• Replies 3.6k

the sound is scary, every1 ask me is my exhaust illegal :giddy:

Hey bro the sound of ur pipe power is it? Any idea how much it cost?

Regardless Of Bike Class, Colour, Make Or Model

Live To Ride Bike While We Still Can

Always Ride A Honda :thumb:

watz "R/R"?

thats Regulator/Rectifier. It tends to run very hot and get burn out. So, some of us carry a spare when we go up north.

SORRY, James996!!!

No offence towards you intended.

My sincerest apologies.

Hey man,dun so serious leh...This is a forum,chit-chat only.

i dun think he mind tat nick.. he would b proud of it i think.. spend so much on it wor... :angel:

Kekeke...You know me so well.:angel:

Past rides are already history....

Current ride: FW VFR 800 ABS

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s254/james9295/DSC_0200.jpg

think more well known prob for VFR is R/R probs....

My friend VFR was stranded in Perling last sat.The wiring of the key switch broke,making it cant start.Lucky he managed to trace the wiring,cut and re-connect it back...

Past rides are already history....

Current ride: FW VFR 800 ABS

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s254/james9295/DSC_0200.jpg

Hey bro the sound of ur pipe power is it? Any idea how much it cost?

to me it is very loud, mayb coz this is my 1st aftermarket exhaust experience.. nvr change exhaust b4 on my prev ride... nevertheless, i do get feedbacks frm ppls/bikeshop tat it is loud or them asking me whether it is legal pipe....

as for how much, if not wrong i think my prev owner did mention something like ard $800+... its a high mount GPR for 5th gen, lucky we only nid 1 pipe so not as expensive as gen 6th....

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg
I did smsed the owner.He is selling the pipes for 1K.

With due respect and no offence intended to anyone, if the 2nd hand Laser is selling for S$1K, correct me if I am wrong, then I might as well top up S$300 - S$400 more to pay for a set of brand new Laser, am I right?? :angel:

hmm... Guess all bikes have problems. Even the newest, lastest '08 "Falcon" has problem. Heard that there may have been a recall on the '08 PI Falcons.

So how much will a Regulator/Rectifier cost if it is burnt out??

We can do the "operation" on the bike to change it ourselves without having to go to the work-shop to look for a mechanic one ah?? :)

Can I ask one more question? :angel:

For my previous ride which is not as "nosiy" as a viffer, I can hear and detect the tensioner or timing chain going "loose" and have a very loud "tia-tia" sound, so I know it is a tensioner/timing chain problem and have to get it tightened or changed.

But for this "viffer beast", the V-engine a bit louder than my previous Inline 4, so how do you guys detect such a tensioner/timing chain problem?? The last thing I want is for the timing chain to snap inside and damage the interior of the engines, the pistons, the piston heads, etc...

Thanks for all your advices... :)

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

My friend VFR was stranded in Perling last sat.The wiring of the key switch broke,making it cant start.Lucky he managed to trace the wiring,cut and re-connect it back...

That was me lor :sian:

lucky I carry spare connectors or else :giddy:

With due respect and no offence intended to anyone, if the 2nd hand Laser is selling for S$1K, correct me if I am wrong, then I might as well top up S$300 - S$400 more to pay for a set of brand new Laser, am I right?? :angel:

hmm... Guess all bikes have problems. Even the newest, lastest '08 "Falcon" has problem. Heard that there may have been a recall on the '08 PI Falcons.

So how much will a Regulator/Rectifier cost if it is burnt out??

We can do the "operation" on the bike to change it ourselves without having to go to the work-shop to look for a mechanic one ah?? :)

Can I ask one more question? :angel:

For my previous ride which is not as "nosiy" as a viffer, I can hear and detect the tensioner or timing chain going "loose" and have a very loud "tia-tia" sound, so I know it is a tensioner/timing chain problem and have to get it tightened or changed.

But for this "viffer beast", the V-engine a bit louder than my previous Inline 4, so how do you guys detect such a tensioner/timing chain problem?? The last thing I want is for the timing chain to snap inside and damage the interior of the engines, the pistons, the piston heads, etc...

Thanks for all your advices... :)

i would say the 1k price tag depends on the condition oso lar, it could b used only juz for 1-2mths leh?

i guess u would hav to "record" the current engine sound into ur head, so if any funny sound starts to come in then u shd b able to differentiate bah..

OR

change to a 5th gen VFR, then u wont hav the tensioner/timing chain to worry with... :angel:

i would say the 1k price tag depends on the condition oso lar, it could b used only juz for 1-2mths leh?

i guess u would hav to "record" the current engine sound into ur head, so if any funny sound starts to come in then u shd b able to differentiate bah..

OR

change to a 5th gen VFR, then u wont hav the tensioner/timing chain to worry with... :angel:

"i would say the 1k price tag depends on the condition oso lar, it could b used only juz for 1-2mths leh?"

-> Yes, I agree. If it is a 1 - 2 months or maybe even less than a month, then perhaps a S$1K price tag will be reasonable. :) :) :)

"i guess u would hav to "record" the current engine sound into ur head"

-> haha... Maybe I can use a tape recorder to tape it down for future comparison... heehee... :angel:

"change to a 5th gen VFR, then u wont hav the tensioner/timing chain to worry with... :angel:"

-> Actually, care to enlighten me on how do you guys determine whether it is a 5th Gen or 6th Gen VFR?? I just printed out my log-card. It says my ride is registered in Feb '06 (no. of transfers : 3), so does that make it a 6th Gen?? :)

You mean to say for a 5th Gen viffer, there is no tensioner/timing chain problem while there is this constant tensioner/timing chain problem for 6th Gen onwards viffers??

But I thot the tensioner/timing chain will be worn out and/or get loosen after a few years or a certain mileage of km of riding, e.g. after 50,000 km or riding? :)

Thank you all in advance. :)

First & Second Generation 1983-1989

Third & Fourth Generation 1990-1997

Fifth Generation 1998-2001

Sixth Generation 2002-2008

Hope this helps.

First & Second Generation 1983-1989

Third & Fourth Generation 1990-1997

Fifth Generation 1998-2001

Sixth Generation 2002-2008

Hope this helps.

Thanks very much for the clarification. :)

-> Actually, care to enlighten me on how do you guys determine whether it is a 5th Gen or 6th Gen VFR?? I just printed out my log-card. It says my ride is registered in Feb '06 (no. of transfers : 3), so does that make it a 6th Gen?? :)

You mean to say for a 5th Gen viffer, there is no tensioner/timing chain problem while there is this constant tensioner/timing chain problem for 6th Gen onwards viffers??

But I thot the tensioner/timing chain will be worn out and/or get loosen after a few years or a certain mileage of km of riding, e.g. after 50,000 km or riding? :)

Thank you all in advance. :)

5th gen - from '98-01 VFR800...

6th gen - is '02 onwards VFR800 VTEC/ABS...

5th n 6th gen can b distinctively differentiated by the exhaust... '02 onwards underseat exhaust..

coz 5th gen is gear driven so no timing chain... :angel:

5th n 6th gen can b distinctively differentiated by the exhaust... '02 onwards underseat exhaust..

OIC.... Thanks so much, Mr loufu... :)

geezz... Guess I have a lot to learn about viffer... :)

thats Regulator/Rectifier. It tends to run very hot and get burn out. So, some of us carry a spare when we go up north.

the other known problem is a fried magnetic coil.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

"i would say the 1k price tag depends on the condition oso lar, it could b used only juz for 1-2mths leh?"

-> Yes, I agree. If it is a 1 - 2 months or maybe even less than a month, then perhaps a S$1K price tag will be reasonable. :) :) :)

his pipe is definitely more than 1 or 2 months...

where's stanley when you need him ;)

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Buy,buy,buy.Think later.

Street legal still gt laser,arrow,arka,mircon,etc...:angel:

arka, micron has no street legal for 6th gen.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

OIC.... Thanks so much, Mr loufu... :)

geezz... Guess I have a lot to learn about viffer... :)

i m also in the learning process...

the other known problem is a fried magnetic coil.

magnetic coil isit same as altenator/stator??

correct me if im wrong, '06 vtec onwards, d vtec valve open earlier abt 6400rpm rite? before was abt 6800rpm..

n vfrvtec is cam driven rite? therefore d 'tia tia' sound is quite normal yah? :cheeky:

correct me if im wrong, '06 vtec onwards, d vtec valve open earlier abt 6400rpm rite? before was abt 6800rpm..

n vfrvtec is cam driven rite? therefore d 'tia tia' sound is quite normal yah? :cheeky:

dunno abt vtec open @ wat rpm... coz dun hav vtec:giddy:

for gear driven cam... '01 was the last batch i think...

as for how much, if not wrong i think my prev owner did mention something like ard $800+... its a high mount GPR for 5th gen, lucky we only nid 1 pipe so not as expensive as gen 6th....

So true. :cheeky: Anyway i do prefer side mount den underseat. But wat i like about the 6th gen is the head lights. :angel:

I always wonder is the head fairing of the 6th gen could fit the 5th? :confused:

Regardless Of Bike Class, Colour, Make Or Model

Live To Ride Bike While We Still Can

Always Ride A Honda :thumb:

n vfrvtec is cam driven rite? :cheeky:

Hi blackX. Let me try to clarify (sorry if you already know).

Most overhead cam(shaft) 4 strokers uses cam chains driven by the crankshaft to actuate the valves . other such as Ducati uses desmo, yet others uses push rods etc).

The vfr vtecs (post 01er) uses this; hence the cam(shaft) is "driven" by chain. But strictly speaking, it is driven by the crankshaft, via the cam chain.

The 5th gen (98-01) vfr uses a series of cam gears instead of cam chain to do the same valve actuation.

Hence the correct terminology should be "chain driven cam(shaft)" or "gear driven cam(shaft)" as opposed to "cam driven" as mentioned by you.

As the cam chain stretches with use, it slackens and gives rises to mechanical noises and in severe cases, affect the accuracy of the valve timing. Cam chain tensioners are designed in to take up some of this slack. but with time the stretch exceeds the ability of the tensioner and hence it need to be replaced.

On the other hand, cam gears does not suffer this stretching so it eliminate the problem of stretching.

Hope this confuses you more keke :cheeky: cheers

Hi blackX. Let me try to clarify (sorry if you already know).

Most overhead cam(shaft) 4 strokers uses cam chains driven by the crankshaft to actuate the valves . other such as Ducati uses desmo, yet others uses push rods etc).

The vfr vtecs (post 01er) uses this; hence the cam(shaft) is "driven" by chain. But strictly speaking, it is driven by the crankshaft, via the cam chain.

The 5th gen (98-01) vfr uses a series of cam gears instead of cam chain to do the same valve actuation.

Hence the correct terminology should be "chain driven cam(shaft)" or "gear driven cam(shaft)" as opposed to "cam driven" as mentioned by you.

As the cam chain stretches with use, it slackens and gives rises to mechanical noises and in severe cases, affect the accuracy of the valve timing. Cam chain tensioners are designed in to take up some of this slack. but with time the stretch exceeds the ability of the tensioner and hence it need to be replaced.

On the other hand, cam gears does not suffer this stretching so it eliminate the problem of stretching.

Hope this confuses you more keke :cheeky: cheers

haha... nicely explained.. if stil confuse then muz use drawing liao... as the saying goes "a picture tells a thousand words"