• Replies 1.3k

YO PEEPS!!!!!

RAIDERS!!!

Huy Guys!!! im making a list of Suzuki Raider Riders in Singapore so that i can update you of news regarding the bike from Indonesia and Thailand. So please, Write in your name and email/msn below and re-post. thank you!!!

1. Aryandi - [email protected]

Hope there are more of you... heeheee

Let's make music, not noise...

recently in the morning, my bike's engine produce some metal sound, "tink tink tink". But after the engine is hot, the sound will go away. Mileage is 24k. Is it cause by valve and need to do valve clearance?

My mekanik told me need to dismantel the top part of the engine and check all the valve. If adjust valve clearance will be cheap, cost around sgd80, if need to change valve or other parts, it can cost around sgd300. How true is this? This is like top overhaul already rite??

its not the valve problem. actually it is the tensioner. tensioner normally wears out after every 20k - 30k mileage. if it wears out, then your timing chain will be loose this is what produces the tink tink tink sound. after warm up, the tensioner will expand and make the chain tight. haha, still ok to use but i recommend you to change before it gets too lose and your timing chain slips of the cam-shaft sprockets then can be a problem.

the valve wont cause this kind of noise, as the valve cant be heard...

this problem happened to me before, i ignored the sound and continued riding the bike until the timing chain slip off. had to change the valve, valve seal, timing chain, tenisioner, and clutch plate. a lot of work. haha, but lucky my piston is in top grade condition.

Suzuki raider engine is almost similar to Hayabusa engine (exceot that Raider only one piston) cos it has twin cams, meaning instead of one cam chaft connecting the piston to the gearbox, it has two, so only an experienced mechanic will find it easy to replace the timing chain and tensioner.if not then the person will have a hard time. if you want i can recommend you to some mechanics who have worked on my bike before, very experienced, friendly and he will guide you step by step on how the engine works. pm me if you want to know.

other than that always remember, 4-stroked have a very low chance of getting an engine overhaul because the engine is much more cooler than a 2 stroke. unless you have meddled with the engine (modified to high cam, lack of engine oil etc) so it wouldnt cost too much even when you overhaul.

As for me, i only did 2 changes of tensioner, 2 changes of clutch plate. other than that i change engine oil, oil filter, and apsrk plug at every 3000km.

hope this gives you a better idea. again, im not a fully qualified mechaninc, so better to ask around at a few mechanics and get their opinion and maybe the rest of the Raiders can share knowledge???

take care, dont take drugs.

Thanks MisledSoulRider,

I decided to bring my bike to my regular shop(Excel) tomorrow. Before that, my mechanic also mention tensioner might be one of the problem. He is honest and know what he is doing although he quite young. So far his quality of work also good. The problems is they dun keep any Suzuki raider parts, so need to source every time.

Where is the location of the shop that u recomend? I choose Excel cause near my house. Thanks for the info.

i regularly service my bike at De Xing at Ubi. Look for Kok Leong, he knows what to do. They do keep spares for the bike... though they might be very busy at times. If they can do it within that day then they will inform yuou, otherwise they will tell you when the bike will be ready.

The tensioner... yeah i replace mine every 30,000km. now 3 times already changed. waiting for end of year before doing a full service, replacing piston rings, bearings, valves, tensioner, clutch plate. enjoy!!!

Hi Guys...I have a set of Full system of Endurance Carbon Exhaust system for Raider150 & also adjustable lever. Suitable for track kaki and not for daily use..PM me if you're interested. tq

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/cupcai/SP_carbneddle001.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/cupcai/poshlever002.jpg

Guys, I got back my bike liao. The good news is only my tensioner need to change. Damage to my wallet was SGD68, is it expesnive? My air filter is dirty, they dun have stock so they just blow clean it only, any shop to recomend to change and how much does it cost? Preferable near Kaki Bukit.

see... told you only your tensioner

air filter can use other bikes one

maybe can ask them but then again it is still very few...

go to de xing at ubi... they have... or teo spray at defu or guan hoe at rangoon rd

Hi Guys...I have a set of Full system of Endurance Carbon Exhaust system for Raider150 & also adjustable lever. Suitable for track kaki and not for daily use..PM me if you're interested. tq

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/cupcai/SP_carbneddle001.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/cupcai/poshlever002.jpg

hey bro, give me a call 98457452, thanks!

jeremy!!! eh i think the raiders here wanna know ur jetting size and settings leh... hurry hurry hurry and post. im excited also... hehehehe

hey peeps, after a week of setting the PE carb (ala sp carb), I've gotton a much more ridable bike which is reponsive right from ide to red line. this didn't come easy as i had to set ride, set...and set again for the final result. this included checking the spark plug after each test run. finally a nice golden brown plug tip!!!

Heres are the jetting sizes for you to try.

Pilot 40

Main 128

adjustable needle on 2nd groove from the top

( this can be bought from B+)

I'm using original throttle with a modified cable for less hassale and $$, plus start button etc remains stock for reliablility.

Also maintained air box for better low and mid range, I strongly advice you keep the box. no idle problems.

Finally, are you ready...i'm still getting 40km/l normal riding, of course if you wrist gets heavy, consumption will increase, but i've found with normal street and highway riding, things remain unchanged. Oh forgot to mention, I'm also running a racing cdi. Top is now 140, up from 130. (i'm 70kg and don't prone down when testing top)

Hope this information helps.

yo misled, gotta exchange rides to create a bench mark point for comparing perforamce gains.

hmm... so ur setting is still safe to me... i mean it is still fuel friendly... mine is a bit on the harsher side though... took me a few weeks to set the carb properly and now finally can idle nicely at 1.5...

Im using UMA 28mm race carb with the following settings:

Pilot 40

Main 110

no airbox but K&N filters

Domino Fast Throttle Pulley system

Racing CDI

Fuel consumption is 30km/l

Top speed up to 151 from 143.

need to change oil, oil filter and plug at every 2000km though cos i like to run the bike up in high end... heehehe.

jems... we seriously need to meet up man cant wait to try your setting...

oh and i am hooking up with the other full forked cub cousins, hahaha, people riding honda sonic... i think we can share input and knowledge to make our rides a lil mean machine yeah?

do msg me whenever you are free... im an outing kaki... anywhere, anytime, anyone... heehee

hey peeps, after a week of setting the PE carb (ala sp carb), I've gotton a much more ridable bike which is reponsive right from ide to red line. this didn't come easy as i had to set ride, set...and set again for the final result. this included checking the spark plug after each test run. finally a nice golden brown plug tip!!!

Heres are the jetting sizes for you to try.

Pilot 40

Main 128

adjustable needle on 2nd groove from the top

( this can be bought from B+)

I'm using original throttle with a modified cable for less hassale and $$, plus start button etc remains stock for reliablility.

Also maintained air box for better low and mid range, I strongly advice you keep the box. no idle problems.

Finally, are you ready...i'm still getting 40km/l normal riding, of course if you wrist gets heavy, consumption will increase, but i've found with normal street and highway riding, things remain unchanged. Oh forgot to mention, I'm also running a racing cdi. Top is now 140, up from 130. (i'm 70kg and don't prone down when testing top)

Hope this information helps.

yo misled, gotta exchange rides to create a bench mark point for comparing perforamce gains.

hmm... so ur setting is still safe to me... i mean it is still fuel friendly... mine is a bit on the harsher side though... took me a few weeks to set the carb properly and now finally can idle nicely at 1.5...

Pilot 40

Main 110

Racing CDI

need to change oil, oil filter and plug at every 2000km though cos i like to run the bike up in high end... heehehe.

oh and i am hooking up with the other full forked cub cousins, hahaha, people riding honda sonic... i think we can share input and knowledge to make our rides a lil mean machine yeah?

do msg me whenever you are free... im an outing kaki... anywhere, anytime, anyone... heehee

wah.. :cool:

btw raider's meter is digital or normal ?..

digital my fren

LET ME LIVE MY LIFE THE WAY I WANT TO, FOR AT ITS END IT IS I WHO MUST DIE

Daelim Magma 125 - (2005)

Honda Wave S 125 - (2005 - 2006)

Suzuki Panther 150 - (2006 - 2007)

Suzuki GSXR 400 - (2006 - 2007)

Suzuki Raider 150 - (2007 - 2010)

Yamaha 125Z - (2010 - 2011)

Honda CB400 Revo - (2011 - present)

likewise bro, we've been playing cat and mouse for too long.

Pilot 40

Main 110

Racing CDI

see... told you only your tensioner

air filter can use other bikes one

maybe can ask them but then again it is still very few...

go to de xing at ubi... they have... or teo spray at defu or guan hoe at rangoon rd

I went to de xing at ubi and they don't have the air filter for our raider. May i know what other bike air filter are compatible?