[Trip Report] Central Thailand Trip : 27 Nov to 4 Dec 2006

wanna share these pics with you all.. But will do it bit by bit as there are too many photos to upload at a go.... It was a 8 days trip.

Meanwhile, only day 1 and 2 pics are out...

***************************************************************************************

ZeeVinCeZ Motorcycle Trip - Central Thailand Ride 27/11/06 - 04/12/06

Just a week after I came back from the 3 Nation Charity Ride, I left Singapore on my bike again. This time, to explore the central region of Thailand. I went riding alone.... Once again... heehee...

Highlights of the ride

- Kanchanburi Bridge week

- Hellfire pass

- Myanmar

- Longest hand built bridge in the world

- Ayutthaya Historial Park (UNESCO World Heritage Site)

- Lop Buri Buddha's Foot Print

- Kamphaeng Phet Forest Historial Park (UNESCO World Heritage Site)

- Sukhothai Historial Park (UNESCO World Heritage Site)

Overview of the route travelled

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/5eecdbcd.jpg

Day 1

As usual, the ride through Malaysia is boring but ineivtable. Than I arrived in Thailand. Since our Singapore motorcycle insurance only covers up to 50km into Thailand, I had to buy a temp Thailand Insurance since I am travelling much further than that. It can be bought at the shops just after the Thai border. It cost me 220B for a 10 days insurance.

The Thai Border

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/c420f798.jpg

One of the Insurance shop

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/3c39fbca.jpg

The Temp Insurance

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/5c66b3f7.jpg

Since I only have 8days for this trip, I had decided to buy myself more time by transporting me and my bike from Hatyai to Rachaburi through the night on a train. This way, I can be resting and sleeping while I on the move. There is nothing I wanna see on this part of the route anyway.

I arrived pretty early at the railway station. At about 1am+. Wanted to take the 3pm+ train but only to realise that the only train that can transport bike is at 6pm+. So I had some extra time on hand and I took a walk around Hatyai town.

Railway Station

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/73b59bfa.jpg

At the Railway Station

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/4b68ff5a.jpg

My bike, now still very clean.Wait till I am back. HA!

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/f5e6b3ea.jpg

The place behind my bike is the lagguage room. Here is the place to "check in" your bike as a cargo.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/776795db.jpg

These are the ropes that they are going to secure my bike later.... scary.. :(

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/461fe291.jpg

The train has finally arrived

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/962c59ea.jpg

Uploading of my bike

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/833e9fff.jpg

Finally up.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/db004f80.jpg

It cost me 866B for a 2nd class sleeper, 1800B for my bike,750cc and 600B for tips. I smell a scam as a friend of mine only paid 1400B for his R1. Hmmmmmmm......?!?!?!

Getting comfortable at my seat.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/351a717e.jpg

Had my dinner

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/099bbe69.jpg

Seat unfolded to become a bed.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/d35cd9a4.jpg

And well, everyone is asleep and I am going to sleep too.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/dffe5367.jpg

To see the pics, please CLICK on the link HERE.

To be continue..............................

• Replies 57

Day 2

My train was expected to arrived at about o715hrs. So I woke up earlier to wash up. And manage to catch the beautiful sun rise.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/6a71070f.jpg

Than I found out that the train had a delayed. It will arrived 1 1/2hrs late. So I had breakfast in bed.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/b3376274.jpg

Finally the train arrived at Ratchaburi and my bike is now being off loaded. Notice the different between the height of the people standing on the ground and height of bike on the train. There is quite a distance to lift up the bike ya.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/7c6a1115.jpg

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/4b7e4093.jpg

Hahahaha... Finally... And off i went heading towards Kanchanaburi. Upon reaching, I went straight to the guest house first. I wanted to get a room, and than I ride towards Myanmar and be back here for the night. But the lady at the guest house told me that it is not possible to make it there and back. So she advise me to spend the night at the Thai-Maynmar border instead. But I told she that I can make it back and she dont believe me. Never mind. I know I will prove her wrong and so i went off towards Myanmar first.

Some sceneries along the way towards Myanmar. The view got nicer as I got nearer to Myanmar

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/219239db.jpg

Note: You might not be able to come to this place at times when the Karen army is active. This place is somewhat like in the South Thailand at times. There are army checkpoints along the way. And if they dont allow you to go pass, you should know why.

The Main attraction at the border is these 3 pagodas. This place is called the 3 pagaoda pass.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/aac8cd0f.jpg

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/ae2e3800.jpg

The other attraction is the remains of the railway track which was built during the World War 2 Japanese Occupation.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/0410b077.jpg

This way is leading towards Myanmar. (See that boy? He is on the Myanmar's side)

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/7d765e45.jpg

On Thailand side

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/70f1e162.jpg

Pictures at the Myanmar Border

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/35972cdc.jpg

The border here is kinda different. You dont get your passport stamp. In order to cross, you will have to fill in a form and hand it over together with your passport and a passport size photo to the Thai Immigration. They will check it, and give you back the form with the photo attach. But they will keep your passport. You will get it back when you return back to Thailand.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/4f3244ed.jpg

Than you go to the myanmar side with this form, and pay 10USD or 500B. And they will give you this. This is your "passport" to enter Myanmar.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/f4469f42.jpg

Your movement there is controlled and restricted to a radius about 5km. And you got to leave there by before nightfall. This is due to the active Karen Army activities in the area beyond the restricted area. I hope you know who are the Karen Army and what they can do. This is not a very "legal" crosspoint into Myanmar.

For the burmanese, if they wanna enter thailand, they will only have to grab a similiar card and they can enter but also to a restricted area in Thailand side.

After spending some time in Myanmar, I went back to Thailand. And along the way back to Kanchanburi, I went to see this wooden bridge. Hand Built, 400m long. It is the longest hand built wooden bridge in the world.

There used to be a village here where the lake is. But when a dam was built somewhere nearby, It flooded the whole village. Now, during dry season, The roof tip of the temple of the sunken village still can be seen. But too bad. It was not dry season when I go there.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/c70379ef.jpg

I reached back at Kanchanaburi at 7pm. But the guesthouse that I wanted to stay in is already fully book. Just as I was about to leave to look for other places to stay, someone came up to me and talk to me. Ask me where I was from. Say he also a biker. Than when he realise that I do not have a place to stay, he said that he happend to have an extra room as his friend is not coming anymore and ask if I wanna take it. Well yes of course. I took it.

This is the room. Only cost about s$3. the room only has a bed and a fan. For bathroom, you have to go outside and share with others.

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/b2e6d1a6.jpg

Anyway, it is the Bridge over River Kwai Week. And they have a very big festive over at the bridge. And even re-enact the whole story of the death Railway using light, sound and fireworks. very nice.

You can find many things in this fair. It is about 1km by 1km BIG!! From cars to food to anything. Even University enrollment. :)

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Trip/ca4cceca.jpg

To see the pics, please CLICK on the link HERE.

To be continue..............................

Great trip, just bought motor culture and saw ur Vietnam adventures once more. Hope to be as garang as U soon. :thumb:

Sep 02 to Oct 02- Black Cagiva Planet (1 word Lousy)

Oct 02 to Oct 03- Yellow RXZ133 (Too light for me)

Oct 03 to Mar 05- White Purple CBR 400RR (Not enough style & power)

Mar 05 to Dec 06- Red CBR 1000RR (Wonderful except the magnetic coil issue)

Dec 06- Dec 07- Black VFR 800 (Good bike but not my style, thks for the memories)

Dec 07- Black GSX1000K8 (Nothing else to say except Damn good)

Day 3 and 4 pics are out!!!!

same link... just have to scroll down... :smile:

see the first post. link on the first post

to be continue........

hey YZFx... nice!

i took the bus from k-town to sangkhlaburi, and a sawngtheaw ride to the 3 pagodas pass (passing by some military checkpoints along the way!). I did roam around the border but no time to cross over to pyathonzu as it was raining. had to take the last bus back to k-town. did u see the cave temple @ nam tok?

hope u enjoyed the river kwai week. which guesthouse did u stay at? the lady at the guesthouse probably didnt know the distance up north to the 3 pagodas pass yeah but it's possible for a day round trip. i remembered though that there was a steep slope en route.

kudos.

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Wow...you must have enjoy yourself cos I know I would... icon-clapping.gif

Eh...what's the actual date for the River Kwai Week?

I did... thanx... i cant really remember the date for it.. but u can search it online... they do have a website on kanchanaburi.... very informative.... :smile:

Nice man...thanks for sharing.... really wanna join youon a trip but I can;t get leave now......

its ok.. next time ba... many more chances.... :smile:

Great trip, just bought motor culture and saw ur Vietnam adventures once more. Hope to be as garang as U soon. icon-thumbsup.gif

Thanx... me not garang la... anyone can do it...

kudos YZFx ! u another hardcore adventure rider...jus went 3NCR...this Central Thai trip n the upcoming MHS icon-thumbsup.gif photos were clear n sharp i like the Wat Mahathat, Wat Ratchaburana n Wat Phra Si Sanphet icon-smile.gif

Thanx... but the photos are better and clearer if u enlarge it... did u enlarge it to see? glad that u like it... Anyway... u should go see it yourself... it is really beautiful...

hey YZFx... nice!

i took the bus from k-town to sangkhlaburi, and a sawngtheaw ride to the 3 pagodas pass (passing by some military checkpoints along the way!). I did roam around the border but no time to cross over to pyathonzu as it was raining. had to take the last bus back to k-town. did u see the cave temple @ nam tok?

hope u enjoyed the river kwai week. which guesthouse did u stay at? the lady at the guesthouse probably didnt know the distance up north to the 3 pagodas pass yeah but it's possible for a day round trip. i remembered though that there was a steep slope en route.

kudos.

u mean the cave at the waterfall??? yup i did... got post the photo also... think maybe u miss it... I stayed at jolly frog... next time should ride... dont take bus... shiok.... :bouncefire:

just wondering... how come i dont see the edit button which allows me to edit my post after i had post it?? is there something wrong with the forum?? or am i the only one who cant see it??? :giddy:

Dude i really envy u..

u can be the next FB666

so along the way did u experience any punctured tyre?

thats the most scary part riding an AT.

YZFx >> Great report. You should have visited the Tiger temple and the Erawan National Park in Kanchanaburi as well. I skipped all d war sites though after visitng the cemetry in town.

At the beach for Loy Krathong

yeaps u shudve gone to the erawan national park! got 7 steps waterfall. ahhh jolly frog area ok lots of motels there. i usually stay near the town area VL guesthouse.

cannot ride up lah... was sai yok perm staff :D no choice oni take bus.

oh no its not the cave at the waterfall. is the cave beside nam tok station. there's one buddha statue inside. gotta walk on the train track to reach there.

since u had the bike... u could've gone over to sai yok camp hahaha

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Originally posted by YZFx@Dec 8 2006, 11:39 AM

how come i dont see the edit button which allows me to edit my post after i had post it?? is there something wrong with the forum??

The admin has disabled the "Edit" function for some reasons.

Thanks for sharing the photos and trip report.

How is the weather over there now ? Raining ?

Is it difficult to get hotel at this month ?

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Read you blog. Good Read. 550 baht for a room in Bankok is indeed good value for aircon & shower.

In Bangkok, I stayed in Khao San Road(near the Democracy Monument). 200baht for a room. You have to share the bathroom.

Forgot the name of the "hotel" but if you watched the movie "The Beach", the rooms are just like that. Plywood walls and rock solid mattresses. I vowed never to stay there again. To park your bike, ride through the narrow lane while bumping into street the vendor's T-Shirts & slippers. Very friendly staff and numerous backpackers.

Parking is safe... anyone who wants to take your bike has to get through the street vendors first. :cheeky:

http://www.geocities.com/sg_fazer/earth.JPG
YZFx bro,

ur trip and commentary is awe inspiring ..........icon-thumbsup.gif

I Must really join you on a trip bro... you going on any in Jan or Feb 07??

next yr dun think so ba... :sorry:

Dude i really envy u..

u can be the next FB666

so along the way did u experience any punctured tyre?

thats the most scary part riding an AT.

how can u compare me to him?? he is the god sia... so much better.. i need to learn much more from him....

no puncture... phew...

YZFx >> Great report. You should have visited the Tiger temple and the Erawan National Park in Kanchanaburi as well. I skipped all d war sites though after visitng the cemetry in town.

tiger temple i think last time with saf go b4 leh... erawan park... i dun think so ba... coz i rather see largest waterfall in thai.. wanna see see the best... heehee... not haf to wait till future..

yeaps u shudve gone to the erawan national park! got 7 steps waterfall. ahhh jolly frog area ok lots of motels there. i usually stay near the town area VL guesthouse.

cannot ride up lah... was sai yok perm staff icon-biggrin.gif no choice oni take bus.

oh no its not the cave at the waterfall. is the cave beside nam tok station. there's one buddha statue inside. gotta walk on the train track to reach there.

since u had the bike... u could've gone over to sai yok camp hahaha

perm staff... oic... so lucky..

The admin has disabled the "Edit" function for some reasons.

Thanks for sharing the photos and trip report.

How is the weather over there now ? Raining ?

Is it difficult to get hotel at this month ?

everyday very hot... good weather to ride... at least sun better than rain... hotel... alittle diff to find... but travelling alone still ok... not that diff

Read you blog. Good Read. 550 baht for a room in Bankok is indeed good value for aircon & shower.

In Bangkok, I stayed in Khao San Road(near the Democracy Monument). 200baht for a room. You have to share the bathroom.

Forgot the name of the "hotel" but if you watched the movie "The Beach", the rooms are just like that. Plywood walls and rock solid mattresses. I vowed never to stay there again. To park your bike, ride through the narrow lane while bumping into street the vendor's T-Shirts & slippers. Very friendly staff and numerous backpackers.

Parking is safe... anyone who wants to take your bike has to get through the street vendors first. icon-touguecheeky.gif

ya... god value... but damn creepy :giddy:

wow im amazed by u....i want to do the same thing to when i got a stable work and class 2 bike...was always thinking of getting sport bike...but after seeing ur blog...I suddenly felt in love with the varadero type of bike...:thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/khairul/siggy%20editor/Yishundam.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE - http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Originally posted by khaitronic@Dec 10 2006, 12:39 AM

wow im amazed by u....i want to do the same thing to when i got a stable work and class 2 bike...was always thinking of getting sport bike...but after seeing ur blog...I suddenly felt in love with the varadero type of bike...:thumb:

sportsbike also can..... look at fb666... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by YZFx@Dec 9 2006, 02:03 AM

no puncture... phew...

bro,

jus curious wat your back up plans were in the event that your AT got a puncutre or flat tyre ....DIY change>?

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

Originally posted by mudman@Dec 15 2006, 04:24 PM

bro,

jus curious wat your back up plans were in the event that your AT got a puncutre or flat tyre ....DIY change>?

i brought along spare tube... so... i guess i will be lucky if i can get help.. if not... should be like what u say.... :help: