Originally posted by vfrT@Sep 11 2005, 02:49 PM

HamZ & Koma's symptom and cure are great stuff. Makes me want to share on my rectifier problem.

Prior to rectifier complete meltdown, there is no clear signs, especially if ridden on short trips of less than 30 mins like commuting in Singapore. However, for rides over 1hr like in M'sia, then you get problems with starting your bike after switching off. This symptom is similar other problems such as weak battery, partially burnt coil (ala Koma), weak alternator or poor connections etc. So its quite difficult to pin-point the problem w/o doing a full test. At this stage, it is advisable to switch down the main headlamps to reduce current draw from your battery so as to increase your chances of making it home on your own steam.

Once the rectifier goes completely, it is still possible to push start the bike. But the ride will be choppy as the ignition cuts in and out. This can be quite dangerous, so if you have to limp home, take the left lane and don't attempt any risky overtaking manouverves. It will also stall anytime, so try to find a sloped incline to stall so that you can coast down for the push start momentum. Don't ask me how I find out. As the ignition cuts in and out while on the move, your tacho & speedo needle will flick in sync with the signal indicator if you turn on the indicator; and your tripmeter will reset to zero (unfortunately the odometer does not. sic ;-))

On removal or the rectifier for replacment, I saw a crack in the dielectric backing of the rectifier, probably due to excessive heat. I took the opportunity to change the battery as well.

To prevent recurrence, I wired a computer fan to the rectifier, tapping power from the rear tail lamp. I used a 0.28A fan costing about $10 from SimLim. A lower rated one blew out immeidately.

I am not sure if its the fan that's helping but so far, so good.

by puting a volt meter to monitor the voltage, will this help?

• Replies 3.6k

Originally posted by none@Sep 10 2005, 11:34 AM

3. None - '02 VFR800Vtec (still in use 61,000km)

- Fan thermostat at 56,000km

- Pair of tensioners at 59,000km

HI None,

Are the thermos and tensioners replacements scheduled maintenance or actual breakdown?

Originally posted by Wei_De@Sep 9 2005, 12:50 AM

can i ask... how many VFR riders in singapore huh??? curious...

Going to be a lot. Think TP have VFR liao.

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

Originally posted by thomas28@Sep 11 2005, 04:00 PM

Going to be a lot. Think TP have VFR liao.

dats a good one... well i meant owner la... not saying TP la... anyway, wonder how much wil it cost for e '06 model... dun tink singapore has it now rite? original white leh... hehe...

Originally posted by vfrT@Sep 11 2005, 03:00 PM

HI None,

Are the thermos and tensioners replacements scheduled maintenance or actual breakdown?

thermostat is breakdown

tensioners are wear and tear, they are not listed as schedule maintenance in the VFR service manual, so I put this down for information sake.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by none@Sep 11 2005, 07:10 PM

thermostat is breakdown

tensioners are wear and tear, they are not listed as schedule maintenance in the VFR service manual, so I put this down for information sake.

Thx None for the clarification.

$ saving info:

Original Honda oil filter: part # 15410-MM9-013 = $xx

Original Mazda oil filter: part # B6YI 14 302 (for Mazda 323) = $6.

Honda oil filter wrench size (outer diameter)=64mm

Mazda oil filter wrench size (outer diameter)=66.5mm

Screw thread are exactly the same.

I am using the Mazda on my VFR800 right now.

See pics for comparo.

Originally posted by Wei_De@Sep 11 2005, 04:57 PM

dats a good one... well i meant owner la... not saying TP la... anyway, wonder how much wil it cost for e '06 model... dun tink singapore has it now rite? original white leh... hehe...

TPs are using the non VteC versions. but in white.. frankly speaking it looks like S4 from like 400m away leh :sweat:

Met ROV 14 and ROV24 once on the road though... rushing for work :smile:

the price should not change much form the current.. thats my guestimation. ain't much significantdifferent from the '05s, it will deter more people from getting the the price increase un-justifically though..

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by vfrT@Sep 12 2005, 01:32 PM

$ saving info:

Original Honda oil filter: part # 15410-MM9-013 = $xx

Original Mazda oil filter: part # B6YI 14 302 (for Mazda 323) = $6.

Honda oil filter wrench size (outer diameter)=64mm

Mazda oil filter wrench size (outer diameter)=66.5mm

Screw thread are exactly the same.

I am using the Mazda on my VFR800 right now.

See pics for comparo.

bro i have beenreading this post on VFR oil filter... so u have been using this mazda oil filter huh??? very interesting finding eh...

im just wondering does all class 2 bike using the same oil filter??? coz i riding FJR can yamaha use them??? PM me can bro i interested...

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by deanz4@Sep 15 2005, 03:19 AM

bro i have beenreading this post on VFR oil filter... so u have been using this mazda oil filter huh??? very interesting finding eh...

im just wondering does all class 2 bike using the same oil filter??? coz i riding FJR can yamaha use them??? PM me can bro i interested...

Hi Deanz

I posted the reply here instead of PM so it would help more riders. Hope you dont mind. PM me if you do:sweat:

To answer your question, based on articles I have read and my personal experience, there is no real difference between an auto oil filter and a motorcycle oil filter, except that the latter's price is way higher.

As for the Mazda filter on the FJR, The key dimension of course would be the screw on thread pitch and diameter, but I think this is usually common for Jap bikes. So the external dimensions would be the next key criteria, as you will need enuf space to install it. In the FJR, the oil filter is installed out in the open and I dont think this will be a problem, especially since this particular Mazda/Honda filter is the smaller sized alternative.

If you like we can arrange a quick meet so I can show you the actual sizes of the two filters and eyeball them against yours.

If anybody else is interested, you are welcomed.

hi vfrt,

thanks for the information.. i just a blur sotong .. how u measure the inner screw thread measurement?? do u have a caliper to measure them if that u r using to measure...

im really interested to meet up.. to see the things.. by the way i wont be in singapore for about 6 days im goin riding up for the 3 ncr and den go up to thailand... back by 23 sep.. by den i will post so thet we can meet up..

me stay AMK..U?

and by the way where we can get this filters??

Originally posted by deanz4@Sep 16 2005, 04:35 AM

and by the way where we can get this filters??

I did not bothered to measure physically. I just screwed on the Mazda filter to the bike and it fit. So if you use the same Honda filter, it would fit. I believe most Jap oil filter threads are common.

I get my supplies from one of the auto supply shop at Waterloo Auto center at Waterloo St.

Email me when you want to meet up.

1. vfrT - '98 VFR800 (sold at about 80,000km) - rectifier spoilt at 50,000km. Replacement cost $210. Not a single drop of oil leaked, or oil or coolant top-up needed.

2. vfrT - '99 VFR800 (still in use) - No problems. Present mileage 42000km. Not a single drop of oil leaked, or oil or coolant top-up needed.

3. None - '02 VFR800Vtec (still in use 61,500km)

- Original battery dies, does not hold charge (W&T) at 61,500km. Got STX battery as a replacement :)

4. HamsterZ - '03 VFR800A3 (still in use, covering 39,000km from 0km) -

1. No problems. No oil leaks, no oil loss (oil level is checked every saturday mornings )

2. No coolant top up (but coolant replaced annually)

3. Side stand bracket M10 bolt vibrated out & dropped of suddenly w/o knowing at about 35,000km. Attached personal service info. (kindly PM if any queries as vfrT mentioned no usually maintainence to be brought up )

5. Koma 02 VFR800A2 (bought at 8000km sold at 46000km)

- no coolant n oil top up ever needed

- magnetic coil burnt at round 30000km resulting in underchargin of battery n therefore alot of push starting of the bike until problem was found out (replacement coil $300)

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by none@Sep 18 2005, 10:08 AM

1. vfrT - '98 VFR800 (sold at about 80,000km) - rectifier spoilt at 50,000km. Replacement cost $210. Not a single drop of oil leaked, or oil or coolant top-up needed.

2. vfrT - '99 VFR800 (still in use) - No problems. Present mileage 42000km. Not a single drop of oil leaked, or oil or coolant top-up needed.

3. None - '02 VFR800Vtec (still in use 61,500km)

- Original battery dies, does not hold charge (W&T) at 61,500km. Got STX battery as a replacement :)

4. HamsterZ - '03 VFR800A3 (still in use, covering 39,000km from 0km) -

1. No problems. No oil leaks, no oil loss (oil level is checked every saturday mornings )

2. No coolant top up (but coolant replaced annually)

3. Side stand bracket M10 bolt vibrated out & dropped of suddenly w/o knowing at about 35,000km. Attached personal service info. (kindly PM if any queries as vfrT mentioned no usually maintainence to be brought up )

5. Koma 02 VFR800A2 (bought at 8000km sold at 46000km)

- no coolant n oil top up ever needed

- magnetic coil burnt at round 30000km resulting in underchargin of battery n therefore alot of push starting of the bike until problem was found out (replacement coil $300)

Seems like VFR batt goes kaput around 60+k km mileage. Got a frens one also went dead around there. May I know the

1. exact model

2. brand

3. location

4. price

of the batt you bought? is it specced the same as the VFR OEM batt? I need to get 1 soon for a trip coming up.

By the way, are you still collecting the plugs?

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Sep 9 2005, 06:31 PM

well.. from what I personally know and met..

erm.. so far 12

red x 05

silver x 02

black x03

blue x 01

dark blue x01

But there should be more than 20 since 2002

hi hi Viffers!

hey stanley, this is Chris, riding the silver VFR. since there are quite a number of viffers in this forum, why dun you guys arrange a viffers meetup sometime in the near future?

u seldom (or never ever) seen a big group of VFR outing rite??

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Originally posted by n@kan0@Sep 23 2005, 12:29 AM

hi hi Viffers!

hey stanley, this is Chris, riding the silver VFR. since there are quite a number of viffers in this forum, why dun you guys arrange a viffers meetup sometime in the near future?

Hey Chris. I am game for meetup. btw, anyone going sepang this weekend. I am riding up sunday 6 or 7am from GP.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

hi hi Viffers!

Hi Chris

See this link http://www.geocities.com/singvfr/owners.html for some old viffers.

Unfortunately many of them have changed bikes or like the webmaster of this page, has left Sg.

Some of those featured used to ride up north.

Originally posted by rstopel@Sep 23 2005, 01:23 PM

Hey Chris. I am game for meetup. btw, anyone going sepang this weekend. I am riding up sunday 6 or 7am from GP.

c u there ;) i be goin up tml

Originally posted by koma@Sep 23 2005, 01:46 PM

c u there ;) i be goin up tml

wao sianz... i also wanna go. Cannot.. out of SG for work.. arrghhh

Have fun there guys! ride safe!:cheer: :cheer:

Ride hard & safe...

hi hi Viffers!

Yup have aranged 2 meetups so far. 1 at Kallang KFC and one by koma go makan in kulai dim sum!

Here are the pics

Kallang KFC

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures...ail-AlbumInvite

Kulai dim sum:

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures...ail-AlbumInvite

Ride hard & safe...

Hi guys, I just came back from a 4 days 1,800km ride round the Peninsular Msia. On the first day at a resort in Kuala Besut, my bike fell coz the tar gave way when I was parking my bike.

The fairing, windscreen and the right mirror got damaged. Anyone knows where can I get the mirrors replaced?

Originally posted by KISS@Sep 28 2005, 01:16 AM

Hi guys, I just came back from a 4 days 1,800km ride round the Peninsular Msia. On the first day at a resort in Kuala Besut, my bike fell coz the tar gave way when I was parking my bike.

The fairing, windscreen and the right mirror got damaged. Anyone knows where can I get the mirrors replaced?

wao.. long ride.. must be great i hope? Sorry about the fall, but well part and parcel of bike owning.. especially when luck is not on our side! :sweat: :sweat:

you can try these 2 places.

1. FJT : 63925928. (along rowell road, which is 1 of the perpendicular road on the right side of jalan besar...road that leads to ah boy towards simlim sq. This perpendicular road is JUST before Regina. As it is a 1 way road, you might have to do a big turn on the next perpendicular road)

2. Eversucess : 62925909. Can't remember the road, But it is the last right turn before hitting serangoon road while you are on desker road.

Viffers maybe you can help out in the direction. In vegas now. Can't dictatemuch from my lao pok mobile phone except the numbers.

The mirrors should be between $70~$80. Can't remember the actual price. As for OEM windshield, it is not cheap. excpect more than $200. I have a brand new un-opened windshield, uncollected GIVI D217 windshield for sale. Drop me a ring after 02 Oct when i come back SG.

Cheers.. Ride safe!

Ride hard & safe...