Hi to all members:

Been riding VFR800 Gen 6 ABS for about 6months. Previous bike is 600cc sport bike. feel that my brake is very soft and the braking power is very weak for 800cc sport tourer especially this is quite a heavy bike.

Wonder does other vfr owner have the same experiences with their brake? My current brake set up is stock pump and stock disc, steel brake line and braking HH pad.

I have consider 3 upgrade options to improve the brake which is:

1) Stock brake pump from class 2 sport bike

2) Brembo RCS

3) De-link the abs and convert it to independent braking system just like normal sport bike.

Will like to seek some advise from fellow vfr riders. Thank you

• Replies 31

Wait....urs is not the original hoses? If hoses have been upgraded to steel hoses means the braking will be better. Before u do anything else go and get ur brake callipers serviced and change new brake fluid and rebleed them.

Anyway its ABS so the initial bite is not that strong but braking distance is shorter than non-ABS bikes.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg

Precisely!!! mine is 11 steel hoses and the brake does not give me the braking power!!!

service the caliper and pump already and do bleeding but still............

after all servicing and bleeding, change of brake pad is the more effectively however still not good enough.

I am not a racer on street or track, either am I a stunt performer doing stoppie. just an average rider however the brake is just not working well.......

Wait....urs is not the original hoses? If hoses have been upgraded to steel hoses means the braking will be better. Before u do anything else go and get ur brake callipers serviced and change new brake fluid and rebleed them.

Anyway its ABS so the initial bite is not that strong but braking distance is shorter than non-ABS bikes.

De-link is the better option but you lose the combine system as well as ABS which is better for touring purpose and in wet weather.

Mine came with combine only non ABS model, it was un-comfortable at first but get use to it later.

Precisely!!! mine is 11 steel hoses and the brake does not give me the braking power!!!

service the caliper and pump already and do bleeding but still............

after all servicing and bleeding, change of brake pad is the more effectively however still not good enough.

I am not a racer on street or track, either am I a stunt performer doing stoppie. just an average rider however the brake is just not working well.......

Do you know which brand of hoses was it changed to? Anyway did u ask a mech to check ur brake pump? That could be cause....brake pads only 1 recommendation EBC HH...cost a fortune but gives bite and long lasting.

There's a way to test......go ride @100km/h and pulled the front levers all the way....see how far ur braking distance is.....but make sure there's no other vehicles behind...

Mine is the 2002 model. Combine Braking System. I like the ideal of compresing the front brake lever and front brake well and the rear brake slightly. I believe is very useful on most road condition. once i de-link i lose this function and waste my 11 brake hose. Worst case, i may even need to buy 3 more new hose.

De-link is the better option but you lose the combine system as well as ABS which is better for touring purpose and in wet weather.

Mine came with combine only non ABS model, it was un-comfortable at first but get use to it later.

Do you know which brand of hoses was it changed to? Anyway did u ask a mech to check ur brake pump? That could be cause....brake pads only 1 recommendation EBC HH...cost a fortune but gives bite and long lasting.

There's a way to test......go ride @100km/h and pulled the front levers all the way....see how far ur braking distance is.....but make sure there's no other vehicles behind...

I dont know the brand of the hoses, just know its custom. No, I didnt ask mech to remove brake pump to check but normal visible check, no leakage. Really want a good brake system thus using EBC or braking. Its does improve but still not good enough.

I didnt really travel 100km and jam the brake however, i know that 80-90km approaching traffic junction some time really need to jam my brake reall hard.

was considerating brembo caliper to improve, if brake still under perform, brembo master pump. However really hurts my wallet. Wondering is changing caliper too much? or its worth well.

i dun find dekit is a good idea ? once u dekit then u only running on 2 piston infront and 1 or 2 piston behind, someone change the whole braking system to vtr1000 sp1/2 front and back use 14mm MC for rear pump,

i find the stock one quite good enough u can press quite hard w/o jamming the wheel which i find it quite o.O because it spread the pressure evenly

You can't see if there is anything wrong with the brake master pump from outside.....when ur bike is stationary...when u pull ur front brake lever what do you feel? Is it smooth or is there resistance...does the lever go back out smoothly or gets stuck halfway?

Either the brake master pump is going kaput or they could have bobo when fixing the hoses....just to remind u that the 11 hoses includes the clutch hose also.

Another way is to meet up some of the guys from here and maybe can give u a rough idea what is wrong.

So my advise is get ur front brake master pump checked first before doing anything else and please don't send to any Ah Beng/Ah Seng mech....find a good reputable one....

Really thank to all members here. My pump feel normal and working well. I understand that when pump is spoil, when you pull in the lever, it will not be smooth and may even jam or something like that.

Ha ha indeed i will be asking someone reputable to check, who is ah beng.

You can't see if there is anything wrong with the brake master pump from outside.....when ur bike is stationary...when u pull ur front brake lever what do you feel? Is it smooth or is there resistance...does the lever go back out smoothly or gets stuck halfway?

Either the brake master pump is going kaput or they could have bobo when fixing the hoses....just to remind u that the 11 hoses includes the clutch hose also.

Another way is to meet up some of the guys from here and maybe can give u a rough idea what is wrong.

So my advise is get ur front brake master pump checked first before doing anything else and please don't send to any Ah Beng/Ah Seng mech....find a good reputable one....

personally, I find the brakes on the VFR not having so much 'biting power' as compared to the Honda 600 and 1000 sports bike. As you correctly mention, part of the reason is due to the mass of the bike (when you're alone, it's like riding a 600 with a pillion!) and partly due to the CBS thingy.

I have tried hard braking at moderate speeds and realise it's quite difficult to lock the front or rear on the VFR. Not so true on a sports bike though, so perhaps this is one 'feature' of CBS. You just gotta give yourself more braking distance on a VFR?

But if you manage to delink the brakes, do let us know! I'm curious as well...

Email guay_hansen @hotmail.com

My blog at snowparang.blogdrive.com

http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/79866156/medium.jpg http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/95749015/original.jpg

Bro Jovi...if u wan to de-link yr CBS, just remove the fuse located at the fuse box (read the manual where is the location), if not wrong its located under the fairing below ur RIGHT handle throttle.....

But of cos, once u de-link & defunct the CBS, it will return back to convectional braking pattern like normal braking system. But dun forget that VFR is quite heavy, if it use convectional braking system & when u brake hard & wheel-lock yr rear tire, the consequence is.....(beyond description)....CBS is there to help u brake evenly your frt & bk brake. That's why VFR require a long braking distance than normal bike without CBS/ABS....so u must take double consideration before de-link

2002 Mar - 2002 May (NSR125 Hornet)

2002 May - 2003 June (Phantom 200)

2003 July - 2008 Sept (CB400 Spec 2)

2008 Oct - 2011 Mar (VFR800 Gen 6th Vtec)

2012 Nov - 2013 Apr (VFR800 Gen 5th Non-Vtec)

2013 Feb - 2014 Feb (CBR929 Firebladdie 2002)

2011 Feb - ?????? (DRZ400 SM K9) & 2011 June - ?????? (FZ1000S Gen 1 2002)

wow,many many thanks. really appreciate you info. I though that i need to change the hose again to de-link. now i understand that if it so easy,i may just try and test it. worst case just put back the fuse.

Bro Jovi...if u wan to de-link yr CBS, just remove the fuse located at the fuse box (read the manual where is the location), if not wrong its located under the fairing below ur RIGHT handle throttle.....

But of cos, once u de-link & defunct the CBS, it will return back to convectional braking pattern like normal braking system. But dun forget that VFR is quite heavy, if it use convectional braking system & when u brake hard & wheel-lock yr rear tire, the consequence is.....(beyond description)....CBS is there to help u brake evenly your frt & bk brake. That's why VFR require a long braking distance than normal bike without CBS/ABS....so u must take double consideration before de-link

VFR Riders...I just bought a second hand VFR800 Abs '04 bike...My abs indicator often start flashing during my ride.? so time it is ok...any advise what should I do?very irritating to see flashing abs indicator while riding.

Other than that..the bike is lovely...and love it.

Riding a VFR800Abs Year 2004.

so far does the engine die off when u ride for a short distance????

If YES: time to let the workshop to check on it. Might b coil gg to play a fool now, air-fuel ratio out very jialat etc...

If NO: most likely the previous owner got the problem of EFI solved for u, but the ABS memory system is full & not deleted. So have to delete all the memory so that the light willnot be on.......to do it....remove the main fuse, on the bike, start the bike, off the bike, & finally put back the main fuse...wala...DONE

2002 Mar - 2002 May (NSR125 Hornet)

2002 May - 2003 June (Phantom 200)

2003 July - 2008 Sept (CB400 Spec 2)

2008 Oct - 2011 Mar (VFR800 Gen 6th Vtec)

2012 Nov - 2013 Apr (VFR800 Gen 5th Non-Vtec)

2013 Feb - 2014 Feb (CBR929 Firebladdie 2002)

2011 Feb - ?????? (DRZ400 SM K9) & 2011 June - ?????? (FZ1000S Gen 1 2002)

Thanks MT23... My engine did not die off..it seems to be ok.

Only when I ride at time the ABS indicator just blink. I did try to retrieve the problem code by removing the fuse and put it back as per service manual. as per below...

Retrievel Problem Code:

1.Remove NO1. and No.3 abs fuse (ignition off)

2.Iginition switch "on". The ABS indicator should turn on.

3.Wait for 5 second and the abs indicator should turn off.

4.Install either NO1 or NO3 fuse immediately within 3 second

5.Problem code is indicated by the number of times the ABS indicator blinks.

To erase:

Install the remaining fuse while the problem code is beign indicated.

Code erasure is complete once the ABS stay on.

Any advise?

So still having the same problem....blinking ABS indicator while riding....

Did u changed ur front tires recently? Sometimes when they put back the front tires the ABS sensor not connected correctly

personally, I find the brakes on the VFR not having so much 'biting power' as compared to the Honda 600 and 1000 sports bike. As you correctly mention, part of the reason is due to the mass of the bike (when you're alone, it's like riding a 600 with a pillion!) and partly due to the CBS thingy.

I have tried hard braking at moderate speeds and realise it's quite difficult to lock the front or rear on the VFR. Not so true on a sports bike though, so perhaps this is one 'feature' of CBS. You just gotta give yourself more braking distance on a VFR?

But if you manage to delink the brakes, do let us know! I'm curious as well...

Hansen: i believed COL did de-link his vfr before he sell it away.

JoviLoong: my 5th gen is stock in everyway and i manage to lock the front once and eat the road.

Oh about brembo, can check with motorworld. its the GSS now hahaha....

i remember clearly that COL change to CBR 1000 RR Brake calipers... its way way cheaper

Roger

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/53/59/3789535/1_767012671m.jpg http://photos.friendster.com/photos/53/59/3789535/1_940922888m.jpg

Still having the abs indicator flashing while riding....anyone know of a workshop that is good in troubleshooting ABS for VFR800 yr 2004? I do not which to delink my abs...i think it is a safety feature worth keeping. I just need to make it working good.

just my 2 cents, IMHO the VFR brakes very well. Was doing about 80-90 the other day.lights turned red, and hit the brakes. could hear the tyres locking a bit before the ABS kicked in. Stopped me well before the white line. For me, i usually pump my brakes a little before i ride. make sure it's all filled with brake fluid. Everything stock except double HH pads. cheers

TA200 - 10/2007 -

VFR800 ABS - 03/2010

http://www.seantmurphy.com/VFR/cartoon2.jpg

thanks for the information. didnt know cbr1000 caliper can fit directly. Do you still remember which year cbr? cause if i remember correctly, 929 and 954 are using conventional caliper mount and the 1st 1000cc cbr is radial mount.

Roger{;7180733']Hansen: i believed COL did de-link his vfr before he sell it away.

JoviLoong: my 5th gen is stock in everyway and i manage to lock the front once and eat the road.

Oh about brembo, can check with motorworld. its the GSS now hahaha....

i remember clearly that COL change to CBR 1000 RR Brake calipers... its way way cheaper

Roger