• Replies 394

Guest revolio103

:confused: me also wan to diy chain and spocket if possible leh :sweat:

any expert can advice?

U can buy a chain cutter at any acessories shop to cut the excess chain.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid155/p0028ee5410f48c47c6f3c5fa475db8d5/f55ee161.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid181/p8009dc01eba9e5d5980c353631409bd2/f2dafccc.jpg

Safety Korean Rabbit is out to book U!

i saw a machanic do this... loosen the rear wheel nut and push back the wheel, then find the 'pin' on the old chain .

then use pliers to take out...

so now the chain has loose ends, one with the 'connector' connect one loose end to the old chain.

then roll the wheel to let the new chain go round and be in place with sprockets.

then measure the chain and where to cut.. to do this, first use one hand to hold both end of the chain.

then u tap the chain as if u checking on a normal basis to see if its loose or not...test and trail till u get the correct tention(+/- the segments on yr other hand which is holding the chain ends) then count now many segments u needa cut.

(cutting tools is good pointed screwdriver(not blunt)and a hammer)

push the wheel and move the segment to the center of the sprocket then use the screwdriver to rest on the top groove(A) groove smack it with the hammer...

(best is use somthing to prevent the wheel from moving or engange gear for those who are using main stands like PB1)

then move the screwdriver to the bottom goove(B) and repeat.. continue A and B till the front piece of the segment 'fly' out ..

lastly connect the both ends and use the new 'connector' to connect the chain together.. lastly oil the chain etc etc ...

done :smile:

i think the hard part is getting the excess chain out..

i have to remind to all that this is wad i saw exactly from wad the machanic did ... :D

U can buy a chain cutter at any acessories shop to cut the excess chain.

u hv to describe hw the tool looks like? cause if u call it "Chain cutter", its refers to the one pple use to cut padlock...Now that is a big tool. dont think that the proper tool. anything smaller and easier/simpler?? :confused:

(cutting tools is good pointed screwdriver(not blunt)and a hammer)

push the wheel and move the segment to the center of the sprocket then use the screwdriver to rest on the top groove(A) groove smack it with the hammer...

(best is use somthing to prevent the wheel from moving or engange gear for those who are using main stands like PB1)

then move the screwdriver to the bottom goove(B) and repeat.. continue A and B till the front piece of the segment 'fly' out ..

i think the hard part is getting the excess chain out..

i have to remind to all that this is wad i saw exactly from wad the machanic did ... :D

But that is not a very safe....professional ...proper way to do it. I know the mechanic's method did the job but i dont think it the correct way. there should be a special tool or something.

and using the sprocket groove as support to whack and hack away the excess seems like a bit unsafe method.

I know there is a special tool but i cant seem to find it or even know what it is called?

stock chains needs to be grind off, coz it's linkless. why wanna diy chain and sprockets where installation is free with purchase.?? although it looks a bit easy. :D

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

my friend just change his chain and saw the tool. It look like a micrometer cum clamp. Screw it tight againist the joint and the pin will be release. Can be DIY but not possible to do it yourself if u dun have tools.

You are blur, when I say I am blurr.

changing the chain really troublesome...

the electirc saw is used to remove the excess chain...

then to attach the chain together, u needa clamp the joint realli very very tight...

require alot of tools and effort...

and think it izzn't worth DIYing it cos the chain plays an important role and better not play play...

Access to the photos Vypower collection,

Visit...

Here

Everytime u pump V-Power,

Remember MarVyPower!!!

who have ever replace their chain? i got one question to ask....How u cut the excess part??...using what normal /simple or any other tools to cut it off. :confused:

yar tried before

quite alrite one lar

use a grinder to remove the rivet then remove the excess part lor

sometimes if u can get the specs from a forum then no need to cut away excess chain

zhun zhun....like xr400 15-45 gearing can use 110 chain links

use a hand grinder. the small circular disc to grind the rivet part. hardware shop is available. use it to cut mine. did once onli.. bery troublesome. price wise nt sure. brands mitsubishi, hitachi, black n decker...etc

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Wish to change my chain and sprockets.... any recommendations for good chain and sprockets? budget quite tight also... thanks...

A relationship is like a rose, How long it lasts, no one knows; Love can erase an awful past, Love can be yours, you'll see at last; To feel that love, it makes you sigh, To have it leave, you'd rather die; You hope you've found that special rose, 'Cause you love and care for the one you chose.

Wish to change my chain and sprockets.... any recommendations for good chain and sprockets? budget quite tight also... thanks...

original honda coloured spirit chain, frnt original honda sprocket and rear japan sprocket at $140. some range starting from $100..ask LAB

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

hi just to ask whether you all got this problem...

i been always watching my chain all this while. but today i saw a disappear in chain oil and show a silver colour on the chain.

Is it due to time to change socket?

or just spray more chain oil?

Never have this problem before even i dun spray oil for 2 months. This time round i just spray the chain 2 weeks ago. Then this thing happen.

Thanks in advance......

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

maybe now weather hot, the oil evaporate faster...

A relationship is like a rose, How long it lasts, no one knows; Love can erase an awful past, Love can be yours, you'll see at last; To feel that love, it makes you sigh, To have it leave, you'd rather die; You hope you've found that special rose, 'Cause you love and care for the one you chose.

Maybe rainy session so wash off a bit but is recommand lube every 500km.

But this week quite hot.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

oli can evaporate meh

provide enough heat, metal also can vaporise....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

hi just to ask whether you all got this problem...

i been always watching my chain all this while. but today i saw a disappear in chain oil and show a silver colour on the chain.

Is it due to time to change socket?

or just spray more chain oil?

Never have this problem before even i dun spray oil for 2 months. This time round i just spray the chain 2 weeks ago. Then this thing happen.

Thanks in advance......

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...pic.php?t=19957

maybe this will help u lub it the correct way

cheers ;)

anyone tried LAB's chain , and the brand is VOX ? the box is blue in colour . how is it , does it break easily ? or maybe have anyone heard of this brand ? :sweat:

Never ever hurt someone's feelings... may it be wif words or action tat u can never take it back...do nt act like u don't care but actually u do really care...coz no1 noes wat u r tinkin...but urself n u could just hurt some1 badly juz by doin tat...

using it for afew months liao! havent break. how much are they selling??

feel free to contact me through my email....

Originally posted by astro_kel@Jan 10 2004, 12:26 AM

using it for afew months liao! havent break. how much are they selling??

realli so can tahan ah ? i got it at $70 , including sprockets. how is the chain ? good anot har ?

Never ever hurt someone's feelings... may it be wif words or action tat u can never take it back...do nt act like u don't care but actually u do really care...coz no1 noes wat u r tinkin...but urself n u could just hurt some1 badly juz by doin tat...

Guest ~deNso_iRidiUm~
Originally posted by Axo_vampire@Jan 10 2004, 04:01 AM

realli so can tahan ah ? i got it at $70 , including sprockets. how is the chain ? good anot har ?

plus spockets? onli $70 :confused: