SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

Guys, for the touchup paint, thanks for the suggestion. will head down autobacs soon.

btw, have been a wonderful ride with Silverwing but i feel the backrest is still very "front" even when i adjusted it all the way to the back.

bro when u going to get the touch-up paint? i need to get too...mine is silver color...how abt urs? Maybe we can share? :cheeky:

• Replies 6.4k

bro when u going to get the touch-up paint? i need to get too...mine is silver color...how abt urs? Maybe we can share? :cheeky:

mine is the grey color. my paint work a bit chipped off near the edge. :faint:

I tune mine at K & T, within the row of workshops near TP HQ at Ubi.

Check the price 1st before agreeing to service.

Normally I don't ask... so can't give you a quote.

hey thanks SW9000

mind sharing how they tune??? I feel mine running a little rich since the spark plug super black ......

How do mechanic tune the Silverwing???

I . L . T . N . N

argh, i dropped my bike SWing. just 2 hours after i took out. haiz heart pain. minor scratches on the exhaust pipe cover and right-hand side fairing towards the edge of the console. any suggestions to patch the scratches up?

Ouch...... another alternative is to look at ebay..... sometime can find some parts of fairing at relatively low cost... provided the colour matches.....

I also looking for some parts of the fairing...... fingers cross....

I . L . T . N . N

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4673051#post4673051

yoyoyo... a 07 T-max letting go for COI ....

check it out yo........

i know few fella hand itchy wanna switch to T-max right.. hehehhe

hey hey... not me not me... i still very happy with my silverwing :thumb:

even if change... should be burger exec ba... my bike need to have a big "stomach" to swallow my barangs :cheeky:

considered TMax but decided to drop the idea totally coz practicality is wad scooter for. beside, when i was still riding super4, whenever a SWing zoomed passed, really LOVED it due to its look and the exhaust.

i also tot the exhaust looks cool... but beware, the set costs >$1k :giddy:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I had switch from my stock Bridgestone 'Hoop' tyres to Metzeler 'Feelfree'. All i can said is that it works fine to me. :thumb:

Care to share where & how much u chg to Metzeler 'Feelfree' tyre?

scoob... temptations...

hahahah

Well.. i would say Burger650 i sweet too.....

Compartment is 62L if i not wrong..... Heavy front.... more stable @ NSHW on 140-160.......

Cos i tried mine"O swinger @ tat speed.... . feels bit light upfront...

Burger no problem man.......

Steptronic somemore.. hahha

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Today my SW up the lorry :sian:

Bike cannot restart after sending my gf to work. Initially thought battery weak or spark plug with some moisture...

Later found my bike magnetic coil burn..

http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/1493/picture1wd3.th.jpghttp://img87.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif

My bike is only 22 months and less than 30K mileage. Although is my first bike reliability issue to date, I feel by Honda reliability standard, this coil failure comes a bit too premature.. :sian:

FYI, the magnetic coil change don't come cheap

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Bike cannot restart after sending my gf to work. Initially thought battery weak or spark plug with some moisture...

My bike is only 22 months and less than 30K mileage. Although is my first bike reliability issue to date, I feel by Honda reliability standard, this coil failure comes a bit too premature.. :sian:

Well, at least it it working now :cheeky:

when i was riding hm from work, my SWing felt heavy on the throttle. seems like need to open more throttle. i tot it was due to charging of my hp but i stopped the charging halfway and it was better but heavier felt heavy again after some distance. any idea wad happened? i checked my tyres pressure on the way home, over-inflated (FRONT: 330kpa, REAR 300kpa). i guess tyres were hot. hw many kpa difference between hot and cold tyre?

http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/1493/picture1wd3.th.jpghttp://img87.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif

wow sad to hear this..

i think common problem for SW is battery and coil problem only.

that is the only issue i heard people complaining.

sainz. warranty going to end soon.

hahah

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

sorry to hear me.....btw...

i think i saw ur coil just now.... only one small part chow taa.....the rest still look ok....

I . L . T . N . N

Do you guys send your SWing to Planet?

Where do you guys normally service your SWing?

What are the timelines to service the SWing?

Hehe paiseh asked too many questions.

when i was riding hm from work, my SWing felt heavy on the throttle. seems like need to open more throttle. i tot it was due to charging of my hp but i stopped the charging halfway and it was better but heavier felt heavy again after some distance. any idea wad happened? i checked my tyres pressure on the way home, over-inflated (FRONT: 330kpa, REAR 300kpa). i guess tyres were hot. hw many kpa difference between hot and cold tyre?

Hey, I got the same problem. There was once I start my bike and ride, but feel different. Felt very heavy. . . . . .

Then realised I forgot to release my hand brake :faint:

Luckily short distance only:cheeky:

Yea. . . . I wanna ask the same question also, where do most of you guys send your beloved SWing to service?

I pretty sianz with the workshop that I usually get my bike to service. Felt they always beat around the bush and sometimes found them not so honest. And this is even after I service with them for a few years already!

Please recommend the good wkshops to hang out at, Please!

Workshops with good services should be acknowledged, so they will get more business. Then those dishonest ones will have no customers, so they will realised that honesty is the best policy!:angry:

eh... how come everyone asking same questions? If you try a bit to readup previous pages.. you'll know who and where is botak (Wonderful motor @ macpherson) located....... he is da man for the job. Nothing fancy. Just good mech for ya scoot.

Those prefer more fanciful one .. can go future scootering ......

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Yea. . . . I wanna ask the same question also, where do most of you guys send your beloved SWing to service?

I pretty sianz with the workshop that I usually get my bike to service. Felt they always beat around the bush and sometimes found them not so honest. And this is even after I service with them for a few years already!

Please recommend the good wkshops to hang out at, Please!

this depends on what you mean by servicing... general servicing/maintenance? mods & add-ons? repairs? ???

if your SW is bought recently, you'll probably need only general servicing, i.e. change EO, oil filter. stock sparkies can last easily for at least ~10k kms and radiator water >1 yr with normal riding. such basic maintenance could be done ourselves if not for not having a convenient/proper means to discard the used EO.

if other things go kaput, then suay suay bo pian got repair shop lor :lol:

for something more major within 1st year... hey! isn't that what the warranty is for?

but remember to remove the "voidables" that could give BS an excuse to void our warranty :angel:

in fact, botak has advised that we go claim warranty before he will lay his hands on our new-ish bike, in case warranty kenna void

for something more major after 1st year or non-warranty jobs or add-ons... strongly suggest go to shops that either "specialise" in scooters or has experience in scooters.

i ever went to a shop to fix my electric horn, after fiddling with the front fairing for about 15 mins, the mech gave up and put everything back :faint: i also gave up and went straight to Tai Hin, whose mech fitted the horn swee swee without taking out the front fairing (only remove the wind shield panels, same access to headlights) :p

so where to go?

if you bought from Mah or Looi's, can go back to them as they both got experienced mechs to do the wing. may cost more but you know your baby is in good hands :thumb:

alternatively, can go to the more known scoot repairers like Future (kallang), Tai Hin (kallang) and Wonferful aka botak (macpherson)... but surely there are good n bad experiences at all shops :D

strongly DO NOT recommend go LAB workshop :eek:

personally, i change my EO & filter at Looi's and fitted my extras at Tai Hin. also visited botak for TCSS and probably also become his supporter for non-warranty jobs... too bad he don't carry the EO i want :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

eh... how come everyone asking same questions? If you try a bit to readup previous pages.. you'll know who and where is botak (Wonderful motor @ macpherson) located....... he is da man for the job. Nothing fancy. Just good mech for ya scoot.

ya lor... already posted "how to get there" guides with access maps :bouncefire:

not difficult to guess which one is botak :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=347&size=big&cat=

not difficult to guess which one is me :angel:

Kukup_Ride_0233.jpg

~

Trips:

Thanks anodise57.

I just wanna do basic maintenance of my wing nothing fanciful.

Fancy one $$$ also fancy. . . . . .

But worst sometimes do basic at fancy shop also kena fancy $$$ :angry:

this depends on what you mean by servicing... general servicing/maintenance? mods & add-ons? repairs? ???

if your SW is bought recently, you'll probably need only general servicing, i.e. change EO, oil filter. stock sparkies can last easily for at least ~10k kms and radiator water >1 yr with normal riding. such basic maintenance could be done ourselves if not for not having a convenient/proper means to discard the used EO.

if other things go kaput, then suay suay bo pian got repair shop lor :lol:

for something more major within 1st year... hey! isn't that what the warranty is for?

but remember to remove the "voidables" that could give BS an excuse to void our warranty :angel:

in fact, botak has advised that we go claim warranty before he will lay his hands on our new-ish bike, in case warranty kenna void

for something more major after 1st year or non-warranty jobs or add-ons... strongly suggest go to shops that either "specialise" in scooters or has experience in scooters.

i ever went to a shop to fix my electric horn, after fiddling with the front fairing for about 15 mins, the mech gave up and put everything back :faint: i also gave up and went straight to Tai Hin, whose mech fitted the horn swee swee without taking out the front fairing (only remove the wind shield panels, same access to headlights) :p

so where to go?

if you bought from Mah or Looi's, can go back to them as they both got experienced mechs to do the wing. may cost more but you know your baby is in good hands :thumb:

alternatively, can go to the more known scoot repairers like Future (kallang), Tai Hin (kallang) and Wonferful aka botak (macpherson)... but surely there are good n bad experiences at all shops :D

strongly DO NOT recommend go LAB workshop :eek:

personally, i change my EO & filter at Looi's and fitted my extras at Tai Hin. also visited botak for TCSS and probably also become his supporter for non-warranty jobs... too bad he don't carry the EO i want :cheeky:

Thanks scooby

Wonderful got 2 hits already. . . . .maybe I will drop by there for my next service. :angel:

Good News ! Bad News ! Always got something to Gripe about !

Anyway Guys & Gals with SWs i must share what info i heard from others and my personal experiences - It seems that the coil problem is linked to battery condition - if the battery is defective (normally after about 2 to 3 years of Abuse) the charge from the coil would leak backwards if cannot be absorbed by the battery and FRY your coil windings or Insulation wrapping.

Battery abuse - this normally refers to those "Maintenance Free" batteries which get shorted out by dirt or rain or not enough charging time during normal use. By charging time means at least a 20km run at above 4,000 RPM each time you ride the bike. Idling the bike for long periods (especially like in causeway quees) is really bad for both cooling and charging system. Take Heed OK i Kenna already on 3 different bikes.