SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

from hilfiger

My swing is nearing 10,000km already. Just like to ask fellow riders wat recommended servicing to do at this mileage.

I'm thinking of doing

1. Engine oil + oil filter (last change at abt 1,100km)

yup, its ~9k kms since your last change and it sure is due for a change even if using fully synthetic juice

clean EO + dirty filter = no so clean EO ... i change EO & filter together :angel:

2. Coolant change? (Still stock)

only 10k kms nia... not necessary; i'ld probably change mine about 30k kms, just make sure reservior doesn't dry up can liow :cool:

3. Gear/final drive oil change? (Still stock)

Looi's mech suggested change around 20+~30k kms or when changing belt; but no harm changing earlier though

Spark plugs + air filter (both stock) maybe doing only at 20,000km. Read somewhere that they both can last that long rite?

yes, unless u wanna try iridium stuffs :thumb:

I'm also interested in knowing when do we have to replace the rollers and u-clips? Cos the manual never mention abt the replacement cycle for such items, or did i miss it?

some pp change to Dr Pulley or Malossi for performance variation (e.g. some prefer better pickups, some for better top-end) while others change due to wear-n-tear. how soon wear out depends a lot on riding style... "aeroplane" riders probably need to check/change earlier but guess slower-smooth riders can check around 20+k kms :p

Did i overlook any other servicing that needs to be done? Pls advise, thanks! :)

10k kms nia... dun have to worry about belt yet, unless rocket riders :lol:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 6.4k

from hilfiger

My swing is nearing 10,000km already. Just like to ask fellow riders wat recommended servicing to do at this mileage.

I'm thinking of doing

1. Engine oil + oil filter (last change at abt 1,100km)

yup, its ~9k kms since your last change and it sure is due for a change even if using fully synthetic juice

clean EO + dirty filter = no so clean EO ... i change EO & filter together :angel:

2. Coolant change? (Still stock)

only 10k kms nia... not necessary; i'ld probably change mine about 30k kms, just make sure reservior doesn't dry up can liow :cool:

3. Gear/final drive oil change? (Still stock)

Looi's mech suggested change around 20+~30k kms or when changing belt; but no harm changing earlier though

Spark plugs + air filter (both stock) maybe doing only at 20,000km. Read somewhere that they both can last that long rite?

yes, unless u wanna try iridium stuffs :thumb:

I'm also interested in knowing when do we have to replace the rollers and u-clips? Cos the manual never mention abt the replacement cycle for such items, or did i miss it?

some pp change to Dr Pulley or Malossi for performance variation (e.g. some prefer better pickups, some for better top-end) while others change due to wear-n-tear. how soon wear out depends a lot on riding style... "aeroplane" riders probably need to check/change earlier but guess slower-smooth riders can check around 20+k kms :p

Did i overlook any other servicing that needs to be done? Pls advise, thanks! :)

10k kms nia... dun have to worry about belt yet, unless rocket riders :lol:

Thanks scoobydoo for your guidelines.. really helps..

As for the final drive oil, is it recommended to use 10w40 oil? SO that means our leftover fully-synthetic engine oil can be used to replace it rite, no need to buy additional gear oil?

does anyone know where is the coolant drain plug?

feel like flushing my coolant when i'm free.

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

remove your whole sai tao.. its on ya right

Find online for Service manual bro... hehehhe

anyway.... SCoob

last nite paiseh... going to fetch my gf from SIM .. .meet u pp for dinner

End up i WET and wAIT @ SIM until almost 11 then rode home WET all the way... -_-.....

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

remove your whole sai tao.. its on ya right

Find online for Service manual bro... hehehhe

anyway.... SCoob

last nite paiseh... going to fetch my gf from SIM .. .meet u pp for dinner

End up i WET and wAIT @ SIM until almost 11 then rode home WET all the way... -_-.....

No need to remove the whole cowling bro..

Jus remove the right compartment and left lower fairing can liao.. :thumb:

Dont waste time taking out the whole thing unless u nothing better to do. :)

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

No need to remove the whole cowling bro..

Jus remove the right compartment and left lower fairing can liao.. :thumb:

Dont waste time taking out the whole thing unless u nothing better to do. :)

but i that is where to top up the coolant right.

i need to find the drain nut.:angel: :angel:

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

but i that is where to top up the coolant right.

i need to find the drain nut.:angel: :angel:

Drain on side stand. Think page below is all info u need for coolant repacement.

things to take note:

1. Do not remove the radiator cap before all coolant is drained. This is because the pressure inside will suck out the coolant from the reserve tank too. If u remove the radiator cap half way thru, u wont be able to drained all the coolant in the reserve tank.

2. remember to remove the RESERVE tank cap during draining. This will improve the draining flow rate.

Coolant replacement.jpg

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

hi silverwingers,

don't know whether this guy will be here to see this,

but anyway i would like to thank a silverwinger fbc8888m for giving way to me to move into his lane during my test just now.

if you happen to see this, drop me a pm, kopi and a meal on me, really want to thank you for your effort.

In my eyes, you are the one.

In your eyes, im none.

Drain on side stand. Think page below is all info u need for coolant repacement.

things to take note:

1. Do not remove the radiator cap before all coolant is drained. This is because the pressure inside will suck out the coolant from the reserve tank too. If u remove the radiator cap half way thru, u wont be able to drained all the coolant in the reserve tank.

2. remember to remove the RESERVE tank cap during draining. This will improve the draining flow rate.

One more BIG tip for your DIY radiator fluid replacement - Use only PURE WATER (from pharmacy) not tap water or other dubious sources where some chemicals are added or those so-called commercial mineral waters in plastic bottles. Mix the PURE WATER in a clean bucket - exactly 50% with a good coolant (i use the Honda or Fiat coolant) and top up from the Radiator cap filler when the Engine is COLD. This exercise helps to minimise corrosion and deterioration to the metals / plastics / rubber in your cooling system.

wow, i nvr go till this extend man ! cos straight after draining i pour in pre-mix coolant already..

hi silverwingers,

but anyway i would like to thank a silverwinger fbc8888m for giving way to me to move into his lane during my test just now.

if you happen to see this, drop me a pm, kopi and a meal on me, really want to thank you for your effort.

Passed and time for celebration?

What test huh?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

hi silverwingers,

can check with Future Scoot if you really want to track him down, the mechs there know him :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Evening SWingers...! :angel:

"Njoy ur success for 5 mins. Endure ur failure for 5 mins. After tat... move on!!!"

may i ask wat bulb size SW using? H4?

--------------------------------------

Never argue with an idiot. He brings you

down to his level, then beats you on experience...

may i ask wat bulb size SW using? H4?

changing to those super bright white and blinding headlights??? :confused:

dunno about you peeps but i sometimes get very frustrated by those cars whose super bright HID headlights shine right into my eyes... can't see a darn thing behind :angry:

~

Trips:

HID........ song song for rider... BEH SONG for others.......

Can try philips extreme or Osram nite breaker... jus better alternative to ur stock bulbs..... Its +80 and + 90% respectively. Good on road peneration.... wont create BEH SONG for others ... heheheh

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

changing to those super bright white and blinding headlights??? :confused:

dunno about you peeps but i sometimes get very frustrated by those cars whose super bright HID headlights shine right into my eyes... can't see a darn thing behind :angry:

Thats one of the reasons why i use those non reflective convex mirrors on my trips at night to malaysia. Only siong thing have to remove and keep under the seat when bike left parked. A lot of yahoos around who cannot resist expensive mods on bike and even if pin locked or glued on they will have no second thoughts about breaking the mirror bracket from the brake reservoirs. Most days i leave the El Cheapo mirrors on - even here in Singapore.

For on coming cars with TOO bright or wrongly adjusted H lights along the malaysia two lane secondary roads i carry a portable 120w searchlight which i strap on to the dashboard pointing forward. One second on and the on coming idiot will surely switch off his lights and / or head off the road. Would like to try it here but i think will have great difficulty explaining to the cops or LTA what the searchlight is for.

wei David... we jio to meet on Tue but u neber come lim kopi :bounce:

No choice leh.

Dad in SGH so must visit every evening.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Thats one of the reasons why i use those non reflective convex mirrors on my trips at night to malaysia. Only siong thing have to remove and keep under the seat when bike left parked. A lot of yahoos around who cannot resist expensive mods on bike and even if pin locked or glued on they will have no second thoughts about breaking the mirror bracket from the brake reservoirs. Most days i leave the El Cheapo mirrors on - even here in Singapore.

For on coming cars with TOO bright or wrongly adjusted H lights along the malaysia two lane secondary roads i carry a portable 120w searchlight which i strap on to the dashboard pointing forward. One second on and the on coming idiot will surely switch off his lights and / or head off the road. Would like to try it here but i think will have great difficulty explaining to the cops or LTA what the searchlight is for.

Kris, u so on ar? Even go to the extent of strapping a searchlight on the dashboard. keke :)

HID........ song song for rider... BEH SONG for others.......

Agreed !!

I siam and try to give way to vehicles with those super blinding lights as i can't really judge the distance of their car to my butt...

Unless the intention of fixing those blinding lightbulbs is to coerce other road users to give way to you!! :angel: