oh melvin,

so you the V-strom rider.

Was commenting to comics that the bike exhaust is so big. Thot what bike was that...:smile:

And yes comic, youwere leading us to underneath that bus....

was wondering where you were going when we were supposed to turn into the custom. Thot you have better idea, in the end, was toward that bus :cheeky:

Boyz don't grow up, the toys just get bigger

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Originally posted by apogez@May 4 2004, 07:14 PM

oh melvin,

Was commenting to comics that the bike exhaust is so big. Thot what bike was that...:smile:

was wondering where you were going when we were supposed to turn into the custom. Thot you have better idea, in the end, was toward that bus :cheeky:

Hi guys!!! when I saw 2 TDM together, I knew that I can definately find you guys here..

Maybe next time we can go JB together.. let comic lead the way again.. :)

Melvin

Yamaha WR200

Honda Phantom TA200

Honda Superfour CB400

Honda Shadow 400

Suzuki V-Strom DL650

Originally posted by apogez@May 4 2004, 07:06 PM

yo,

got mine at JCW.... Basement level.

Quite Ex for a white LED. 3 buck for a 5mm and 2 buck for 3mm.

But i paid 50 cents each :smile:

bought a total of 50 LED 3mm. Maybe i can sell you some at the cost price.

Btw, 12v is way too high for 2 LED. Gonna fry them.

White and blue LED have a operating voltage of 3-4.5v

other colour is about 2-3v.

Think i spoilt my pilot light. Pressed too hard into the casing and after heard a "tick" sound, the pilot light not working anymore. haiz... think the connection behind must have come loose. waiting for a off day to work on it

Lesson learnt....

FYI, me using 220ohm resistor with 2 LED connected in series. and a total of 8 series

need to know what is the rating of your LED. trying to get the 10000mcd (at 20 or 25ma) type. forgot to mention that i was using a 470ohm resistor to drop the voltage. assuming light charging voltage for bike is 12.6v and LED rated at 3.4v, 20ma, (12.6-3.4) / 0.020 = 460ohm. anyway, i'm going to wire them in parallel with a resistor for each led. see pic.

any plans on working on the signal and brake lights? those would be more challenging. 10w load for signal and 2 wattage for brake...

solo,

what the seller told me is that those LED is Ultra bright type... rating not so sure

for 2 led is still ok. but imagine have to cramp 10 led and 10 resister into one small area... eg right signal light? :confused:

was trying to do that on the pilot light but the space constraint....

try not to used 25mA although its the ideals current to be used... will generate lots of heat unless have proper cooling.

have to settle my pilot light 1st. Happy that my circuit work

Damn, i was to engross in the fitment.

Boyz don't grow up, the toys just get bigger

Originally posted by ashenZ@May 4 2004, 06:29 PM

wahhh $12k.... hmmzzz not bad buy.. wonder wotz the condition of the bike.... anyone knows??

hey i saw the TDM900 picture.. and the front pratically ofeerz no wind protection.... i saw frm prev msgs dat u guyz r installing ur own wind shield... can anyone post a pic of how will it lookz like????

for getting a touring bike w/ o wind protection is terrible!~!

Casio: wot is tpft insurance??

condition of the bike when i first saw it was quite bad. maybe that's because they just took in the bike so, not very clean. but a couple of days when i was there again to do some adjustment to my bike, i looked at the tdm again. it's looking much better now although i didn't look at it clearly. i guess they must have touched up the bike ready for sale.

by the way, the bike is in stock condition. therefore, you will need to budget in some $$ to buy the accessories.

some of the accessories you might want to consider: -

1. higher windshield

2. engine guard / slider

3. main stand

4. luggage system (top box/side panniers)

BTW, i have a bagster tank bra and bagster soft panniers for sale if any of you is interested. :cheeky:

Dobby said! "Harry Potter must not go back to School this year. There is a plot; plot to create very terrible things"

apogez - hmm, let me create a site so that we can discuss and document this stuff without distrubing this thread. can reserve 10 LEDs for me. will collect at next meetup. gonna place an order for additional 50 with online shop to compare.

casio - when are you getting the screen? what mainstand you recommend? need to get one asap. damn bike is super unstable on side stand. toppled once...

ashenZ - afaik, there is another tdm850 for sale (if the offer is right). can set you up for a view if you are interested. going for 850 or 900? curious if the 04'900 comes with alarm...

Originally posted by ashenZ@May 4 2004, 01:24 PM

hey guyzz... nid some help on consolidating TDM900 info here...

1.) which are the shops dat sells TDM and which one offers the best deals and after sales service??? (i see lots goin to Dilli... does it sells TDM n service it?? wotz the address??)

2.) Can TDM be fixed wif GIVI wing rack???? I heard a few buying the Hepco n becker side panniers... Wotz the volume of the panniers n price?? does it comez wif brackets??

3.) im about 90kg and 172cm tall.... am i able to fit on a Tdm 900... in terms of travelling n touring wif pillion??? issit too tall for mi??

4.) wot is the price for new TDM900 and insurance for mi (24yrs old)

thank you for ur comments and time... Im actualli waiting for a VFR... but cun get a 2nd hand one coz hard to come by.... and cost $24k+ for a 800CC bike wif 1000CC insurance price tag...

was lukkin at other alternatives when i saw a silver black TDM last fri at pit stop.... hope u guy can gimme some advice.. thanX~

1) got my from dili though not sure if they offer the best price but have been duelling with them since '96 & think their price is reasonable service up to my expectation.

2) can't ans this question 'cos the 1 & only thing i did to my TDM was change the wind shield.

3) i am "small" compare to u, only 68kg & 163cm :cheeky:

4) should be >$17,500 - ~$18,500 otr. call up the motor tiam to find out more. 'cos u only 24yo think 1st party >$1,200.

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by ashenZ@May 4 2004, 06:29 PM

wahhh $12k.... hmmzzz not bad buy.. wonder wotz the condition of the bike.... anyone knows??

hey i saw the TDM900 picture.. and the front pratically ofeerz no wind protection.... i saw frm prev msgs dat u guyz r installing ur own wind shield... can anyone post a pic of how will it lookz like????

for getting a touring bike w/ o wind protection is terrible!~!

Casio: wot is tpft insurance??

12k for a 1 1/2 yr old TDM900 sounds very reasonable to me:smile: though not sure how's the condition u can always request to a test ride:goodluck:

visit the TDM-SGP at yahoo groups to view some of our bikes. u'll notice all have taller wind shield.

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by apogez@May 4 2004, 07:14 PM

oh melvin,

the last time i went up north was 6mths back (nov'03) so don't remember clearly ot road :sorry: as for the bus thing next time i will be more cautious :sorry:

Originally posted by casio@May 5 2004, 09:05 AM

condition of the bike when i first saw it was quite bad. maybe that's because they just took in the bike so, not very clean. but a couple of days when i was there again to do some adjustment to my bike, i looked at the tdm again. it's looking much better now although i didn't look at it clearly. i guess they must have touched up the bike ready for sale.

by the way, the bike is in stock condition. therefore, you will need to budget in some $$ to buy the accessories.

some of the accessories you might want to consider: -

1. higher windshield

2. engine guard / slider

3. main stand

4. luggage system (top box/side panniers)

BTW, i have a bagster tank bra and bagster soft panniers for sale if any of you is interested. :cheeky:

melvin,

don't worry abt the accessories lah, buy already than slowly slowly change loh. me only got the higher wind shield. though i wish to fix the main stand & engine guard but got to wait 'cos no $$$ still saving :sweat:

Originally posted by solo@May 5 2004, 12:03 PM

apogez - hmm, let me create a site so that we can discuss and document this stuff without distrubing this thread. can reserve 10 LEDs for me. will collect at next meetup. gonna place an order for additional 50 with online shop to compare.

casio - when are you getting the screen? what mainstand you recommend? need to get one asap. damn bike is super unstable on side stand. toppled once...

ashenZ - afaik, there is another tdm850 for sale (if the offer is right). can set you up for a view if you are interested. going for 850 or 900? curious if the 04'900 comes with alarm...

Solo

Haven't really thought abt the screen. Was just asking abt the price. Am still ok with the Givi screen. Maybe in few months time or end of the year. Don't wish to change now. Is your screen still the stock screen? If yes, then it's really low.

As for main stand, the current one i had is from SW Motech. Quality ok la i would say. Not sure how the original yamaha main stand would be compare to this one but i still feels that it's a little wobbly.. maybe it's time to look at it. Perhaps the nut's loose.

Hey.. when's the next meet up for TDM? :confused:

Dobby said! "Harry Potter must not go back to School this year. There is a plot; plot to create very terrible things"

wotz the address for yahoo groups??

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

apogez - check pm. i think the yahoo groups is down. cannot check your email addy.

casio - still using stock screen. dun mind the wind but hate to clean the bugs... will try to get more comments before buying the stand. i try to get aftermarket products instead of kenna chop by manufacturer. just sent email for the next meetup. see you there.

ashenZ - only tdm owners are admitted to that site. not much info there except meeting for kopi... you might want to check out http://www.carpe-tdm.com/tdm/index.html

Solo,

Me name is in. Calling the rest... put in your name!!!!! :cheer:

BTW, can share at what RPM do you normally change gears? Also, has anyone changed sprockets & chain? how much does it cost? :confused:

thanks. depends on situation.

4k - fuel economy mode (80% of the time)

6k - good mood or over taking (18%)

red line - feeling rich (2%)

i haven't clock 10k km. spocks still good. chain very good (scottoiler). any ideas about radiators? thinking of getting a big one and add a manual switch.

Originally posted by solo@May 6 2004, 11:25 AM

thanks. depends on situation.

4k - fuel economy mode (80% of the time)

6k - good mood or over taking (18%)

red line - feeling rich (2%)

i haven't clock 10k km. spocks still good. chain very good (scottoiler). any ideas about radiators? thinking of getting a big one and add a manual switch.

my spocks and chain are quite dirty. sianz.. :sian:

no idea abt the radiator buddy. sorry can't help you further on this. what's your milage now? :smile:

cas

Originally posted by casio@May 6 2004, 10:27 AM

Solo,

Me name is in. Calling the rest... put in your name!!!!! :cheer:

BTW, can share at what RPM do you normally change gears? Also, has anyone changed sprockets & chain? how much does it cost? :confused:

normal ride change gear ~3.5k.

sprockets & chain still using the stock, no need so change still in good condition. make sure u wash if accumulate sand/mud ect & lubruicate it regular interval. mileage ~33,000km.

Originally posted by comics00@May 6 2004, 12:21 PM

normal ride change gear ~3.5k.

sprockets & chain still using the stock, no need so change still in good condition. make sure u wash if accumulate sand/mud ect & lubruicate it regular interval. mileage ~33,000km.

how you wash the chain? did it yourself or there's a shop that does the washing? my chain is all oily and have black stain.. :help:

hard way - remove chain and soak in solvent (disel, petrol, kerosene, etc)

easy way 1 - spray degreaser and let it drip

easy way 2 - brush copious amounts of engine oil and let it drip

easy way 3 - use high pressure water jet

super easy way - fix scottoiler. chain is always clean and shiny. no need to wash but need to wash rim :-p

Originally posted by solo@May 6 2004, 01:02 PM

hard way - remove chain and soak in solvent (disel, petrol, kerosene, etc)

easy way 1 - spray degreaser and let it drip

easy way 2 - brush copious amounts of engine oil and let it drip

easy way 3 - use high pressure water jet

super easy way - fix scottoiler. chain is always clean and shiny. no need to wash but need to wash rim :-p

got to get my hands dirty again... :giddy:

easyway no 1 seems the easiest. really got no shop that does this for me? if can i want to strip down the chain and spocks for complete wash/degrease.

any idea anyone? :help: :help:

Originally posted by solo@May 6 2004, 01:23 PM

all shops will be able to do that. easy money for them.

thanks solo :cheeky:

i wonder how much they would charge to do that? :confused:

how abt scottoiler? how much does it cost to install one? understand that it requires modification on the air intake tube. any effects to the performance of the bike? :confused:

cleaning of chain is a 10min job. $5 at most?

no effect on performance. email hodaka motorworld (enquiries@motoworld.com.sg) for a quote. don't quite remember, i think i got the touring kit and dual injectors at either $200 or $250, inclusive of installation. http://www.scottoiler.com

Originally posted by solo@May 6 2004, 01:46 PM

cleaning of chain is a 10min job. $5 at most?

no effect on performance. email hodaka motorworld (enquiries@motoworld.com.sg) for a quote. don't quite remember, i think i got the touring kit and dual injectors at either $200 or $250, inclusive of installation. http://www.scottoiler.com

$5 bucks... not too ex.. can consider. which shop would you recommend? wah.. oiler is so ex ah.. maybe put that into long term plan la..

cas