SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

THough the silverwing is 218kg, the CG is very low. Might wanna try go outing then see if she can do anything about the bike......

Her current bike is shouting to be replaced. I'm gona bring her to the shops today to at least let her sit on it to move abit here and there so that she try to gage her ability whether she is able to handle or not. 218 kg is kinda heavy, only about 40 kg lighter then my FJR. Maybe I should let her try to mount main stand with my bike first.

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e54/quincy77/MONSTERENERGY.jpg

It is when power is wedded to chronic fear that it becomes formidable.

• Replies 6.4k

Her current bike is shouting to be replaced. I'm gona bring her to the shops today to at least let her sit on it to move abit here and there so that she try to gage her ability whether she is able to handle or not. 218 kg is kinda heavy, only about 40 kg lighter then my FJR. Maybe I should let her try to mount main stand with my bike first.

Riding a SW400, I always park side stand due i always love to wear my Croc shoe to soft to park main stand!Don't like to park main stand,too heavy and no strength to pull it,seriously consider for gal to do it. Too much stress and energy for gal to handle! I think don't have the technique to do it. :sian:

any advice to pull the bike to main stand!:dot:

Now: Silver Wing GT 400

2s: paggio hexagon 150, Honda helix 250, yamaha majesty250, Honda forza 250, paggio x9 500,Silverwing 400 JDM,Silverwing 400 euro, Silverwing GT400.

Still getting clearance from home minister.

Should be covering KL (Hard Rock?), Penang (2 nights) and Cameron during Deepavali holiday.

Building confidence for my bike and my butt.

Not worry your bike get stolen in Malaysia? Any precaution to park overnight in Genting ,KL? Went JB a few time but never overnight parking! Can't imagine no bike to come back if lost in Malaysia! U go solo to Genting? no problem going up the hill. Only try KL with bike ,yet to conquer Genting!!:cheeky:

2s: paggio hexagon 150, Honda helix 250, yamaha majesty250, Honda forza 250, paggio x9 500,Silverwing 400 JDM,Silverwing 400 euro, Silverwing GT400.

Not worry your bike get stolen in Malaysia? Any precaution to park overnight in Genting ,KL? Went JB a few time but never overnight parking! Can't imagine no bike to come back if lost in Malaysia! U go solo to Genting? no problem going up the hill. Only try KL with bike ,yet to conquer Genting!!:cheeky:

dunno how many silverwings or even small CC scooters go up & down Genting & Cameron Highlands liao...

if your kind of bike, malaysia dun have, do u think anyone will wanna steal it?

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Riding a SW400, I always park side stand due i always love to wear my Croc shoe to soft to park main stand!Don't like to park main stand,too heavy and no strength to pull it,seriously consider for gal to do it. Too much stress and energy for gal to handle! I think don't have the technique to do it. :sian:

its actually the technique to do it. i've even seen a gal put a Hayabusa on a main stand. so wat do u think? haha..........

TEAM RedBull Singapore

If your SW is 2006 or later it will be easier to park on main stand as the stand position and design was modified by factory. If still got problem then find a slab of stone or wooden plank about half inch (1.25cm) thick (Max one inch 2.5cm) and broad enough to put behind the rear wheel, then roll back wheel onto the slab or plank and then try park on center stand. Will be a lot easier and then u just take the slab or plank and put in your seat or rear bread box.

When you are parking with center stand (without the slab or plank) grip the left handle bar with left hand making sure front wheel straight, then grasp the left seat pillion grip firmly whilst standing with feet at least 12 inches apart and more towards the rear wheel. Then whilst making sure that both legs of center stand are touching the ground use your right leg to stand on firmly to the center stand prong and lift up the bike with both arms same time. Sure to work !!!

I took the Bukit Beruntung exit after coming down from the north (Ipoh). The upslope twisties were nice becos got trees on both sides all the way till the cable car station.

As for coming down, I just let it cruise free gear all the way. Before every turn, tap the rear brake a bit (most times the speed too high and no engine brake) then lean the bike to clear the corner. Fun! ** but watch for any car behind u before u do that.

I parked very near the B3 lift lobby @ 1st World. High human traffic throughout day/night. Got security persons on bike every now and then. I also pad lock the front wheel, applied hand brake and bike cover.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Btw, if anyone wants to go Genting, the danger is not the twisties but the stretch of road just after you re-joined the Karak Highway on your way home.

I almost went off the highway even at 90km/h!

The road is steep downwards and curvey and many vehicles already left their marks on the road dividers.

Nice for race bikes but for scoots... better not.

guys, if i want to duplicate my SWing keys, how do i do it? MAH Motor will keep a copy of the key for themselves and I will be given one. I know that the right procedure to duplicate a HISS key is to bring all of the keys, right?

1. where do i go to duplicate (with programming) keys?

2. how to bring all the keys when MAH is keeping a copy of the key to themselves? hmmm

pls enlighten me

thx in advance

was told by MAH Motor that they dun have new IU yet when I asked for it. Heard that the new IU not out yet but I heard from the news more than a mth ago that the new IU will be rolled out to bikes.

If your SW is 2006 or later it will be easier to park on main stand as the stand position and design was modified by factory. If still got problem then find a slab of stone or wooden plank about half inch (1.25cm) thick (Max one inch 2.5cm) and broad enough to put behind the rear wheel, then roll back wheel onto the slab or plank and then try park on center stand. Will be a lot easier and then u just take the slab or plank and put in your seat or rear bread box.

When you are parking with center stand (without the slab or plank) grip the left handle bar with left hand making sure front wheel straight, then grasp the left seat pillion grip firmly whilst standing with feet at least 12 inches apart and more towards the rear wheel. Then whilst making sure that both legs of center stand are touching the ground use your right leg to stand on firmly to the center stand prong and lift up the bike with both arms same time. Sure to work !!!

Thank for the advice! very detail. Mine is 2005 JDM model.:cheeky:

I took the Bukit Beruntung exit after coming down from the north (Ipoh). The upslope twisties were nice becos got trees on both sides all the way till the cable car station.

As for coming down, I just let it cruise free gear all the way. Before every turn, tap the rear brake a bit (most times the speed too high and no engine brake) then lean the bike to clear the corner. Fun! ** but watch for any car behind u before u do that.

I parked very near the B3 lift lobby @ 1st World. High human traffic throughout day/night. Got security persons on bike every now and then. I also pad lock the front wheel, applied hand brake and bike cover.

Thank for advice! Better cover up the bike to resist temptation from ppl! This bike is so rare in Malaysia, wonder how much SW cost there?:dot:

Love the scenery and the long Highway! It time to get my bike for touring!

But i better change my tyres for down slope ride from Genting! What tyres to recommend?:thumb:

was told by MAH Motor that they dun have new IU yet when I asked for it. Heard that the new IU not out yet but I heard from the news more than a mth ago that the new IU will be rolled out to bikes.

New IU already out for bikes.

Saw 1 guy brought it down to FS for installation 2 weeks ago.

Love the scenery and the long Highway! It time to get my bike for touring!

But i better change my tyres for down slope ride from Genting! What tyres to recommend?:thumb:

My stock IRC was still ok probably becos it was dry weather throughout the trip.

I should be changing to the Metzler Feelfree in a couple of weeks.

Those who have changed could post some reviews here?

Haha. An evil thought... finding local girl friends as my tour guide for every location I'll be visiting.

I used to have friends from Thailand and Taiwan through Chatrooms (stopped when I got too busy). Think I should start making overseas friend again.

Shhh... don't tell my home minister.

guys, if i want to duplicate my SWing keys, how do i do it? MAH Motor will keep a copy of the key for themselves and I will be given one. I know that the right procedure to duplicate a HISS key is to bring all of the keys, right?

2. how to bring all the keys when MAH is keeping a copy of the key to themselves? hmmm

pls enlighten me

thx in advance

Ans: Buy the blank keys ($22 per key) from FJT Parts and Accessories Pte Ltd

15 Rowell Road, Singapore 207973, Tel: 63925927. Then cut it at the any key shop (mine cut at shop next to regina biker shop), then

get it programme at BoonSiew as my SW is from BanHong Bro (was charged $53 incl gst for 2 keys)

thanks kool74. that helps a lot.

but a spare key would be withheld at MAH. Heard that all keys muz be brought for programming else wun be able to start the bike nxt time. I am not sure which key wun able to start the bike.

Bro... LTA website states tat all vehicles roll out after 1st September should come with new ERP

Please do not be smoked by the shop.. Insist on that... If they say don have.. wait for their stock...

they simply wanna get rid of old stock and tell u don have...FREAK THEM:dot:

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

new SW (agent bike from boon siew) only has euro models FJS400, JDM and 600cc in Sg are older ones... probably pre-2006 bikes

FYI...

Boon siew nowadays take bike from Mah Motor... Simply becos.. Mah has more capital .... Boon siew now becoming more of an AGENT rather then Principal shop.

JDM 6000 came in SG 10 pcs back in 2002-03 only....

Jam 400 is after that.. selling until like 2 yrs b4 Euro took over...

bottomline....... no more new 600 anymore...

Euro 400 FC best so far.....

wat else... relax and enjoy.....

Those wanna try power of 600 ... look for adriel..HAHAHAHA

along with SOLID SUSPENSION.. muhahahha

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

parking main stand is easy,

feel both on ground and use body weight to step.

only take down from main stand is difficult.

try not let e bike move forward by using parking brake.

thanks kool74. that helps a lot.

but a spare key would be withheld at MAH. Heard that all keys muz be brought for programming else wun be able to start the bike nxt time. I am not sure which key wun able to start the bike.

Yes, bike shop will keep one of the key unless u make full payment for ur bike. If ur's is euro version which come with HISS system then u will need to programme the key. U wun be able to start the bike unless u use a programmed key to "disarm" the HISS, altho it can turn on the power of the bike.

FYI...

Boon siew nowadays take bike from Mah Motor... Simply becos.. Mah has more capital .... Boon siew now becoming more of an AGENT rather then Principal shop.

Not true leh.... Mah Motor brings in more of Parallel Import bikes.

How i know? Not nice to say in here. PM me if in doubt.

Boon Siew only take some spares from Mah, as Mah brings in more PI spares.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Hi All SWing forum readers/contributers.

I know this topic had been discussed for countless times in this thread already,

but it is very difficult to look through 5000 post to get the info that is wanted. So maybe this topic shud be sticky or put into a separate thread.

I heard that SWing does not have 1 dominant tyre brand that everyone is using, unlike my previous X9 ride where the preferred or so called 'best' is Michelin Gold Standard.

As tyres are a very very important part for a bike to me either than brakes, I would like to know exactly which brand is good for what and its prices. Although I won't mind paying more $ for better tyres as safety is of highest concern.

Can someone here enlighten me or point me to the correct post?

Thanks in advance!

Currently I'm using stock IRC tyres.