikeshop to repair as much

before taking over....

we will contact u

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by amen23@Mar 3 2005, 11:16 PM

"U all wan, can go together "

Hummm....if 10 over ST go together what the boss think :confused:

what if the 70% of our full strength go there together..? :lol:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by yusp1@Mar 3 2005, 10:13 PM

thanks bro simon n amen23..will do servicing next time i go looi's

servicing fork & replacing steering cone can be done at good pricing with some bargain hunting, most exterior servicing can be done at most shop. :smile: they r also plenty of non-famous mechanic around if u have faith with them.

we have a veteran member did this service & replacement himself FYI. o_O

Simon Soh

Originally posted by PearlST@Mar 4 2005, 12:59 AM

Firstly...hsp89 aka Andy ride a beaST as in his Pic

Andy, kenneth, Bruise, Jerry, + 3 other ST friends and myself all work in Ubi

Not necessary for all to go there together...

sECONDLY.... u have almost committed to that Bike liao...

viewing is better understanding only....and to get the Bikeshop to repair as much

before taking over....

we will contact u

sure hope to hear from you all ...

And bro Simon ... 70% of the strength is like how many ppl .. ???

hahaha hey i realli look forward to my first outing with you all guys man ... sound realli interesting man .....

regards

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Mar 4 2005, 01:55 AM

servicing fork & replacing steering cone can be done at good pricing with some bargain hunting, most exterior servicing can be done at most shop. :smile: they r also plenty of non-famous mechanic around if u have faith with them.

we have a veteran member did this service & replacement himself FYI. o_O

any recommendation..shop etc?

Originally posted by hsp_89@Mar 4 2005, 09:48 PM

that photoshoot still short of a number of guys leh..hee :p

That shot is only 30% of the full strength....

but if all goes... traffic jam liao...

Glenn !!!

I went to see your bike liao...

Its a White FMxxxx and it was on a truck when i got there...

Only 1 comment.... Change the colour of the SIT....

it look like from a LC kia.....

Saw some dents on the exhaust...

Brake Disc kanna rusty... might be parked too long...

Before u get your beaST.... check with bikeshop...

Battery , starter , Brake x 3 sets... the rest lie with Fate liao....

Cheers bro...

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by PearlST@Mar 5 2005, 12:33 AM

That shot is only 30% of the full strength....

but if all goes... traffic jam liao...

Glenn !!!

I went to see your bike liao...

Its a White FMxxxx and it was on a truck when i got there...

Only 1 comment.... Change the colour of the SIT....

it look like from a LC kia.....

Saw some dents on the exhaust...

Brake Disc kanna rusty... might be parked too long...

Before u get your beaST.... check with bikeshop...

Battery , starter , Brake x 3 sets... the rest lie with Fate liao....

Cheers bro...

Hey bro ... thks for viewing and the comments ... but from wat i know there got 2 st11 leh .... scared you see the wrong one hehehe ... also both FM plate

one is FM 51XX the other is like FM dont know wat ... but very ugly number one ...

any way me saw the dent on the exhaust also ... so wat can i do ... tell them change the other bike exhaust over to mine .. ?? is it possible ... after changing must retune the engine .. ???

disc brake rusty how.. ?? no need to change new one right ... how to solve ..???

think the bike park there for quite some time already ... so as to cause the rust ..

well from wat i know the batt is new ... rectifier new ... but starter how to see .. ??? brake ok .... from i test ....

Hey anyway i will be getting my bike today... so maybe got time meet up or something for a thorough check ... thks

Glenn

Originally posted by amen23@Mar 4 2005, 03:08 PM

70% :confused:

how many % is it for this pic :confused:

HEy think the photo must change liao .... cause short of me hahahahah

lastest member in the gang hahahahha *if u all dont mind my joining you all*