hey ah pek.. mus here... gotta say the feeling really different when my bike is on ur EO...

now im like happy to cruise along 100+ when my normal riding speed is 80-90... hahahaha..

what ppl say abt "my urge to open the new gained power" is very true hahahaha!! shiok!!

but then again, will continue to monitor the bike after the first 1000k, den subsequent 3000 and 5000k mark... really looking forward to see that what u say abt the mileage with the special blend is true... hahaha... like they say, seeing, feeling and experiencing is believing!!

• Replies 18.1k

  iMustik said:
hey ah pek.. mus here... gotta say the feeling really different when my bike is on ur EO...

now im like happy to cruise along 100+ when my normal riding speed is 80-90... hahahaha..

what ppl say abt "my urge to open the new gained power" is very true hahahaha!! shiok!!

but then again, will continue to monitor the bike after the first 1000k, den subsequent 3000 and 5000k mark... really looking forward to see that what u say abt the mileage with the special blend is true... hahaha... like they say, seeing, feeling and experiencing is believing!!

LOL! :thumb:..alright mannn! Keep us inform of your expected progress. Ride safe.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

if coolant reserve tank is top up above the max level, the coolant will leak while riding or after riding when park at a side then will see the coolant leak out?? As for the reserve coolant tank can see 2 black tubes. 1 at the ttop and 1 at the botom side. what are the purpose for this 2 tube? Still really cannot understand how the coolant flow in and flow out from the radiator... Is there any link to explain or this??

:cheers: In LIfe We Not Only Have To Do The Right Things , But Also Have To Do The Things Right :cheers:
  kenshi1777 said:
if coolant reserve tank is top up above the max level, the coolant will leak while riding or after riding when park at a side then will see the coolant leak out?? As for the reserve coolant tank can see 2 black tubes. 1 at the ttop and 1 at the botom side. what are the purpose for this 2 tube? Still really cannot understand how the coolant flow in and flow out from the radiator... Is there any link to explain or this??

The top tube of the reserve coolant tank is the "overflow/breather" tube. The lower tube is the "return cycle" tube..this tube is a connecting path to your radiator coolant entry "neck" (where the cap is) where hot coolant are sometime exchange. When radiator coolant is boiling, pressure would flow out hot coolant to the reserve tank and when it starts to cool, it will suck coolant back like a 'straw' to the radiator due to vacuum from the radiator..this is provides your radiator cap is not leaking.:sian:

So means the bottom black tube is the only path for coolant flowing in to the reserve tank and flow back to the radiator ? So do this 2 ways will use the water pump or only single way? Last thing is thermostat how it activate the valve open for wat purpose?

:cheers: In LIfe We Not Only Have To Do The Right Things , But Also Have To Do The Things Right :cheers:
  kenshi1777 said:
So means the bottom black tube is the only path for coolant flowing in to the reserve tank and flow back to the radiator ? So do this 2 ways will use the water pump or only single way? Last thing is thermostat how it activate the valve open for wat purpose?

The coolant system in itself can't contain an enclosed pressure or for the matter anything from engine to just about any design in such a system that emploed "pressure contained". There is ALWAYS a way out like thru a breather or relief valve. Take example a boil kettle..if there is no opening, its gonna explode due to extreme boiling temperature.

The coolan pump does not work the way you think here..its design for operation is to help pump and circulate the coolant from the lower end up as per design for rate flow and volume coolant movement thru the whole cycle.

About themostat..it has been written here in this thread somewhere in detail and as to how it works. But just to make it easy and in brief..the thermostat act as a close and open gate for coolant to flow when its reach boiling temperature..and as temperature changes, the gate is regulated to allow certain volume of flow. The coolant can't stay cool all the time as the engine, or just about any engine has a "MOST EFFICIENT OPERATING IN TEMPERATURE"..in this case at about 98 degreed to 112 degreed. So in summary, the coolant flow rate is regulated by the thermostat with relation to keep the engine at it's most required correct operating temperature for performance.

Please such post under my nick..all these has been answered before.

  raziin_360 said:
hi.. anyone have mod ur stock exhaust before..? Can anyone enlighten me on how to mod and what are the things that i should and shouldn't do.. btw im riding a ver s... thnks guys :p:P:P

What's wrong with the stock exhaust..why mod and what benefits do you get? If you want power and performance without breaking the rules..go for liquid engineering. If you are into esthetic look or "sound garang" of your exhaust I have no further comment then.:sian:

for spec 1 the one at the right side of the side cover is the coolant or the reserve coolant ?? to check is the coolant is low is from the right side cover there right?

TA200

Vtec 1

*54163km change EO and oil filter, wash & tune carburetor 15/2/2008

*54971km new tyre, new brake pad 31/03/2008

*New Chain and sproket , new wheel bearing 03/07/2008

*Flush coolant and top up with engine ice,new radiator cap, wash filter and stebel horn 12/08/2008

*59194 change EO and oil filter 30/01/2009

  an_jing3 said:
for spec 1 the one at the right side of the side cover is the coolant or the reserve coolant ?? to check is the coolant is low is from the right side cover there right?

Yah..notto worry if its reserve or not lah..its just a coolant 'tank' for you to top up from there. Insufficient coolant in a heated engine will by vacuum draws coolant from there. Can call it your coolant refill container if you want.

  fi_east said:
Hi ah pek, if i change to ur special blend eo without the x1r can also last 7000 right?..

Not with this blend but have another lagi special one that can last up to 15k (harsh riding) - 20k (normal style riding) without X-1R but cost $36 per litre. :angel:

Will there be any case when the radiator had been dry up but when we check the coolant reserve tank is still full??

  kenshi1777 said:
Will there be any case when the radiator had been dry up but when we check the coolant reserve tank is still full??

This will happen only when the heat resistance connecting rubber tubing between the radiator cap outlet to the refilling tank is clogged.

  raziin_360 said:
hi.. anyone have mod ur stock exhaust before..? Can anyone enlighten me on how to mod and what are the things that i should and shouldn't do.. btw im riding a ver s... thnks guys :p:P:P

what you SHOULDN'T do: mod your stock exhaust. unless you have another spare stock exhaust.

what you should: save some money and get a aftermarket exhaust.

motobike-search-engine.co.uk said:
  Ah Pek said:
This will happen only when the heat resistance connecting rubber tubing between the radiator cap outlet to the refilling tank is clogged.

Hmmm... So in this case how to prevent this from happening? Like before radiator dry up or the rubber tubing is choke? Because dun wanna see over ripe durian happen...

  kenshi1777 said:
Hmmm... So in this case how to prevent this from happening? Like before radiator dry up or the rubber tubing is choke? Because dun wanna see over ripe durian happen...

What dry up and what choke?...what's actually wrong with your coolant system now?

  dragonforce said:
what you SHOULDN'T do: mod your stock exhaust. unless you have another spare stock exhaust.

what you should: save some money and get a aftermarket exhaust.

Good advise :thumb:..to add, if you know have an original just for inspection purposes, can 'rent' from Drangonforce for a small fee of $25...LOL! :angel:

  smoothie said:
hi ah pek, is carb balancing/tuning for 11 yr old s4 necessary? been reading about it on the forums

No periodic instruction for this but if your ride ever gives problem due to carbs..its the time to do it. If you need carbs cleansing, best not to dismantle it if at all possible to avoid damage to delicate component, factory setting and other "tricks of the trade".

hmm i realize one more problem with my bike, when i start my bike to warm up i try to touch my exhaust header and found out that 1 of the 4 header is so much slower to heat up then the rest of the three. it like 3 other pipe is really hot but the one is jus warm only. any idea wat may be the cause?

i foresee a big problem man !!!!

Edited by an_jing3

TA200

Vtec 1

*54163km change EO and oil filter, wash & tune carburetor 15/2/2008

*54971km new tyre, new brake pad 31/03/2008

*New Chain and sproket , new wheel bearing 03/07/2008

*Flush coolant and top up with engine ice,new radiator cap, wash filter and stebel horn 12/08/2008

*59194 change EO and oil filter 30/01/2009

hi ah pek, i have some enquires to ask on ver.s. Although I only ride 2-3 times a week, it appears that my bike still have some problems.

Service History:

I went to ah chong workshop during July to change:

1.maxima extra EO (previous used less than 1500km)

2.new oil filter (previous used less than 1500km)

3.flushed and top up normal coolent (previous used maxima coolent)

4.new water pump (due to leakage in june i supposed when i parked after riding will 5notice it dripped below slowly, reserve coolent become empty)

5. steering cone

So when travelling at gear 6, 90km @ 6k rpm is it normal? cause i notice that it wasnt like that in the past, should be @ 5k rpm if im not wrong. All at high rpm but at low speed when changing gear. another example is at gear 5, 50km @ 4k rpm. (Im using original spocket and chain and tyres)

My FC now is 20~22km, dropped from previously at 25~28km since April.

The mech at ubi recommend me to wash my carb to solve the problem. Im afraid that it may be due engine block damage caused by dry up coolent previously. Not really sure what is the cause, please enlighten me.

Also, sometime when I engaged to gear 6, I can kick up again slightly. Is it time to change my spocket and chain? Or just need to adjust?

~Look Around You And You Will Find THaT Everything S3eN Small In Your Eyes~

~But It Does Not S3en To Be As The Whole World Is Looking At You~

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hi ah pek... one qn...

i notice that now after switching to ur blend, my idling after warming up for arnd 5mins or so seems to be lower, arnd 1k rpm, where it used to be arnd 1.2k ++... izzit becoz of the "thicker" blend?? i read once a while back that u say the eo from mebbe a 10w40, when mixed, will have a "higher" viscosity rating, lets say a 20w50??

or its me being paranoid and theres nuthing to worry abt?? hahaha... thx in advance...

Pek, yesterday i called you stated that the reserve tank coolant is at the brim and cause some leaking from the breather tube. today i again ride to and fro about 70km. i open the side cover to check the reserve coolant tank again. Is still at the brim. Try to feel the coolant with finger dipping in ,is at normal temp. How come the reserve tank dun flow back to radiator ? Is it because of raining whole day since morning till now?? or something wrong with my coolant system ? please advice.

  Ah Pek said:
The top tube of the reserve coolant tank is the "overflow/breather" tube. The lower tube is the "return cycle" tube..this tube is a connecting path to your radiator coolant entry "neck" (where the cap is) where hot coolant are sometime exchange. When radiator coolant is boiling, pressure would flow out hot coolant to the reserve tank and when it starts to cool, it will suck coolant back like a 'straw' to the radiator due to vacuum from the radiator..this is provides your radiator cap is not leaking.:sian:

means the tube from the reserve coolant tank is connect direct to the raidator cap neck? it does not go thru the pump?? And in the process of boiling coolant. it flow to the reserve coolant tank dosent make the radiator hotter in some sense as less coolant is in the radiator potion ?