my raider's diaphragm also tore just 6mths of riding... replacement at guan hoe was a good $78 for that piece of damn rubber. and the old man at guan hoe didn't tell me its due to using high RON quality petrol...

but funny thing is after replacing i am still using RON98 and above and no such thing happen liao.

frankly speaking, raider at stock standard is more than enough to kick all other bikes of its class's arse. the power is very raw too. IMHO, too much modification of the raider will led to frequent visits to the workshop.

speaking of which, i do miss my raider. which is my v first bike since i got my lic. :lol:

c'est la vie~

• Replies 1.3k

gotta agree with u lost_soul..too much mod can lead to empty pockets..hahaha.. had a taste of it myself. but after all the trial and error my bike is all good. only thing to change now is the front sprocket to size 14, change my acessories to the one i have ordered, colour my bike black and hey presto!! its done..anyway just to update u guys..my bike current tops is 159km/hr. take care

Okay looks lik we all suffered the same problm about the diaphragm...

on more thing... i need help... do you guys where i can find the stering cone bearing for raider?

i went up to KL a few months back and i guess the road did a nasty job on my steering... i've been asking around and all the shops that i've ben to say that they dont have it... even at rowell rd, b plus, also whn i called up guan hoe... sigh.. if you guys know of anywhere i can replace my bearings please please please let me know...

oh yeah... im placing an order for suzuki aftermarket parts from thailand thru a friend of mine in jb... so anyone wants to join in do let me know aight???

How about we meet up this friday/saturday/sunday at seletar dam? long time never been there... that's if you guys want to...

hey jahatz... go n get your horns working... dangerous without it you know... you can actually get a switch for you electric starter... im using fast throttke too so i added another switch for my electric starter... my horn switch still on the left side and yeah no need to pull clutch... hehehe...

im using fiamm electric horns... some people say too loud but i say better cos most taxi drivers that i horned using stock ones simply couldnt hear it... aftr i changed to fiamm ones, there were less cases of other motorists failing to see me...

ok... gotta go... take care... dun take drugs...

Let's make music, not noise...

MisledSoulRider: i changed my steering cone bearing twice at JB's AGL. no complains. RM70 can try there...

jahatz: 159km/h is madness. :lol: as our speedo is measured from our front sprocket, any changes to either the rear or front sprocket will result in an inaccurate reading.

145km/h is the fastest i tried on my raider, everything stock including tyres. the moment i changed my sprocket, the readings gone hay-wired.

i ever tried side by side with a car at 120km/h. and the readings are +(-) 3 - 5km/h error. with a spark135, my meter only 65km/h and the spark is already 80km/h. so i suggest sticking to stock sprocket to get the most accurate reading of the speedo.

if you wan power, i suggest using a bigger header with stock pipe... and of course, try using back the stock profile tires... u will be surprised. :D

lastly ride safe! rainy season...

c'est la vie~

Misledsoulrider- yup gonna get my horn fixed soon,thanx for the concern. as i say my bike is really cocked up nw..btw u can try changing ur steering cone at where lost_soul recommended. i have one place in mind but i wont recommend it coz lots of bikers hate that shop. :) hmmm... i wanna meet up too but currently not now coz as i say bike cocked up.paiseh leh. my bike will be ready in 2 days maybe when im free we can meet up then.

lost_soul- yup i know that the reading is inaccurate, maybe the actual is more or actual is less but one thing i can tell u is without any aerodynamics 159km/hr really cause my bike 2 shake like all hell break loose.hahaha.. btw i wont be going back to the stock tires coz got bad memories with it, self skidded at cte extreme right lane at a weekday evening when the traffic is heavy. frnt car jams brake and i had to do an e brake everything was fine till the very last moment nearing the car my front tire skids and whole bike just went down wif me skidded for abt 5-6 meters near the erp gantry..face nearly kiss the car bumper but luckily the driver drove of in time.. tot my fundamental of e brake is wrong but second time i was riding at 60km/hr and brake to slow down to corner the rear tire just skids, luckily i manage to get the bike under control again..hehehe. but thanks for the pointer and by the way u explain it ur sure to be great wif bikes. hope to meet u and ur wave soon

IRC suxs man... 2nd week of riding i kissed the tarmac coz i brake a bit too hard on rear. damn.

i mean stock tire profile but using better brands like michelin's pilot sporty, bridgestone's battalax and dunlop's tt900... normally most ppl will recommend front and rear 90/80 for cornering. i used that before and realised that the front tire hits the mudguard easily. so i changed to front 80/80 rear 90/80. but FC increased and pick-up suffered. so i thought of using stock profile or front 70/90 rear 80/90, but soft compound tires. this make the bike light. but no more cornering. (actually crap lah... i also got corner with stock tires... maybe is how low you wan it to be. KFC riders also corner with the waves' stock tires. is got balls a not. :lol:)

one thing gotta be careful is the bike is light. ard 95 - 100kg. try stopping or braking at high speed is crazy. no matter how good your tires are also no use one...

and i am riding an auto now... :cool:

c'est la vie~

okie.. i tried reducing my front sprocket by one teeth. (rear still stock 43) pick up is excellent. i am practically flying from one traffic light to another. but on the highway, the engine screams and feels v pushy at ard 80km/h... vibration very high and the chain sags very fast.

then i use back stock front and reduced my rear from 43 to 39. very smooth riding, but the rpm drops too easily and the bike easily dies off at low gears. sometimes clutch in while crossing hump the bike's engine killed off. and of course v high FC due to high rev coz the bike accelerates suffers a great deal.

regarding the speedo thing. if your sprocket is for acceleration (pick up) your speedo reading will be higher than your true speed. if is for long distance (top-end) your speedo reading will lower than your true speed. errors can go up to +(-) 15km/h.

not to mention, i love the bike's response at the 5th gear. in fact, acceleration from 40km/h to 100km/h on the 5th gear is what makes this bike exciting. the 6th gear is more for cruising. i am quite a "pick-up" person. so most of the time i only ride at 80 - 90km/h on the roads. depending on mood also. :lol:

all these are based on my own experience. like you guys, i spent more than 2k on that bike not including servicing (which i do monthly or every 2000km), petrol and installments... come to think of it, after so much money spent, in the end i used back stock for everything, coz stock is the best. except the horns. yeah. :lol:

c'est la vie~

AGL... AGL... at JB???

can someone give me the address or direction or landmark as to where this bike shop is??? i really need to change it... my steering is killing me...

fun fact about the raider's sprockets...

F14 R42 top speed 145

F14 R40 top speed 130

F13 R40 top speed 149 but lacks a bit of accelaration as compared to

the first combination

F13 R40 top speed 151

oh yeah, im using o-ring chains for my raider and guess what... its been 3 monthsnow and the tension is still there... i havent even tightened it at all... of course you might need to cough up a lil bit more money...

all this is measured with an R1 beside... depends on what u want actually whether u want high end or pick up... for me singapore roads is enough to use for pick up... cos too many traffic lights...

oh yeah and if you do change cdi and header... it will easily add another 2Hp to it...

for mod crazy people... u might want to change to high-cam and big bore kit... this you can get at yuh loong motors at defu... but dont know how much will cost and also you will need to rest your bike there for a few weeks maybe a month...

psst... seletar dam this friday or saturday evening??? do let me know ya???

before i forgot... happy deepavali holidays everyone!!!

only riders who ride raider b4 knows the feelings.. the power is unexplainable and yes the 4th and 5th gear is the part where u can really feel the bike fly.

btw i sprayed my bike black liao, plus change front sprocket to 13 rear maintain 43 and i love how the bike juz move off..smoooooth....btw thanks for the fun facts misledsoulrider..and thanks for the explaination lost_soul. too bad the president no longer active in the forum if not surely he can share a few pointers.

btw maybe im going to the upcoming race in the weekends and if any raiders going there maybe can meet up..long time never show off my yoshi pipe but then again.....500 bucks...better go use to mod my bike then give govt..hahaha

too bad the president no longer active in the forum if not surely he can share a few pointers.

if u dunno... i am BluE_StreaK... i changed my nick. :lol:

and no, i am not the president, dun listen to what the rest crapped. i am just more active in this forum in the past as compared to you guys and seriously that doesn't make me the president of the raider community. and also sadly i am not riding my beloved raider anymore.

if u scroll a few pages up.. page 9 i think, u shd see my ex-bike. its the totally white raider with gold rims and red calipers. quite miss that bike actually. :cry:

its basically a stock bike with lots of cosmetic mods. haha... i sprayed the bike white cause its really too slim and sleek. and no offence, its small enough, black will make it looks even smaller. and to be safe, at least wear a bright helmet.

and is there any race? i would like to see the raider in action. the last race for cubs is ard april 2006 when it is still open to all makes and class.

ride safe!

c'est la vie~

haha..ok now i know..btw nice bike. wondering if theres any new owner to that bike. no wonder the way u talk abt bikes is the same. hehehe.

yah thanks for the advise and no offence taken. i wear a bright red helmet so i think its no prob..

yah i recalled the burning raider during that race. aprilia front forks rite!! he spent thousands modding that bike according to my fren the mechanic. now since the race is only for yamaha sadly no one understood the power tis small machine offer.

i think its an upside down fork, big bore kit, yoshi pipe with extra big header, rear tire is 110/90!

i saw it at ace motoring when i was doing my bike there... really awesome. too bad it skidded and caught fire.

c'est la vie~

hey misledsoulrider!!

im still here,just been bz lately with work.. my bike is all black liao and in perfect condition except for the ticking sound is back..damn!! i've change that tensioner two time already yet it only last for a mth only..sian ah.. any body here knows how to make that damn thing stop ticking and last??? irritates me just like wat my sonic did to me..

im fine for u meet up..anybody else here tat is alive to meet?hahahaha

sad lah raider community so low..but as the saying goes..........We're a rare breed!! lets make the meet up sumwhere intresting..like town area or any kopitiamz coz im a rather shy guy lah..scared it;ll be a boring meet up...anyway the stuff i ordered frm jakarta not here yet due to my financial prob last mth so i just send the money two days back.. hopefully they receive it and send the stuff a.s.a.p.. cant wait to project my bike again..

hey misledsoulrider!!

im still here,just been bz lately with work.. my bike is all black liao and in perfect condition except for the ticking sound is back..damn!! i've change that tensioner two time already yet it only last for a mth only..sian ah.. any body here knows how to make that damn thing stop ticking and last??? irritates me just like wat my sonic did to me..

the ticking sound might not be from your tensioner. check your valve seal. might be the problem from there. change it and your bike will be like new. :thumb:

c'est la vie~

Lets meet up!!! Today or tomorrow? Anyday is fine with me... its the school holidays and i dont have to teach! Muahaahaahahaaa... HEre's my contact number... just sms me if you feel like meeting up...

Yeah, im not a teacher teacher though... i teach music as enrichment programme and also as part of their music syllabus...

Raiders! Still looking forward to that meet-up...

Up to date, saw 5 different raiders on the road...

1 belonging to jahatz... while it was still green black

2 FZplate with Givi 35box

3 FBA plate with stainless steel header

4 FZ plate with red lining on rims

5 FBA plate with Givi 33e box.

out of the above only numbers 1, 2 and 3 were riden by young adults... the others were senior citizens.

SMS me on the outing/meetup k?