• Replies 194

BTW, in the news today was an article about a pillion rider getting 320k of damages from a self-caused accident. She sued the rider for being negligent and got that amount.

The 320k was for epilepsy and loss of control of bowels, which are likely to be permanent conditions. Really sad to hear of such mishaps.

Originally posted by TheOne@February 05, 2007 01:13 am

BTW, in the news today was an article about a pillion rider getting 320k of damages from a self-caused accident. She sued the rider for being negligent and got that amount.

The 320k was for epilepsy and loss of control of bowels, which are likely to be permanent conditions. Really sad to hear of such mishaps.

Bro, which date and papers published it?

Originally posted by tidy@January 31, 2007 05:04 pm

how long does it take usually for the TP investigation results to be out? i saw on the TP webbie that u can personally come down n request for the results.. true?

There is no fixed time for them to finish the report. Its always good to give the IO a call once in a while to get some updates on the case. It also lets them know you are eager to find out about the investigations and mabbe they will try to speed up things abit.

Getting your lawyer to request for the investigation results would also be a good thing to do.

I have been waiting for almost 4 months liao.. still no news from TP...

Give the IO a call, no harm trying rite?

Originally posted by TheOne@February 05, 2007 01:13 am

Wow, tats a pretty bad state.....

For my case, I had a micro fracture at my ankle. Accident occured on 06/08/05, TP verdict was ready by oct but IO forgot to tell me abt it till I call him up (driver charged with inconsiderate driving thanks to his PRC gal. The oni witness).:sian:

Now still a/w for full recovery as my micro fracture prob was only found out in mar 06. All b'cos TTSH say there was nothing wrong when I was admitted but pain in ankle persisted till jan 05. Went thru polyclinic then referred back to TTSH. At that appointment in TTSH then they made a amazing discovery that something was loose n floating around my ankle joint shown on the x-ray taken at 06/05/05. Upon more x-ray, mri then doc confirm mus go op...... How nice our doc in A&E was.

Aft op done in Jul (cos wed plan on june), was told 3 wks at most will be fully recovered. How nice again of our TTSH doc, I was to be on hospitalisation leave for nearly 3mths b'cos of something he discovered during the op which he did not expected (did not understand the explaination by him).

B'cos of that long mc, my bonus n increment affected. But worst of all, I did not feel better than b4 and add on to that, I felt pain during these 3 cold months. My doc jus say that I got myself reuhmatism at my age. Pissed off really, going to have a mri done this fri to c what how 'WELL' my ankle is recovering now.

So far my case was handled by a motor shop, bike damage was replaced at jan 05 but was told my case will have to wait for my total recovery b4 my lawyer will proceed. Is that true cos I afraid my case has been dragging quite a while.

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778
Originally posted by Arcfire@February 05, 2007 01:32 pm

Give the IO a call, no harm trying rite?

Thanks.. My lawyer handling the case... Just hate the waiting time... Furthermore no witness for me.. maybe that's y take so long.. ( for the benefit of the IO :smile: )

Bro adr77, all the best in your recovery.. With accidents like this, it will take quite a long time for our body to get use to it... My advice is once you are discharged, see a chinese sinseh to help easy the reuhmatism.. again this takes time.. Hope the pain and suffering we experience will be compensated well..

My friends told me that our claims we can get depend on the lawyer responsibility and capability. One of my friend also kana accident. Then he always follows up with the lawyer assistant. Most of the times I believe many of us only get to speak to the lawyer assistant instead of the lawyer.

He call up almost every week to check his case but the assistant always said it will take some times for the claim. Ask them how long, they always said not so soon. No definite answer. Suddenly 1 day (he called 2 days back and the assistant said not so soon), the law firm assistant calls him and said that the claims are done. He got only 1k+ for his dislocation finger.

To me the problem is not how much my friend can get for his compensation. I think my friend very blur lor. He should speak to the lawyer (at least once) instead of the assistant. Every time he always speaks to assistant not even once he speaks to lawyer. During the process of claim, he only knows his lawyer name, haven’t meet him in person.

I think that the lawyer should at least meet him once to discuss of his case before closing or fight the case for him.

The lawyer should ask him whether he is satisfied with the claims before the lawyer accepts on behalf.

Can the lawyer just any how accept the compensation on our behalf without consulting us????

I think that this kind of lawyer is not professional. My friend also lazy lah, I nag nag nag at him, tell him to complain. He said never mind, $$$ not important, don’t want extra trouble.

:bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Bike Rulez The World~!

I believe your friend's lawyer should and must consult before accepting the claim. Was he given a break down of how the claim was made? Actually he can cpmplain about the lawyer... Really not professional in my opinion.

Becareful later the assistance keep the rest and give 1K to ur friend. :cheeky:

Originally posted by adr77@February 05, 2007 02:16 pm

For my case, I had a micro fracture at my ankle. Accident occured on 06/08/05, TP verdict was ready by oct but IO forgot to tell me abt it till I call him up (driver charged with inconsiderate driving thanks to his PRC gal. The oni witness).:sian:

Now still a/w for full recovery as my micro fracture prob was only found out in mar 06. All b'cos TTSH say there was nothing wrong when I was admitted but pain in ankle persisted till jan 05. Went thru polyclinic then referred back to TTSH. At that appointment in TTSH then they made a amazing discovery that something was loose n floating around my ankle joint shown on the x-ray taken at 06/05/05. Upon more x-ray, mri then doc confirm mus go op...... How nice our doc in A&E was.

Aft op done in Jul (cos wed plan on june), was told 3 wks at most will be fully recovered. How nice again of our TTSH doc, I was to be on hospitalisation leave for nearly 3mths b'cos of something he discovered during the op which he did not expected (did not understand the explaination by him).

B'cos of that long mc, my bonus n increment affected. But worst of all, I did not feel better than b4 and add on to that, I felt pain during these 3 cold months. My doc jus say that I got myself reuhmatism at my age. Pissed off really, going to have a mri done this fri to c what how 'WELL' my ankle is recovering now.

So far my case was handled by a motor shop, bike damage was replaced at jan 05 but was told my case will have to wait for my total recovery b4 my lawyer will proceed. Is that true cos I afraid my case has been dragging quite a while.

Have you met your lawyer and discussed your case with him or not?

You should do it soon so that you can get some advice on your situation.

You have only 3 years to start a claim for personal injury so make sure that you don't drag the case.

He who hesitates is lost!

Hi, my brother met his lawyer yesterday. Although, my brother injury is serious but it was classified as dislocation. Injury can claim around 10-15k.

Most probably is 80%/20% or 90%/10%. He said that in Singapore very hard to get 100% claim for road accident.

Loss of income and medical bills is easy to claim.

He will also try his best to fight for the further loss of income. Actually the manager and asst manager wants my brother to join the hotel as banquet executive. But due to accident, my brother can’t commit.

But need my brother’s manager to help him testify. I think my brother will be able to get his manger to help him although it may be troublesome. The whole banquet team knows my brother capabilities.

They will take my brother difference in income.

Example; past earning per month – after accident earning per month = difference in income.

The lawyer said can claim for around 15 years because my brother still young haven hit 30. Example if difference is $500. My brother can claim $500 x 12 mth x 15 years = $90000

Our lawyer told us that the case takes around 2 years. But I think very long because it already16 month, still need other 2years ……..

But I am a bit worried for my brother because the lawyer told us that the other party engaged a big and good law firm to defend for them.

Bike Rulez The World~!

Originally posted by harni@February 17, 2007 05:27 pm

Sorry, forgot to mentioned that my brother’s lawyer is a barrister.

Is barrister good??? Any advise???

assuming that he's a barrister-at-law of England, that should mean the guy was admitted to argue cases before the higher courts in England. all it means is that the guy is qualified in England and Singapore.

Originally posted by harni@February 17, 2007 05:20 pm

Hi, my brother met his lawyer yesterday. Although, my brother injury is serious but it was classified as dislocation. Injury can claim around 10-15k.

Most probably is 80%/20% or 90%/10%. He said that in Singapore very hard to get 100% claim for road accident.

Loss of income and medical bills is easy to claim.

He will also try his best to fight for the further loss of income. Actually the manager and asst manager wants my brother to join the hotel as banquet executive. But due to accident, my brother can’t commit.

But need my brother’s manager to help him testify. I think my brother will be able to get his manger to help him although it may be troublesome. The whole banquet team knows my brother capabilities.

They will take my brother difference in income.

Example; past earning per month – after accident earning per month = difference in income.

The lawyer said can claim for around 15 years because my brother still young haven hit 30. Example if difference is $500. My brother can claim $500 x 12 mth x 15 years = $90000

Our lawyer told us that the case takes around 2 years. But I think very long because it already16 month, still need other 2years ……..

But I am a bit worried for my brother because the lawyer told us that the other party engaged a big and good law firm to defend for them.

1. It's important to see if the other party admits liability. If they admit liability, then you can move on to dispute the amount of liability and the amount of contributory negligence.

Usually in clear cut cases, defendants aren't foolish enough to deny liability but may dispute the amount or proportion.

2. Good and big law firms usually have junior lawyers handling the minor cases.

3. For the loss of future income, this and future medical expenses are usually the most disputed amount. Your brother's manager may just need to give a sworn statement stating matters to justify your claim for loss of future income. It won't be troublesome unless he has to testify in a trial.

Always talk through the options with your lawyer when important developments happen in the case. Don't rush into anything and don't worry too much about ups and downs over time, as long as the case is moving along.

Thanks, contrarian for your time and effort to type in yr advice. Yr advice clears many of my doubts.

U is spot on.

His name card stated

Name XXXXX

LLB (Hons) (London)

Barrister – at – Law (Lincoln’s Inn)

Hopefully my brother’s lawyer can fight well. Anyway my brother went to guang yin temple pray pray yesterday. Hope everything go on smoothly.

:smile: :smile: :smile:

Bike Rulez The World~!

So guys, can we summarize what can we claim for the benefit of other bros who need help? Please add in if I miss out.

What can be claimed?

1. Medical Bills

2. Transport fares like Taxi or car rental

3. other extra items like wheelchair, etc.. related to injuries

4. Pain, suffering, stress

5. During MC period of income and CPF payments

6. Potential loss of income (if any)

7. Loss of Bonus (if any)

8. Loss of Leave (if any)

It's been a while since anyone posted in this thread. On my side, my claims are still undergoing (with potentially a long long way more to go). Anybody claimed successfully recently and can tell us the rough guide to what's claimable?

Here is a long breakdown

General Damages

4 x Lower Rib Fracture with Pneumothorax w/pain in chest $12,000

Right Kidney Contusion with hematuria $6,000

Right Superior Pubic Rami Fracture $12,000

Soft Tissue Contusion (Buttock) $2,000

Lower Back pain with associated stiffness $4,000

Loss of Earning capacity $30,000

Injuries pretaining to broken bone do warrant more compensation, but items like loss of earnings have to be justified through payslips.

Take note of potential after effect like early spine degeneration, rheumatism and loss of range of movement and minor pain that wun go away.

FieryGiX, thanks for the great info.

"Take note of potential after effect like early spine degeneration, rheumatism and loss of range of movement and minor pain that wun go away." the sentence you wrote, it's not inclusive of the amount u wrote right? There's more to it?

also u got the claims liao? How long did u wait then?

No I have not got my claim yet.

Yes, if account for the other things I mentioned, the claim will be more.

I had the accident on March 2005.

I made a mistake of telling the Lawyer to take his time..Never tel your lawyer to take him time..cos he will just throw your file aside.

I am now awaiting a medical review from NUH by those lousy specialist who keep insisting everything is okay...

My laywer gave me an initial quote of 40- 50k on my injuries & my friend got 30k just for a fracture ankle.

Originally posted by ~FieryGiX~@March 16, 2007 10:20 pm

No I have not got my claim yet.

Yes, if account for the other things I mentioned, the claim will be more.

I had the accident on March 2005.

I made a mistake of telling the Lawyer to take his time..Never tel your lawyer to take him time..cos he will just throw your file aside.

I am now awaiting a medical review from NUH by those lousy specialist who keep insisting everything is okay...

My laywer gave me an initial quote of 40- 50k on my injuries & my friend got 30k just for a fracture ankle.

Bro, u can request for interim payment. If u needs money, u can ask yr lawyer to claim partial payment first. That mean u claim the loss of income and medical bills first. Your lawyer will request from the other party lawyer to pay u partial payment.

But this will depend whether the other party lawyer cooperation. If the other party lawyer not steady don’t want to give u, then ask yr lawyer request though the court.

The lawyer told my brother if we drag longer, can claim more. Don’t know whether true or not. Once we engage a lawyer, it seems that we are at the lawyer mercy. I think we got no choice but to wait. The lawyer also wants to claim more for his law firm.

I understand u don’t have financial difficulty that why u ask the lawyer take his time. But it is not a bad idea to have more money on your hand first.

:goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Bike Rulez The World~!

Normally the interim payment is easy to get. The other party lawyer should understand that if they don’t give. They will only incur more unnecessary costs to his client if settle at court.

Bike Rulez The World~!

Originally posted by contrarian@February 09, 2007 05:41 pm

Have you met your lawyer and discussed your case with him or not?

You should do it soon so that you can get some advice on your situation.

You have only 3 years to start a claim for personal injury so make sure that you don't drag the case.

Thanks for your reminder n I called up my lawyer b4 CNY. Found out that they r really passively waiting for X-mas. Oni wen I called up then they start asking me 4 this n that doc/photo, n oso hav to tell them to claim for me the loss of income (thought they shld auto do it, seems i assume too much). Is there anyway to justify loss of expected bonus? Mine was badly affected n my mgr told me frankly my hopitalisation leave was the cause..

After my third call then found out that the insurance (the other party) agreed to settle this case for 8K. The lawyer felt this was too little (which I felt too) to cover all the expenses when my medical expenses up to date was already 2K+. Seems strange, need to call before they update u on the progress. So they advise me to hang on n they will arrange an independant specialist to access my ankle. Think will be another half a yr to go before more progress is made:sian:

Fellow mates, pls do not follow my footstep in assuming that lawyers will do their best for your case. They really tend to sidestep your case (peanuts to them?) unless u check constanly on their progress.

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778