i tink TS is juz influenced by his frens or whomever to get a car..peer pressure when u c ur frens relax in e car..no need wear helmet..no need worry abt rain. bt underneath..will neva noe hw financially sound they r. in sg..havin a vehicle is not a necessity if u look at e public transport n taxis ard. we r juz a tiny dot and e govt r tryin hard to make us nt buy vehicles. if we stay in msia..its a diff story coz transport is reali a must. TS' reasons for havin a car is purely juz to keep up wif his frens n his desire to race. even u wana race also u need money. mod here mod der.

fyi..i own a red plate car n ride an fz1. spent more than 3k alone juz fixin my car due to wear n tear..neva even go race..juz for family n carryin stuff purposes. im 26 n my insurance is alrdy 1.6k. wad more an evo

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
  • Replies 74

maintenance of a car is not as simple as anyone would think.

Based on a 2K+ monthly salary, I don't think one will be able to get loan for an evo as well.

I would safely estimate that one would need at least a 3K+ monthly salary to be able to maintain a car without being too stressed out.

Be wise with your money and not be affected by peer pressure

TS,

I own an EVO 8 before....trust me...even with 4 to 5K per month...you will still find it hard to "feed" the car...To start with, you have to set aside 5K in case the turbo "up lorry" liao...for a stock evo 8, you are looking at around 8 KM per liter of petrol and the tank is only 40 liters..there is a lot of oil to change too....AYC oil, rear diff oil, gear oil, engine oil and the interval for engine oil is 5K and not 10K like other cars...a cheaper alternative is a type R...i also used to own a interga type R also...got sick of it because can out run normal cars but still lose to bigger CC cars...so...my take on your question is...buy a small family car and buy yourself a big CC bike...if rain drive, is weather good, ride....hahaha...which is what I'm doing now....hope this helps....EVOs is a money sucker...why make those already rich carshops even richer....btw, a good set of 17" tyres will set you back $300++ a piece...

for 2k the only Evo possible is Piaggio X9 Evo.

the other evo better don't..later u up lorry

TS,

I own an EVO 8 before....trust me...even with 4 to 5K per month...you will still find it hard to "feed" the car...To start with, you have to set aside 5K in case the turbo "up lorry" liao...for a stock evo 8, you are looking at around 8 KM per liter of petrol and the tank is only 40 liters..there is a lot of oil to change too....AYC oil, rear diff oil, gear oil, engine oil and the interval for engine oil is 5K and not 10K like other cars...a cheaper alternative is a type R...i also used to own a interga type R also...got sick of it because can out run normal cars but still lose to bigger CC cars...so...my take on your question is...buy a small family car and buy yourself a big CC bike...if rain drive, is weather good, ride....hahaha...which is what I'm doing now....hope this helps....EVOs is a money sucker...why make those already rich carshops even richer....btw, a good set of 17" tyres will set you back $300++ a piece...

snake_sin : I agree with what you mentioned, I too have owned EVO 8 GSR with kansai manifold, bigger turbo, injectors etc etc...

For NA: a mod Honda SiR.

snake _sin is speaking the truth.

Its a real advice

And I have always wondered why there are so many young people driving Evos and Rexes. There must be something very wrong with me that even after all these years, I still find a civic expensive.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

i spend thousands $ on car mods but i dont spend a single cent in ice. to me having music while driving r background noise :sian:

sometimes i m will to spend hundreds of $ for a meal but i still find $5 for a bowl of fishball noodle is expensive :cheeky:

Bro, to each his own

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

i spend thousands $ on car mods but i dont spend a single cent in ice. to me having music while driving r background noise :sian:

sometimes i m will to spend hundreds of $ for a meal but i still find $5 for a bowl of fishball noodle is expensive :cheeky:

Bro, to each his own

hahaha, to each his own, mate

for 2k the only Evo possible is Piaggio X9 Evo.

the other evo better don't..later u up lorry

can buy evo lah..

only 18,889 S$ only...

http://www.sparkmotorsports.com/images/sales-evo2.jpg

You must be a very young guy.

If you wants a car, why can't you go for a cheap normal car like a toyota or a Nissan 1 litre instead of chasing after evo 9 or evo 10, WRX, Integra, E60+, F70+.........

For a salary of $2000, you probably cannot even afford the yearly insurance for a sport car at your age.

( I am quite sure you are below 30 years old )

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

can afford the insurance lah, Dec get 2mth bonus, $6K should be enough for his insurance :cheeky:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

one month my fren forks almost ttl 1.5k

Me too.

for my cigars....

talking about cigars & insurance, did u hear about the guy who insured his cigars against fire?

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

talking about cigars & insurance, did u hear about the guy who insured his cigars against fire?

Haha, I have.

He sought insurance claim after smoking them all.

And they had no choice but to pay him as the cigars did go up in smoke.

but he got charged for arson.......

mauyhahahahaah

it's an urban legend. but you never know....haha

TS, Give me the money you intend to downpay for the Evo or EG, I guess you should have at least 50K for the Evo or 30K for the EG. I don't ask for too much. 30K will be sufficient. I will go and buy the M1 shares and collect dividend at the end of the month. Then Let's share the dividend 50% each. How about that? The share prices are $2.42 now. 30K can get us slightly more than 10 lots. Dividend is 0.11 now for M1. 1 lot = $110 and 10 lots is $1100!! We suddenly get $550 each just by waiting! 1100/24200 = 4.5%Better than keepin money in the bank!! That is if the shares don't move southwards. And again, with a dividend looming, it is hardly possible unless something bad happens to M1. If that's the case, many things will go down and you will lose your job too.

Save up your money. Learn to earn before you spend. Walk before you fly. there are many things worth buying other than cars. The car should only come after you are stable. By then, you will not ask this question on maintenance, rather, ask if the Evo10 befits your budget, or should you go for a Porsche 911 instead. Perhaps even get them both...

911 Turbo!! my dream...

Hi TS, despite the EU financial woes, M1 shares went up to 2.45 today. If you've given me your 20over K, and bought the shares at 2.42, we would've earned the 11cents dividend and +3 cents worth of share price difference after the correction. After dividing it between the 2 of us, we will be several hundred bucks richer. Sit and wait and the extra earned can become the insurance of a modest car. Or if you decided to walk into the light, make more, finally afford a brand new fast car. Is it worthwhile to satisfy your immediate urge and join the ranks of the impoverished or to make sound use of your money to make yourself truely better off?

I know a lad in his late 20s wrote in his facebook several times that he was looking forward to the next payday and that he was dry that month. Then he wrote in facebook that he wants to buy a Recaro bucket seat to replace his recaro seats in his 1.6L 90hp japanese sedan. I asked him why and his reply was that it helps him to corner better. Then I asked him why don't he invest that money into something like an insurance policy or shares and his reply was that he does not believe in shares and insurance. He said he will probably give insurance a second thought after he gets married. And what chills me was that he told me that he has nothing that appreciates in his name. Empty bank account, depreciating liability, what can be worse than this for a young Singaporean man who lives his life 101% at the mercy of his employer's mood.

Look beyond the 2nd hand evo9. You will find so much more about life.

haha Mate, I think TS got the drift.....(pun intended)

Hi TS, M1 shares is 2.5 bucks today. We would've been about $800 bucks richer if we went in for the 10 lots. $400 each, After brokerage, we will still make $300+ each, Good for 3 full tanks of petrol. What a waste... :p

Hi TS, while the rest of the counters plunged the past 2 months, M1 grew stronger. The new resistance level is $2.55... So if we've bought it at 2.42, We'd made 13cents per share in 3 months on top of the $550 dividend for you and me each. With 10 lots, we'd have made $1128.48 to share between ourselves after deductions. Everything in, we will be $1114.24 richer each! Bloody hell!! Great place to park money! Go buy a 2nd hand lotus, why buy a used Evo?

By the way, I bought 5 lots at 2.39, I made $714.76 as profit close to 6% of my initial investment.

I paid 11,991.24 and I am getting 12,706.00 after deductions. I am waiting for their next dividend with great expectations.

Guys, buy something that appreciates first, the car can come later. Ride a bike if you find it a strain on your finance. It is a wiser choice to bear the inconvenience temporarily than to suffer the consequences on a prolonged basis. I find that many youngsters in Singapore especially those who ride or drive love to squander their money on a recaro seat and buy loud exhaust pipes yet still as slow or scrimp and save on tyres and petrol when they can make better use on their money.

Edited by MS