i got 2 summons for travelling at road shoulder without TP stopping me. ( TP jus copied down my car plate)

letters just come to my home. it shows travelling 8:25am at date 30/11/06 & 04/12/06.

fine of 300 for both as 150 per tix and deduct 12 demerit points as 6 pts each for travelling at road shoulder

i ride bike to work everyday, still not experience to squeezing with cars, i saw other bikes travelling on the white line of road shoulder and i folo them cause this is easier for me. im so afriad i will bang into the other cars mirror and cause hazzard..

bikers here any advise of wat to do ? im helpless . 5 days and i got 2 tix and all my demerit points are gone cause im a P - plate rider.

Helpful riders here please advise..

:confused: :confused:

---unauthorised advertising---

• Replies 55

Originally posted by dreamwalk@Dec 11 2006, 09:07 AM

Which stretch of road were you travelling at?

BKE -> PIE (CHANGI) , every morning there is TP there.

they book me like free one :cry:

i dunno what to do now :giddy:

holy shiet.. i think u try to appeal to them.. if u get any more points.. ur lic will be revoked. just try to appeal nicely and tell them in a proper manner why u do this do that blah blah.. if you lucky enough i think they MIGHT waive away 1 and fine u for the other.

Originally posted by OhMiGosh@Dec 11 2006, 10:35 AM

holy shiet.. i think u try to appeal to them.. if u get any more points.. ur lic will be revoked. just try to appeal nicely and tell them in a proper manner why u do this do that blah blah.. if you lucky enough i think they MIGHT waive away 1 and fine u for the other.

i need help..

who should i approach for appeal ?

got people ask me seek MP as TP division give no chance for rules u break...

i guess you seek your MP first and tell him your situation.. most importantly must be sincere.. and tel them that you really need your bike for your daily transport to work.. and explain why u travelled on the road shoulder on the 2 occasions.

Originally posted by Soomp!@Dec 11 2006, 08:52 AM

i ride bike to work everyday, still not experience to squeezing with cars, i saw other bikes travelling on the white line of road shoulder and i folo them cause this is easier for me. im so afriad i will bang into the other cars mirror and cause hazzard..

if you intend to appeal, NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER EVER use that as an excuse. they are not valid excuses and you'll get rear-ended for using them.

1) you're not supposed to squeeze with cars. you should be following behind them. this is the legal aspect. practically speaking, you've no experience then you should be be attempting to squeeze at all!!! you're endangering yourself and other road users. more so you're doing this on expressway.

2) you see other bikes do then you also follow? hey come on, the IO will shoot you dead for this: "if they die you also follow them go die?"

i doubt you have valid grounds for appeal. but you can try compassionate approach. go TP HQ and meet the IO for face-face interview. be truthful and he may waive 1 of the notice for you. just admit your mistake and ask for leniency. with 12pts you're just about off the road liao. no more points to deduct. 1 more and is revoked.

Originally posted by E.V.ilyn@Dec 11 2006, 11:03 AM

if you intend to appeal, NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER EVER use that as an excuse. they are not valid excuses and you'll get rear-ended for using them.

1) you're not supposed to squeeze with cars. you should be following behind them. this is the legal aspect. practically speaking, you've no experience then you should be be attempting to squeeze at all!!! you're endangering yourself and other road users. more so you're doing this on expressway.

2) you see other bikes do then you also follow? hey come on, the IO will shoot you dead for this: "if they die you also follow them go die?"

i doubt you have valid grounds for appeal. but you can try compassionate approach. go TP HQ and meet the IO for face-face interview. be truthful and he may waive 1 of the notice for you. just admit your mistake and ask for leniency. with 12pts you're just about off the road liao. no more points to deduct. 1 more and is revoked.

based on the way he put things.. getting him talk to tp first confirm kenna soot until nothing to say.. at least get him to MP for help 1st will be a better choice :smile:

Bad move..getting 12 demerits pts for something which I think is quite insignificant..

Anyway gd luck for ur appeal..for nw,stay away fr the road shoulders ba... :goodluck:

The only way to find love isn't finding the perfect person, but by loving the imperfect person perfectly. True love doesn't have a good ending. It simply doesn't end.

2003 Nov - 2005 April -TZR125

2005 April - 2006 Nov -TA200

2006 Nov - 2010 June -TA200 & RS250

2010 June - Now - FZ1 & RS250

2015 June - Now - GSA 1200 & RS250

Originally posted by E.V.ilyn@Dec 11 2006, 11:03 AM

yep true the first 2 mths on the road i que behind cars during jams even on expressway.

but then after awhile, i seen no bikes queuing as they all squeeze in between cars i try to be like them but then got once i squeeze and my mirror touches the mirror of the other cars as i got lack of judgement, the driver lower down the window and then mumble something. from dat time onwards i dun dare to squeeze in between cars and pick on road shoulders instead.

then for now on, i think i should seek my MP for help first. after tat see what can be done..

haiz.. :giddy:

Originally posted by original_ss@Dec 11 2006, 11:52 AM

Bad move..getting 12 demerits pts for something which I think is quite insignificant..

Anyway gd luck for ur appeal..for nw,stay away fr the road shoulders ba... :goodluck:

yeah really bad move, my friend sae if i tell anyone dat i got revoked becus i travelled on road shoulder will be a big joke .. :cry:

Haha..yah..try nt to follow other riders for the tinking that its alrite..

U passed ur RTT and TP test mah..u shld be able to judge for urself..if filtering in between cars is too demanding for u, then u shld jux stay well in between lanes,or u cld leave ur house erli to avoid jams or take another longer but less traffic routes to ur workplace..

Jux some pointers lah...Cheers

The only way to find love isn't finding the perfect person, but by loving the imperfect person perfectly. True love doesn't have a good ending. It simply doesn't end.

Originally posted by Soomp!@Dec 11 2006, 11:58 AM

yeah really bad move, my friend sae if i tell anyone dat i got revoked becus i travelled on road shoulder will be a big joke .. :cry:

hey bro dont be sad la.. you learnt a lesson.

Originally posted by original_ss@Dec 11 2006, 12:00 PM

Haha..yah..try nt to follow other riders for the tinking that its alrite..

U passed ur RTT and TP test mah..u shld be able to judge for urself..if filtering in between cars is too demanding for u, then u shld jux stay well in between lanes,or u cld leave ur house erli to avoid jams or take another longer but less traffic routes to ur workplace..

Jux some pointers lah...Cheers

i dun really dare to go into lanes between 2 cars if they are moving...

i only dare to go on white line of road shoulder if not i que behind cars.

tonite i gonna see my MP, the TP's letter ask me refurish the driver 's particular and send it back to them.. i gonna do it now right? it not there will be a penalty of 1k fine and jail sentence.

This is getting real serious

Originally posted by OhMiGosh@Dec 11 2006, 12:01 PM

hey bro dont be sad la.. you learnt a lesson.

this lesson is too heavy..

all my points and 300 fine..

im helpless :weep:

Originally posted by Soomp!@Dec 11 2006, 12:03 PM

tonite i gonna see my MP, the TP's letter ask me refurish the driver 's particular and send it back to them.. i gonna do it now right? it not there will be a penalty of 1k fine and jail sentence.

Hmm..okok..its nt wrong in any ways that u dun dare to split lanes...

But I tink its wrong if u were to travel on the while line of the road shoulder..hee..at least legally...haha..

Cheer up man..at least u r still able to ride..

Originally posted by Soomp!@Dec 11 2006, 08:52 AM

i got 2 summons for travelling at road shoulder without TP stopping me. ( TP jus copied down my car plate)

letters just come to my home. it shows travelling 8:25am at date 30/11/06 & 04/12/06.

fine of 300 for both as 150 per tix and deduct 12 demerit points as 6 pts each for travelling at road shoulder

bikers here any advise of wat to do ? im helpless . 5 days and i got 2 tix and all my demerit points are gone cause im a P - plate rider.

Helpful riders here please advise..

:confused: :confused:

Just a thought, be careful of riding on line markings, they are very slippery.

It may not be necessary to seek your MP for help. Once I got booked for travelling on bus lane a couple of years back, when they have demerit poits for it. I wrote in to appeal, stating my reasons and apologizing for it, they waived both fine and demerit points.

First of all, I think you should appeal your second case by writing in and seek leniency instead of finding excuses. If that fails, you can try a face-to-face appeal. The dates between the two offences are very close and that should be the main argument for your appeal.

Good luck!

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

Good luck..Next time look out for TP before travelling on road shoulders..Not that I'm encouraging that you do it but better safe..So 12 pts and how long till your probationary period is over? My advice is to ride very safe and follow traffic rules or either sell bike or keep and rot and take public transport till your probationary period is over..:goodluck:

Originally posted by Soomp!@Dec 11 2006, 12:03 PM

hey bro guess u dont know it..

firstly if u are the rider commiting the offence u dont need to furnish any particulars. unless ur sub-rider is the one commiting the offence then u provide TP his particulars..its impossible for other people other then ur sub-rider to commite the offence unless for cars its diff as car insurance cover all-drivers unlike bike which means that only you and ur sub-rider will be the one committing the offence unless ur bike was stolen on the day the offence took place.

u dont need to attend court UNLESS u didnt pay up within the given date. if you are still on appeal and awaiting reply it doesnt matter if u didnt paid up within the given date as u are still under appeal.

Originally posted by OhMiGosh@Dec 11 2006, 02:46 PM

hey bro guess u dont know it..

firstly if u are the rider commiting the offence u dont need to furnish any particulars. unless ur sub-rider is the one commiting the offence then u provide TP his particulars..its impossible for other people other then ur sub-rider to commite the offence unless for cars its diff as car insurance cover all-drivers unlike bike which means that only you and ur sub-rider will be the one committing the offence unless ur bike was stolen on the day the offence took place.

u dont need to attend court UNLESS u didnt pay up within the given date. if you are still on appeal and awaiting reply it doesnt matter if u didnt paid up within the given date as u are still under appeal.

oh okie,i read the letter it sae i got to fax/mail back the letter to provide infomation of who is riding the vehicle at that point of time. i got no sub rider name under my bike, so is surely under my name.

Failure to mail/fax the letter of infomation will makes me fine of 1k or imprisonment of 6 mths.

from here, do i have to mail/fax back the letter of infomation of myself if im going thru MP for appeal today?

thanks.. :giddy:

Originally posted by cgl@Dec 11 2006, 01:15 PM

Just a thought, be careful of riding on line markings, they are very slippery.

It may not be necessary to seek your MP for help. Once I got booked for travelling on bus lane a couple of years back, when they have demerit poits for it. I wrote in to appeal, stating my reasons and apologizing for it, they waived both fine and demerit points.

First of all, I think you should appeal your second case by writing in and seek leniency instead of finding excuses. If that fails, you can try a face-to-face appeal. The dates between the two offences are very close and that should be the main argument for your appeal.

Good luck!

hmm, but now i got two offences ... but yet to received the 2nd letter from TP. i checked the EDDIES website and found out that i got 2 offences.

dunno whether if i go down to TP DIV , will they help me or not . i heard they are all very harsh :cry:

tonite im going down to MP to see what is the outcome :weep:

my collegue jus told me i dun have to pay for the fine when im appealing and thou it is past deadline.

but once, my appeal fail, i got to pay DOUBLE..

is it true? :confused:

if you wanna do it, then got to pay when get caught.....

other wise, dun do it in the 1st place? TP bully you? >