Oh..mmkay.. fair play...

But I didn't really notice any 'teaching-preaching' as in *****-slapping those who choose not to gear up..

Oh well, maybe I am really missing the point somewhere.. :) tsk.. tsk..

Still, bro, ride safe! :thumb:

WE'RE NOT HERE FOR A LONG TIME, WE'RE HERE FOR A GOOD TIME.

• Replies 248

Didn't you know that there're a lot of safety preachers in SBF? :D

I'm starting to see a pattern in them. Can you?

i starting to notice a few -_- and they are damn funny.

geez, bro..

my point is ur point.

passion or poser cannot be determined by safety or "bohiu".

!= means "not equal".

apologies for any misunderstanding. :smile:

meaning we share the same views in that ppl have their own choice where safety gears are concerned, and that passion cannot be measured simply by the amount of safety gears donned.

i merely mentioned that coz it was starting to look like "safety vs bohiu" instead of "poser or otherwise" as started..

ok i seriously dunno the "!" means not equal but hey, now i know :)

Being safety minded is good. I never contended that fact.

Ppl have brains to think, and they made their choices knowing full well the consequences of what they are doing. We don't need some excited, wet behind the ears, ride-ling to tell us that we're posers just 'cos we don't gear up. So kindly excuse me if I return my appreciation to your broken-record with a big Frak Off.

ok frak off :D

somehow i really wish they did but apparently, 1 seems to cant get wat we trying to hint and continue his "gospel" around here

Again, you've somewhat missed the point.

I don't consider anyone who gears up on the road a poser. Far from that, I think that they're doing good for themselves.

And I probably wished that I had their resolve in going through all that trouble and potential discomfort to protect themselves.

But I don't, and that's that. I'll take the risk of road rash just to keep myself cool and sweatless as possible while riding my balltoaster machine in slow moving, traffic laden, roads of SG.

No. It's not about the poser bit at all.

My beef is simply about the yappers who prattle on and on about the virtues of gearing up while dissing those who choose not to.

And most of these yappers are oftentimes, IMO and from what I see, frakking n00bs. Trying to "teach" other ppl what they already know at heart, but simply do not want to practice. That's all there is to it.

to summarise.. to gear up or not to.. its ur farking business. "kiang zuo hor. mai gei kiang"

i starting to notice a few -_- and they are damn funny.

Funny? Hmm.. How come? Name the funniest, please - I need a smile. :D

ok i seriously dunno the "!" means not equal but hey, now i know

'not equal' can be either "!=", "~=", "/=", "=/=", "" or even "-ne", depending on language.

to summarise.. to gear up or not to.. its ur farking business.

This was given right from the beginning and nobody is discussing this part, right? Kinda obvious.. :)

The original statement was something like: IF you gear up you are a poser...

Now, look where this conversation ended up... :)

Ride Safe!

Edited by quickshift

Being safety minded is good. I never contended that fact.

But like religion, some things are better kept to oneself, especially if other ppl have already told you "Thanks, but no thanks, now get the frak out of my face." :)

Let's face it. Everybody would like to gear up, if gearing up didn't mean sweating like a pig at the end of your ride, and then finding out that you have to lug your gear around town 'cos you don't have a box.

Some of you have boxes and are willing to reach your destination sweaty. Good for you.

Some others may like their pristine sportbike to not be desecrated by an ugly box on the back. It's their prerogative. Nothing wrong there. So without ample storage, they decide to ride with less gear, or no safety gear at all, save their helmets. They made their choice, taken their calculated risks, and to be blunt... it's their motherfrakking business, and not anyone's else. Yours or mine.

As for safety preachers. There are the experienced riders here who go around dishing out advice to ppl on safety. That's commendable. But I noticed that they do not attempt to shove that information or culture down the throats of others and repeat it ad nauseum. They know better, having spent that much time on the road. Live and let live.

The safety preachers here I'm talking about are usually the noobs who have rode only for that short time on the road, but keep yapping about safety to others, and trying to evangelize their mindset upon others without stopping to see if their attempts are starting to piss off others. Who knows? Maybe it's a feel-good, pat-oneself-on-the-back feeling that they get from spreading some kind of gospel around.

Ppl have brains to think, and they made their choices knowing full well the consequences of what they are doing. We don't need some excited, wet behind the ears, ride-ling to tell us that we're posers just 'cos we don't gear up. So kindly excuse me if I return my appreciation to your broken-record with a big Frak Off.

ya la, no one will like it if ppl shove thoughts into their heads and all, but i think most safety "preachers" dun do that for the sake of selling the safety idea etc.. most start off with a genuinely sincere heart and thought that they really wanna save some lives/ skin.

we most probably cannot literally save anyone, given the fact that we have to handle ourselves on the road, so i suppose the next best thing is to discuss more abt it, dun think anyone wanna shove it down the throat of anyone in particular. so far, most safety messages i see are quite general and not that specifically aimed at anyone?

ppl have brains to think, but some really do not know full well the consequences of what they are doing, seriously.. if u spent that much time on the road u would probably unds wat i mean.. and for the benefit of most new riders, who may not have the knowledge that safety riding/ safety gears are common in sg, i think such "info-sharing" are beneficial.

and frankly speaking, i tot it quite ironic given the fact that there are also riders who go around "preaching" abt shoving middle fingers to idiotic motorists, w/o so much as stopping to think abt the fact that not all riders, particularly new riders, have a bike that is able to pull them to safety shd the motorists decide to play a nasty punk.. izzen that "shoving it down their throats" as well? interesting u dun find that trend interesting..

lastly, being new otr doesn't mean those riders cannot contribute to the motorcycling scene. even a company/ country needs new blood to sustain.. u dun need to be old/ very experienced to unds certain things in life. some ppl never mature in thoughts and will nv do, not in the motorcycling sense, but in life in general.. so y be so hard on new riders, as though their thoughts are not worth a dime?

@ DeusExMachina

Woohoo! Dude... the truth is out and the gloves are off... :D

To be honest, I think the argument here is: You gear up and you are a poser! You don't gear up and you are unnecessarily putting yourself at risk.. Not really about preaching anything..

Basically, any GEAR==POSER.

So, to some extent this is true and correct: it indeed feels odd to gear up and go for a short ride to see a friend or to some local shops.. Some people opt not to and some choose to 'dress up'. It is hot in this country and it is their call in the end, just like you said.

What I am trying to put across, is that a proper riding attire would save your hide and maybe more. When? I dunno.. At least when your numbers are up, you are prepared and ready. You know it just as well as I do. It might be heavy and awkward, it would make you look like a Power Ranger, you would sweat like a pig.. Absolutely! But still, everyone must be safe in the knowledge that should they personally feel they want to put all that kit on, it would be perfectly fine and other riders would not laugh at their expense..

I feel that almost everyone here is under a lot of peer pressure, especially youngsters - maybe they would want to put their riding boots on, but are afraid their mates would tease and laugh at them.. And when they grow up, they never bother - this is how it has always been...

Ride Safe! :thumb:

:lol: ain't that the truth? that we are all of us posers for wearing that helmet, coz the veterans simply did not wear em..

Again, you've somewhat missed the point.

I don't consider anyone who gears up on the road a poser. Far from that, I think that they're doing good for themselves.

And I probably wished that I had their resolve in going through all that trouble and potential discomfort to protect themselves.

But I don't, and that's that. I'll take the risk of road rash just to keep myself cool and sweatless as possible while riding my balltoaster machine in slow moving, traffic laden, roads of SG.

No. It's not about the poser bit at all.

My beef is simply about the yappers who prattle on and on about the virtues of gearing up while dissing those who choose not to.

And most of these yappers are oftentimes, IMO and from what I see, frakking n00bs. Trying to "teach" other ppl what they already know at heart, but simply do not want to practice. That's all there is to it.

seriously deus, i dun think anyone wanna teach any veterans abt anything.. those messages are meant for the new riders.. strictly speaking, the "noobs" are still more experienced than the new riders/ riders getting their licenses..

i felt the exact same way that one time i spoke to an uncle in a motordiam, who started to brag abt how he used to outrun tp on his bike, only to have it kantong some time ltr, as though he's damn hero..

ok i seriously dunno the "!" means not equal but hey, now i know :)

hehez, ps, bad habit from work..

Ride Safe!

ya, that statement cannot la, sounds like "drivers are reckless, bikers are not!!!" :faint:

okok, can we try to go back to The thread? :smile:

Yes lets talk about posing. Now we have a consensus that posing safety right? A tour de france wannabe can pose in thousand dollars cycle, dri-fit spandex, but at their pedal speed of 30-50kph, they should definitely gear up boy, not only road rash, also broken collar bones. And their cycling antics oblivious of other road users are also a pain in the butt. These ultimate posers are definitely safety riders. Race design suits are not road design suits, on roads we are less likely to slide or skidd but head on or side impact collision. So how much protection you gonna expect from your gears? Just save the skin perhaps, but dont expect more. Road concentration and experience plays a more important role. Too much emphasis on gearing can be detrimental for newbies if they cannot concentrate because they are bogged down and sweaty by the gears. Sensible and safety bikers will arrive at a safety policy themselves what they deem fits their budget or riding style, maybe installing crash bar is sufficient safety for some bikes, heck the gear man. Look at the tp, its body armour those bikes to protect themselves, you ever see army rece bikes, also the same wide crash bars. I gear up more for posing really, cause i dont ride it much, when i do, i should be in posing mood anyway.

@ Cougar

Tour de France guys do not have to worry about Singaporean taxis, lorries and buses. In fact, Singapore is one of the worst places to ride or drive, the top place would still go to the Gulf contries almost by default. :)

True, the most expensive suit will not save you from any direct hit, we all know it.

But it will do its best to save your butt should you lowside, highside and land on your poor butt or otherwise find yourself separated from your bike.

I personally wear that stuff.. with some variations, but I do. I honestly could not care less what others think or do: I decide what is good for me and good riding gear is definitely good for me. It does not have to be a mega expensive jacket with the hump, just something adequate will do.

At the end of the day, if Posing==Safety, I don't mind being called a poser.. Or, they may call me Susan if it makes them happy. :)

got this off customfighters forum. u guys decide.

http://i56.tinypic.com/e8tli8.png

Real biker looks like that 'biker' dude from 'Village People'! :D

Kinda gay.. :D

Oh, look! He has precious balls! It seems, at the time of creation 'the real biker' was queuing to get his balls and missed his number in 'brains' queue. :D

Now, that pic made my day! ROFL

This was given right from the beginning and nobody is discussing this part, right? Kinda obvious.. :)

Ride Safe!

seriously deus, i dun think anyone wanna teach any veterans abt anything.. those messages are meant for the new riders.. strictly speaking, the "noobs" are still more experienced than the new riders/ riders getting their licenses..

i felt the exact same way that one time i spoke to an uncle in a motordiam, who started to brag abt how he used to outrun tp on his bike, only to have it kantong some time ltr, as though he's damn hero..

The pattern here is that, any conversation that starts to talk about safety always seem to end up in a mob where a buncha do-gooder wannabe noobs will start to bunch up and eventually start to get all righteous and make statements like the one below:

i've seen ppl splurging on bike mods and accessories on bikes like kup kias, aftermarket exhaust systems and steel braided hoses, etc, etc.... but dressed with open face, t-shirts, shorts and slippers....

who is the poser here? ppl rather spend $$$ to 'beautify' their rides than investing in proper riding safety gears...

Really? I have all the required "gears" at home. I use them on the track and on tour, but I simply choose not to wear them on SG roads. You presume you want to teach me something?

This is just one of the examples of some newb mob mentality. So honestly, this is just repetitive.

Get off the high horse. Everytime the discussion goes this way, there will be ppl who're sick of seeing their choice of ride attire being criticized who will get into your discussion and tell you to go.... well, you know the drill. :)

ya la, no one will like it if ppl shove thoughts into their heads and all, but i think most safety "preachers" dun do that for the sake of selling the safety idea etc.. most start off with a genuinely sincere heart and thought that they really wanna save some lives/ skin.

we most probably cannot literally save anyone, given the fact that we have to handle ourselves on the road, so i suppose the next best thing is to discuss more abt it, dun think anyone wanna shove it down the throat of anyone in particular. so far, most safety messages i see are quite general and not that specifically aimed at anyone?

ppl have brains to think, but some really do not know full well the consequences of what they are doing, seriously.. if u spent that much time on the road u would probably unds wat i mean.. and for the benefit of most new riders, who may not have the knowledge that safety riding/ safety gears are common in sg, i think such "info-sharing" are beneficial.

and frankly speaking, i tot it quite ironic given the fact that there are also riders who go around "preaching" abt shoving middle fingers to idiotic motorists, w/o so much as stopping to think abt the fact that not all riders, particularly new riders, have a bike that is able to pull them to safety shd the motorists decide to play a nasty punk.. izzen that "shoving it down their throats" as well? interesting u dun find that trend interesting..

lastly, being new otr doesn't mean those riders cannot contribute to the motorcycling scene. even a company/ country needs new blood to sustain.. u dun need to be old/ very experienced to unds certain things in life. some ppl never mature in thoughts and will nv do, not in the motorcycling sense, but in life in general.. so y be so hard on new riders, as though their thoughts are not worth a dime?

Then go ahead and talk safety without telling other riders that they suck just cos they choose to bling up their ride, and not wear protective gear. Otherwise, my response is "My ride, my biz, you go take a hike" ;) (With a warm, genuine smile)

BTW, I've never seen anyone preach showing middle fingers to other guys. Most of the time, they're just describing their actions. Or telling them, "IMO, you should've given him the bird".... or "If I were in your shoes, I would have....". Haven't yet seen anyone start a thread about the virtues for flipping off the car that cut you off.

There's a distinct difference between adding in a comment in a complaint thread, and starting off a thread and expounding the benefits of flipping your fellow roaduser.

So maybe you can help me find those threads? I've tried searching for the Church of the Flipping Bird, but I just can't seem to find it somehow.

Edited by DeusExMachina
The pattern here is that, any conversation that starts to talk about safety always seem to end up in a mob where a buncha do-gooder wannabe noobs will start to bunch up and eventually start to get all righteous and make statements like the one below:

... i've seen ppl splurging on bike mods and accessories on bikes like kup kias, aftermarket exhaust systems and steel braided hoses, etc, etc.... but dressed with open face, t-shirts, shorts and slippers....

who is the poser here? ppl rather spend $$$ to 'beautify' their rides than investing in proper riding safety gears...

Deus, I guess you are right to say I have been missing a point or two.. I indeed did not think that far in this direction. Now, come to think of it, it actually does make sense. :)

Although I am not having a go at anyone who contributed their thoughts to this thread, but the 'mob mentality' observation was quite spot on. :thumb:

'Live and let live' is the best approach as it has always been; sharing knowledge and experience is a very rewarding and mutually beneficial undertaking, but this is all we can do. The rest is up to those who wish to learn, if they want to learn.

Ride Safe! :thumb:

@ Deus

we are all entitled to our own opinions. whether you like it anot.

to you ppl who preach safety in gearing up and investing in gears are posers... and some over enthusiastic mobs trying to spread the 'gospel' or whatever... it seemed you are pricked by my earlier statement hence your hostile reaction. like it anot, my recommendation on investing on safety gears over bike mods and accessories is valid in my opinion. i have friends crashing on public roads and the gear saved them from horrible injuries, i seen some 1st hand.

i say again, ppl who choose to beautify their bikes with unnecessary bike mods and accessories are posers to me. not to you perhaps but yes to me. whether you like it anot.

you are entitled to your own opinions, ppl who preach abt safety are some frakkers who like to shove safety ideas into ppl's arses. that is your prerogative. there is no need to start getting personal over the discussion over gearing up anot.

you don gear up cos of whatever reasons, it's your own business. maybe tasting the asphalt is the best lesson to ppl like this. learning thru the hard and painful way. by all means im not cursing any or hoping anyone to get into accidents but sh!t DOES happen and when that happens, all the best to that person.

it is a shame your so called rich experience riding on the road does not set a good example to younger 'noob' riders... responsible mature riders will understand the importance of gearing up and riding defensively.

again, we are all entitled to our own opinions and you might be pissed over others' opinions. let's have a mutual respect for one another and our opinions and not start getting personal.

peace out.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

Hey, guys! We are not getting personal here, are we?

Everyone is entitled to have and express own opinion.. I am totally pro-gear: gear is there for purpose and I wear it regardless. Others might have different opinions and that is fine.

@ ahcaibiker

I can understand your sentiment, my friend: beautifying rides instead of investing in protection gear is a questionable practice. But again, this is what they choose to do.. Let them - no point in getting frustrated over what you cannot change. :)

I do not think Deus had a dig at you personally, he just used your comment to support his opinion which is also valid. And he is right too about the mob mentality..

On that note: let's keep this thread civil and enjoy the differences. :)

Ride Safe!

got this off customfighters forum. u guys decide.

http://i56.tinypic.com/e8tli8.png

excellent pix. Confirm posingsafety.

@ Deus

we are all entitled to our own opinions. whether you like it anot.

to you ppl who preach safety in gearing up and investing in gears are posers... and some over enthusiastic mobs trying to spread the 'gospel' or whatever... it seemed you are pricked by my earlier statement hence your hostile reaction. like it anot, my recommendation on investing on safety gears over bike mods and accessories is valid in my opinion. i have friends crashing on public roads and the gear saved them from horrible injuries, i seen some 1st hand.

i say again, ppl who choose to beautify their bikes with unnecessary bike mods and accessories are posers to me. not to you perhaps but yes to me. whether you like it anot.

you are entitled to your own opinions, ppl who preach abt safety are some frakkers who like to shove safety ideas into ppl's arses. that is your prerogative. there is no need to start getting personal over the discussion over gearing up anot.

you don gear up cos of whatever reasons, it's your own business. maybe tasting the asphalt is the best lesson to ppl like this. learning thru the hard and painful way. by all means im not cursing any or hoping anyone to get into accidents but sh!t DOES happen and when that happens, all the best to that person.

it is a shame your so called rich experience riding on the road does not set a good example to younger 'noob' riders... responsible mature riders will understand the importance of gearing up and riding defensively.

again, we are all entitled to our own opinions and you might be pissed over others' opinions. let's have a mutual respect for one another and our opinions and not start getting personal.

peace out.

Civil right? This is still civil. That's why you get frak. Otherwise you get more than that.

We're entitled to our opinions right, as you said.

So what's the diff? You call them posers, I call the other side frakkers.

Why the sudden concern about getting personal then? Double standards?

And I repeat, ppl who bling up their bike, but ride on local streets with no gear, doesn't mean they're posers. How do you know that they don't have gear. They choose not to wear them in SG due to inconvenience. How do you know they're posers?

Presumptious? Up on your high horse? Better than them? Act hero?

Which one are you?

I choose keep my gear at home and ride locally without them. So what? You wanna label me? ;)

There is such a thing as situational or conditional gearing-up. Or simply put, at rider's discretion? Why? U got a problem with that?

Maybe I've tasted the asphalt more times than the number of years you've rode, but so what? It's my frakking skin.

Don't come act smart tell me "too bad" about my "so called" riding experience bla bla LJ wei. I never even shared my riding experience with you yet. Don't presume.

How many other lao jiao, mature riders you see on the road also don't gear up? You want to tell them it's a shame they don't set a good example on the road too? Or you wanna go tell them that they're not matured 'cos they don't meet your standards of gearing up?

Who are you?

Edited by DeusExMachina
Civil right? This is still civil. That's why you get frak. Otherwise you get more than that.

We're entitled to our opinions right, as you said.

So what's the diff? You call them posers, I call the other side frakkers.

Why the sudden concern about getting personal then? Double standards?

And I repeat, ppl who bling up their bike, but ride on local streets with no gear, doesn't mean they're posers. How do you know that they don't have gear. They choose not to wear them in SG due to inconvenience. How do you know they're posers?

Presumptious? Up on your high horse? Better than them? Act hero?

Which one are you?

I choose keep my gear at home and ride locally without them. So what? You wanna label me? ;)

There is such a thing as situational or conditional gearing-up. Or simply put, at rider's discretion? Why? U got a problem with that?

Maybe I've tasted the asphalt more times than the number of years you've rode, but so what? It's my frakking skin.

Don't come act smart tell me "too bad" about my "so called" riding experience bla bla LJ wei. I never even shared my riding experience with you yet. Don't presume.

How many other lao jiao, mature riders you see on the road also don't gear up? You want to tell them it's a shame they don't set a good example on the road too? Or you wanna go tell them that they're not matured 'cos they don't meet your standards of gearing up?

Who are you?

to put it simply, i say you are a POSER and you say im a FRAKKER. like it anot both on our part.

you and i are entitled to our own opinions and i am gonna respect that.

who are you to me then? my boss? president? let's end this personal attacks on one another.

you carry on not wearing your gears while riding locally and hope you don get into SH!T while i continue my gearing up and encouraging others to gear up w/o bothering one another.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

let's end this personal attacks on one another.

to put it simply, i say you are a POSER and you say im a FRAKKER. like it anot both on our part.

You also contradict yourself regularly. You're a fuucking hypocrite. :)

wa deux , yr post si bei fierce leh ...

Really? No lah.

The hero won't feel any pain one. He's got full gear on mah.

Flameproof.

Anyway this is quite fun. :p

Really? No lah.

The hero won't feel any pain one. He's got full gear on mah.

Flameproof.

Anyway this is quite fun. :p

Deus.. you are bad! ROFL :thumb:

wa deux , yr post si bei fierce leh ...

This is fierce?

I bet many have seen even more fierce sword crossing & shoulder rubbing situations than this... Haha...

:popcorn::popcorn::popcorn:

There is another way to look at it. :)

And here's 2 more... :D :p

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v161/DeusXMachina/Poser2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v161/DeusXMachina/Poser1.jpg