Hi, just got my cls 2 lic within the mth.

looking at all the available choices, narrowed my options to the tdm900 and sv650 cos:

1. want to try the power of vee engines

2. want a bike with gd riding posture

3. gd fuel economy

4. tourablility

5. high modability

6. relatively low maint

7. gd for daily commuting

8. older bikes, got option to get 2nd hands (btw how much aprox is a 2nd hand tdm now ah?),

aiyah, and the list can go on... :cheeky:

anyway, here to ask if anyone had experience with the sv oso? seems like both sv and tdm are almost similar in the above aspects cept for the tdm's extra higher cc.

btw, riding a S4 ver S now, no $$ to upgrade immediately, but just want to know if anyone here has any views on comparison between TDM and SV. thanx!

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Meet up this thursday(29/03/2006) at Bullseye cafe.

Time: 8.15pm to 10.30pm

1. Boon

2. Bob

3. Eddie with the invitation cards

4. Edward

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by calyban@Mar 26 2006, 12:10 AM

Hi, just got my cls 2 lic within the mth.

looking at all the available choices, narrowed my options to the tdm900 and sv650 cos:

1. want to try the power of vee engines

2. want a bike with gd riding posture

3. gd fuel economy

4. tourablility

5. high modability

6. relatively low maint

7. gd for daily commuting

8. older bikes, got option to get 2nd hands (btw how much aprox is a 2nd hand tdm now ah?),

aiyah, and the list can go on... :cheeky:

anyway, here to ask if anyone had experience with the sv oso? seems like both sv and tdm are almost similar in the above aspects cept for the tdm's extra higher cc.

btw, riding a S4 ver S now, no $$ to upgrade immediately, but just want to know if anyone here has any views on comparison between TDM and SV. thanx!

Join us at Bull's Eye Cafe next wed to see, touch and ask as many questions you want. :smile:

http://www.honda.co.uk/mcStatic/en/picture/product/NT700V%20ABS%20Deauville/full06.jpg

Everythings comes and go, the most important is to Catch It At The RIGHT Time.

Bob

Originally posted by Silverwinger@Mar 26 2006, 05:45 AM

Join us at Bull's Eye Cafe next wed to see, touch and ask as many questions you want. :smile:

Wow, thanx for the offer, but i'm sort of tied up for the next 2 weeks, so most prob cant make it this thurs liao.

But u guys will meetup frequently at the cafe right? so i guess i'll check back here for your next meetup. :thumb:

calyban,

for a start, the TDM900 or any TDM is not a vee engine layout. Its a parrallel twin. ie. 2 cylinders running side by side. Imagine removing 2 cylinders from your super4. Thats a parrallel twin. Different from the V-twin. So I guess if you are looking at Vs, then TDM is out for you.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@Mar 26 2006, 02:37 PM

calyban,

for a start, the TDM900 or any TDM is not a vee engine layout. Its a parrallel twin. ie. 2 cylinders running side by side. Imagine removing 2 cylinders from your super4. Thats a parrallel twin. Different from the V-twin. So I guess if you are looking at Vs, then TDM is out for you.

Woah, major faux pas on my side, :sweat: so paiseh...

thanx for correcting me barracuda,

i got too mixed up reading too many reviews... :giddy:

still very interested in TDM though...

..wassup people...pc stil in coma...still reviving it in ICU...

nw surfin at internet cafe....:cry: :sweat: :giddy: :giddy:

1. Boon

2. Bob

4. Edward

5.AJ(boon...pls update me via sms to remind me or if there's changes...can't log in pc at the moment...

Location pls go to place got pratas n teh tarik pls...

Btw...TDM rawks....

My hatyai trip wit an XRV750,all the while pump petrol my bike smehw pump less about 3-7RM every station...uses less fuel than AT...realise tat the AT was blasting all the while to keep up...while TDM jus cruise happily...hehehe:smile:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

so hows everythings eddie? it had been sometime since I come into this thread

It's not the miles per hour you go; It's the smiles per mile you get

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

Originally posted by AJ..@Mar 26 2006, 06:03 PM

..wassup people...pc stil in coma...still reviving it in ICU...

nw surfin at internet cafe....:cry: :sweat: :giddy: :giddy:

1. Boon

2. Bob

4. Edward

5.AJ(boon...pls update me via sms to remind me or if there's changes...can't log in pc at the moment...

Location pls go to place got pratas n teh tarik pls...

Btw...TDM rawks....

My hatyai trip wit an XRV750,all the while pump petrol my bike smehw pump less about 3-7RM every station...uses less fuel than AT...realise tat the AT was blasting all the while to keep up...while TDM jus cruise happily...hehehe:smile:

Bob, the day is wednesday for 29/03 not thursday. AJ, maybe ur mixture is too rich, tt's why when riding at high speed your comsumptiom is better than street riding. I be doing my TBS (throttle body sync) and CO levels adjustment at HL. But heard like louis doing a better job..:giddy: Anyone got any idea?

http://www.remus.co.za/photogallery/artwork/borders/Red%203d%20wolf.jpg

hey calyban! congrats on the class 2 LOL! looking at a TDM too? i used to be interested in getting one, that's why i'm lurking here (hello TDM guys! ;p), but decided to go for an old bike instead, heh.. (i riding this kawa concours now, you might have seen the bike in school before)

TDM's good man! you can't wheelie most v-twins for long, they suffer from oil starvation! whereas the TDM has a dry sump (right?).. so no problemo! ahaha.. but seriously... if you're thinking of twins, there's also the V-Strom DL650, same engine as SV650 but in a chassis similar to the TDM. the SV650S has very sporty er, "ergonomics", uses clip-on bars. might be too "sporty" for some people. quite different bikes, IMHO. (transalp, A-twin, varadero, v-stroms etc more like tdm?)

aiyah anyway i gotta go do my work... talk to you next time la. gd luck with the projects and all... maybe study break more free we have lunch ya?

Hi guys, welcome to TDM forum. Me working in NUS, guess exams r coming next month. Maybe can squeeze in time to join us this wed at Bulls eye? Its at clarke quay. Can take AYE. hehe.

Originally posted by boon16@Mar 27 2006, 12:02 AM

Bob, the day is wednesday for 29/03 not thursday. AJ, maybe ur mixture is too rich, tt's why when riding at high speed your comsumptiom is better than street riding. I be doing my TBS (throttle body sync) and CO levels adjustment at HL. But heard like louis doing a better job..:giddy: Anyone got any idea?

Meet up this Wed (29/03/2006) at Bullseye cafe.

1. Boon

2. Bob

4. Edward

Sorry getting old la. :smile:

http://www.honda.co.uk/mcStatic/en/picture/product/NT700V%20ABS%20Deauville/full06.jpg

Everythings comes and go, the most important is to Catch It At The RIGHT Time.

Bob

hey man...

boon...i dunno leh...bout the mixture...sended my bike to loois,HL...they all say everythg is FINE>..,....:weep:

Anyway,been suffering from tis from the begining....so its like getting used to burn more money on petrol than u guys.....:cheeky:

And to my wonderful surprise,you really can pop a wheelie on TDM on the 2nd gear...well.AT u can only managed to do dat on gear 1 with all stock gearing...

boon...dun forget to update me hor via sms...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

Originally posted by boofeng@Mar 27 2006, 02:39 AM

hey calyban! congrats on the class 2 LOL! looking at a TDM too? i used to be interested in getting one, that's why i'm lurking here (hello TDM guys! ;p), but decided to go for an old bike instead, heh.. (i riding this kawa concours now, you might have seen the bike in school before)

TDM's good man! you can't wheelie most v-twins for long, they suffer from oil starvation! whereas the TDM has a dry sump (right?).. so no problemo! ahaha.. but seriously... if you're thinking of twins, there's also the V-Strom DL650, same engine as SV650 but in a chassis similar to the TDM. the SV650S has very sporty er, "ergonomics", uses clip-on bars. might be too "sporty" for some people. quite different bikes, IMHO. (transalp, A-twin, varadero, v-stroms etc more like tdm?)

aiyah anyway i gotta go do my work... talk to you next time la. gd luck with the projects and all... maybe study break more free we have lunch ya?

hey boofeng, wad happened to your bandit?

Aiyah, so paiseh, i was not actually aiming specifically for a vee lah.

cos initially i was considering TDM900, SV650 and also blackbird and vmax one, wasnt so sure of their engine specs, somehow while looking thru each of their specs, reviews and comparisons, must have mixed it up with the vmax or some other bikes when doing my post above...

anyway, finally narrowed my final options to TDM and SV (both seems to be the best of wad i'm looking for in their class). I was actually tempted to immediately get the blue SV someone is offering in classified now, but though i'm real gian, still cant take my eyes off the TDM. Oso some scrap of rationality surviving behind my mind was reminding me not to fall prey to the "I want now!" syndrome, still got my beloved s4 for tpt, can afford to look ard clearly, etc...

hmm, tts something new bout TDM and SV towards wheelies (er.. even though i still cant do them).

Think i'm more for the TDM, but i'm not getting it immediately lah. Still want to roll ard on my s4 for a while i save $$ and really take my time to look ard for a good deal, cos i dun think anyone will be offering theirs soon.

And there's still the exams coming up... :giddy: :mad:

so.. thanx for ur offer boon16, but still stuck with an assignment so have to join u guys next time...

Eh..Wed cannot lah...I got plans aldy. Saw Thursday and was ok initially.

Hey yappiez, maybe you shd learn from AJ how to wheelie ur TDM hahaha.

Meet up this Wed (29/03/2006) at Bullseye cafe.

1. Boon

2. Bob

4.AJ(boon...pls update me via sms to remind me or if there's changes...can't log in pc at the moment...

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by boon16@Mar 27 2006, 09:07 AM

Hi guys, welcome to TDM forum. Me working in NUS, guess exams r coming next month. Maybe can squeeze in time to join us this wed at Bulls eye? Its at clarke quay. Can take AYE. hehe.

whoa, where in NUS are you working? never seen a TDM on campus before, but then i'm only in the arts/biz/enging side. don't think can make time these couple weeks, coz it's deadlines fortnight. i think we'll be free-er from mid-april on. study break before exams is actually much more relax than rushing projects/essays. seriously. :( how calyban? study break go? ;p

calyban: same as you lah, got class 2 liao itchy-hand, and happened that JK needed a bike right then, so i sold it off when i had the chance to.

take your time searching i guess :) i think the TDM's one of the cooler rides though. hard to go wrong on such a versatile bike.

Originally posted by boofeng@Mar 27 2006, 10:41 PM

whoa, where in NUS are you working? never seen a TDM on campus before, but then i'm only in the arts/biz/enging side. don't think can make time these couple weeks, coz it's deadlines fortnight. i think we'll be free-er from mid-april on. study break before exams is actually much more relax than rushing projects/essays. seriously. :( how calyban? study break go? ;p

calyban: same as you lah, got class 2 liao itchy-hand, and happened that JK needed a bike right then, so i sold it off when i had the chance to.

take your time searching i guess :) i think the TDM's one of the cooler rides though. hard to go wrong on such a versatile bike.

itchy-hands? more like itchy butts...

hmm, gd for JK, ur bandit was quite solid.

yah, lets join them at Bullseye sometime soon, think it'll be interesting. only thing i'm worried about going is if i can tahan the "I want now!" syndrome there.. :cheeky:

sighz, back to work now...

Originally posted by boofeng@Mar 27 2006, 10:41 PM

I'm working in DSI building. Feel free to join us during ur study break.. Ya, take your time to choose your bike. Don't buy on impluse. But i must say TDM is a really good bike(not trying to lao wong mai gua...) :cheer:

TDM shiokedelic....not too heavy...great power..only weak is 17 inch front wheel not 21...short windshield..

hmmm.. AJ, did you wheelie with ur panniers on?

Teach me if there is a chance..

I tried to wheelie sometime ago but didnt have the balls to crank up the trottle...

Originally posted by AJ..@Mar 28 2006, 06:11 PM

TDM shiokedelic....not too heavy...great power..only weak is 17 inch front wheel not 21...short windshield..

Correction, stock TDM comes with 18" front and back wheel. Can change to 17" though without mods, direct swap. Just use fazer/R1/R6 front rims. :sweat:

Max is exploring ideas to lace up 21" spokes on his TDM. I'm wondering if a vstrom/vara front wheel would be easy to swap without much mods. Gotta raise the rear suspension to compensate the height increase. Then the TDM would have more DP tyre choice and greater ground clearance. Woo hoo can put knobbies aldy :thumb:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@Mar 28 2006, 06:50 PM

Correction, stock TDM comes with 18" front and back wheel. Can change to 17" though without mods, direct swap. Just use fazer/R1/R6 front rims. :sweat:

Max is exploring ideas to lace up 21" spokes on his TDM. I'm wondering if a vstrom/vara front wheel would be easy to swap without much mods. Gotta raise the rear suspension to compensate the height increase. Then the TDM would have more DP tyre choice and greater ground clearance. Woo hoo can put knobbies aldy :thumb:

Ed, front is 18" but rear is 17".

i've always been dreaming of a higher ground clearance for the TDM.. :cheer:

boon16, right on for the 17" rear. Too long never check hahaha

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

yappies...using top box...but i thk the box doesnt really makes much different..its how u release the clutch and pull the throttle...well...wen i bought the bike,did try to do..but wnt budge in gear 2...den i thk last weak,suddenly hv the urged to pull the throttle...in it does gives a pop in gear 2..jus did not hv the time to try to pull a longer pop coz rushing to fetch my gf....so will try again wen see an empty road...hehehe....but not wanting to risk my front fork leh...sigh...

yeah...would really luv if the TDM have higher ground clearance and taller front handling...more like AT...but well...it already hv these design...so lan lan bo pian...

see u guys at bulls eye yah...:thumb: