Originally posted by JustPassingBy@Oct 17 2004, 01:54 AM

I jus bought a pair of skates and i am considering if i should sign up for a course or learn slowly. Any good suggestions? Should i DIY or sign up?

If you can afford, you should got for an proper skating lesson, teach by certified instructor.

The reason :

1. Self learning is slow, often develope a wrong technic or bad habit.

2. Certified instructor have the correct teaching method, will teach you the correct basic skill, correct you when you have bad habit, etc.

3. A correct, good basic foundamental is very important for you to learn advance skating technic, for example, speedskating, figure skating or inline hockey etc. (Who know you might become a Certified instructor later ?)

4. Some might suggest you to learn from friends. Yes, provided your friends is good enough to teach you (certified ?), and really have patient to guide you thru all the basic required skating technic.

5. The rest is up to yourself, instructor only can teach you the technic, but, how often you want to practise, learn..... it is up to you.....

Lots of ppl giving up after some falls, leading to injuries, wasting money bought the expensive equipment..... because they didnt learn to enjoy the sports....

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

• Replies 2.7k

Guest JustPassingBy

so maddog did you learn from course? how is it like? it is really guarantee that after the course i can skate liao? cos i saw some courses like only got 4 lessons and they teach you a lot of things...and some are teach 4 lessons on each level...something like that..

Guest JustPassingBy

hmmm...so i gather from mr lau's answer...that a proper certified class would means those type which teaches each level wth several classes? and that it would be better than those sort of crush classes which jamm all the levels together into 4 classes?

*feel so broke*:weep:

I also just start learning to skate... thinking to buy but dun noe which brand is good ... any recommendation? By the way I have very small feet so no easy to find one that suit me.

gd brand = more ex..

it dep on ur budget.. if u wan mid-range, prob can go 4 saloman or k2.. shld set u bak at least 250... add another 50 4 guards..

but dun get those plastiky type, sold at carrefour... sucks big tym..

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

So haf been waiting long for a sbf skating session...

So who wanna organise??? Any time of the day is fine with me...

Daniel Chew

Hp: 98300900

Call me if u need any help for the following services.

Air conditioning services

Renovation services

Handy man services

Originally posted by JustPassingBy@Oct 17 2004, 01:26 PM

so maddog did you learn from course? how is it like? it is really guarantee that after the course i can skate liao? cos i saw some courses like only got 4 lessons and they teach you a lot of things...and some are teach 4 lessons on each level...something like that..

actually... when i started to blade, there were no such things as certified instructors of courses...

even the guards could drop off one....

so... got lotsa bruise to show for it...

i'm on for blading anytime... blades always in paniers anyway

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

Guest JustPassingBy
Originally posted by maddog@Oct 18 2004, 01:35 AM

actually... when i started to blade, there were no such things as certified instructors of courses...

HOw long haf u been skating man??

Daniel Chew

Hp: 98300900

Call me if u need any help for the following services.

Air conditioning services

Renovation services

Handy man services

Originally posted by Yumi@Oct 17 2004, 07:49 PM

I also just start learning to skate... thinking to buy but dun noe which brand is good ... any recommendation? By the way I have very small feet so no easy to find one that suit me.

Lost touch with those modern in-line skate... im still wearing my 10 year old green color blade... Those olden blades' bearings rockz....:lovestruck:

Me too... my instructors for in-line skates are my roller skates frens and the show "airborne". :cheeky:

Guards... onli wear wrist guards...:thumb:

Originally posted by Zakevich@Oct 18 2004, 08:51 AM

Me too... my instructors for in-line skates are my roller skates frens and the show "airborne". :cheeky:

Guards... onli wear wrist guards...:thumb:

airborne = chris edwards = great grand daddy of skating..

:bow:

99 - 00: laopok bike

00 - 02: another laopok bike

02 - 03: laopok bike chui liao

03 - 06: yet another laopok bike

06 - ??: yet yet another laopok bike

Originally posted by babychronic@Oct 18 2004, 01:32 AM

So haf been waiting long for a sbf skating session...

So who wanna organise??? Any time of the day is fine with me...

Hey, I blade at East Coast Park every Sunday afternoon. Hard to find kaki who are committed to it. Here's one. :)

Let go.... let God....

Originally posted by Zakevich@Oct 18 2004, 08:50 AM

Lost touch with those modern in-line skate... im still wearing my 10 year old green color blade... Those olden blades' bearings rockz....:lovestruck:

Rollerblade MacroBlade ?

hahahaha... i had the maroon one, used to be top of the range man.... bladed until the gasket broke, then can only hold 7 wheels.

been blading since 1993, with yrs in between of not balding, but learnt rollerskating prior to blading.

i rem buying my guards on 31st Mar 1994, one day before they implemented GST, so as to save on the GST... :cheeky:

Sunday sounds great, wat time and which part of ECP ? I'll be there as long as I'm not working at tt time.

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

Originally posted by maddog@Oct 18 2004, 07:08 PM

Rollerblade MacroBlade ?

hahahaha... i had the maroon one, used to be top of the range man.... bladed until the gasket broke, then can only hold 7 wheels.

been blading since 1993, with yrs in between of not balding, but learnt rollerskating prior to blading.

i rem buying my guards on 31st Mar 1994, one day before they implemented GST, so as to save on the GST... :cheeky:

Sunday sounds great, wat time and which part of ECP ? I'll be there as long as I'm not working at tt time.

Mines a ultra wheels.... hahaha...if i remember correctly .. the blades cost me $300++ but for 10 years...quite worth it...:cheeky:

sunday...onz...wat time ...meet @ mac!? My hp 94383690, damien. will be there if there isnt any rain..

Originally posted by Zakevich@Oct 19 2004, 04:25 PM

Mines a ultra wheels.... hahaha...if i remember correctly .. the blades cost me $300++ but for 10 years...quite worth it...:cheeky:

sunday...onz...wat time ...meet @ mac!? My hp 94383690, damien. will be there if there isnt any rain..

mid afternoon ? about 3 ? meet at skate park near macs.

MD

Just a few humble suggestions for those who are intending to get a pair of new inline skates.

There are lots of brands around in the market i.e. Salomon, K2, Rollerblade, Roces, Ultra Wheels, Fila, Nike etc etc... Choose something with the following considerable factors:

1. Your budget?

2. Your skating discipline i.e. Fitness, Recreational, Figure, Freestyle, Aggressive or Speed?

3. Comfy level of the skates you have decided on? Branded skates doesn't mean it will be good and works well on your legs. You wouldn't wanna take off your skates before you can even skate on it for less than 15 mins due the soreness and pain created by your skates.

4. Last but not least, your likeness on the skates you've decided cos you're gonna spend your pocket money on them and definitely want them to serve you long and well enuff.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m200/wsrider/DE_MOD.jpg

Honda CB400 SF Hyper Vtec & Suzuki K6 Hayabusa GSX1300R

Originally posted by Maverick_L@Oct 21 2004, 05:09 PM

Just a few humble suggestions for those who are intending to get a pair of new inline skates.

There are lots of brands around in the market i.e. Salomon, K2, Rollerblade, Roces, Ultra Wheels, Fila, Nike etc etc... Choose something with the following considerable factors:

1. Your budget?

2. Your skating discipline i.e. Fitness, Recreational, Figure, Freestyle, Aggressive or Speed?

3. Comfy level of the skates you have decided on? Branded skates doesn't mean it will be good and works well on your legs. You wouldn't wanna take off your skates before you can even skate on it for less than 15 mins due the soreness and pain created by your skates.

4. Last but not least, your likeness on the skates you've decided cos you're gonna spend your pocket money on them and definitely want them to serve you long and well enuff.

frankly, i believe that most blades are white elephants, so i'd actually recommend commitment before buying

MD

Originally posted by Zakevich@Oct 23 2004, 07:38 AM

Onz...

bad news... gotta work tomoro...

unless u want at nite or early early morn one

MD

I jus bought a pair of K2 blade... very nice spend about $300.... now can go blading every week. :cheer:

Originally posted by Yumi@Nov 15 2004, 08:27 PM

I jus bought a pair of K2 blade... very nice spend about $300.... now can go blading every week. :cheer:

just 3 more days.... till end of exams....

MD

hi guys, i got sme hockey gears for sale

1) hockey gloves “gryphon”, black---sellin $80,bought in aussie ard $100 ( use less den 5times,no smell, coz I use another glove b4 I put on the hockey glove)

very small tear at the thumb… but the padding is still very thick

2) hockey pants(red, white) --- selling $65,cant rmbr but bought

3) hockey guards, integrated knee & shin “rollerblade” brand– selling $30, cant rmbr price oso

willing to let go the above 3items @$150 if buy together..

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition