I'd appreciate any advice anyone can offer here!

I bought my 2B bike 2nd hand off XX shop, where the guy quoted me 3rd party insurance. Paid up everything and I thought everything's settled.

Now, I just got a call from the shop saying it's actually 3rd party fire and theft and that I have to make payment for the difference, about $200. Checking my insurance papers confirmed this. I don't think it's fair that I was originally quoted for 3rd party but they signed me up for 2nd and that now 2 months later they ask me to pay the difference.

Problem is, the insurance papers are 3rd party fire and theft which I didn't really check upon buying the bike. BUT the price we agreed on was for 3rd party. So should I pay the difference? Any legal implications if I refuse to pay? I'm still under installment with the shop also...

sian X 1000

• Replies 36

Just Bring One Of Your Friends Who Very Kay Siao One Then Argue With Them Ah Bang Table Everything. Coz Its Clearly Not Ur Fault. And If They Die Die Dun Wanna Change & Ask You To Pay, Report Under CASE Because Its Like They Can Use This Tactic To Cheat People. Those Who Are Scared Will Usually Pay Up.

But To Think Back, They Wanna Cheat You For What. The Money Goes To The Insurance Company. Hahaha.

It might just merely be a mistake on their side. Anyways, you should had known that shops will never give 3rd party insurance to people that are buying their bikes on loan..

Really Mehh? The Other Time I Was Asking Around, They Quote Me 3rd Party Only.

Maybe Only Some Shops, Not All.

Just call up the insurance co to cancel the insruance!

Then go buy a cheap 3rd party ins yourself!

There is one Mitsui just beside Ah-boy, 2nd floor, same building!

One need not be scared of motorshop!

Just call up the insurance co to cancel the insruance!

Then go buy a cheap 3rd party ins yourself!

There is one Mitsui just beside Ah-boy, 2nd floor, same building!

One need not be scared of motorshop!

But If They Cancel They Wont Refund You Fully Right?

Coz Maybe If Ask Bike Shop Refund, They Can Talk Talk With The Insurance Company Then Can Close One Eye. :cheeky:

Just Go There And Sort Things Out With Them Ah. Say That Its Not Ur Fault So Why Shud U Pay The Extra Amount. If They Dun Want Then Must Act Fierce Ah. Kick Chair, Bang Table All. HAHAHAHAHA!!

just heck care them if u fully pay ur bike ? if u paying by installment den i suggest u go down bike shop and kp them! haha

NSR 150 SP: 07 April 2009 - 22 January 2010

Yamaha X1R: 03 April 2010 - Present

How about just paying up the extra $200? I mean, it does include fire and theft still. It's not like you're paying the extra cash for the same insurance plan.

i believe the 200 bucks will do you good in times to come..

the extra fire n theft..

helps alot... =)

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

their clerical mistake they pay? if the staff make mistake his or her pay kanna deducted ? Have a heart lah, if the bike is under instalment, surely they wanna to protect their interest. Anyway another 0.55cts a day, protect your bike form theft and fire. If you kanna one of those, yr pocket will burn a big hole.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

think you can just tell the motorshop that your pocket very tight at the meanwhile and then the 200 you pay by instalment $50*4 via your monthly instalment.. don bang the table HAHA.some might be scared,some might tell you, oh u wanna play? never mind..

then next time your instalment due only one day he come dray your bike.. so no point making both party angry.. just tell them nicely and i think most motorshop can close one eyes de..

hope this help you..

remember..no bang:cheeky:

Why not just go to the insurance company, cancel the first insurance and reapply another insurance of your choice? Insurance company will refund you the difference. Check the terms behind your insurance papers.

The longer you drag, the lesser you claim back.

Just Bring One Of Your Friends Who Very Kay Siao One Then Argue With Them Ah Bang Table Everything. Coz Its Clearly Not Ur Fault. And If They Die Die Dun Wanna Change & Ask You To Pay, Report Under CASE Because Its Like They Can Use This Tactic To Cheat People. Those Who Are Scared Will Usually Pay Up.

But To Think Back, They Wanna Cheat You For What. The Money Goes To The Insurance Company. Hahaha.

haha you think this works? so childish still wana act ah beng? lol

Ride Safe.

But If They Cancel They Wont Refund You Fully Right?

Coz Maybe If Ask Bike Shop Refund, They Can Talk Talk With The Insurance Company Then Can Close One Eye. :cheeky:

Cancelling of insurance you will get refunded but it is better you say the bike shop made a mistake and you want to change to a 3rd party. Only for a first hand bike they don't allow 3rd party. For 2nd hand bike it is ok. Take note 2 months of usage will be deducted from initial amount that you paid for the insurance. that is where you need to say you need to change it to 3rd party for 10 months.

haha you think this works? so childish still wana act ah beng? lol

Haha Its Just A Figure Of Speech Lah Bro. Im Not Like That Of Course. Being A Terror Just To Get Things Go Ur Way Isnt Right. Im Sure People Here Are More Civilised & Not Like The Rest In Other Countries. Not Happy Only Riot Here & There. :)

Yeah But To Think Back, I Think Just Pay Up The 200 Coz The Money Doesnt Go To Them Anyway. It Goes To The Insurance Company So It Doesnt Benefit Them In Any Way. It Benefits You Though So Incase Ur Bike Catches Fire Or Got Stolen, You Dun Have To Suck Thumb. So My Point Is, They Are Not Cheating You Afterall. :)

When you buy a bike on instalments, the shop has the right under the Hire Purchase Act to require you to buy specific types of insurance such as TPFT. If the shop requires you to do so, then you must do so as part of the conditions of financing.

Most insurers would also have a record of whether the bike is under financing or not in their records.

---

Owner may require insurance cover for goods

25. An owner may, subject to section 26, require any goods comprised in a hire-purchase agreement to be insured in the names of the owner and the hirer against any risk that he thinks fit for the period of the agreement at the expense of the hirer.

He who hesitates is lost!