also i tried the other one that u passed to you... like it's getting better... thanks for you recommendations....anyway if i want to go buy myself, where would u recommend i go to and what kind of cigar to buy since i'm new at cigar smoking....

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/numbergames-1096510755_turesblack.jpg
  • Replies 3.7k

Originally posted by numbergames@Mar 24 2005, 10:16 PM

throttle, how come the guy second from the left looks like a hong kong actor that i've seen before... is that the same guy????

the one actin with cheng yi jian....the three guys turn into ball less.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Yes, that guy is the HK actor Michael Wong.

This photo was taken at St' George St. Cigar shop Cigarro in Hong Kong.

number, you can try Oaks at tanglin....

since you are new, just try any thing that you find interesting.

everyone palate is differnet.

perhaps the others will like to recommend you.

if you are keen, we can further split the box of Romeo Y Julieta ex No. 4.

cheers everyone

Originally posted by pasirris@Mar 25 2005, 01:37 PM

hmmmm busy man ..... busy man

o_O o_O

My rides since 1994:Nsr Hornet 125/Yamaha LC125/RD125/Suzuki RG125 Light Sprinter/CBR400 Hurricane/Suzuki GSXR 750/Honda XR250/KAWA ZXR750/Yamaha R1 03/Gilera Runner Fxr/ Suzuki GSXR1000 K6/Harley Sportster 1200S/Yamaha 04R1/BMW R1100r/Suzuki SRAD GSXR750/KTM 640SM/Harley VRod VSRCAW/HOnda Fireblade 929/R6'04/St1100V/DRZ400Sm_K8/Current-Aprilia RSV Tuono 1000R

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 25 2005, 12:40 AM

Yes, that guy is the HK actor Michael Wong.

This photo was taken at St' George St. Cigar shop Cigarro in Hong Kong.

wow! how did u guys meet him????

"if you are keen, we can further split the box of Romeo Y Julieta ex No. 4" hey i dun mind man.... but let me finish the ones that i have at the moment first...

since william has not replied to the early box split of the RYJ Ex No. 4

this is how it goes now.

PAsirris 10

Shortie 5

Number games 5

Throttle 5

if numbergames doesnt want throttle takes 10

oh, Michael wong is quite a cigar fan himself.

on that day, he was doing a montage for Cigarro the shop and we were there smoking our cigars. he even included us in his short film waving goodbye as we left the place. hoho.

will be going up to HK again probably in May..

Hi Throttle, interesting thread indeed, interests me on Cigar-ing. I mean, i am always fancy on the smell of the cigar, emm.......pls, not for posing or wat. I am a cigarette smoker myself, got addicted and now trying to kick it off. I do appreciate those moment of puffing (heh, not those like take drug okie :cheeky: ) but more on relaxing my brain and thoughts.

I ever out of curiousity got myself a Cigar from Shell kiosk, i dun know wat is the premium taste like or good brands, just look at the shelf and see each one tickle my eyes then i bought it. Got myself a Vanilla flavour one, guess i just dun want to get myself bonk over with those 'heavy duty type'... So slowly la....... get something light for a beginner like me, wow the taste and smell is good, maybe abit like ah pek.... but i like it.

BTW, can teach a few ropes in getting a good cigar, how to choose it, where got nice cigar made, how to cut one and wat to do when puffing one..... How much to get one normal and premium one....where to get?

I have heard that we dun tarik cigar, but get the smell and taste within our mouth. I drag mine like smoking ciggy, but enjoying it (wah! Take a long minutes to finish it leh...)

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

glad you enjoyed this thread.

unfortunately, i have to tell you petrol stations dont sell real cigars.

those are all machine made stuff so all you taste is bad processed tobacco

hop yourself down to any good hotel with a cigar shop and perhaps get a petite corona to try.....

many brands make petite corona size cigars so just choose the one that smells the nicest to you. price about $15 - $25 only

there's too many things to really teach about cigars and i never stop learning myself. if you have the time, run through the early parts of this thread and you will find many mnay pointers.

cheap beginner cigars which are easily available in

Singapore include, Danneman, henri winterman, villager, boston, king edward etc..... but i dont recommend them at all.

go for the cuban or dominican republic hand made cigars which are really solid.

a premium cigar takes a lot of manual processing and time to finish.

nine months for the crops to harvesting, 3 to 9 months for fermentation , plus rolling and blending and etc...

i was lucky to experience all these first-hand in Cuba and have grown to appreciate these cigars more.

http://img208.exs.cx/img208/4472/imgp27530fd.jpg

Thanks alot Throttle. BTW, is Cigar as addictive as normal cigarettes?

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

cigarettes = physical addition with physical ill effects

Cigars = mental addiction with $$$$ ill effects

hahahah

:clapping: :clapping: :clapping: Indeed....... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 25 2005, 09:36 PM

since william has not replied to the early box split of the RYJ Ex No. 4

this is how it goes now.

PAsirris 10

Shortie 5

Number games 5

Throttle 5

if numbergames doesnt want throttle takes 10

hey i would be interested in this but would like to know how strong is it????

medium and easy and smooth. cedary and light spice with mild sweetness....very very nice..

Originally posted by numbergames@Mar 26 2005, 03:16 PM

hey i would be interested in this but would like to know how strong is it????

Maybe one day can meetup at some place to appreciate the great art of puffing great 'Zhu Lood'. With old bird ard nothing will go wrong too far away.

BTW, Are ur splitting up some uncollected cigars? How much per piece? If not too expensive can spare me one or 2 to try out?

Hahaha, like splitting looted good s like that.

we'll see how next week

Review of Bolivar Petit Coronas

Strength : Medium to strong

taste : Earth, woody

draw : A little light but lots of smoke

Time :35min smoke for me

This one had a very eneven burn, not sure if this affects the taste tho, maybe Throttle can shed some light on this

Preferred the Partagas Shorts to this.

the bolivar petite corona is classified as a low range habano to begin with so cant expect too much from it.

uneven burn does result in a less than perfect taste.

uneven burn could be caused by three things in general.

1) poor humidification

2) bad rolling / low quality leaves

3) windy condition/poor lighting

The Partagas shorts is certainly a better smoke in terms of quality of tobacco and roll. however the shorts are quite young and may taste a lot better if aged in a humidor for a longer time.

Had a Diplomatico No. 2 yesterday evening under my small Frangipani tree.

prelit draw - very nutty taste, slightly plugged

wrapper - a little dry as i left it in my car for 2 days

Construction - good, firm, steady 1.5 inch greyish white ash

1st third - floral aroma with strong hints of roasted nuts, light honey sweetness

2nd third - honey sweetness remains but the floral taste departs replaced by a more woody yet tangy undertone

last third - strength increases and turns woody and leathery with a tail of toasted nuts losing all floral taste

Smoke time: 55mins

personal rating

:- 7 for construction and burn

8 for taste

8.5 for aroma

Overall 8

Usually I will rate it 8.5 to 9, hope the next Dip 2 is better

Wah lau eh Throttle! Your review puts mine to shame! So detailed n descriptive.... he he :giddy:

Regarding the uneven burn, the 1st third or half was alright, it got uneven at the later parts.... :confused:

Thanks for the kind words, actually my review is very normal only.

sometimes have no words to describe

The unevenburn is likely caused by imperfect storage. However not to worry about uneven burns unless it is really really totally uneven and crawling everywhere. uneven burn can also be caused by not so good smoking technique.

hope i can fix up one meet up this week with you fellas.

just to say that this is a great and interesting thread that Throttle had started!! :) and the rest had joined in their contributions.. Incredible!

Just to show my appreciation to all!! :) A very interesting Thread!

Upz....

Just my thoughts and few cents worth.... :)