• Replies 3.4k

S10 is a good adventure bike but rims be it spokes or alloy rims doesn't really matters.
I dont know you but im beginning to like you ady leh with these words of wisdom.

Maybe @hockie69 can enlighten us abit since he ridden both the S10 and the Explorer. Hahaha.... But he like retired liao no sound no picture so long.
Hockie dowan reply my whatsapp msg oso leh. Sads ah like this.

But i also like you leh Paikia.

Hockie dowan reply my whatsapp msg oso leh. Sads ah like this.

But i also like you leh Paikia.

Hock now riding scooter. Hahahaa!! Maybe he'll be the 1st TMax to hit Vietnam, Laos or maybe China.

On the part of which bike is better, there will never be an answer.. Simply becos each rider is different and different bikes cater to the needs of different rider and his riding habits and style. To you, the Explorer is 3-in-1, to others it might be crap. Same goes for the S10, I love this machine but there'll be as many ppl who hates it as those who loves it.

Whether a bike that is capable of adventure touring needs to have alloy rims, adjustable suspension, blah blah blah can be subjective. But what I'm saying is theoretically what's expected of an Adventure tourer. Just like a sportsbike should have full fairings and a scooter shouldn't have a fuel tank in between the thighs.

I won't and can't say if the Explorer is capable or otherwise for adventure touring on offroad trails and beatup roads since I never ridden one. But I'm sure the S10 is capable of doing what the road throws at it. Anyway... There's also the XC model for the Explorer with spokes rims right? Any other different with the base model on cast alloys?

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hi all, im very much interested bin super tenere 1200 2013 version. . Any idea how much it would cost?

Machine is around $30K +/-... OTR should be around $32-34K depending which shop and what package.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Machine is around $30K +/-... OTR should be around $32-34K depending which shop and what package.

Sorry but im really a gundu at this... which shop would u recommend? And what package s are there?

Would u consider pre-loved ones? I'm toying with the idea of changing bike. But I won't be selling 'cheap' as it comes with the following:

â­• Race Shield front fender, tank, headlamp

â­• R&G Front Fork Slider

â­• R&G Handlebar Slider

â­• SW Motech Anti-Vibration Handlebar

â­• Touratech Headlamp Guard

â­• Touratech Windscreen Adjustor

â­• Touratech GPS lockable bracket

â­• Touratech ABS protector

â­• Touratech Heel plate set

â­• Touratech Oil fill lockable cap

â­• Touratech Side stand sensor protector

â­• Hecker & Becker Engine guard bar

â­• Hecker & Becker Rear brake pedal extender

â­• Hecker & Becker Rear brake cylinder guard

â­• Hecker & Becker Big Foot

â­• Hecker & Becker Skip plate

â­• Hecker & Becker Shaft guard

â­• Hecker & Becker Rear rack

â­• Hecker & Becker Water pump cover

â­• Hecker & Becker Side Rack ( 2012 latest model)

â­• Hecker & Becker Alu Standard 35L topcase with sticker wrap by Juzzwheels

â­• Yamaha OEM Tall Tour screen

â­• Yamaha OEM Side deflector

â­• Yamaha OEM LED flasher

â­• ROX Black non-vibration Riser

â­• GARMIN Nuvi550 waterproof GPS with hardwired charger

â­• Arrow Exhaust Header

â­• LV Carbon Fibre Slip-on Endcan (Legal with cert)

â­• BMW HandGrip

â­• Carbon Fibre Cubic Print Exhaust cover

â­• Carbon Fibre Cubic Print Side fairing

â­• Pivot Peg footrest with top cover

â­• Probolt Blue shift rod

â­• Hella Strongtone 113d

â­• Ram-mount U-blot base mount x2

â­• Ram-mount L rotatable base mount

â­• Ram mount 1" arm x2

â­• Ram mount 2" arm

â­• Ram mount X-Grip

â­• Ram mount Camera mount

â­• Ram-mount Universal base (GPS) cradle

â­• Braided brake/clutch line

â­• Broquet BT-4 drop-in pellets

â­• Pyramid Front Fender Extender

â­• K&N Air filter

â­• Shadow Voltmeter

â­• HiD headlight kit

â­• Length adjustable aluminium levers

â­• S-Moto Front Fork Protector

â­• S-Moto Rear Brake Protector

â­• Tube Tool (Standard & Mega)

â­• Pelican 1520 panniers

â­• Pannier mounting kit (Germany)

â­• Bagster Tank bra & Impact Expandable Bag

â­• Samco radiator hoses

â­• Oledone 1L10 LED Eurolamps

â­• Oledone 2N10 LED Floodlamps

â­• Techmount

â­• Customized Waterproof switch & fuse box

â­• A series double digit plate

All stock parts (exhaust, signals, levers, handlebar etc as well)

Current mileage ~ 25K

Last service 23K at BHH with Yamalube and iridium plugs.

Date of Reg: May 2011

This is perhaps one of the best accessorized if not the best Super Tenere around. Last estimate on accessories cost is $12K not including the value of the number plate.

Selling price with absolutely everything $35K.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/20/yga2ygu6.jpg

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/20/ge4u7ehu.jpg

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Would u consider pre-loved ones? I'm toying with the idea of changing bike. But I won't be selling 'cheap' as it comes with the following:

â­• Race Shield front fender, tank, headlamp

â­• R&G Front Fork Slider

â­• R&G Handlebar Slider

â­• SW Motech Anti-Vibration Handlebar

â­• Touratech Headlamp Guard

â­• Touratech Windscreen Adjustor

â­• Touratech GPS lockable bracket

â­• Touratech ABS protector

â­• Touratech Heel plate set

â­• Touratech Oil fill lockable cap

â­• Touratech Side stand sensor protector

â­• Hecker & Becker Engine guard bar

â­• Hecker & Becker Rear brake pedal extender

â­• Hecker & Becker Rear brake cylinder guard

â­• Hecker & Becker Big Foot

â­• Hecker & Becker Skip plate

â­• Hecker & Becker Shaft guard

â­• Hecker & Becker Rear rack

â­• Hecker & Becker Water pump cover

â­• Hecker & Becker Side Rack ( 2012 latest model)

â­• Hecker & Becker Alu Standard 35L topcase with sticker wrap by Juzzwheels

â­• Yamaha OEM Tall Tour screen

â­• Yamaha OEM Side deflector

â­• Yamaha OEM LED flasher

â­• ROX Black non-vibration Riser

â­• GARMIN Nuvi550 waterproof GPS with hardwired charger

â­• Arrow Exhaust Header

â­• LV Carbon Fibre Slip-on Endcan (Legal with cert)

â­• BMW HandGrip

â­• Carbon Fibre Cubic Print Exhaust cover

â­• Carbon Fibre Cubic Print Side fairing

â­• Pivot Peg footrest with top cover

â­• Probolt Blue shift rod

â­• Hella Strongtone 113d

â­• Ram-mount U-blot base mount x2

â­• Ram-mount L rotatable base mount

â­• Ram mount 1" arm x2

â­• Ram mount 2" arm

â­• Ram mount X-Grip

â­• Ram mount Camera mount

â­• Ram-mount Universal base (GPS) cradle

â­• Braided brake/clutch line

â­• Broquet BT-4 drop-in pellets

â­• Pyramid Front Fender Extender

â­• K&N Air filter

â­• Shadow Voltmeter

â­• HiD headlight kit

â­• Length adjustable aluminium levers

â­• S-Moto Front Fork Protector

â­• S-Moto Rear Brake Protector

â­• Tube Tool (Standard & Mega)

â­• Pelican 1520 panniers

â­• Pannier mounting kit (Germany)

â­• Bagster Tank bra & Impact Expandable Bag

â­• Samco radiator hoses

â­• Oledone 1L10 LED Eurolamps

â­• Oledone 2N10 LED Floodlamps

â­• Techmount

â­• Customized Waterproof switch & fuse box

â­• A series double digit plate

All stock parts (exhaust, signals, levers, handlebar etc as well)

Current mileage ~ 25K

Last service 23K at BHH with Yamalube and iridium plugs.

Date of Reg: May 2011

This is perhaps one of the best accessorized if not the best Super Tenere around. Last estimate on accessories cost is $12K not including the value of the number plate.

Selling price with absolutely everything $35K.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/20/yga2ygu6.jpg

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/20/ge4u7ehu.jpg

Upz and all the best of luck!

Hahah... Thanks Mahdi... Impulsive post. Still loving the bike.

And think I saw ur ex-bike last night at Changi Village. :D

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hahah... Thanks Mahdi... Impulsive post. Still loving the bike.

And think I saw ur ex-bike last night at Changi Village. :D

Ello bro . . .

U still plying ur trade at Changi village eh ?? Told u so many times . . . . it's useless lah !! Even wif ur high heels n expensive wigs . . . . ppl won't give u a 2nd look !! No wonder rumours going ard abt

a "hot chic" riding a big blue adventure bike always seen around CV on certain nites .

One luv bro !!!

(Ps : Eyeing on a particular German Bike eh ?!)

Ello bro . . .

U still plying ur trade at Changi village eh ?? Told u so many times . . . . it's useless lah !! Even wif ur high heels n expensive wigs . . . . ppl won't give u a 2nd look !! No wonder rumours going ard abt

a "hot chic" riding a big blue adventure bike always seen around CV on certain nites .

One luv bro !!!

(Ps : Eyeing on a particular German Bike eh ?!)

Hahaha.... No choice leh. My hobbies are expensive and dayjob doesn't pay enough. Hehehehe!!

And I'm not looking at German... I'm eyeing on an Austrian. Hahahaha!!

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hahaha.... No choice leh. My hobbies are expensive and dayjob doesn't pay enough. Hehehehe!!

And I'm not looking at German... I'm eyeing on an Austrian. Hahahaha!!

Ong said a handsome lad on a blue S10 paid full-cash for a 1190R, was it you?

The descriptions befit you.

Ong said a handsome lad on a blue S10 paid full-cash for a 1190R, was it you?

The descriptions befit you.

Hi Papa . . . .

Ong said "handsome" rite ??

Have u seen Paikia in person ?? Where got handsome ?!! Mark Lee lagi handsome lei . . . hahaha !!

But than again . . . Heard this Apek aka Paikia is a very rich man !! Buy Camry oso cash one ah !!

We shall wait n see aites .

Hi Papa . . . .

Ong said "handsome" rite ??

Have u seen Paikia in person ?? Where got handsome ?!! Mark Lee lagi handsome lei . . . hahaha !!

But than again . . . Heard this Apek aka Paikia is a very rich man !! Buy Camry oso cash one ah !!

We shall wait n see aites .

I wouldnt know if Abang Ong would have meant it otherwise. But from the pics that i've seen, Abang Paikia is nothing short of a Chinese Brad Pitt.

Ah Ong bluff one lah..... I can only pay full cash for the Duke 200
At least can full cash a Duke 200.

I can only full cash a Duke 200.. tyre!

Hi guys..I'm planning to get myself a tenere..anything that can share with me about this bike like:

Fc, maintainence wise? What are the cons of having this bike in sg riding, although I kind of know that this bike is one of the most durable bike..please advice..thanks..

Hi guys..I'm planning to get myself a tenere..anything that can share with me about this bike like:

Fc, maintainence wise? What are the cons of having this bike in sg riding, although I kind of know that this bike is one of the most durable bike..please advice..thanks..

Good choice whether you are eyeing on the Tenere 660 or the Super Tenere 1200. Since you posted here in the Super Tenere chat I presume you are referrring to the latter.

First, lets put some figures and info on your questions (disclaimer: other than some facts, the others are my personal thoughts)

FC - Typically you'll get somewhere in the range of 17-20Km per litre. It's a 21L tank and reserve starts at around 17L. Mine which are moderately modded will blink at around 310km i.e. 18km/L.

Maintainence - It's a Yamaha. So expect good quality and not much to worry about maintainence other than the usual servicing. Parallel twin engine runs hotter so it's good to keep the lubricant with higher vicosity. Drivetrain is shaft so no worry about chain and sprocket wear but do remember to change shaft oil minimally every alternate servicing interval.

Cons of riding in Sillypore - Weight. This beast is one of the if not the heaviest of the Adv big tankers around. At 261kg dry weight and easily over 300kg with the fluids and accessories, you need to get used to it (although once you get the hang of it it's very forgiving). This is perhaps the only con i can think of for the Super Tenere (S10 for short).

Other info:

Accessories - You can be spoilt for choices with many accessories from Yamaha OEM, Touratech, Hepco & Becker, SW Motech, Alt-Rider, Givi which has add-ons specifically for the S10. Not to mention other universal accessories which can be used on the S10.

Handling - As mentioned, the weight is a concern. On road it is easier although at crawling speed you need to be mindful as the weight will be more apparent. Offroad it is adequate. Reviews said it performs better offroad than the BMW GS/GSA. It is actually rated as one of the more versatile Adv bikes in the market with confidence on and off road.

Speed - While the S10 hits 180-190kph easily, don't expect hitting the mid or high 200kph range with a snap of finger. This is not a sports bike and the aerodynamics of the S10 sucks. Beyond 200kph you have to 'fight' with the bike. Then again, if you are a speedster than get a GTR.

Comfort - The stock seats sucks. Esp if you wana join the Iron Butt Association riding up far North, it'll be good to upgrade the cushion. But in Sillypore it is ok although personally i felt it's too 'slopey' towards the front. My balls & little bro usually suffer after a while (or maybe it's bcos mine are bigger? :cheeky:). Riding position of most adv tourers are upright and comfortable and same goes for S10. Of course you can alter the position with the seats and handlebar (& risers).

Workshop backup - It's not only bcos it is a Yamaha, but also the core group of riders who called ourselves Singapore Tenere Owners Group (STOG) has many good relationships with workshops and dealers. For this one confirm peace of mind.

Well...... any more questions??

#ShutUp_and_Ride

awesome post, keep on going guys. After much research and homework, think ill end the day with a tenere instead of XE. Thanks guys.

3 WorDz.

Slow Or Fast.

2008 KR

2010 S4

2012 R6

2013 WAVE