Originally posted by KISS@Sep 28 2005, 01:16 AM

Hi guys, I just came back from a 4 days 1,800km ride round the Peninsular Msia. On the first day at a resort in Kuala Besut, my bike fell coz the tar gave way when I was parking my bike.

The fairing, windscreen and the right mirror got damaged. Anyone knows where can I get the mirrors replaced?

yo bro, u did the loop around route 3 - route 4 - NSH ?

gerik fantasy again eh?!

• Replies 3.6k

Hi guys, I just came back from a 4 days 1,800km ride round the Peninsular Msia. On the first day at a resort in Kuala Besut, my bike fell coz the tar gave way when I was parking my bike.

The fairing, windscreen and the right mirror got damaged. Anyone knows where can I get the mirrors replaced?

You can try Ebay in USA and ask hamster to collect it since he is there now :sweat:

I got a spare OEM screen that you can borrow for the time being. Just let me know.

Hmmm, you got those frame sliders like motivation ones. I got and I think it really great cos when bike drop it falls on the sliders. Happened twice already but no dammage to the fairing. Only problem is puching the bike back up. Its too heavy to lift by myself

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

Originally posted by rstopel@Sep 28 2005, 09:17 AM

You can try Ebay in USA and ask hamster to collect it since he is there now :sweat:

I got a spare OEM screen that you can borrow for the time being. Just let me know.

Hmmm, you got those frame sliders like motivation ones. I got and I think it really great cos when bike drop it falls on the sliders. Happened twice already but no dammage to the fairing. Only problem is puching the bike back up. Its too heavy to lift by myself

can be done juz need the right technique ;)

Hey Kiss, tuff luck mate.

Fairing - depending on level of damage, it might be repairable. Try this Leow Motor (call Ah Huat tel: 81006069) Blk 4002 AMK Ind Park 1. I did a repair light crash damage for head, lowers and front fender repair and spray at $300 last year (did not bargain- u can try).

Mirror: FJT is good bet.

Fairing screen: there is an ongoing auction at yahoo.com.sg for a zerogravity screen at $110. http://page.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/auction/88918207 4 dyas remaining

cheers & gd luck!

the mirror u can get at fjt for 70 bucks damm ex~~!! bought 1 bfore cause i drop the bike while stationery bfore also :p

if u can find a fren who welds aluminium he can weld the mirror back for u

I just bought the mirror at FJT for $85. Kind of ex!

There's only slight damage to the fairing and windscreen. The bike did not fall to the road as I parked my bike beside a wall. Luckily, the brake lever did not break as it would ruin the trip.

With the right mirror gone, its quite inconvinience as I'm leading the group and would always have to look for the riders behind.

The first day was the longest distance we covered. 6.30am from JB, we rode for 770km till 3.30pm in Kuala Besut (klantan/trengganu border) making three stops:-

6.30am 2nd Link

8am Mersing - left at 8.50am

11am Kuantan - left at 11.45am

1.50pm Marang - left at 2.15pm

3.30 Kuala Besut resort

The purpose of this trip was - what else?, to ride on the East West highway!!

Guys, thx for all info and suggestions regarding the damage to my bike.

Originally posted by KISS@Sep 29 2005, 12:37 AM

I just bought the mirror at FJT for $85. Kind of ex!

There's only slight damage to the fairing and windscreen. The bike did not fall to the road as I parked my bike beside a wall. Luckily, the brake lever did not break as it would ruin the trip.

With the right mirror gone, its quite inconvinience as I'm leading the group and would always have to look for the riders behind.

The first day was the longest distance we covered. 6.30am from JB, we rode for 770km till 3.30pm in Kuala Besut (klantan/trengganu border) making three stops:-

6.30am 2nd Link

8am Mersing - left at 8.50am

11am Kuantan - left at 11.45am

1.50pm Marang - left at 2.15pm

3.30 Kuala Besut resort

The purpose of this trip was - what else?, to ride on the East West highway!!

Guys, thx for all info and suggestions regarding the damage to my bike.

:smile: Hi Kiss, do u mind giving me the address for the resort which u stay at? Cos I'm to go up by myself again the next few weeks. Need to find a place to stay for the nite, do pm me if not convenient to post here :smile:

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Sep 28 2005, 07:45 AM

wao.. long ride.. must be great i hope? Sorry about the fall, but well part and parcel of bike owning.. especially when luck is not on our side! :sweat: :sweat:

you can try these 2 places.

1. FJT : 63925928. (along rowell road, which is 1 of the perpendicular road on the right side of jalan besar...road that leads to ah boy towards simlim sq. This perpendicular road is JUST before Regina. As it is a 1 way road, you might have to do a big turn on the next perpendicular road)

2. Eversucess : 62925909. Can't remember the road, But it is the last right turn before hitting serangoon road while you are on desker road.

Viffers maybe you can help out in the direction. In vegas now. Can't dictatemuch from my lao pok mobile phone except the numbers.

The mirrors should be between $70~$80. Can't remember the actual price. As for OEM windshield, it is not cheap. excpect more than $200. I have a brand new un-opened windshield, uncollected GIVI D217 windshield for sale. Drop me a ring after 02 Oct when i come back SG.

Cheers.. Ride safe!

kaoz you are in vegas.....:lovestruck:

how I wish my work sent me there.....sigh.....:cry:

paiseh :offtopic:

Need a Bagster Tank Bra for VFR 800FI urgently. Prefer black or grey colour. Sellers please PM with details and contact number. :smile:

http://www.ducati.com/news/07/news001/images/176x176_pagina-index.jpg
Originally posted by eugene_kips@Sep 30 2005, 12:47 AM

kaoz you are in vegas.....:lovestruck:

how I wish my work sent me there.....sigh.....:cry:

paiseh :offtopic:

yooo at Narita (Tokyo) Airport now. OK lah. Went with someone I am nto aable to work with. Sianz.. but well paid holiday.. why not. Just that walking around alone is damn boring! :smile:

Nice sunny yet cooling weather here. But bloody dry. Nose bleeding and lips cracked ..dammit :giddy:

Hey meet up one day to malaysia on the weekends man!

paiseh to all a bit :offtopic:

Ride hard & safe...

The place that I stay is Bukit Keluang Beach Resort at Pantai Peranginan Bukit Keluang, 22200 Besut.

Let me inform you this is not the typical resorts you find in Cherating and Kuantan which caters to foreigners.

This is mostly for corporates or local Msian companies. As such, the design, architecture and the food is mostly Malay.

There is also many other chalets/resorts in the area. This place is very near to the 'Jetty to Pulau Perhentian'.

Thank u very much man, i will record this address down, now still considering which route to take only. i notice ur choice of place to stay is very good as it is near the start of gerik highway, its good to start on a fresh morning Will ask u again should i wana stop for a nite along the way at other places

Yes, the reason I chose to stay overnite at Besut is becoz its 30 mins away from Jeli, the entry point to the Grik highway. U got the energy for the corners!

I have been reading this tread from page one till the latest post. I just bought a second hand vfr800 03 this week. So need some help or advice

Just like to know from u guys a few things.

1. I wana get huggers and sliders. Any recommendation?Where to get a good price?

2. Anyone upgrade their suspension?Change spring, revalve(racetech) or go bikelab?Thinking of changing to hyper pro progressive front spring.

3. Think of getting staintune exhaust and get it legal? Any ideas on how getting legalised here?

4. My current windscreen is double bubble. Does changing to touring screen help to reduce windblast to my face and shoulder area?

5. Interested in getting those H4 and H7 bulbs.

Any advice, recommendation or opinion is recommended.

1. I wana get huggers and sliders. Any recommendation?Where to get a good price?

Using NWS hugger (order from overseas) and motovation sliders (need drilling through fairing and coolant tank) look for Motrax33

2. Anyone upgrade their suspension?Change spring, revalve(racetech) or go bikelab?Thinking of changing to hyper pro progressive front spring.

I am only using ohlins rear shock. Let me know the performance when you change your front springs. :)

3. Think of getting staintune exhaust and get it legal? Any ideas on how getting legalised here?

Does staintune has a legalize pipe for VFR?

Make sure it meets the specification, bring certificate for inspection

4. My current windscreen is double bubble. Does changing to touring screen help to reduce windblast to my face and shoulder area?

I think the GIVI touring shield gives better wind protection than the ZG.

But ZG looks nicer.

Get the Philips H7 version plus or other models, you wouldn't go wrong.

You need 4.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

Not sure of local huggers. But me, koma, and limpehwah orders 3 from (i forgot where..koma did for us). Almost 250 per piece if i did not remember wrongly. normal fibreglass type. So far it works well, fits good & looks great.

Stock suspension is great for track, but not super fulfilling. Ok for mersing twisties, but a bit twitchy as the compression n rebound of the stock is not enough. Personal opinion is, if you are going to push even harder and need better shocks for it, probably a pure sportsbike might be better. The weight is simply not nimble and agile enough for very harsh riding.

To my knowledge, only the laser exhaust is approved by LTA. So far, when I bought my exhaust, no one brings staintune in. Coz if the distributer/shop carries it in, it will already take a long time to get it through LTA, so they can sell it. If you bring it in yourself, think its going to be even more complicated, let alone to be approved. But then again, You might want to give LTA a call for the procedures. I not, just bolt it on! I THINK THE VIFFERS OUT THERE WOULD LOVE TO HEAR STAINTUNE NOTE MAN!!!

:cheer: :smile:

I am using the GIVI D217 touring screen. For the stock, wind starts just above the shoulder level. For the Givi, it starts from the chin level. tRide normally with 1 hand, then face your palm in the direction of bike moving direction and slowly bring your palm up towards your forehead. You will note when the wind comes in. By the way, I have a Gvivi D217 sheild. Brand new, not opened, & haven't even collected. Drop me a call if you are interested.. hehe

The dimaond vision personally is a great bulb. But they are white. To me, all WHITE bulbs I used last timE always look super bright to other road users, but no to me as a rider. I can't see as it is tooo diffused. But for the philips diamond vision, they are DIRT bright to others, and i see everything mush clearer as a rider too. But they are quite expensive. I think almost 70++ per pair?

Drop us a call if you have more queries. I believe biffers here all very helpful!

Congrats on your new bike!!

Ride hard & safe...

i got a brand new ohlins suspension here goin for 1000 bucks interested feel free to call me at 98478042 Martin ;)

the hugger i ordered last time for me n hamsterz the brands is NWS imho i muz say it really is a quality product :thumb:

Thanks guys for your comments.

Guess I will be getting the sliders first for protection of my big investment. Then probably try to get the huggers locally or order it oveseas. If anyone willing to do mass order or can provide me with a good recommendation where to order overseas would be appreciated.

Next will be the front springs, my main concern is to get a smoother ride with the front end.I find my front end a bit harsh at high speed. Cos previously i rode africatwin and they got long and smooth front fork compare to vfr, guess i used to that kind of feedback. Maybe its the front end settings. I think i'll try to play around with it before changing.

As for the exhaust, let me save some money and at the meantime call lta to get more info. From my email to staintune, their pipes are legal down-under so i guess it would be no problem once i know how to get it approve here.

As for the screen, anyone wanna swap with mine? I want the touring screen, else got to live with it.

Lastly, I think i wait if there is any mass order for those Phillips bulb again.

Thanks again guys....

Guest cheeko
:cheeky: I still got a set of heli-bars raisers for the VFR800 vtec, anybody interested?!! :smile:
Originally posted by vfr-shah@Oct 5 2005, 02:05 PM

Thanks guys for your comments.

Guess I will be getting the sliders first for protection of my big investment. Then probably try to get the huggers locally or order it oveseas. If anyone willing to do mass order or can provide me with a good recommendation where to order overseas would be appreciated.

Next will be the front springs, my main concern is to get a smoother ride with the front end.I find my front end a bit harsh at high speed. Cos previously i rode africatwin and they got long and smooth front fork compare to vfr, guess i used to that kind of feedback. Maybe its the front end settings. I think i'll try to play around with it before changing.

As for the exhaust, let me save some money and at the meantime call lta to get more info. From my email to staintune, their pipes are legal down-under so i guess it would be no problem once i know how to get it approve here.

As for the screen, anyone wanna swap with mine? I want the touring screen, else got to live with it.

Lastly, I think i wait if there is any mass order for those Phillips bulb again.

Thanks again guys....

bro, I am doing a quick MO for Philips bulbs. See the MO section. Please order before monday 12/10 . Can collect late next week. I got a few orders from others so thats why I am doing it now. Anyone else interested in Philips head lights?? Super bright so you can see and be seen and it looks cool too.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Finally I got time to go to JB and fuel-up.So got a long ride via TPE-SLE. I got a real feel of the bike and its capability. Simply said by my friend who was my pillion, "I give your bike 5-stars". That coming from a pillion who is not too fond of sports bike. I guess what he is trying to say how good the handling, comfort and the performance of the bike.

I found the engine quite silent when the vtec is not engage(maybe need the staintune...). The cornering and smoothness after 4,000rpm is great. I must admit that the windblast from my double-bubble is not as bad as my first experience. So i might stick with it. Front suspension-wise i might hold the thought as my budget is kind of tight.

I am thinking of ordering from NWS for my huggers. Anyone wanna order too?

Also, where is Motorax, need to get those slider from motovation?

Rstopel,

If there is anyone not collecting their H7 bulb, pm me, i am interested as I missed the MO.

Guest enHANZed

pillion comfort is good for the VFR ?

Originally posted by vfr-shah@Oct 12 2005, 05:51 PM

Finally I got time to go to JB and fuel-up.So got a long ride via TPE-SLE. I got a real feel of the bike and its capability. Simply said by my friend who was my pillion, "I give your bike 5-stars". That coming from a pillion who is not too fond of sports bike. I guess what he is trying to say how good the handling, comfort and the performance of the bike.

I found the engine quite silent when the vtec is not engage(maybe need the staintune...). The cornering and smoothness after 4,000rpm is great. I must admit that the windblast from my double-bubble is not as bad as my first experience. So i might stick with it. Front suspension-wise i might hold the thought as my budget is kind of tight.

Rstopel,

If there is anyone not collecting their H7 bulb, pm me, i am interested as I missed the MO.

i got brand new ohlins shock interested pm me ;)

Originally posted by enHANZed@Oct 12 2005, 09:00 PM

pillion comfort is good for the VFR ?

Not as good as S4 but better than sports bike. Ofter heard complain from my pillions is that there is too much of a gap between rider and pillion.

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Originally posted by vfr-shah@Oct 12 2005, 05:51 PM

Rstopel,

Hey, I might be keen on the hugger. If they have the 02 red color.

As for the bulbs, well, I started MO cos you were looking but then I was surprised you never put your name down and I kinda forgot about it. I will see what I can do.

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD