SBF Runners Cafe 2008 - FXR/VXR/RST

Originally posted by lilshah83@March 07, 2007 09:16 am

wah... dun really know how to answer ur qns leh....

it affects mostly 06/07 models since our fuel tank opening is on the outside and VERY accessible for the rain... wahhaha..

How to rectify..? i still haven find that answer... other than covering up your bike when not in use or park in a multi storey carpark... if ur riding... then bo pian... unless u want to step on the cover all the way... or put a piece of plastic over it. untill those people @ piaggio can do sumthing about it... we muz be creative...

Its an Italian bike... and from what i know... it doesn't rain much in Italy... so maybe the designers dun take this into consideration when they designed the bike. so we singaporeans muz suffer...

Maybe when u change ur engine oil, ask ur mech to drain the fuel tank also lah... then can remove any water inside @ the same time...

Hope it helps...

That day i go full service, mechanic siphon some of my fuel to clean my engine parts... V power leh.... heart pain see him use my V power to clean parts... :sian:

Hey lilshah83, thanks for your reply. I will try to do some preparations to try and avoid this from happening.

Just wondering, I haven't really had a look at the fuel cap yet, but anyone tried putting a rubber band (or something similar) around the fuel cap before closing it? To try and stop water from sipping in?

I am finding it very disturbing to know that this may be a problem to me when I least expect it :-(

• Replies 9.5k

Friday meet up u all going bo?

i tot i can go .. but bike ki chia aredi.. lol

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg
Originally posted by spy622@March 08, 2007 12:30 am

means u ride ur bike so long u nv pump more than 7l of petrol in b4 leh :sweat:

i ride my bike till dry... then muz push to Shell.. then pump until overflow... never reach 10L also... how?

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b396/lilshah/gilera-1.jpg
Originally posted by lilshah83@March 08, 2007 02:38 pm

i ride my bike till dry... then muz push to Shell.. then pump until overflow... never reach 10L also... how?

so now it furthur proves that the vxr06 has a small tank

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

It happened to me two days back, the rain came, my bike in the open. Engine die on me on the road.

Now, I allow the engine to run the water out of the system for 5 mins (water heavier than oil) and before move off.

Please note that the Gilera handbook do not recommend to use fuel 92 (anything 95 and above is acceptable ).

New runner owner here...

I finally managed to get one after so many bikes...

And i got an SP cos i like sound of 2 strokes, just like my 1st KTM long time ago...

If you guys got any meetups in north / central area ..

sms me 96974519 faz

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g172/dirtdynamics/logo2.jpg

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g172/dirtdynamics/IMG_0590.jpg

Just got a VXr200, stock bike 2003 model. The bike is exact stock condition. Below are a few stuff I want to do up. Can expert here advise me on the estimated cost and where find them. tks

1. Short wind visor.

2. Acerbis handguard

3. Sport side mirrors.

4. Fix IU inside front panel. ( Now it is fixed outside on side mirror)

5. Change exhaust. ( stock ones rusty already)

Appreciate if can attach pic as well. I am newbie here, next time got outing, pls sms me at 90908161. I also want to see how you do up your VXR200.

Originally posted by c0v3rt@March 08, 2007 01:49 am

Hey lilshah83, thanks for your reply. I will try to do some preparations to try and avoid this from happening.

Just wondering, I haven't really had a look at the fuel cap yet, but anyone tried putting a rubber band (or something similar) around the fuel cap before closing it? To try and stop water from sipping in?

I am finding it very disturbing to know that this may be a problem to me when I least expect it :-(

the rubber thingy is on the correct track but dunno if it might work...but the idea of putting something to prevent water leaking in from the fuel cap is correct]

im not using a 06vxr but seen quite a number up close...i suggest spend sometime observing how the stuff work so some prevention ideas might juz pop out

Originally posted by jimmy631@March 08, 2007 11:39 pm

Just got a VXr200, stock bike 2003 model. The bike is exact stock condition. Below are a few stuff I want to do up. Can expert here advise me on the estimated cost and where find them. tks

1. Short wind visor.

2. Acerbis handguard

3. Sport side mirrors.

4. Fix IU inside front panel. ( Now it is fixed outside on side mirror)

5. Change exhaust. ( stock ones rusty already)

Appreciate if can attach pic as well. I am newbie here, next time got outing, pls sms me at 90908161. I also want to see how you do up your VXR200.

All that can be found @ these scooter shops... either sunrise, tai hin or future scootering... ;)

Welcome to the Runner Family...

i really love the runner vxr. Twist and Go, relac jack ride. No hassle of using all my hands and legs to move. How much you pay to spray your bike design? How many days in shop to prepare and paint and let dry??

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@March 08, 2007 10:58 am

Friday meet up u all going bo?

maybe provided I can wake up on time for it :cheer:

Originally posted by ronnyz@March 08, 2007 01:09 pm

i tot i can go .. but bike ki chia aredi.. lol

call the doc to help lah :cheer:

Cant go tonite...

Mother's bdae..

My VXR exhaust pipe is rusty, not at the end can, but nearer to header portion. It is a stock pipe and I believe lots of vxr riders experience it. How you all deal with it?? spray new coat DIY or go bike shop?? Or change to aftermarket exhaust system??

Originally posted by jimmy631@March 09, 2007 12:14 am

i really love the runner vxr. Twist and Go, relac jack ride. No hassle of using all my hands and legs to move. How much you pay to spray your bike design? How many days in shop to prepare and paint and let dry??

It's all stickers babe... ;)

Originally posted by aleph@March 09, 2007 11:32 am

halo halo!!!! who's going for the meet???

etc

me werking leh... sianz...

How much money do you want to spend?

12 bucks will buy you a good quality exhaust paint (Tong Aik do sell this).

3 bucks should get you a good quality wire brush (hardware shop near you)

Brush exhaust.... wipe clean

Unleash the Picasso within you.

Or whip out your wallet and buy an aftermarket exhaust....

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

sorry for late reply.. today me working.. tml also.. sian.. lol.. How about we runners gather on the sunday? location and time depends on quote.. kkfc izzit a good meeting place for us? in the middle of sg ma.. hee* Those who interested can contact me..

Sms or call me 92712311 =)

NsR 150 FR4993S (10/2004-09/2005)

K5 Suzuki 600 FZ8272X (11/2005-06/2006)

Yamaha X1 110 FZ8002C (05/2006-06/2006)

Gilera VxR 200 FBA5760C (06/2006-10/2008)

Yamaha R6 FBE3486L (10/2008-03/2010)

Tmax FBE6116K (03/2010-06/2010)

Gilera VxR ST 200 FBH1989A (06/2010-04/2013)

Tmax 530 FBK2621M (04/2013-07/2015)

Honda PcX 150 AYxxxY (07/2015-??)

this threads coming alive again! 2 stroke kopi meetup at changi v soon leh oi!

we got one working at loyang. one at airport, one more camp at changi!

thompson prata also boleh!

=D

-------------------------

Originally posted by paper_box@March 10, 2007 04:50 am

this threads coming alive again! 2 stroke kopi meetup at changi v soon leh oi!

we got one working at loyang. one at airport, one more camp at changi!

thompson prata also boleh!

=D

Yo websta .. .

thomson lah.... i also can join in... wahahahaha

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g172/dirtdynamics/logo2.jpg

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g172/dirtdynamics/IMG_0590.jpg