That's me, thks for the concern. Bike finally send for repair after resting for 1 mth. A brand new outlook coming soon....

Glad ur doin good, was admiring ur bike..btw hkl mech(ah san) did an excellent job top hauled my bike. Rest assure ur bike is in good hands ; )

• Replies 16.2k

Stan > 10 yrs liao leh, okay lah minus 2 yrs when its with someone else, also got close to 8 yrs with me. Of cos got feel,

ATwin >> I am still looking for a good paint shop who can really do a good job. I am sourcing for decal of Rothmans online.

http://www.worldofqbcarbon.com/products/accessories/sticker_kits/sticker_kits.htm

this place sells all replicas, however , Its for sports bike. Which is smaller than fatger...

So gotta check with them what is the exact size...

And hopefully I can have the fatger looks like this

http://www.stormforce8.smugmug.com/photos/175523246-L.jpg

Cut away Botak's face and insert mine hahah

Curly> Not yet Bro but I will pay Seng Kwang a visit soon.

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

Glad ur doin good, was admiring ur bike..btw hkl mech(ah san) did an excellent job top hauled my bike. Rest assure ur bike is in good hands ; )

Yup....they have a few good mechanics over there. Most of our bro bike do major over haul there. Hope to meet u soon u our next kopi meet up.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

any one has any recommendations as to wat handle bars is gd for our vara?its time for a change my mech say...

U can change to African twin....wider than our stock handle. Feel like changing too. Can get it from fjt

Stan > 10 yrs liao leh, okay lah minus 2 yrs when its with someone else, also got close to 8 yrs with me. Of cos got feel,

ATwin >> I am still looking for a good paint shop who can really do a good job. I am sourcing for decal of Rothmans online.

http://www.worldofqbcarbon.com/products/accessories/sticker_kits/sticker_kits.htm

this place sells all replicas, however , Its for sports bike. Which is smaller than fatger...

So gotta check with them what is the exact size..

And hopefully I can have the fatger looks like this

http://www.stormforce8.smugmug.com/photos/175523246-L.jpg

Cut away Botak's face and insert mine hahah

Curly> Not yet Bro but I will pay Seng Kwang a visit soon.

Go to our local decals shop to do it...it will be cheaper than u order overseas

Hey if it is not much of the trouble, do keep me inform of where u send ur gal to for the make over, give a review*^_^* coz I planning to send mine too!

Maybe u can try decals on your bike as what Rick do.....cheaper option than sending ur bike for painting

U can change to African twin....wider than our stock handle. Feel like changing too. Can get it from fjt

since african twin handles are wider, will there be any complications like my cables need to change to longer ones or is it just suitable plug n play?

Glad ur doin good, was admiring ur bike..btw hkl mech(ah san) did an excellent job top hauled my bike Rest assure ur bike is in good hands ; )

Top hauled mean u just changed pistol rings only izzit? How much huh?

Maybe u can try decals on your bike as what Rick do.....cheaper option than sending ur bike for painting

Well, you cant really compare full spray with full decal. Think if you do the main 2 color with a paintjob and rest decal would be OK. I have good experience with Ong & son in defu for spray but that's personal pref. I am also thinking of redoing mine with basic orange spray and then add white/red decal cos the orange decal on tank quite visable sticker lines.

Addvantage of decal is that you can revert to original easy in case want to sell and it is cheaper i guess

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/9829/p1000544o.jpghttp://img269.imageshack.us/img269/5003/dscn4275z.jpg

VFR800 VTEC ABS since 03/2005 :

XR400 since 05/2006 SOLD

Silverwing 400 since 11/2007

CBR 1000 RR7 repsol since 5/2009 SOLD

Varadero XL1000 since 08/2010

since african twin handles are wider, will there be any complications like my cables need to change to longer ones or is it just suitable plug n play?

Nope. African twin handle bars works fine. No need modification on the cables. I also change AT Handle Bar on my V Strom. M technik got sell it also, or you can ask around the AT thread if there's anyone selling it. Alternatively you can go for renthal bar which is a bit more ex.

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Nope. African twin handle bars works fine. No need modification on the cables. I also change AT Handle Bar on my V Strom. M technik got sell it also, or you can ask around the AT thread if there's anyone selling it. Alternatively you can go for renthal bar which is a bit more ex.

For stock handlebars, to improve the riding experience for more comfort and turning ease, fixing up handlebar risers will do it.. u will definitely feel doing a u-turn is easier. Riding is more comfortable and relaxed.

most of the vara riders i know switch to using Atwin bars.. renthal bars is definitely a good buy but its more ex as Mafitra added.. if u tinking of getting the Atwin ones, FJT is definitely cheaper than Mtechnik.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg

my next project is to do up my handle bar section...would like to hav a slight continental bmw feel...haha.tinking to fix bmw grips, GS hand protectors and GS mirrors...any experience riders here would like to share if there is any compatability issues of using these BMW items on our vara?or if u guys have a better suggestion,pls do share too!

bmw grips no probs.. hand protectors; use barkbusters.. GS mirrors? No idea..

but a good place to get all uner one roof is Mtechnik..

Maybe a kopi session would be a good time to share..

We got the same mech.. Atwin's bike has gone thru wonders there..

Edited by yancurly8

ATwin - So wen is e next kopi session? Is it a weekly event?

westknight - Piston rings, engine gasket, timing chain, carburettor seals/plastics, valve clearance n watever has been worn out. They will inform of any necessary items tats advisable to be replace. Damage was ard $1200.

yancurly8 - Yea! thumbs up for "ah san"!! hehe. He's like a godfather to me as he had been my mech since my very 1st bike. Eva asked him "U old oledi, if u die who gonna service my bike?"...I kena scold.

ATwin - So wen is e next kopi session? Is it a weekly event?

westknight - Piston rings, engine gasket, timing chain, carburettor seals/plastics, valve clearance n watever has been worn out. They will inform of any necessary items tats advisable to be replace. Damage was ard $1200.

yancurly8 - Yea! thumbs up for "ah san"!! hehe. He's like a godfather to me as he had been my mech since my very 1st bike. Eva asked him "U old oledi, if u die who gonna service my bike?"...I kena scold.

Hey thanks for the info. Anyone going there again soon after work? Bring me go lei, will like them to check my bike also.

bmw grips no probs.. hand protectors; use barkbusters.. GS mirrors? No idea..

but a good place to get all uner one roof is Mtechnik..

Maybe a kopi session would be a good time to share..

yup..kopi session will be gd..but i'm still new to the group,give me some face ok..haha

maybe in the next 2 coming weekend will be a gd timing coz at the moment i'm not riding

Hey thanks for the info. Anyone going there again soon after work? Bring me go lei, will like them to check my bike also.

I might be going down dis Sat around mid-day. PM me ur details. I will msg u abt the arrangements. btw, any specific issues wif ur bike u need to address?

what is ur mileage now...reaching one cycle already. If u planning for touring to Thailand, do a top overhaul if possible to have a peace of mind. Not much problem for this bike...the most change a new fuel pump, oem fuel pump usually last 20-30k...I'm using mistU fuel pump so far hit 50k n doing fine. As usual pls check ur engine oil level if go for long distance ride. Will easily eat up ur engine oil. It good that u need to spend abit for this old bike n restore it in good condition.

Bros, feel EMO today... I was a whiskey close to selling my fatger. I didn't realized that when the buyer said he will take it. My heart sank... suddenly I was lost, felt like a parent sending away his kid away not knowing if I will ever see the kid again.

But the feeling only lasted 1 day, as the buyer couldn't buy it as the price is too much for him factoring the insurance.

I had decided to keep her and sell the car ( which I did today =0 ) . Guess its a passion riding bike . Its never a transport , unlike a car.

So to those bro who had sold off their fatger.. did you have the same feeling as moi?

Anyway I will renew her COE, do up the bloody crashbars and who can guide me to a good paint shop? I wanna go ROTHMANS haha

Hi bro, i definitely felt the lost everutime someone came along and said YES to me. It was bitter happiness. The Vara has not only been a fren for over 4 years to me, but also a bro, in all my ups and downs. It is the first bike i bought with my own money. It had soooo many feelings attached. I thought i could cope with the loss, but i must say, when the day finally came, i lost it. I had sleepless nights feeling the loss every bit of the way. It was tough. I know how you felt bro.

But now that you are gonna keep it, i applaude your decision and may you enjoy many more years with her.

She was my doctor, She was my pychiatrist, She was my Bestest Friend, She was my shoulder to cry on and she had seen me grow from a humble Design Consultant to Senior Design Consultant to Design Manager to Senior design Manager and finally a Business owner before i sold her.

I will buy a tourer soon, and i have rode the Vara and know her well. I might, I might just get an EFI to enjoy. The Vara is one machine i feel complete on. Riding Fujis bike the other day at a meetup made me realise what i had given up in my quest for the track.

This is one bike that is larger than life and comes to life when i straddle her. Something very hard to beat. The gixxer was bought with a purpose, and although i didnt wanna sell the Vara, i was tempted or rather seduced by the high trade in and i gave in to temptation telling myself to use my brains and not my heart to think. They say all good things must come to an end...and 8212 had to also.

But the memories will last forever. The friends will last forever, the love will last forever. Varadero FQ 8212 S. Thank You for Once being mine.

I will be back guys,,, just matter of time and when the bank balance says its ok to do so. hehheh..Till then, ppl, enjoy your VARADEROS aka FATGERLS and Jason bro, yours is not only FATGERL, Yours needs to go on the TAF programme. Her belly too big liao. Hahahhah!!!

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac

Hi bro, i definitely felt the lost everutime someone came along and said YES to me. It was bitter happiness. The Vara has not only been a fren for over 4 years to me, but also a bro, in all my ups and downs. It is the first bike i bought with my own money. It had soooo many feelings attached. I thought i could cope with the loss, but i must say, when the day finally came, i lost it. I had sleepless nights feeling the loss every bit of the way. It was tough. I know how you felt bro.

But now that you are gonna keep it, i applaude your decision and may you enjoy many more years with her.

She was my doctor, She was my pychiatrist, She was my Bestest Friend, She was my shoulder to cry on and she had seen me grow from a humble Design Consultant to Senior Design Consultant to Design Manager to Senior design Manager and finally a Business owner before i sold her.

I will buy a tourer soon, and i have rode the Vara and know her well. I might, I might just get an EFI to enjoy. The Vara is one machine i feel complete on. Riding Fujis bike the other day at a meetup made me realise what i had given up in my quest for the track.

This is one bike that is larger than life and comes to life when i straddle her. Something very hard to beat. The gixxer was bought with a purpose, and although i didnt wanna sell the Vara, i was tempted or rather seduced by the high trade in and i gave in to temptation telling myself to use my brains and not my heart to think. They say all good things must come to an end...and 8212 had to also.

But the memories will last forever. The friends will last forever, the love will last forever. Varadero FQ 8212 S. Thank You for Once being mine.

I will be back guys,,, just matter of time and when the bank balance says its ok to do so. hehheh..Till then, ppl, enjoy your VARADEROS aka FATGERLS and Jason bro, yours is not only FATGERL, Yours needs to go on the TAF programme. Her belly too big liao. Hahahhah!!!

Be the first to buy the 2010 Vara... or at least get an EFI... Can call Niall *hint-hint* for advice!

I might be going down dis Sat around mid-day. PM me ur details. I will msg u abt the arrangements. btw, any specific issues wif ur bike u need to address?

Wesley 93621 4 0 1

ya the knocking sound from my engine is getting louder by day. ..

Let me know the arrangement, I am working full day on sat but can go off early if I finish my stuff.

what is ur mileage now...reaching one cycle already. If u planning for touring to Thailand, do a top overhaul if possible to have a peace of mind. Not much problem for this bike...the most change a new fuel pump, oem fuel pump usually last 20-30k...I'm using mistU fuel pump so far hit 50k n doing fine. As usual pls check ur engine oil level if go for long distance ride. Will easily eat up ur engine oil. It good that u need to spend abit for this old bike n restore it in good condition.

Ya I planning of doing the hauling, it is reaching 160k km very soon. Ya I planning to take off and go touring once I feel it is ready ≧▽≦