I dont ride much now but last time, I usually dont do that unless I am really rushing for time and the traffic is pretty heavy. Its very dangerous cos the cars may not see you and can bumped into you when changing lane. You are new...its impossible never to squeeze in bewteen vehicles but do so only when necessary and when you have gathered enough skills and experience. Its not about you alone, you have to mind read the drivers too...

But I dont understand why some people want to travel on the broken lines between both lanes EVEN when there are no cars! No lines they cannot go straight is it? Especially Malaysian bikes.

Its stupid and dangerous cos they are causing cars from both lanes to give way to them. Why cant they just bloody stay in the lane?

• Replies 219

I dont ride much now but last time, I usually dont do that unless I am really rushing for time and the traffic is pretty heavy. Its very dangerous cos the cars may not see you and can bumped into you when changing lane. You are new...its impossible never to squeeze in bewteen vehicles but do so only when necessary and when you have gathered enough skills and experience. Its not about you alone, you have to mind read the drivers too...

But I dont understand why some people want to travel on the broken lines between both lanes EVEN when there are no cars! No lines they cannot go straight is it? Especially Malaysian bikes.

Its stupid and dangerous cos they are causing cars from both lanes to give way to them. Why cant they just bloody stay in the lane?

ya lor.weird sia..

i only spilt when in hurry.

or else..will wait afew cars bak..its okay for me.

iam p-plate,lack of experince

ya lor.weird sia..

i only spilt when in hurry.

or else..will wait afew cars bak..its okay for me.

iam p-plate,lack of experince

Lack of experience is fine :3 It's attitude that counts when riding!

To me there should be no looking down on newbies or slower vehicles. All have their purpose on the road. Experienced bikers were also newbies once. Experience also does not automatically mean "safe".

There are other ways to get somewhere fast than riding between lanes... ever head of... planning? :D

at where ?

ytd at amk area,near bishan park there

saw a v cui bike at a junction(sp). can only c e tail nia,plate nmber n a p-plate

my frend sae left front seat of a taxi dent in.

hair stand after i saw it...scary sia

left 2 helmets near e bike nia..

how come will left side dent in? is it the sp beat red light?

2 helmet somemore ..... hope both are fine

how come will left side dent in? is it the sp beat red light?

2 helmet somemore ..... hope both are fine

dunno

i was telling my frends,either 1 of them beat red lite

haix..hope so

Lack of experience is fine :3 It's attitude that counts when riding!

To me there should be no looking down on newbies or slower vehicles. All have their purpose on the road. Experienced bikers were also newbies once. Experience also does not automatically mean "safe".

There are other ways to get somewhere fast than riding between lanes... ever head of... planning? :D

oh.ya

its e attitude aso

nid to b alert as well at all tym,when otr

I would try my best not to squeeze through but still do it when there is too much traffic.

I do lane splitting under the following conditions:

a) I am on expressway and traffic speed is

b) Wider roads with relatively slow moving vehicles, basing on judgment here.

c) stationary vehicles at any road or expressways. At traffic lights I ll always be the first or second person :p.

d) the vehicles i am squeezing through have not so agressive drivers in them. This is based on judgment as well.

I would try my best not to squeeze through but still do it when there is too much traffic.

I do lane splitting under the following conditions:

a) I am on expressway and traffic speed is

b) Wider roads with relatively slow moving vehicles, basing on judgment here.

c) stationary vehicles at any road or expressways. At traffic lights I ll always be the first or second person :p.

d) the vehicles i am squeezing through have not so agressive drivers in them. This is based on judgment as well.

sometime u wont know if he is aggressive or not.

and your c) being first person is dangerous at junction

y being 1st at traffic,is dangerous to u ?

just wan to know ur point of view

sometime u wont know if he is aggressive or not.

This point was for squeezing through while moving at ~60. I always wait a while to see if they cover up, don't raise their speed etc.. and then make my move.

Yeah also curious to know! Maybe I can correct this habit.

if u first of the traffic, then green light u immediately chiong and u sway the traffic on the right got some siao person beat red light than bang u lor.

I guess it's okay being first in the line. But it's totally NOT OKAY to be first and chiong when the lights turn green WITHOUT looking out for traffic on the left and right. When left and right traffic are clear, it's good to have a good pick up cause if you start slow, cars may accidentally bang you from behind (especially those Sonata taxis, their pick up is pretty fast) and that it's better to get out of junction as soon as possible. Look out for traffic in front too, though, when making a fast pick up.

Important thing is don't stay in car/bus/truck for too long. Since you decided to overtake them in between vehicles, throttle and move away. Nowadays seem like more drivers don't care to check their blind spot.

Another thing is if your pillion is a buay zai pillion, don't squeeze. You won't know what he/she would do suddenly.

u mean driving center never teach u to check left and right and across b4 u move off from traffic junction?

being first at junction got danger? hmm maybe ya 1 thing.. thats if drunk drivers come bang u from the opposite lane:help:

I also new p-plater. Only lane-split during jams and even better if got a more experienced lane-split leader during jams like just now at Bukit Timah road going towards Bukit Timah shopping centre.

I lane split wenever traffic is stationary.. Wen moing, i rarely do so and i have been riding for 5 years

ya..same as me

most of e tym.haha

ya..same as me

most of e tym.haha

me three. oni when busy traffic will lanesplit abit.

RXZ(FE4**2A) - 25th Sept 2010 till 16th July 2011

125Z(FZ***3D) - 20th Aug 2011 till 16 Oct 2012

PULSAR 200NS(FBG 8**2J) - 29th Dec 2012 till present

Hmmmm....i cannot believe that there are riders in Singapore dont do lane split. Given the current traffic condition, its impossible. If there is a massive jam, these riders who dont lane split and stop and go with the cars? So far i have seen ZERO

Wrong answer, I know some forumers and myself who reserve lanesplitting for when some major numbskull doesn't know what a "motorcycle" is and just drives into my lane!

Normally I will follow the flow because I tuned my bike for max torque. I can ride at like, 1500 rpm :D

Credibility:

I spent about 2 months worth of Friday nights riding with the SBF Phantom Knights to learn convoy ops, and they have had many makan outings too. Even on some of the more casual events (no formation enforced, etc), the custom Phantom riders do not lanesplit but give others right of way if they request it, regardless of situation.

These are @pureice68, @Bikee, @jtzx, @kmjoe and a number of others who advocate safety first over all else.

I then spent a lot of time with @nabil15 who learned to lead local and overseas convoys; both of us find lanesplitting a convoy to be more dangerous than the little time it saves (proper planning = avoid the jam in the first place).

Once I saw the whole group of Hougang Riders led by @tonychan, @ahcaibiker @xXxRatedxXx and a dozen others - planning, and waiting for decisive overtaking opportunities is much, much superior to riding between cars.

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3