so u mean u no nid work aso can suport a bike wifout any probs ?

n u mean those guys coi cls2 bikes ? wifout working ?

blur blur

mayb their family rich.no nid work or wad

stretch hand got money le

SOmething like that? parents gave me $200+ as allowances for school.. so upkeep of my bike comes from there.. Nothing much to pay for too other then major maintances of cause.. montly engine Oil , season parking and petrol ( $16 for 2 weeks )..

As in general! i really wanna to know how people maintain their bikes ( above 400cc at least) .. be it full cash or COI! Do they even have savings?

did a quick math for myself

allowance ( $200+ ) + part time job ( $200) per month.. Total $ 400+

can even maintain a 400cc cruiser?

And yes.. Talking about upkeep for a class 2 bike. Let's say i work and bring home 1.5k / month.. Enough to pay for insurances , road tax , maintance? Or must turn to eat grass just for bike? lets hear your views.

n...

hw much do ur put aside when ur just bought ur bike - 2nd hand

(4 ppl hu COI).

lyk..in case anything went wrong wif it.

u kw 2nd hand bike r unpredictable..nt only 1st hand

• Replies 121

i think 4 cls 2

hmm..insurance n coi is a slow death man..

SOmething like that? parents gave me $200+ as allowances for school.. so upkeep of my bike comes from there.. Nothing much to pay for too other then major maintances of cause.. montly engine Oil , season parking and petrol ( $16 for 2 weeks )..

As in general! i really wanna to know how people maintain their bikes ( above 400cc at least) .. be it full cash or COI! Do they even have savings?

did a quick math for myself

allowance ( $200+ ) + part time job ( $200) per month.. Total $ 400+

can even maintain a 400cc cruiser?

And yes.. Talking about upkeep for a class 2 bike. Let's say i work and bring home 1.5k / month.. Enough to pay for insurances , road tax , maintance? Or must turn to eat grass just for bike? lets hear your views.

dun mean to sound rude, but isn't it a lil contradicting and insulting that u are commenting on how other ppl afford their bikes when you are still taking pocket $ from ur parents?

my guess is they are working their ass off to get more vit m to realise their dreams - not necessarily good if it's at the expense of their education.

anyway, just curious - ur post indirectly suggest u r still quite young, which indirectly means high insurance premiums. going by the way u calculated (u totally missed out insurance, road tax etc), may i ask how u pay for your insurance - savings/ parents?

if u work and bring home 1.5k, i strongly encourage to get a very low maintenance bike. 1.5k take cls 2 = no need to have children/ children no need to eat or study.. Not to mention in time to come u gotta take care of ur parents as well..

i think 4 cls 2

hmm..insurance n coi is a slow death man..

as other veterans have strongly advised, dun rush to wear too big a hat. u will realise in time to come that u too can afford a cls 2, just maybe not now. :smile:

depends on bike :

some bikes high maintenance...some needs less TLC but are very reliable...

i'm in my late late 20s and am riding an XR400, bike fully paid since 2004

1) Monthly

Fuel : RM100 -RM120

I cover an average of 1200km monthly due to distant from home to work daily...

Parking : $15

Coupons/ERP : $12-15

Service : RM100

Monthly Total : roughly $100-120

2) Annually

Insurance : TPFT $350

Personal riding insurance : $200

Brake pads : RM50

Misc servicing/accessories : RM300

Roadtax : $64

Annually divide by 12 mths : roughly 700++ / 12 = $60 monthly

-----------------------------------------

Total (1) + (2) = roughly $150-200 monthly

Above senario is a swee-swee steady pong pee pee senario...usually i spend much much less monthly coz the bike is in good running condition...well maintained bike = less breakdown = savings..

with the above estimate, a person can have savings and still have a good ride...but u need to be wise on the ride you choose and are you able to afford it...i don't see a point riding an expensive ride, be it a class 2b/2a/2, but struggling to even make ends meet...a bike helps us get around, lets not be a 'slave' to the bike...

my 0.02 cents...cheers...

Edited by kid_rizal

Be nice or leave...my space, my rule...

*Past : 1996 XR400RV

*Present : 2008 XT660Z

go to yr friendly neighbourhood mac

see those riding class 2 bike

and ask them how ....

i am sure u will learn more

oh ya...please set aside money and buy personal insurance to cover yourself in case an unfortunate event happens while riding...being prepared is best...ride safe guys...

dun mean to sound rude, but isn't it a lil contradicting and insulting that u are commenting on how other ppl afford their bikes when you are still taking pocket $ from ur parents?

my guess is they are working their ass off to get more vit m to realise their dreams - not necessarily good if it's at the expense of their education.

anyway, just curious - ur post indirectly suggest u r still quite young, which indirectly means high insurance premiums. going by the way u calculated (u totally missed out insurance, road tax etc), may i ask how u pay for your insurance - savings/ parents?

if u work and bring home 1.5k, i strongly encourage to get a very low maintenance bike. 1.5k take cls 2 = no need to have children/ children no need to eat or study.. Not to mention in time to come u gotta take care of ur parents as well..

:

erm... Yes am quite young. And i paid every single $ for my 2B bike. My interest and question is to those young kids like me who is riding class 2 bikes.. and a student.. Not veterans i am refering to... Age : below 23 years of age.

depends on bike :

some bikes high maintenance...some needs less TLC but are very reliable...

i'm in my late late 20s and am riding an XR400, bike fully paid since 2004

1) Monthly

Fuel : RM100 -RM120

I cover an average of 1200km monthly due to distant from home to work daily...

Parking : $15

Coupons/ERP : $12-15

Service : RM100

Monthly Total : roughly $100-120

2) Annually

Insurance : TPFT $350

Personal riding insurance : $200

Brake pads : RM50

Misc servicing/accessories : RM300

Roadtax : $64

Annually divide by 12 mths : roughly 700++ / 12 = $60 monthly

-----------------------------------------

Total (1) + (2) = roughly $150-200 monthly

Above senario is a swee-swee steady pong pee pee senario...usually i spend much much less monthly coz the bike is in good running condition...well maintained bike = less breakdown = savings..

with the above estimate, a person can have savings and still have a good ride...but u need to be wise on the ride you choose and are you able to afford it...i don't see a point riding an expensive ride, be it a class 2b/2a/2, but struggling to even make ends meet...a bike helps us get around, lets not be a 'slave' to the bike...

my 0.02 cents...cheers...

quite true.. Bigger bike = more a wants then a need...

and ask them how ....

haha... i should do that next time. who knows i find myself a good answer.

Edited by jtzx

actually i'm not just refering to big bike...but expensive bikes in general...a new class 2b bike like derbi or ktm can cost almost 10k or more...but if there are no 'smart' people buying these bikes and struggling financially, we wun get to buy the bike at a cheaper price 2nd hands...in other words, we gain on the expense of others...

and ask them how ....

i think only 2b there.at most hav s4 nia

hahas

oh ya...please set aside money and buy personal insurance to cover yourself in case an unfortunate event happens while riding...being prepared is best...ride safe guys...

absolutely

i think...if have a stable incum

shldnt b a prob owning 1 bike.

why bigger bike is more of a want ???

cause riding in singapore , my Ta200 is doing a perfect job.. with 3 boxes somemore.. Rear box = helmet/ school bag , left box = raincoat , right box = laptop for school.. And all the lovely mods i did to improve performances...

Able to meet speed limit of 90km but i travel at 100km/hr most of the time at highways...

sure a not ?

neevr see even bigger big bikes meh ??

nop.. bishan area.. not a single soul and petrol fumes from class 2 bikes..

Lets hear from a student age 22 - 25 on how they maintain class 2 bikes and balance up things.

erm... Yes am quite young. And i paid every single $ for my 2B bike. My interest and question is to those young kids like me who is riding class 2 bikes.. and a student.. Not veterans i am refering to... Age : below 23 years of age.

like i said earlier, they probably work their ass off to sustain the cls 2 bike.

this was a sacrifice i was never willing to make - affect studies for bike.

owning a bike is just ONE dream. the former can fulfil other dreamS.

PS: i do noe of acquaintances who earned 3k/mth on tuition (8-12 students?). but their grades really affected and they sacrificed a lot of personal/ family time.

i think only 2b there.at most hav s4 nia

hahas

saw R1 b4..

i think...if have a stable incum

shldnt b a prob owning 1 bike.

ya, but "stable" is subjective..

Even as a owner of a TA200...the money I spent on it is enough to kill me. :(

Blame myself for having no experience, bought a bike which need so much changing of parts. The replacing of parts are killing me...now my fuel tank like got one part eat through the paint job and like thinning out already...I foresee the the need to spend on replacing then fuel tank soon.

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/pp169/lawlietvashie/Vashie4.jpg

Class 2B - 29th March 2010 [30th April 2010 - Phantom]

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

coz its a dream of getting cls2 bike for sum bikers.

cn c sum ppl even selling s4/cls 2a bike coz under utilised in sg

cause riding in singapore , my Ta200 is doing a perfect job.. with 3 boxes somemore.. Rear box = helmet/ school bag , left box = raincoat , right box = laptop for school.. And all the lovely mods i did to improve performances...

Able to meet speed limit of 90km but i travel at 100km/hr most of the time at highways...

nop.. bishan area.. not a single soul and petrol fumes from class 2 bikes..

Lets hear from a student age 22 - 25 on how they maintain class 2 bikes and balance up things.

ya lor.in sg 400cc bike enuff lo

wah bishan ...mayb u rarely go outside ?

lols

seen cls2 bike at bukit batok area,but sum is passby 1.

but there r cls2 in my area

like i said earlier, they probably work their ass off to sustain the cls 2 bike.

PS: i do noe of acquaintances who earned 3k/mth on tuition (8-12 students?). but their grades really affected and they sacrificed a lot of personal/ family time.

saw R1 b4..

ya la,i this yr 19 nia

looking 4 part tym jobs to support my 2b bike

haha,i saw mac on busa b4.just that my area's mac only 2b n s4.

er...wad u mean by ["stable" is subjective] ?

sry,my eng v bad.

For my cbf150, tink the monthly expenses is not alot...

Petrol: RM50++ (JB pump)

EO: $13

Park in camp: free

Park at home during weekend: $8

Total shld be around SGD$60> ....

Me still in NS so i tink this is high for me =(

:pray::pray:

wah.go in ns liao ah bro

hahas

no wonder nvr c u on9.

wah. $60 still okay la

hahas

ns pay $420 ??

quite true.. My mindset is totally the same as you... No more sacrificing friends and family time to work just for cash..$$$ i got another 30years plus to earn... no hurry.. Just have to resist temptation a little. For a single man like me. $2k is more then enough. But money is never enough thats for sure.

Even as a owner of a TA200...the money I spent on it is enough to kill me. :(

Blame myself for having no experience, bought a bike which need so much changing of parts. The replacing of parts are killing me...now my fuel tank like got one part eat through the paint job and like thinning out already...I foresee the the need to spend on replacing then fuel tank soon.

welli'm lucky cause i bought a Ta200 nicely mod. and new. almost everything is good working conditions.. Fv plate.. looks like u have to go scrap yard to find another fuel tank already.

coz its a dream of getting cls2 bike for sum bikers.

cn c sum ppl even selling s4/cls 2a bike coz under utilised in sg

ya lor.in sg 400cc bike enuff lo

wah bishan ...mayb u rarely go outside ?

lols

seen cls2 bike at bukit batok area,but sum is passby 1.

but there r cls2 in my area

ya la,i this yr 19 nia

looking 4 part tym jobs to support my 2b bike

haha,i saw mac on busa b4.just that my area's mac only 2b n s4.

er...wad u mean by ["stable" is subjective] ?

sry,my eng v bad.

am 1 year older then you only. student also. COme to go out, very offen. Maybe cause i live near town bahz.. that's why shorter jouney.. ;D $16 petrol can last me 1.5 weeks.

wah.nice 1(ur bike)

such low maintainence

wah.nice 1(ur bike)

such low maintainence

after all it's a crusier and Honda! suppose to be comfortable and cheap.. unlike SP and Krr.. so much stuff to monitor.. coolent 2t and 4t oil

ya lor.2T n coolant

haix

if use 710,every mth add in $20+

wah.go in ns liao ah bro

hahas

no wonder nvr c u on9.

wah. $60 still okay la

hahas

ns pay $420 ??

haha, i was alr in NS b4 i started my first class 2b lesson =)

But coz i feel that i shld waste my 2 years and achieve nth so try to chiong for license lor...

Also my camp is super far from my house, feel so happy after i pass my TP coz my traveling time is cut from 1.5hrs bus to 1/2hr ride..

My pay now around $450 but after minus all the outing, meet up and gf session alr like left nth, LOL

Anyway wan save money shld try get a 4stroke bike or those cruiser/naked bike coz their fuel consumption will always be a "WOW" compare to 2 stroke/racing bike... Save alot money on maintainance coz just need change EO and plug

Me pump JB around $22 last for 1 month....

ic..

ya lor ya lor.4 stroke bike beta