which one will u take?  

272 members have voted

1. 1. which one will u take?

Incident Report 2 (part deux): crash dummy don ends up in drain

Reporting from another angle. We all started off going down the mountain, and the hornets were near the middle of the group, the big bikes went off first. We were happily trailing each other at a moderate pace from Brinchang and past the 1st S-curve. Suddenly, was overtaken by a red SV-400 ridden by a hiong stardust! Very fast, very pro, she made me feel like a turtle crawling. Actually, at that point was already feeling rather silly, because going to Cameron means must play the curves, not gelek gelek down in convoy... so offf i went: overtook several bikes, found myself staring down stardust's backside. Tried to come close to overtake, but no opportunities because we were both taking the same lines and I didn't want to overtake on the curves at those speeds. About half-way down the mountain, the road widened to double-lane, and I got the chance to pull past her.

At some point in time, realised that there was a big blue hornet 900 in my rear-mirror, following very close: eh wait, I can see Don's face in my mirrors! We were both taking the curves at high-speed, and Don was with me all the way. On some of the curves, I was going so fast that I could feel the rear fish-tail when I drop gear and brake before entering the sharper corners, but there was Don right behind me all the way... steady! Then, we came to the DANGER ZONE.

Near the last 1/4 of the downhill route, there is this series of sharp curves and hairpins. You can't miss it, because the signboards just before the series of curves will post 40 km/h speed limit. On one side is the cliff edge, and the other side is the vertical slope of the side of the mountain. On these curves, the corners are all blind corners as the slope of the mountain is in the way, and not only are the curves sharp, they are downhill. In fact, if you look at the shoulders on the tips of the curves, you will see a lot of debris and oil patches from previous victims.

We entered this series of curves at moderate speed - before entering, I signalled Don to pull back and slow down, because I'd been down these curves before and almost wiped out. I noticed he pulled back several bike lengths before we hit the very 1st curve. It was sharp, it was scary, was scraping foot-pegs left and right. I wasn't looking into my mirrors because simply got no chance. However, after running about 5 curves, I glanced back and Don was no longer there. Hmmmm, strange. After reaching the end of the curves, I decided to wait at the shoulder for him, figuring he had slowed down to negotiate the turns... funny, he was taking a long time. Then I noticed a black super4 (Rachel?) appearing around the bend and going past me... cannot be what, how can Don have been overtaken in that series of curves? Anyway, I swung back and went up the mountain looking for our lost hero. Near the middle of the series of curves, I noticed a circus of cars and people clustering at the shoulder... Liao liao! Then luckily, spotted a guy in a torn red jacket chatting with the natives... it was Don!

The remainder of the story as per Wayang's report...

• Replies 14.1k

Originally posted by Forza99@Mar 29 2005, 11:37 AM

Hi Cherry,

Me easy to remember bcos I'm only Melayu Male Rider. Hahaha......

Just call me 'Abang' can........

Hi Abang,

Nice to know u.... :lovestruck:

Wow u can remember 1 of my nick name...That nice of u!

Sry, i only know u as 'Abang'! :cheeky:

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r118/AC_Devil64/finalfantasyx2.jpg

Hello!! MY first post in hornet thread haha... I'm riding the zx4 one... Tweety is a fierce rider!!

Quote from Chi Yen: Suddenly, was overtaken by a red SV-400 ridden by a hiong stardust! Very fast, very pro, she made me feel like a turtle crawling. Actually, at that point was already feeling rather silly, because going to Cameron means must play the curves, not gelek gelek down in convoy... so offf i went: overtook several bikes, found myself staring down stardust's backside.

Hmm.... Interesting use of words... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Kenn@Mar 29 2005, 03:21 PM

Hello!! MY first post in hornet thread haha... I'm riding the zx4 one... Tweety is a fierce rider!!

Quote from Chi Yen: Suddenly, was overtaken by a red SV-400 ridden by a hiong stardust! Very fast, very pro, she made me feel like a turtle crawling. Actually, at that point was already feeling rather silly, because going to Cameron means must play the curves, not gelek gelek down in convoy... so offf i went: overtook several bikes, found myself staring down stardust's backside.

Hmm.... Interesting use of words... :cheeky:

yO KENn hahaha... nextime we make out tank bigger better.. If not always worry not enuff petrol hahahahaa

Tweety: Btw i'm riding the blue hornet600..... Everything in blue. jacket blue, jean blue and glove also blue hahah

Motrax33

Originally posted by paul mai@Mar 29 2005, 03:50 PM

I also got chiet by the SV400 :giddy:

gotta admit.. my skills and balls not big enuff to gif any trouble to the red sv400.. i cld onli keep up wif a buanged twice black cbr900 which is runnin without a fuel pump.. argh~! nvm.. next better player.. :giddy:

but on hindsight.. the corners were really FUN.. shiok man.. 1st time i rode so aggresively and corner like nobody's biz.. :smile:

i really enjoyed the twisties on the new road to cameron highlands.. highly recommended for those corner maniacs.. but dun be over confident.. ppl had died there b4.. :cry:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

For me, I never take the corner unless I can see the road surface of the mid corner and exit. If I see sand, go very slow. If I can't see the corner at all, go slow also.

So how Hornet and Hornettes, whats next? Frasers?

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 29 2005, 05:01 PM

For me, I never take the corner unless I can see the road surface of the mid corner and exit. If I see sand, go very slow. If I can't see the corner at all, go slow also.

Hahah neo, u org la.... kekke:) Mostly prob i cant make it this month or 2. Going for business trip from May onwards. Back mostly in June or July

Motrax33

yoz!! first post in Hornet thread...

i'm the one riding vtecIII :cheeky:

slowest n the last bike up cameron... :cheeky:

need to brush up my skills.. :smile:

'02~'13 ::: RXK, SP, Daystar, TA150, S4 VtecII, Nissan March, VtecIII, R6, Dr200SEY, VerS, F650GS, HayabusaY2K, Honda Fit, Gilera Runner180FXR, toyota vios, DR200SES, BlackMax

NOW ::: DR200SE, Versys, Mitsubishi Lancer

Hmm... Personally I feel safety is a more important factor when riding. Dont exceed your own personal limit lor... Somemore different bikes got different handling for eg, V-twin will be more stable in cornering than in-line-4 engines. Personally I feel that after the accident area the next few bends are sharper. Definitely will be more dangerous if we maintain our speed in which we went down. Maybe a warning to all of us to go slower... Ravon hope everything is okay for you. Importantly you are back in SG safe and sound.

And yes Alvin, We need to get a bigger tank!! All the way in NS highway I was worrying if I can reached the next petrol station!!

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 29 2005, 05:01 PM

u read my mind.. i was juz thinkin of frasers too.. but not so soon la.. need time to recuperate.. damn shag now..

i oso wanna check up on my bike.. kinda scared i over rev it.. on the way back i was tryin to keep up wif the big bikes.. full throttle all the way.. 170km/h @ 14k rpm.. think i held it there too long.. the temperature warnin light went beserk again.. knn.. if not for the fear of overheatin.. i wldnt have slowed down..

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Originally posted by raz@Mar 29 2005, 05:07 PM

yoz!! first post in Hornet thread...

i'm the one riding vtecIII :cheeky:

slowest n the last bike up cameron... :cheeky:

need to brush up my skills.. :smile:

Whahaha yo yo... so many vtec. which one sia? Must Post Pic then we know:)

Pengz!!!!

Motrax33

thanks seepromt... we are all rite as in our body wise... bike wise whahahaha....

Achivements

-----------------

Crash Feb

Crash again March

Wife got Stolen May

Fell July

Fell again Sept

Hit BlanGla on bicycle at Zebra crossing Nov

Crash again and again Dec last day! (twice in 5 min)

Burn to ashes Jan

Originally posted by Spectrum@Mar 20 2005, 04:09 PM

HI Mokamoka....

U are right... Route Similar to 3 Nation Ride last yr..

just a little more to Phuket.

Will see u on the 13th @ hty...

Riding back with your gp...:thumb:

Phuket Songkran Ride

Hi All...

Good News.

It is OK with Simon for

Us to ride back with his group to Spore on the 13th.

(Good to be able to ride with a experience biker like Simon)

Will meet him on the 12/13th in Hty.

Be at this Hotel during ride out time... 13th Wed.

Better keep Your rain coat on... Gonna be a lot of Water on Songkran Day...

:bouncefire: :bounce: :cheer: :bouncefire:

Join them for Western Dinner at KL...

Alan,

This week I am on Day Shift. Are we meeting up to talk about the phuket trip? Maybe this friday night we can meet at LC foodcourt?

Originally posted by paul mai@Mar 29 2005, 05:42 PM

Alan,

This week I am on Day Shift. Are we meeting up to talk about the phuket trip? Maybe this friday night we can meet at LC foodcourt?

i'm on morning shift as well this fri. think i got to hand over relevant docs and money for the songkran trip.

keep me posted for this friday.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Originally posted by VerR@Mar 29 2005, 06:20 PM

:sweat: Oh...Don & gyan...speedy recovery.. .feeling better now...t c..:smile:

Aiyoo.. both of them BO TAI JI la....... :) still can jump ard kekek:)

Motrax33

gyan's incident report on Dear Don

As chi yen mention eariler the corner where Dear Don met his accident were rather sharp, yes indeed there was a sign mentioning it... as far as i can remember, after taking 3 turns/corners, it was an up hill follow by a right corner apon taking the corner i saw some cars and bikes park along the shoulder and people waving at me, than among the people, i saw Dear Don standing there facing the drain.

Quickly i stoped my bike on the left sholder and ran towards him... already he had taken off his helmat, so started to question him on how he is feeling, any injuries or pain else where. Don was cool but could tell he was still shock as his answers were rather stammering or slow... guess its like that when anyone got into an accident (hey i buang twice in 2 months). So can greatly understand his feeling at that moment.

Couldent c his bike so i guess it must be in the drain, so quickly i ran to his bike jump into the drain, switch off the ignition and toss the key to him... On the 1st look the bike seems fine except the meter was racked, tried to moved the bike upright but it proves to be to heavy. around this time wayang appear, seeing wayang with Dear Don, i climbed out of the drain and dispers the locals away...

While dispersing the locals i than walked up hill to warn the on coming bikes. And soon more bikes arrive... ran down hill to Dear Don saw chi yen was there with him... and the rest of the inccident was told by wayang n chi yen...

Achivements

-----------------

Crash Feb

Crash again March

Wife got Stolen May

Fell July

Fell again Sept

Burn to ashes Jan

Time for some fun

On coming clouds towards the hotel

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y12/parker_pen/cameron%20march%202005/comingclouds2.jpg

Apes that never c clouds B4 whahahaha

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y12/parker_pen/cameron%20march%202005/morecockfaces2.jpg

Achivements

-----------------

Crash Feb

Crash again March

Wife got Stolen May

Fell July

Fell again Sept

Burn to ashes Jan

Yes thats me...

Achivements

-----------------

Crash Feb

Crash again March

Wife got Stolen May

Fell July

Fell again Sept

Burn to ashes Jan

Originally posted by Parker_Pen@Mar 29 2005, 07:41 PM

Time for some fun

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y12/parker_pen/cameron%20march%202005/comingclouds2.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y12/parker_pen/cameron%20march%202005/morecockfaces2.jpg

Originally posted by Motrax33@Mar 29 2005, 05:24 PM

Whahaha yo yo... so many vtec. which one sia? Must Post Pic then we know:)

Pengz!!!!

Motrax33

the one n only vtecIII

http://image42.webshots.com/43/4/62/35/307446235TyJJMf_ph.jpg

'02~'13 ::: RXK, SP, Daystar, TA150, S4 VtecII, Nissan March, VtecIII, R6, Dr200SEY, VerS, F650GS, HayabusaY2K, Honda Fit, Gilera Runner180FXR, toyota vios, DR200SES, BlackMax

Originally posted by Parker_Pen@Mar 29 2005, 07:41 PM

Time for some fun

wahhahaha!! so cute!!

the slopes were more "tune" for going up... from slow ones to very nice big curves on top... hehe... so speed increasing all the way...

On the way down, its very different... the top is very nice curves, btu then when you get to the 2 lanes, everything change to very tight ones... the roadsigns were showing 40km/h... Malaysian sportsbike riders were overtaking me like nothing... haha...

Anyway ncie place to be at... next time try the route up from Gua Musang... will be another different experience... Anyone interested???