SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

welcome bro.. im the last batch newbies purchase from mr lee too. :)

Thks bro! Heard from him there's a couple of SWs sold before me.

"Njoy ur success for 5 mins. Endure ur failure for 5 mins. After tat... move on!!!"

• Replies 6.4k

Anyone using 10W-40 EO for their final transmission oil?

Me just changed to EO... did't really feel any diff.

Why EO and not gear oil?

See link:

http://silverwing.org/cgi-bin/topic_show.pl?tid=905

http://silverwing.org/cgi-bin/topic_show.pl?tid=463

http://silverwing.org/cgi-bin/topic_show.pl?tid=1787

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hope the Malaysia Govt crumble under pressure from the public and will revert the decision....

Must re-calculate and see if its worth to go in for east-siders like me liao...

Have to wait and see..

Malaysia Govt also under pressure to improve investment at east malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak), where the real oilfields are located. But they can only get 10% of their earnings.

With the fuel subsidies, most of the earnings from Petronas will be reduced, leaving little for country reserves.

So the increase in fuel price seems to be govt desperate act. The fuel increase to RM 2.70 still good for us la but for the malaysians...:giddy: Some more their electricity bill also increase. Might trigger protests later..

Offtopic

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Why EO and not gear oil?

See link:

http://silverwing.org/cgi-bin/topic_show.pl?tid=905

http://silverwing.org/cgi-bin/topic_show.pl?tid=463

http://silverwing.org/cgi-bin/topic_show.pl?tid=1787

Am using engine oil as final drive oil too. as stated in the manual that i have..not diff. on feel oso..

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

Any of bros here installed the Leg Deflector Set? Izzit bought locally or ordered from the web? Price range?

"Njoy ur success for 5 mins. Endure ur failure for 5 mins. After tat... move on!!!"

Am using engine oil as final drive oil too. as stated in the manual that i have..not diff. on feel oso..

i'll just use the leftover eo from the 3rd bottle, its there afterall :angel:

better to follow manual n use eo with specified JASCO standard, otherwise may void warranty if suay suay something goes wrong there :p

but can always do a warranty "fitness reconditioning" before going in for warranty repairs :cheeky:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Any of bros here installed the Leg Deflector Set? Izzit bought locally or ordered from the web? Price range?

Got the link, wondering how it looks like.

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

Its been a while since I've post in this thread due to work, very bz lah.

I've just got my Silverwing 400 Euro version early last week. :angel:

After riding it for more than a week already, I have a few feedbacks to make.

My previous ride was an X9 Evo. . . .so naturally I will compare my new ride with my old one. Here is what I immediately noticed about my SW. . . .

The Pros. . . .

1. Engine power. . . .

So obvious. It's bigger CC so more power/speed and I really lurve the low engine sound with bass that it makes. . . and the growl coming from the twin hole exhaust, awesome.:cheeky:

2. Pick up

Is surprisingly good also, despite me hearing that parallel twin's pick up not so good compared to single one. (for 400 cc scoot, correct me if I'm wrong here) Pick up is definitely better den my old bike(which I have modified with full Polini performance parts and GPR exhaust)

Being parrallel twin, it is also better for long distance travel/touring and heard that its the only scoot in the 400cc range(if not wrong) to have this configuration. All the rest are single.

3. Cargo space

Very very good. . . .my X9 Evo can only put 1 full face or 2 half face helmets in the seat compartment.

My new baby. . . I've tried putting 2 full face (one flip up one and one normal full face, but small size). . .and it fits!! Add in a 46L or 52L Givi Maxia topbox and you are ready to go touring with luggage that can last you weeks :p hahaha

Oh did I mention that I can put a 1.5L water bottle in the left glove compartment and still have space to charge ure HP using the power outlet!!! And there is still a right glove compartment some more.

That is luxury compared to the X9 measly 1 small glove compartment which barely can fit my wallet and HP.

4. Ability to squeeze thru traffic

SW's length is slightly longer than X9 and weight is definately heavier. But despite its size, I'm please that I can still squeeze thru traffic. In fact, I think SW is easier to squeeze thru traffic than my old X9. Maybe mainly due to the bigger front area of the X9 (the wider "ears"/signal lights.) The SW is more sleek

And also. . . for a bike with this huge storage capability, I think this is very commendable. Try comparing it with those bigger CC touring bike with similar storage capacity as the SW. Those big touring bikes sure stuck, where else the SW can still happily move forward :thumb:

A very, very important factor for a person like me who carry a lot of treasure and go to work during peak hours. Thats wat sets us riders apart from drivers during those chaotic time.

5. Comfort

Seating and riding on the SW is a breeze. Pillion seat height is also lower than the X9, so better. Pillion doesn't feel like their head is sticking out in the open.

6. Bike handling

Again, for a big scoot, I think it handles pretty well, and riding is easy breezy despite its longer wheel base than the X9.

7. Styling

I used to think the design is 'obiang' compared to my old X9 last time, especially around the handle bar area. But after having a first hand feel/look at it, I began to love Honda's styling more and more. It have a commendable look and nice clean lines. I also love the sharp look from behind, giving it a streamline feel.

8. Built

The SW have this very solid, big CC bike feel to it, I dun noe why but it just have. Maybe its the weight, the size, the construction, the feeling of a new 1st hand stock bike. . . I dun noe. Even other 400cc scooter dun have this feel, (at least compared to piaggio's 400cc scoot). It's really very sturdy compared to my X9. Rili gave me the confidence that it can go all the way to Thailand and back without a sweat. Can't really explain it unless you ride it.

9. Maintenance

Too early to tell, but Honda engines are reputable to be less problematic. My old Italian stallion is a fussy ride and high maintenance. Italian spare parts being more costly than Jap's did'nt help either.

10. FC

With fuel prices increasing at an alarming rate, FC is an important factor.

For a 400cc automatic scoot, I heard SW's FC is better than those from the manual 400cc bike. . . eg. S4 (is that true?)

Compared to my old 200cc Evo, the FC is also quite close:cheeky:

Well not all bikes are perfect though.

Here are the Cons. . . .

1. Side mirrors

Already missing my huge X9 mirror (and integrated design with the front fairing/signal light) which gives a very good view of the back. (Looks like those mirrors from Merc cars but is ex if you broke it:P )

To me, it looks like the designers from Honda have overlooked this area. Feels like they just took an OEM naked bike mirror and attached it to the SW.

UGLY

Plus the mirror are attached to the handlebars rather than to the main body(eg. X9, Burgman, STX) mirror will turn with handle bar, no no good for me.

Oh, btw the mirrors also vibrates when riding at 70km/h and above. (have not encounterd this problems on my X9)

Very frustrating to see a blurred mirror view when trying to switch lanes.

Is the mirror mounted to tightly that may cause it to vibrate or is there a dampener of something that can reduce this vibrations?

Does anyone here knows how to counter this problem? :confused:

Safety is at risk here. . .

2. Shopping bag hook

Although I've mention that its has a huge cargo payload, it doesn't hurt to add this nifty feature just like the X9's. Very useful to hang your helmet when clearing spore customs, parking bike etc.

Hmmm . . . I'm already thinking of attaching a hook for my bike:cheeky:

3. Locks, locks, locks (glove compartment, underseat cargo, petrol lid)

Although the lock at the glove compartment is good, the ones on the petrol lid and seat compartment have to go man.

The Italians have an eye for details here.

They(the Japs) should learn from the Italians by having those nifty buttons to release the seat/fuel lid catches. Very convenient

convenient = time . . . and time = $$$

4. Hazard light

Where in the world is the hazard light switch????

Is there a way to install a switch that can activate the hazard lights?

Again safety is at risk here.

5. Spark plug an EO

Use to only change 1 spark plug and 1L of engine oil,

now x 2 :slapforehead:

But compared to other 400cc bikes, some use until 4 spark plugs and 4 liters of engine oil.:faint:

Hmmm. . . maybe this is a good point instead.:p

Conclusion:

Overall Silverwing is a very nice ride. Definately an improvement over my previous X9 Evo. (although I think they should reconsider changing their mirrors design)

Anyway, no bike is perfect

Every bikes has its pros an cons.

But this bike is near perfect for me

(So sorry for the super long post. Just tot that it will be great to share this info with you guys.

This is just my super long, 2 cents worth, sincere view of my new ride and hopefully people who

are considering to get a 400cc scoot, will give serious considerations to the SW and hopefully

the SW community can grow at a steady and healthy rate! Go Honda Go! :cheeky: )

CHEERS!!!:angel:

4. Hazard light

Where in the world is the hazard light switch????

Is there a way to install a switch that can activate the hazard lights?

Again safety is at risk here.

does this look familiar? red hazard light right at the centre (buy your own switch at sim lim tower) :D http://h1.ripway.com/kager82/HazardLight.jpg

how about this? hazard light at left signal assembly (rocker-switch provided) :D

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=59446&d=1208587494

both done at tai hin :thumb: but many motortiams also do :angel:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

wow bro greenday....... very good review here and you are really swinging me to the SW big time!!!

Date: 17 June 08 (Tuesday)

Time: 7.30pm onwards

Place: Kallang KFC

Objectives: meet new friends, look-see look-see other SWingers' gadgets, share tips on maintenance/mods/add-ons, TCSS, etc.

(nick/ride/contact)

1. scoobydoo / FJS400 / 90112330

2. siambee / FJS400 / 98456357

if only a few of us, how about we go eat prawn noodle soup at zion riverside hawker centre (opposite great world city)... one of the best i've tried in singapore :p

lets decide when the day comes nearer :angel:

~

Trips:

Hi, greenday.

I miss my X9 hook very much too. It's so useful.

If you manage to DIY a nice one, let us know.

It's a fact that the SW front fork is very soft.

Bounces during braking and accelerating and dips when you corner. Gives you a fright and your cornering will go out of line.

I've done a few trial and error tests so far:

Original Factory Setting (from observation after opening the fork) = 280ml and grade 10 oil.

Fork Oil level:

1. 300ml (8.5cm of air from fork opening) = too soft.

2. 330ml (7cm of air) = not bad. * My current setting.

3. 350ml (6cm of air) = lesser fork travel. ** Hmm... may try this later if I want the fork harder.

Fork Oil Grade:

1. 10W = very active. Handle too light for high speed.

2. 15W = Just nice for me.

3. 20W = very stable but feels heavy.

you can tell Boon Siew to play around with different oil? Or you service outside?

Change at outside workshop.

Mechanic strip the fork and I do the oil change and measurement.

A bit siong taking out and put back so many times but it's about my own comfort and safety... no choice.

Used to do similar for my X9 (by myself at my MSCP... X9 much easier to strip). Well worth the time cos bike very balance at high speed and also at slow speed in between cars. My final setting then was 170ml with 10W oil. Most bike shop would recommend 140ml but that is too soft for me.

wow, looks like you are really technical biased type huh?

BTW, I went to see the SW today, the underseat compartment is not that great....lose to X8 evo.....

wow, looks like you are really technical biased type huh?

BTW, I went to see the SW today, the underseat compartment is not that great....lose to X8 evo.....

Under seat not bad liao:

I got travelling tool set, raincoats, running shoes, sandals and bike cover under it. can put one open face helmet too.

Then again, I also have a top box comes free with the bike.

Saw a few XEvo on the road lately. Looks nice but the leg room like a bit short.

From Loois.

$12500 all in with box.

Instalment via GIRO.

Oh, I was qouted $12500 this week too.... OTR

BTW bro, they have to drill hole for the base plate to fix box right? What box they gave you? Givi?

Yup. Givi 'Simply' or something... forgot the model.

They drilled 3 holes, triangularly spaced.

Geeezzz..... I haven ask for any freebies from them yet after signing the papers... Wonder wat can I ask for.... Any suggestions fellow riders? :cheeky:

Ask for any Arai or Shoei. haha.

If success you da powderful ler.

But seriously, the original horn should go.

I forgot to ask for a free one cos already got the box.