I think the VFR is really super reliable. I bought it in 04 and til now I only do normal sservicing like oil change, sprocket and chain change and tyres and brake pad change. Have not needed to do any other servicing or major problems yet.

So far the only 2 prob I faced is due to my own negligence such as old batt... Forgot to check coolant reserve level. Ever since I rectifty those 2 problems, I've not encountered other problem liao...

After riding my bro's cbr954 who's more enthu in taking care of the bike, I still feel my engine is smoother. Not trying to compare the 2 bikes though. Just stating that VFR is a reliable bike.:thumb:

Oct 2001-- NSR 150SP

Apr 2003-- CB 250FX

Dec 2004 to Dec 2011 -- VFR 800A2

• Replies 3.6k

Originally posted by Maverick77@Jan 31 2006, 01:59 PM

I think the VFR is really super reliable. I bought it in 04 and til now I only do normal sservicing like oil change, sprocket and chain change and tyres and brake pad change. Have not needed to do any other servicing or major problems yet.

So far the only 2 prob I faced is due to my own negligence such as old batt... Forgot to check coolant reserve level. Ever since I rectifty those 2 problems, I've not encountered other problem liao...

After riding my bro's cbr954 who's more enthu in taking care of the bike, I still feel my engine is smoother. Not trying to compare the 2 bikes though. Just stating that VFR is a reliable bike.:thumb:

same sentiments.

smoothe engine (rode 2000++km w/o gloves coz i accidentally donated to 2nd link causeway:cry: )

no major problems except usual wear n tear

super durable OEM chain n sprockets. At 46,000km and they are still fine

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Jan 31 2006, 02:18 PM

same sentiments.

smoothe engine (rode 2000++km w/o gloves coz i accidentally donated to 2nd link causeway:cry: )

no major problems except usual wear n tear

super durable OEM chain n sprockets. At 46,000km and they are still fine

Hey stan, sold of the bike already? So you still got the hugger or did it go with the bike? Still waiting for my pipes

As for the VFR, i simply love it. Did 30k in ten month without a major problem. Still very smooth and still going strong. Am getting a bit worried about the electrical wiring.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

Originally posted by rstopel@Jan 31 2006, 02:41 PM

Hey stan, sold of the bike already? So you still got the hugger or did it go with the bike? Still waiting for my pipes

As for the VFR, i simply love it. Did 30k in ten month without a major problem. Still very smooth and still going strong. Am getting a bit worried about the electrical wiring.

Hi rick, sorry for the delay. Got played by the buyer, along with CNY stuffs, thats why it was delayed. I apologise.

I will be removing my cowlings for spring cleaning this week. I will then pass you my hugger as agreed via our prev phone arrangments.

Do nothing to it electrical wiring and it should stay slightly more problem free.

Will give you a call ASAP when its out. thanks

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Jan 31 2006, 03:12 PM

Hi rick, sorry for the delay. Got played by the buyer, along with CNY stuffs, thats why it was delayed. I apologise.

I will be removing my cowlings for spring cleaning this week. I will then pass you my hugger as agreed via our prev phone arrangments.

Do nothing to it electrical wiring and it should stay slightly more problem free.

Will give you a call ASAP when its out. thanks

oh, sorry to hear that man. Anyway, not in a rush to install the hugger as I want to change my rear tyre first cos I think it is rather trouble some to change tyre with a hugger installed. correct me if I am wrong.

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Originally posted by rstopel@Feb 1 2006, 01:56 PM

oh, sorry to hear that man. Anyway, not in a rush to install the hugger as I want to change my rear tyre first cos I think it is rather trouble some to change tyre with a hugger installed. correct me if I am wrong.

oh nope... the hugger does not affect tire changing in any way. Our bikes are single sided swing arm. 5 nuts out and the whole rim & tire comes out laterally like a car. :cheer:

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 16 2006, 10:54 PM

:cheeky: Hi menphis, half price $350 sell can or not :smile:

u must be kidding.

a new front cowling cost more then $700..

2000 -- Daelim 125 | 2001 -- VFR400 NC30

2001 -- GSXR400 | 2002 -- Super4 spec2

2002 -- Fireblade400 | 2003 -- VFR800 Vtec

2005 -- Suzuki RaiderR150 | 2006 -- Kia Rio 1.6 HB

2009 -- Super4 Revo | 2009 -- HD VRSCD

2010 -- HD Softail Heritage | 2010 BMW R1150RT

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/menphis3435/gals/miwaoshiro0287uh-1.jpg

Originally posted by rstopel@Feb 1 2006, 01:56 PM

Let me rephrase, I think it will be harder to mount the hugger with the rear tyre on!

The trick is to fasten the 2 cable ties at the end of the proarm which I think you have to ask Frodo and Sam for help.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by Pauche@Jan 29 2006, 06:18 AM

brand new FJR also can burn clutch, this proves its the rider's problem..... dun keep blaming or FOOKing the bike!! :mad:

:smile: This kind of statement is more of a personal attack against an individual. :smile: But of course as usual i won't take it too hard as this is a forum, not for quarrel. Anyway happy new year to u :sweat:

Originally posted by none@Feb 1 2006, 07:12 PM

Let me rephrase, I think it will be harder to mount the hugger with the rear tyre on!

The trick is to fasten the 2 cable ties at the end of the proarm which I think you have to ask Frodo and Sam for help.

none is right... the ties are like "just nice" kinda length. A bit frustrating to do at night.

I tied a tring to the cable ends so it enables me to pull easily. Took 15mins max (tats after tying a string:sweat: )

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by none@Feb 1 2006, 07:12 PM

hehe i can do it pretty fast juz ask none he will knoe ;)

Originally posted by cheeko@Feb 2 2006, 12:06 AM

:smile: This kind of statement is more of a personal attack against an individual. :smile: But of course as usual i won't take it too hard as this is a forum, not for quarrel. Anyway happy new year to u :sweat:

I'm merely stating facts....

Happy New Year to every1! :cheer:

I need to ride up to KL on Saturdays,

and back to Singapore on Sundays,

for 14 weeks straight.

This may take up for a 2.5 yr period.

I have narrowed my choice between the VFR and FJR.

may i request your sincere advise and opinion on my situation?

Thanks in advance for replying.

Because of him the lame walked briskly,

And the songless through him burst into melody.

//////////////////Algazel (1111AD)//////////////////

Originally posted by zinedine@Feb 2 2006, 02:01 PM

for 14 weeks straight.

IMHO

comfort, ok wind/rain protection, good handling & ground clearance in gunning corners, X-factor in engine tone & note, if you have a higher budget get the VFR

better comfort, good wind/rain protection, slower handling if you dunt gun corners, more ooomph in pick up, more value for $, get the FJR

if I were you, I would get the FJR as most of the commuting to KL on weekends incurrs minimum mileage of 600km per trip. With a higher crusing speed than Singapore, you should get more km/l (based on 140~160km) and in fact no need to pump petrol per direction of trip! (unless you are travelling past 200km constantly per trip). More ever, the shaft driven would definitely save more $$

My 2 cents worth.

Good luck in your look for your bike!

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by zinedine@Feb 2 2006, 02:01 PM

for 14 weeks straight.

I agree with hamsterz. Get FJR provided you dun have have to go through heavy traffic areas in KL (basically everything within inner city circle). FJR tend to get very hot in traffic. FJR definately more comfy on NSH. ST11/deauville would be a good choice also if you dun mind the 'ah pek' image.

ofcourse, VFR is a looker and if a lot of fun to ride but may not be practical for your case

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Feb 2 2006, 02:16 AM

none is right... the ties are like "just nice" kinda length. A bit frustrating to do at night.

I tied a tring to the cable ends so it enables me to pull easily. Took 15mins max (tats after tying a string:sweat: )

ok, so shall i install hugger first or my 'just arrived' pipes? planning to fit the pipes next week provided stanford is open and in the mood

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Hihi everyone..

Just wanted to find out if anyone did the operation on the catalytic converter?

How much did it cost and did it have any effect? Cos I'm planning to do it but I'm worried that it may have little or no effect. Also, will it pass the inspection after the operation? Thanks for the help ya.. :smile:

Originally posted by rstopel@Feb 2 2006, 02:47 PM

ok, so shall i install hugger first or my 'just arrived' pipes? planning to fit the pipes next week provided stanford is open and in the mood

rick.. maybe try installing the pipes urself.. its fun man! not that difficult since you do not have side panniers :smile:

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Feb 2 2006, 02:15 PM

IMHO

comfort, ok wind/rain protection, good handling & ground clearance in gunning corners, X-factor in engine tone & note, if you have a higher budget get the VFR

better comfort, good wind/rain protection, slower handling if you dunt gun corners, more ooomph in pick up, more value for $, get the FJR

if I were you, I would get the FJR as most of the commuting to KL on weekends incurrs minimum mileage of 600km per trip. With a higher crusing speed than Singapore, you should get more km/l (based on 140~160km) and in fact no need to pump petrol per direction of trip! (unless you are travelling past 200km constantly per trip). More ever, the shaft driven would definitely save more $$

My 2 cents worth.

Good luck in your look for your bike!

Hi Hamsterz n Rstopel,

thanks for your frank opinion and advice.

It is greatly appreciated. :thumb:

Well, it's hard not to admit that the Viffer looks can kill! :D

will be considering Hamsterz or Nakano's bike,

if i am to get one...

:-)

Originally posted by rstopel@Feb 2 2006, 02:43 PM

I agree with hamsterz. Get FJR provided you dun have have to go through heavy traffic areas in KL (basically everything within inner city circle). FJR tend to get very hot in traffic. FJR definately more comfy on NSH. ST11/deauville would be a good choice also if you dun mind the 'ah pek' image.

ofcourse, VFR is a looker and if a lot of fun to ride but may not be practical for your case

Good advice.

Tried the ST11, but its rather heavy indeed!

as for the Deauville, saw a friend ride one up to KL.

He doesn't look to comfy in it.

My choice would then be FJR first, and VFR second.

Thanks guys!

cheers,

Originally posted by zinedine@Feb 3 2006, 02:48 PM

Good advice.

Tried the ST11, but its rather heavy indeed!

as for the Deauville, saw a friend ride one up to KL.

He doesn't look to comfy in it.

My choice would then be FJR first, and VFR second.

Thanks guys!

cheers,

take your time to seek for the suitable bike. If its gona be a ride.. it better be a happy ride.. everyday! Good luck!!

Ride hard & safe...

red VFR with black top box spotted at woodlands ave 1.. was it rick who i saw?

Originally posted by Tyrian@Feb 5 2006, 08:11 PM

Yup, that was me. Was playing taxi again for my gf who stays @ ave 1.

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Originally posted by Tyrian@Feb 5 2006, 08:11 PM

Seems that we had a VFR stalker somewhere around here :cheeky:

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by Yhatzee@Feb 3 2006, 09:30 AM

Hihi everyone..

Just wanted to find out if anyone did the operation on the catalytic converter?

How much did it cost and did it have any effect? Cos I'm planning to do it but I'm worried that it may have little or no effect. Also, will it pass the inspection after the operation? Thanks for the help ya.. :smile:

i did mine at seng kwang. great job!

cost me $200

diff by about 2-3 hp

2000 -- Daelim 125 | 2001 -- VFR400 NC30

2001 -- GSXR400 | 2002 -- Super4 spec2

2002 -- Fireblade400 | 2003 -- VFR800 Vtec

2005 -- Suzuki RaiderR150 | 2006 -- Kia Rio 1.6 HB

2009 -- Super4 Revo | 2009 -- HD VRSCD

2010 -- HD Softail Heritage | 2010 BMW R1150RT

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/menphis3435/gals/miwaoshiro0287uh-1.jpg