ppl gear up properly and then considered 'poser' just coz its a 2b bike? wats up wif that?

frankly speaking the one laughing at the proper gear is the ignorant one.

Well said mate!

Buy the best riding gear you can afford, and it is still cheaper than hospital bills.

Those who tasted asphalt would know what I mean...

WE'RE NOT HERE FOR A LONG TIME, WE'RE HERE FOR A GOOD TIME.

• Replies 248

At this point, I am a confirmed poser of a biker.

I ride my bike for less than 10 mins a week.

Each time, less than 3 kilometers up and down a road behind my house.

I dont see this changing but am hoping I can make time to ride a bit more on weekend nites with the bros/sisters here.

ppl gear up properly and then considered 'poser' just coz its a 2b bike? wats up wif that?

frankly speaking the one laughing at the proper gear is the ignorant one.

I am a poser. Everytime i ride, i would be wearing a Shoei FF, Spidi Armour Jacket, Fox Knee guard and riding boots.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg
I am a poser. Everytime i ride, i would be wearing a Shoei FF, Spidi Armour Jacket, Fox Knee guard and riding boots.

Like that, i'm a poser too! Posing is fun! At least u wont smash your chin on the tarmac and have abrasions on your arms when u fall! :D

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg

Like that, i'm a poser too! Posing is fun! At least u wont smash your chin on the tarmac and have abrasions on your arms when u fall! :D

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg

Like that I confirm poser liao. Fully protected and only riding tw200 :-)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

I am the most POSER. I wear is FF, gloves and... wait for it... REFLECTIVE VEST at night! :cheeky: So i regard safety as my priority. Man that is so poser liao! I didn't know people who cared for their safety are POSERS!

I find that posers are who have riding gear costs as much as their bikes?

Lucky my gear still cheaper than my bike. I'll try not to purchase riding gear which adds up to be more expensive than my bike ah!

I am the most POSER. I wear is FF, gloves and... wait for it... REFLECTIVE VEST at night! :cheeky: So i regard safety as my priority. Man that is so poser liao! I didn't know people who cared for their safety are POSERS!

Lucky my gear still cheaper than my bike. I'll try not to purchase riding gear which adds up to be more expensive than my bike ah!

The reflective vest is only $3.50 and it makes cars give way to motorcycles in the right situations. Posing FTW!

Amen to that....

Posing is cool =P (however contradicting that may sound)

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Seen a guys with AGV Helmet, armoured jackets, gloves and boots. I thought he was riding a BMW GS i saw at the carpark but end up he riding off a pink Phantom...

Oi, some of those guys on little bikes are avid tourers lol. Have heard of them going up to the birthplace of the Phantom (Thailand) to get special parts, and ride back with them.

The pink phantom is particularly famous. There's even a website...

Some people jealous what. Pay so much for motorbike, everyday eat grass cannot afford proper riding gear. Then jealous. Haha. Sommore in my reflective vest got ppl notice me. They got notice you in your sportsbike? Hahahaha. Joking. Don't flame me ah!

Don't take out flame thrower lol.

Some people jealous what. Pay so much for motorbike, everyday eat grass cannot afford proper riding gear. Then jealous. Haha. Sommore in my reflective vest got ppl notice me. They got notice you in your sportsbike? Hahahaha. Joking. Don't flame me ah!

Don't take out flame thrower lol.

Lol flaming is a waste of fuel unless used for flambe. Mmmm! Good idea!

Seriously, even outside of convoy events, reflective things help A LOT. You -have- to be an attention-seeker on a bike, because from the perspective of a car (or other vehicles), a motorcycle's profile is not very noticeable until it's very close.

Glad to see you and others contributing to an advancement in road safety... erm, no that sounded wrong. Some people love to flame safety-related new-idea topics. So, POSING FTW.

It's not posing when you care for your life. Oh well, different people have different ideas and we can't shove it down their throat to force them to believe its the right thing to do. This isn't communism! :p

True... I fully agree with one of the undying mantras you Hougang Riders bring up occasionally.

The smart ones live longer, screw the rest lmao. They can say what they want. The world and even local culture changes so fast, it's like playing adapt or die... it's much, much more profitable to collaborate and improve things bit by bit. Like....

Just a month ago someone brought up a topic of ATGATT and MOTGATT related theories. These few weeks I met a lot of newbies who met me with FF on and basic personal protection, and wanted me to take them to Motoworld to shop for gear right away. What do you think influenced them to do a bit better than the previous generation such as myself? Reading the forums, no doubt (that explains the incredible number of views per page here).

They were pretty good in their mechanical theory as well. Just told me what they wanted fixed and we got on it right away.

It's a BIG change, considering I've been on the roads and lurking on the forums like forever before I decided, new bike, new approach, new friends. Controversial for the local context, but so is gearing up for tropical weather. Once you start, you can't stop! Looking at those riding boots at MW recently :3

Feel too exposed already :p As a certain well known British TV host said once, riding a motorcycle is risking the eventual crash.

Don't take it too personally, it is simply a word of precaution to gear up (ballistic protection = just pick up the bike, wave off the onlookers :D)

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

i've seen ppl splurging on bike mods and accessories on bikes like kup kias, aftermarket exhaust systems and steel braided hoses, etc, etc.... but dressed with open face, t-shirts, shorts and slippers....

who is the poser here? ppl rather spend $$$ to 'beautify' their rides than investing in proper riding safety gears...

it seemed their bike is more important than their own body.

a person who is really passionate abt biking will tour or track.

not just pasting decals all over, making bike clean and polished all day long. a bike is meant to be ridden not kept in showroom condition at all times...

if ppl choose to be a poser, it's their business and none of mine, im not gonna say they are wrong, it is their decision. but if you ask me whether they are just posers, im gonna reply 'yes'.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

blame? who is blaming here? im not... i just saying these people with these practices are just posers to me, issit wrong to be a poser? it's not.

am i a poser? im not, i do tour to a certain extent with my class 2b bike. am planning to join my friends for a west msia loop ride using my 2b bike next year.

as the thread topic states about "we know you're a poser if...." to me these ppl are as good as posers. bike is just an status kind of thing, neither touring nor tracking are in their biking activities...

a true biker to me, has to meet certain criterias, love to ride, tour or track. these 3 basic criteria are a basics of a true biker in my opinion.

a true biker does not just paste decals, clean and polish bike all the time. again this is just my opinion.

Kan Nin Neh you talking abt me ah. Hahaha :lol: anyway you describing me eh. But well if its to your opinion then so be it. Well to me cleaning and washing bike is not a poser. Its a pride. And its a maintainence. If you dun clean or wash the bike then how do you knw was it going to wear off or spoil?

Luckily i got go out of SG if not the description definately fits me. But some not that they dun wanna go out of singapore is just that Job commitment and mabbe unable to get a licence to get out of SG on bike either from wife or parents.

Your this statement might affect ppl. They are not poser, they dun have a choice sometimes.

:lol: we are all of us posers la..

the veterans ride w/o visor/ helmet horkay? :lol:

whole family can sit on bike some more. if u cant do that means u poser.. :faint:

Sounds Vietnam to me.... You every see the pillion feeding the baby while taking a ride? Thats wat i called MILK SHAKE... :lol: Hahahaha

I find that posers are who have riding gear costs as much as their bikes?

Seen a guys with AGV Helmet, armoured jackets, gloves and boots. I thought he was riding a BMW GS i saw at the carpark but end up he riding off a pink Phantom...

And also pasting Branded stickers on the cheap helmet?

Arai sticker on Evo helmet... Hmmppf!

OMG this is the most stupid thing I've read on this forum!

Is there some universal law that says that if you fall while riding a 2B bike, you will not get injuries?

Anyway, my gear will never cost as much as my bike, because my bike is VERRRRRRY EXPENSIVE. Hmm but I still consider myself a poser leh...

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg
Don't take it too personally' date=' it is simply a word of precaution to gear up (ballistic protection = just pick up the bike, wave off the onlookers )

If i had the iron man suit, hell i would wear it. I find that a Head's Up Display with a computer Lady's Voice saying this and that is the best way to keep you alive.

Sounds Vietnam to me.... You every see the pillion feeding the baby while taking a ride? Thats wat i called MILK SHAKE... :lol: Hahahaha

OMG this is the most stupid thing I've read on this forum!

Is there some universal law that says that if you fall while riding a 2B bike, you will not get injuries?

Anyway, my gear will never cost as much as my bike, because my bike is VERRRRRRY EXPENSIVE. Hmm but I still consider myself a poser leh...

2b biker = indestructible ma, riding @90kph CAN KILL MEH?! :lol:

If i had the iron man suit, hell i would wear it. I find that a Head's Up Display with a computer Lady's Voice saying this and that is the best way to keep you alive.

i think that suit is meant for flying. hehez :cheeky:

Like that die la...my gear cost more than my bike...errr...time to get a more ex bike si I won't be poser :-p

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg