I'm sure all bikers who does not cover their bike overnight while parking, will have experienced CATS, sleeping on their bikes. I don't know why they like it but sometimes they put their claws way too deep into our seats... I'm so 'du-lan' now liao... feel like buying sticky paper, those for rats de, and put on my seat. once they jump up. HAHA!!! kenna liao... can anot ah...hahaha

Thru my eyes, you will see the lines of reality blur <[!_!]>

• Replies 39

why would u want a dead cat on ur seat?

anyway i know there's some kind of repellent u can put that makes cats stay away from ur bike, someone did post b4.

this morning i also found my seat with cat hair, lucky never claw my seat.

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

You can buy those rubber spike mats from Daiso for $2. Or just use a rag and put a lot of medicated oil on the rag to cover your seat. Cats do not like medicated oil smell.

Anyway cats like the soft seat because it's comfortable to curl up to sleep. As for scratching, it's their natural tendency to hook their claws into the soft seat. They also scratch tree barks, car tyres etc. My own cat used to scratch the sofa!!!

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

i use to lock a guard dog beside my bike...ok that was just a joke.yeah my tankbra also got rape by a FAT CAT!!but ok la..the cat is cute.

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/2353/85571635.png

Around the usual bike lot that you parked.

1. vinegar

2. medicated oil

3. Any solution with strong smell but no urine please. Because you will caught and film on stomp

4. last but not least, get few tree branches that poke (putting sky up type) and leave it on your seat. Tie around with a nylon string.

I'm sure all bikers who does not cover their bike overnight while parking, will have experienced CATS, sleeping on their bikes. I don't know why they like it but sometimes they put their claws way too deep into our seats... I'm so 'du-lan' now liao... feel like buying sticky paper, those for rats de, and put on my seat. once they jump up. HAHA!!! kenna liao... can anot ah...hahaha

Btw actually covering the bike makes thing worse. Cars are cold blooded and they like places that are warm and comfy. Thats why they like to hide up car or snuggle inside the bike cover on the bike seat. I only ride my class 2 bike once a week. Everytime i touch the bike cover, a flurry ball will fly out. 100%

Get Rid of a Stray Cat? The Stray Cat Problem!

Most people get irritated by stray cats. There are those which make lots of noise, scratch the couch, dig, steal foods and leave urine and droppings in any areas of the house.

Cats are generally self sufficient. Approximately 100 million cats are classified as stray cats. These kinds of cats are those which are lost or separated from their owners or homes. These cats are non-domesticated and are born and usually live in the wild. They are wild animals, much different from domesticated cats. They can be ferocious when caged. They bite, claw, hiss and release horrible scent.

While there can be genuine concern for these animals, it often comes to a point when you are swarmed by hungry cats when you starts feeding a single stray cat! Cats can also be sources of diseases such as ringworm, fever, bacterial infections, certain allergies and the fatal, rabies.

10 Tips on How to Get Rid of a Stray Cat

With all the troubles stray cats create, it is reasonable for some people to get rid of these animals. So how can you get rid of a stray cat?

Below are some of the methods:

1. A cat can be a lost pet so it is always best to return it to its owner. Ask your neighbors if they know the owner of the pet. You can also report the lost cat to responsible animal agencies. Put up flyers or place an ad in websites about the cat with its story.

2. You can ask someone who might be interested in adopting a cat or taking care of it for a period of time. These people can give proper care to the cat. Your neighborhood can also agree in creating a small shelter for cats. This way, they will have a nesting area.

3. You may check certain animal control centers which catch and remove cats from your property. These centers are the ones providing shelters and giving utmost care when you get rid of a stray cat.

4. Get the cats lost off the street. Capture and release it far from home; at least 15 miles, into the woods or near a barn.

5. An obvious technique to get rid of stray cats is not to feed them! Make sure that noone among your neighbors are feeding them. Take off any open sources of foods that can attract them and seal all waste containers.

6. Block or seal entryways or spaces that can be nesting areas. The favorite places of cats are the barns, sheds, underneath decks and foundations.

7. Buy a trap and capture the cat; afterwards, you can put it in a shelter or release it into the woods or hills. Carefully deal with caged stray cats because they can really go wild and can scratch and bite you.

8. Use pepper spray or extracted oil from hottest peppers and spices to get rid of a stray cat. Put it around your home. When cats come in contact with this formula, it will irritate their sensitive noses and drive them away.

9. Have a large dog that can discourage cats to venture near your home. You want to scare off stray cats! There are owners who succeeded in having cats and dogs get along. So, both dogs and cats can keep stray cats away.

10. Hire a professional trapper who can deal with the problem. Ask the trapper to be kind and gentle.

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg

I volunteer with the Cat Welfare Society so I know a bit more about the "stray cat" (we prefer to call them "community cats") so-called "problems".

NOTE - I do not speak for the Cat Welfare Society.

Unknown to many people, the cats you see at the void decks are most probably being cared for by volunteers, who would feed the cats at night away from public sight. These volunteers are encouraged to feed responsibly, i.e. make sure they keep the area clean and not litter the place. These volunteers would also medicate the cats if they are ill, or take them to the vet if the illness is serious.

CWS encourages TNRM - Trap, Neuter (i.e. sterilise), Return, Manage

Trap-trap the cat using humane traps and methods

Neuter-sterilise the cat so that it will not reproduce

Return-return to the cats home on the void deck

Manage-manage the population as mentioned above

The key idea behind TNRM is that cats are territorial. Once cats establish their territory, they guard their place against any outsider cat. In this way, it keeps the local cat population stable and manageable. If the cats in the area are already sterilised, it also keeps a lid on population increase. Sterilised cats also tend to be more gentle and peaceful. They do not scream because they will no longer have the desire to mate.

Sterilised cats have their left ear tip cut off. This is to make it obvious that the cat has been sterilised. In Singapore, it's also a sign that this cat is being managed by volunteers.

The popular thinking that we should remove cats do not work because when you remove cats from one area, new cats will somehow appear and "fill in the blanks".

Where do the new cats come from? Irresponsible cat owners. Irresponsible cat owners who want their cats to have kittens, but throw out the kittens after they are born. Irresponsible cat owners who do "spring cleaning" every year and throw out their pets. We also have stupid Town Council staff who remove cats from their area and dump them somewhere else, basically passing the buck.

So in response:

(1) Good idea. If you keep cats, please sterilise them and keep them 100% indoors. Sterilised cats can live indoors totally.

(2) This is a great idea but has little support from Town Councils.

(3) Unless the cat is severely ill or injured or very young, please do not call animal welfare groups. They are already bombarded with more cats than they can handle. If the cat is looking comfortable, it probably has adapted living downstairs and is being cared for by a volunteer. Leave it there.

(4) This is passing the problem to someone else. It also upsets the local cat population and creates space for new cats to move in. DO NOT DO THIS.

(5) In general, if you can't keep the place clean, don't feed. Feeding is not illegal but we ask that feeding be done away from crowds, and that you clean up immediately. Do not throw food on the floor and walk away!

(6) This is not applicable to Singapore.

(7) Again, releasing the cat somewhere else just passes the problem. CWS encourages TNRM. After you trap, bring it to the vet and have it sterilised!

(8) This is a good idea if you're plagued with cats making unwelcome visits. Other strong cat repellents are orange / lemon scent, medicated oil. However, please do not spray these oils into the cats' faces directly! It really hurts them!

(9) Buying a dog to scare away cats seem unnecessarily drastic. Please ensure you train the dog and care for it responsibly. HDB has regulations for dog ownership.

(10) Town Council trappers have been known to use inhumane traps. The bait is hooked onto a very sharp hook. Trapped cats and dogs are known to have impaled themselves on these hooks when they panic.

wow.. interesting piece of info u have thr lutein.. hmmmm.. i dun hate cats but i hate it when they urinate on my bike and scream in the middle of the night.. once i got so fed up i rushed out of my flat half naked holding a broomstick.. hahaha~

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

wow.. interesting piece of info u have thr lutein.. hmmmm.. i dun hate cats but i hate it when they urinate on my bike and scream in the middle of the night.. once i got so fed up i rushed out of my flat half naked holding a broomstick.. hahaha~

The worst part is once they urine. They mark your bike for sure. I remember what happened to my previous bike. The moment they urinated on it, i wash throughly but after that they make it a point to visit my bike with w/o cover. Just gotten my new bike and i shd do something by putting some medical oil onto a rag

I hope someone reports you to the SPCA if you do that. :cool:

The worst part is once they urine. They mark your bike for sure. I remember what happened to my previous bike. The moment they urinated on it, i wash throughly but after that they make it a point to visit my bike with w/o cover. Just gotten my new bike and i shd do something by putting some medical oil onto a rag
Cats urinate at your bike/cover to mark their territory. So everytime the smell is gone they will mark the place again. Only male cats do that. What I did was spray my bike cover especially at the bottom part with medicated oil. :thumb:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

put a few moth balls under your seat, or crush some and sprinkle around your bike.

when cats smell mothballs is like human smelling Brasso :angel:

my carpark has this cat which keeps scratching my sis' bike's new seat

i told her about it and she said, "never mind la, at least its cute"

it doesnt scratch my bikes for some reason, either my backside doesnt smell nice or it knows how to choose the newest seat to scratch :p

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Cats come and go every few years. A few years ago I got this problem, now no more.

4. last but not least, get few tree branches that poke (putting sky up type) and leave it on your seat. Tie around with a nylon string.

u'll get fine by NEA for destroying trees. even break down vehicles on the road are not suppose to pick up any branches on the grassland and put on their vehicle to mark as spoilt.

4. Get the cats lost off the street. Capture and release it far from home; at least 15 miles, into the woods or near a barn.

5. An obvious technique to get rid of stray cats is not to feed them! Make sure that noone among your neighbors are feeding them. Take off any open sources of foods that can attract them and seal all waste containers.

7. Buy a trap and capture the cat; afterwards, you can put it in a shelter or release it into the woods or hills. Carefully deal with caged stray cats because they can really go wild and can scratch and bite you.

10. Hire a professional trapper who can deal with the problem. Ask the trapper to be kind and gentle.

4. do we have woods, hills, barn in SG? the only woods/hill area i know of are Bukit Timah Nature Reserve and Fort Canning.

5. very true, however do note they're not a pest, without them u'll have more rats then u'll really have a problem on ur hands.

7. again not advisable, also we dont have any wild places to let them go, u release them in another estate, they'll create problems for other ppl too, do u really want that?

8. not necessary, SG has animal control specialist (SPCA?) that monitors and control the number of wild animals in our estate, if there's too many of certain species of animal, they will do something to contol the population.

from the way u speak, can i guess u're not from singapore?

5. very true, however do note they're not a pest, without them u'll have more rats then u'll really have a problem on ur hands.

i would disagree with you on that. in local context, the cat population has no bearing on the rat population.

majority of our cats are pet, and most would have not even seen a rat in their lives. these pets would probably run away whenever they see a rat. now the stray cats, many are still fed by strangers, otherwise they scavenge from rubbish bin or left over at hawker centres.

i have never seen a local cat chasing a rat, even if they catch one, i don't think they will eat them. furthermore, some longkang rats are as big as a cat, i think these rats will eat the local cats

i would disagree with you on that. in local context, the cat population has no bearing on the rat population.

majority of our cats are pet, and most would have not even seen a rat in their lives. these pets would probably run away whenever they see a rat. now the stray cats, many are still fed by strangers, otherwise they scavenge from rubbish bin or left over at hawker centres.

i have never seen a local cat chasing a rat, even if they catch one, i don't think they will eat them. furthermore, some longkang rats are as big as a cat, i think these rats will eat the local cats

i still have to disagree with ur disagree, hehe

cats have an impact on rats population and it really is a fact. the reason u dont see many rats around is if there's a cat population there. rats breed very fast n in mass quantity. and they usually works in packs. some rats are big, but no bigger than a kitten, those cats that really hunt are adult cats.

given an environment where a dosmetic cat is set free, it will use it's instincts to hunt rats if no other available source of food is around. thus dont feed them is a sure way to force them to do their job. the reason why most hang around hawker center/food stall is due to the fact there's free food. if ppl dont feed them and owners clean up fast, they will have to hunt.

the fact that u dont see cats in action is due to the fact rats mostly come out at night, where there's fewer activities. ever seen a rubbish bin at night crawling with rats? i've seen a few times cats in action; they ran n tried to chase down something, however since it's dark, i couldn't make out what it's chasing. also i've ever seen a hungry cat eating a roach. thus if u've never seen 1 in action, means u never hang out too much at night.

Cats hunt by instinct even if they are fed. My own cat hunts cockroaches and lizards at home even though she's well-fed.

However it doesn't mean they HAVE to hunt mice just because the stereotype is that cats and mice are enemies. They are not robots and there are days they are just not in the mood to hunt.

Cats hunt by instinct even if they are fed. My own cat hunts cockroaches and lizards at home even though she's well-fed.

However it doesn't mean they HAVE to hunt mice just because the stereotype is that cats and mice are enemies. They are not robots and there are days they are just not in the mood to hunt.

by hunt do they eat them? usually a well-fed cat will never deliberately hunt anything, they're playful by nature, usually tapping on smaller creatures and playing around with them.

cats are like any other creatures, they eat just about anything if they're hungry. however their only source of meat is rats which they can easily take down.

true they're not robots, however if pressed by hunger they will hunt. similarly if u were in a jungle with no steady source of food, would u hunt? from what u're saying, i suppose u have a well-breed cat and doesn't know of it's capabilities if it were to be put on the streets for survival. just go to places where there's no coffee shop/hawker nearby at night, in the wee hours, u'll see them in action. the reason why they're lazy during the day is because they hunt at night when the rats come out. wild cat and domestic cats' habit and lifestyle are complete different, pls don't take them for comparison.

edit: however it's very true if a cat was breed domestic from young and put in the wild, it usually will die from hunger. so it's very cruel for pet owners to abandon them.

Edited by arthur_chan

my carpark has this cat which keeps scratching my sis' bike's new seat

i told her about it and she said, "never mind la, at least its cute"

it doesnt scratch my bikes for some reason, either my backside doesnt smell nice or it knows how to choose the newest seat to scratch :p

evidently she (the cat) is lurking on this forum cause last night she scratched my seat! just bought some mothballs...

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.