I just noticed something about the rev-range and engine feel. From 0K-3K, the revs pick up and the engine is smooth. From 3K-4K, the revs pick up with more vibes from the engine, can feel the vibration from the footpegs. Above 4K, the revs shoot up and the engine is smooth again.

Is this due to the run-in process? If it is, then I guess I have to live with it.

kyquek

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Originally posted by solo@Oct 27 2005, 10:44 AM

i see... besides the plugs i dont know what could have caused that liao. fuel pump :confused:

On this note, does the fuel pump need a little time to charge up first before we thumb the starter? I start the bike in this sequence while the bike is on the main stand,

1) insert key and turn to ON.

2) wait for the dials and lights to initialize and return to rest position.

3) clutch in and thumb starter.

4) push bike off main stand.

hmm...or should I do step 4 first?

i did not notice any difference throughout the rev range...

well, there is no fixed method of starting. i thumb the starter immediately after the tacho resets itself, with the bike still on the side stand. how did you trun off the ignition? did you rev the bike then hit the kill switch or just turn it off using the key? i always turn it off using the key.

solo: I just turn the key to OFF. Most probably, my throttle control is poor. Hopefully, it will get better as I adapt to the bike.

Just checked with Motovation Accessories, the TDM900 fender extender is not in stock but they can bring in for $60, 6-8weeks time.

kyquek

Originally posted by kyquek@Oct 27 2005, 11:07 AM

1) insert key and turn to ON.

2) wait for the dials and lights to initialize and return to rest position.

3) clutch in and thumb starter.

4) push bike off main stand.

hmm...or should I do step 4 first?

Here's what I do. (if u r curious)

1) Turn the key wait for dials to stop.

2) Fire up with button

3) Wait till idling calms down to near 1k

4) Hop on, stands off, ride off.

I skip step 3 sometimes if I am in a rush but bike tends to die off while on the move if I shut off throttle completely for too long.

When reached home,

1) Kill engine with red button and glide to position.

2) Dismount and reverse park properly.

3) Side stand. Cover bike, armed alarm, go home.

Originally posted by kyquek@Oct 27 2005, 12:23 PM

Just checked with Motovation Accessories, the TDM900 fender extender is not in stock but they can bring in for $60, 6-8weeks time.

kyquek

If you are in no hurry, I can make one. Using the one I get from solo as the mould.

I am no professional but I have free plastic to do trials with.

yappiez, yes please! I will wait patiently, and am willing to be your guinea pig too.

you mentioned "armed alarm", how do you do that?

Sheesh...ignore that last line, i can't believe I asked that.:sweat:

The Scottoiler oil container is running low on oil, where do I get some oil? How to refill it?

It's the first time I'm using a bike with Scottoiler, so I'm clueless. Thank you for your time.

Originally posted by kyquek@Oct 27 2005, 01:06 PM

The Scottoiler oil container is running low on oil, where do I get some oil? How to refill it?

It's the first time I'm using a bike with Scottoiler, so I'm clueless. Thank you for your time.

http://www.scottoiler.com/

for the original oil, you can try hodaka motorworld as they sell scottoilers. what i do is to use normal engine oil. it has lower viscosity and may flung onto the rims but it works as well.

the oil will come in a squeezable bottle. there is a special screw on tube for the bottle to deliver the oil into the scottoiler containers.

there are 2 type of containers, the RMV and High Capacity Reservoir (HCR). below is the picture of an RMV.

http://www.scottoiler.com/resources/files/2_J_priming_BIG.gif

to fill up the RMV, peel off the filler plug and you can see a small hole. the hole is just the right size for the tube. squirt some oil in and put the plug back.

for the HCR (part of the more expensive touring kit), there is a tube at the top. just squirt oil into the tube.

btw, dont let the RMV be completely empty before filling as you would then need to prime the whole thing before it would work again.

if you still have no idea how the thing works, drop by my place at kembangan and i could give you a demo. alternatively, someone could organise an outing so i can pass the stuffs to everyone.

Let's meet up!!!

Bulls Eye @ Riverside point.

Cafe owned by TDM rider!!!!!

All are welcome! (just pay for your own drinks) ;)

Tonight at 9pm!!!! Come down or I will punctured ur tires!!!!!!!!

Muahahahaahhaa

Anyone one dunno the place can call me to find out.

Originally posted by yappiez@Oct 28 2005, 04:31 PM

Let's meet up!!!

Bulls Eye @ Riverside point.

Cafe owned by TDM rider!!!!!

All are welcome! (just pay for your own drinks) ;)

Tonight at 8pm!!!! Come down or I will punctured ur tires!!!!!!!!

Muahahahaahhaa

Anyone one dunno the place can call me to find out.

pengz* u ppl always meet up when i not in SG :weep:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Oops, just saw yappiez's post. So how was the meetup?

:sorry: Really hoped to meet all other TDM riders.

Come to think of it, does anyone know of a TDM850 (no panniers, just topbox) rider living in Tampines? Seen him a couple of times in the morning about 7.30am.

Ride safe!

Meetup was good...the usual suspects turned up hahaha Dun worry, there's always another time. Yappiez is bored of nothing to mod for his TDM hehehe

U din specify the colour of the TDM850.. might be hard to narrow down. We only know 4 TDM850 riders in our group.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Has anyone changed their suspension settings from the factory settings? I weigh 57Kg and find that the bike does not sag by much when I sit on it. Have you checked your static sag before?

Originally posted by yappiez@Oct 28 2005, 04:49 PM

Hmmm.. u in states again?

U also bey sui.. meetup with Diversions never jio me?

bro, that meet up with Diversions was last min thing lah :sweat: btw me now in Brunei.

bro kyquek, i am ~65kg & i felt the ride was good with the factory setting, think it was set at 3 :confused:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by barracuda@Oct 29 2005, 01:02 PM

Yappiez is bored of nothing to mod for his TDM hehehe

Actually not nothing but rather no time to work at it...

I already have several things to do after that meet up........ let's see.....

- get t-shirt quote

- diy a extra pc of fender extender

- diy hugger extender

- install fog lights

- relocate horns

- complain to HB about mainstands

- install vista throttle lock.

BTW, anyone knows how to duplicate a DVD can PM me.

I am getting the Long Way Round DVD from UK.

Also got a great documentary 'Dust To Glory' to share if anyone wants. (about the Baja 1000 race)

Hello fellow TDMers!

It just struck me how the TDM is similar to a horse. The riding position is close to it and the exhaust note sounds like it's breathing. Anyway, back to reality. I have set the fork rebound adjuster back to 3 and now it does not bounce as much as when it was at 2. It's more stable too. :sweat: Heehee...back to factory setting, silly me.

barracuda:

Where did you get the headlight protector? How much was it?

solo:

Your picture of the Scottoiler refill procedure has a bottle with a tube that you plug to the filler tube. Is that a bottle of Scottoil you are using? I don't have that. I guess I have to get a bottle of Scottoil and reuse that bottle with normal engine oil in future.

kyquek

hahaha...a black horse...black beauty :lovestruck:

Thats the advantage of having a fully adjustable suspension :thumb: adjust as and when you like to suit your riding style and load.

Most of us including me got our headlight protectors from Alvin of motovation. You can find his posts and ads in the classifieds section. PM or call him to get it. $55

For the scott oil refill, you can also use a syringe to 'inject' the oil into the reservoir. The new scott oil bottle no longer has the flexi tube...its now replaced by a pointed nozzle that works pretty much the same way.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Thanks barracuda! The syringe worked! The Scottoiler really cuts down on the maintenance of the chain. Cool stuff.

I want to let go the GIVI racks for side panniers for $100. Any takers?

I have looked through catalogues and I think Hepco & Becker Junior 40L side panniers look better on the TDM. I like to think that the panniers are jet turbines like those on the A-10 Thunderbolt/Warthog.

Would Seng Kwang be able to fashion the racks for H&B panniers?

kyquek

hahaha,wished u have just info mi about selling the rack earlier.too late now,but dun want to waste the just bought rack

Originally posted by kyquek@Nov 11 2005, 04:51 PM

Would Seng Kwang be able to fashion the racks for H&B panniers?

Why don't you just buy the H&B one and just bolt on? Easier process than to go to seng kwang for all that trouble. For all you know, SK might end up more expensive becoz of the stainless steel tubes.

With your new 40l juniors, I'll have another 'twin' on the road hahaha...Your bike setup is almost identical to mine liao. 1st owner based all the mods on mine :thumb:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821