Termi lor....

Bro Leong have you check with local distributor much is it?

Edited by heaven51
http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg
  • Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

hi TDM bros... going for my cl2 TP soon and im narrowing down my decision for cl2 bike to Vstrom n TDM, which do you tink is a better choice for a poor man like me :cheeky: reason for this 2 is due to the great FC compared to other cl2 bikes and the storage options... having ABS would be great... maintenance and repair wise which would have ready stocks and not cost too much?

Hi kmjoe...

The TDMs here (both '02 & '04 models) don't come with ABS. Agent stopped bringing in the TDMs which the latest model which is still being manufactured comes with ABS. But no worries cos the TDM is famed for its superb brakes which is the same as those on R1s.

I too was choosing around and shortlisted VStrom, Africa Twin and Varadero. But end up with the TDM. While I didn't own the others so it's unfair for me to judge, what I can say is that the TDM is a good choice. The FC is something definitely much appreciated as I travel almost 60km to/fro work & home daily. The torque is more than adequate and it's really how big your balls are to fully exploit the gears. But note that all sports adventure tourers ain't made for outright speed hence the max (comfortable) speed should maintain around 160-170kph. Anything above risks tank slapping and sore forearms.

The VStrom1000 (Vee) is powerful but a drinker. Heard it ain't easy to handle with its raw power since the engine is basically direct transplant from their race engines. The 650 (Wee) is more nimble and easier on the FC. But I am vain. As long as there's a higher spec model, I'll go for that hence I opted out the Wee.

Some TDM owners here owned Vee before as well and perhaps they'll give u a better opinion.

There's currently 2 TDMs available for sale. One is a '02 with new COE and another is a 2007 black frame one. If budget is a constraint and u be expecting to get a loan, the '02 might be a good choice. Nonetheless... It's always important to realize that with all used bikes, condition varies and u need to do some homework.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

thks for your input! yea for Vstrom i would like to go for the wee due to lower rd tax and consumption... whats the difference for the 07 n 02 model? i'll be leaning towards the 02 due to price difference but would be nice to hear if the 07 would be worth the xtra ks... speed wise, i usually cruise frm 80 to 110 on sg road so it sldnt be a problem, but in some rare occasion if i were to go on msia highways i guess i might not have the balls to go above 160 if its not gona be comfortable... might wana try offroad riding if i were to get either one of them... cant seem to find any African twin in the market ya?

I was told that there is no significant difference between the 2 TDM models except mainly cosmetical changes like black frames and engine cover for the facelifted version. Also the meter are white instead of black.

Some claimed that the ECU for the facelifted are more restrictive hence 'not as powerful' and funny thing is we hear most magneto coil failure mainly from the facelifted ones.

That said, facelifted models are still newer and condition should be better.... Unless the ex owners whacks it too hard lah. My Dec '02 is serving me superbly well. This old b!tch of mine runs like horse, roars like a tiger and almost as agile as a monkey in the trees. That's also why I call off the sale of my TDM even though I got a good price for it.

The TDM is capable of doing some mild off roading with a swap of dual sports tyres and perhaps some protection too. But in comparison to some other adventure tourers, i would say there's still a fair gap.

Forget the AT if cost-to-value is your concern. AT is overly priced for its old technology and performance. Only reason why it is still favoured by many is the look (to one's own taste) and purported durable engine. But I came to know while the AT engine is solid, it is not so for the electrics. You will see a price difference of couple of grands between the AT and the TDM of the same age solely becos of the larger pool of people owning ATs. The TDM circle here is very small and enthusiats like us are few and far between. But by no means the TDM fairs poorer than the AT. Its just a case of exposure and demand.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hi kmjoe...

The TDMs here (both '02 & '04 models) don't come with ABS. Agent stopped bringing in the TDMs which the latest model which is still being manufactured comes with ABS. But no worries cos the TDM is famed for its superb brakes which is the same as those on R1s.

I too was choosing around and shortlisted VStrom, Africa Twin and Varadero. But end up with the TDM. While I didn't own the others so it's unfair for me to judge, what I can say is that the TDM is a good choice. The FC is something definitely much appreciated as I travel almost 60km to/fro work & home daily. The torque is more than adequate and it's really how big your balls are to fully exploit the gears. But note that all sports adventure tourers ain't made for outright speed hence the max (comfortable) speed should maintain around 160-170kph. Anything above risks tank slapping and sore forearms.

The VStrom1000 (Vee) is powerful but a drinker. Heard it ain't easy to handle with its raw power since the engine is basically direct transplant from their race engines. The 650 (Wee) is more nimble and easier on the FC. But I am vain. As long as there's a higher spec model, I'll go for that hence I opted out the Wee.

Some TDM owners here owned Vee before as well and perhaps they'll give u a better opinion.

There's currently 2 TDMs available for sale. One is a '02 with new COE and another is a 2007 black frame one. If budget is a constraint and u be expecting to get a loan, the '02 might be a good choice. Nonetheless... It's always important to realize that with all used bikes, condition varies and u need to do some homework.

I was told that there is no significant difference between the 2 TDM models except mainly cosmetical changes like black frames and engine cover for the facelifted version. Also the meter are white instead of black.

Some claimed that the ECU for the facelifted are more restrictive hence 'not as powerful' and funny thing is we hear most magneto coil failure mainly from the facelifted ones.

That said, facelifted models are still newer and condition should be better.... Unless the ex owners whacks it too hard lah. My Dec '02 is serving me superbly well. This old b!tch of mine runs like horse, roars like a tiger and almost as agile as a monkey in the trees. That's also why I call off the sale of my TDM even though I got a good price for it.

The TDM is capable of doing some mild off roading with a swap of dual sports tyres and perhaps some protection too. But in comparison to some other adventure tourers, i would say there's still a fair gap.

Forget the AT if cost-to-value is your concern. AT is overly priced for its old technology and performance. Only reason why it is still favoured by many is the look (to one's own taste) and purported durable engine. But I came to know while the AT engine is solid, it is not so for the electrics. You will see a price difference of couple of grands between the AT and the TDM of the same age solely becos of the larger pool of people owning ATs. The TDM circle here is very small and enthusiats like us are few and far between. But by no means the TDM fairs poorer than the AT. Its just a case of exposure and demand.

Welcome back to the tribe... Our new tribeman has spoken again... Well said...

Price update from AM last saturday...

Front fairing plastic screw... $1.8 each brought 10pcs

(thanks to the IDOT Malaysian FZ1, WQW plate...)

Lucky that I didn't change to stainless steel screw, which is my normal habit...

Or else the whole front fairing will be rip off... $$$$$$

Change to Fazer new rubber pad for rider and pillion foot rest $8 each * 4...

More spongy cos there some air gap on the Fazer rub pad compare to TDM solid type. Lesser vibration feel but higher in volume...

Edited by heaven51
Price update from AM last saturday...

Front fairing plastic screw... $1.8 each brought 10pcs

(thanks to the IDOT Malaysian FZ1, WQW plate...)

Lucky that I didn't change to stainless steel screw, which is my normal habit...

Or else the whole front fairing will be rip off... $$$$$$

Change to Fazer new rubber pad for rider and pillion foot rest $8 each * 4...

More spongy cos there some air gap on the Fazer rub pad compare to TDM solid type. Lesser vibration feel but higher in volume...

Should have asked u to buy for me as well. Need to replace the screws on my windscreen.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Tribe ur head lah.... We all cavemen. Cos we been hiding in our own caves and never meet for so long.

We are not young kids, most got a lot of commitment, cannot anyhow suka suka come out and play. There might be a few lucky one around... meet once awhile then more things to talk...

Anyway, AM is just a stone throw away from your office... can pop by anytime...

We are not young kids, most got a lot of commitment, cannot anyhow suka suka come out and play. There might be a few lucky one around... meet once awhile then more things to talk...

Anyway, AM is just a stone throw away from your office... can pop by anytime...

But forum and FB also damn bloody quiet leh. And it seems Lord Kmax also went into cave to mediate. Only come out fart once in awhile.

When wana la-kopi? This Friday?

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hi guys . . . went to sporting this morning to change ohlins front fork springs n rear springs but currently no stock till further notice . . . 

Need to change to stiffer fork springs n oil as mine starts to bottoms up on heavy braking n hard cornerings . . . 

Edited by MAC77

Most important thing is for you to set a budget. Higher budget = newer bike. If same age then you compare the specs and your preference. Or you can decide on your preference then target the specific bike you want. I owned both the TDM and Vstrom before and your questions have been discussed in previous posts the TDM and Vstrom threads. You can also read my comments in my sale thread.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/335922-WTS-Grey-Suzuki-Vstrom-650-ABS-(2007-Model)?highlight=

thks for your input! yea for Vstrom i would like to go for the wee due to lower rd tax and consumption... whats the difference for the 07 n 02 model? i'll be leaning towards the 02 due to price difference but would be nice to hear if the 07 would be worth the xtra ks... speed wise, i usually cruise frm 80 to 110 on sg road so it sldnt be a problem, but in some rare occasion if i were to go on msia highways i guess i might not have the balls to go above 160 if its not gona be comfortable... might wana try offroad riding if i were to get either one of them... cant seem to find any African twin in the market ya?

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hi guys . . . went to sporting this morning to change ohlins front fork springs n rear springs but currently no stock till further notice . . . 

Need to change to stiffer fork springs n oil as mine starts to bottoms up on heavy braking n hard cornerings . . . 

can try diet first ... :cheeky:

front spring.. £ 80.00 , Leong and TakeHow change to this...

http://www.wemoto.com/bikes/yamaha/tdm_900_t_v_w_x_y/05-09/picture/fork_springs_progressive_-_hagon_-_pair/

Whats the damage? Because You can consider BITUBO. Cheaper and lighter.

there is no cheap and good..

only cheap and no good for non adjustable, no remote reservoir suspension.. :p

Don't buy TDM. Get a vee.

We love Katamari

I want a new odometer........ My want going to spoil soon.....

We love Katamari

I want a new odometer........ My want going to spoil soon.....

why not try out..

http://motomalaya.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/koso_rx2_n-digital-meter.jpg

http://motomalaya.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/koso-digital-meter-w-speed.jpg

http://www.headingleysport.com/images/ec0431/205102.jpg