The neighborhood HDB kind only. Ask me anything, I'll answer what I know. I'm just tired of HDB's enforcement procedures and the attitudes of some motorists, so I thought I might share something from both sides.

I think they should include a quick lesson on parking rules and offenses when getting a motor license, a lot of people still confused about it. I think those electronic barriers should be installed everywhere also, makes everyone's job easier.

• Replies 62

is it true that your jurisdiction fall strictly on 'road' only and that pavements and common areas fall under a different agency, like town councils and TP? or is it in fact you can issue summons for illegal parking anywhere it is committed (except private property of coz)?

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Do you check whether the number written on the motorbike coupon matches the bike the coupon is placed on?

is it true that your jurisdiction fall strictly on 'road' only and that pavements and common areas fall under a different agency, like town councils and TP? or is it in fact you can issue summons for illegal parking anywhere it is committed (except private property of coz)?

True, on the road only. Sometimes though there is one or two bike parked on top of the curb just beside the bike lots because the lots are full, you know what I mean? I've issued summon for it before for parking outside a parking lot since got no season and no coupon on the bike. If got coupon, I leave it, nothing obstructing about it, they meant to park in order, lots filled also. That's like the only exception.

Do you check whether the number written on the motorbike coupon matches the bike the coupon is placed on?

Yup must check.

ah. thanks. yeah i needed that clarification precisely in instances where all bike lots are full.

oh, and the super-sensitive question: do wardens really have a quota to fulfill, or even paid 'commission' by the summons, or is that all just a myth? this doesn really affect how i park, i'm just curious.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

If 2 bikes park swee swee in one motorcycle lot, which one will u saman? Assuming equal share of the parking lot and neither bike seems to be outside the box? :D

Past: RXZ, KR, R1 07

Present : Wave S

How it feels like when you pass TP

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m1j2s91VkL1qcsknu.gif

after you finish your quota for the day.

where do you go to relac one corner?

what stuff do usually do TCSS, play cards, sleep or what ?

Whoa! This thread is going to be super famous here. Hee!

I loike it! But only worried that it may get TS into trouble with his company. Some companies have public affair branch to handle public enquiries. When we asked questions, we should take about it too

ah. thanks. yeah i needed that clarification precisely in instances where all bike lots are full.

oh, and the super-sensitive question: do wardens really have a quota to fulfill, or even paid 'commission' by the summons, or is that all just a myth? this doesn really affect how i park, i'm just curious.

Do you guys have quota to saman? More saman = High KPI = high bonus?>

Expected question everywhere. :p No got commission, no quota. How then do they make sure the enforcement is done. One way is that the ugly device records everything we do. What time we come into the carpark, how many cars we scan, etc. One other is, randomly, an "auditor" scans the carpark before we're scheduled to come in and returns later on to see if we enforce on the illegal parkings if it was still around. If we didn't, we're answerable to it. It's just easier to do my job decently. FYI, the wardens can also get fined if they summon wrongly. For example I once put the vehicle type wrongly as heavy vehicle instead of motorcar. I got fined $100 for that. A colleague was fined up till $400 in one go. Contrary to popular opinion, most wardens aren't saman-happy, just doing our job. All the complaints and feedback also reflects on our company performance.. so..

If 2 bikes park swee swee in one motorcycle lot, which one will u saman? Assuming equal share of the parking lot and neither bike seems to be outside the box? :D

I would leave them alone because of possible complicated situations. How do I know if they parked mutually like that, or if which one of them was the obstructing b5tch. What if the obstructor was a season holder and the other was not and I saman him for no coupon but then he can't slide out of his lot because of the ass5ole season holder? Not fair to him. Rather leave it yeah.

I received a warning letter even though I parked in lot and has season parking. Received no parking offence slip too.

But received red letter stating my offence and not paying fine.

Like this how to appeal?

You can write to HDB why you are wrongly issued for the offence together with not receiving any slip. Continue to find ways to escalate it in HDB until you're vindicated. Don't stop the escalation. :D If you want, you can PM me the details of the offence and I'll look at it also.

after you finish your quota for the day.

where do you go to relac one corner?

what stuff do usually do TCSS, play cards, sleep or what ?

We don't rest for the day. We are scheduled to go in a carpark an average of every hour in our shift. After we done scanning and summoning for the carpark, we just sit around waiting for the next scheduled carpark. Best is where got fan running, usually at old citizen corner. While waiting, we do anything lah, some chat, some game on the psp, some read book, etc.

Whoa! This thread is going to be super famous here. Hee!

I loike it! But only worried that it may get TS into trouble with his company. Some companies have public affair branch to handle public enquiries. When we asked questions, we should take about it too

From my encounters, every motorist age group, race and experience are still blur about some night parking, sunday parking and outside parking lot issues. I blame HDB for this.

Edited by erebos
Expected question everywhere. :p No got commission, no quota. How then do they make sure the enforcement is done. One way is that the ugly device records everything we do. What time we come into the carpark, how many cars we scan, etc. One other is, randomly, an "auditor" scans the carpark before we're scheduled to come in and returns later on to see if we enforce on the illegal parkings if it was still around. If we didn't, we're answerable to it. It's just easier to do my job decently. FYI, the wardens can also get fined if they summon wrongly. For example I once put the vehicle type wrongly as heavy vehicle instead of motorcar. I got fined $100 for that. A colleague was fined up till $400 in one go. Contrary to popular opinion, most wardens aren't saman-happy, just doing our job. All the complaints and feedback also reflects on our company performance.. so..

thanks again. i always found the quota idea a bit hard to believe, but so many people seem to claim it is so.

From my encounters, every motorist age group, race and experience are still blur about some night parking, sunday parking and outside parking lot issues. I blame HDB for this.

i agree. the signs are not clear enough, and how to read the sign while negotiating the entrance while inside a bike/car?

the one i hate most is season-parking only after 10pm. i will totally miss this statement at the signboard. this one i think is what they call "day parking only"?

they need to put up big color-coded signboard at the entrance. standard rule is coupon parking weekdays day and night, free parking sunday/holiday, red lots season parking only. i always assume this is the case for hdb carparks.

use a clear color code for this scheme, like an orange signboard. then for carparks which is season-only after 10pm, maybe a red signboard. free parking like public parks, use a green signboard. and maybe blue for day-coupon and free night parking. err... any more types of carparks?

colour code easy to see. the new red/white lots, once i understood the scheme, it was easy for me to see the minute i enter the carpark.

Frequent motorist complain. I tell you how to get informed from the main entrance signboard in two seconds. You see whether it's "Coupon Parking Whole Day" or "Coupon Parking 7AM to 10.30PM". Then under it look for the red sign for further restrictions in the carpark mostly about reserving for season holders and no free parking on sunday and public holiday.

thanks erebos, im sure this thread will clear alot of air and misunderstanding between "law enforcers" and motorist

No problem, doesn't stop me getting cursed everyday though.. hahaha. People get confused too when they see us issuing saman. For instance, in the same carpark, why did I saman this illegally parked car here and didn't for another illegally parked car few lots away only? A very typical reason is the unsamaned car is a season holder and we can't saman season holders at all. If you have season, are parking illegally and got a fine in your carpark, 100% that means someone in your area busted you for your illegal parking by complaining to the hotline and a roaming officer comes around after to issue the offence.

i went to park my bike at the open space carpark behind borders. as der were no lots available i parked my bike beside a slot makin sure i was not blockin other bikes nor cars and placed a valid coupon. n still i got summoned for parkin illegally n obstructin the road. if i had known, i wudnt even bother puttin coupon. i park there quite often and always in dat same scenario..sometimes will kena fine, sometimes will not. does dat mean dat if i swey, i get strict warden, dey will juz saman n hope dat e person wun appeal or as long as u park outside a lot, even wif coupon dey will still saman u..

i own a car wif season parkin too. at nite, my mscp sure got no sheltered parkin end up have to park at highest floor with no shelter nor lift. if i were to park at the washin bay or at vacant bike lots..will dey saman me?

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
i went to park my bike at the open space carpark behind borders. as der were no lots available i parked my bike beside a slot makin sure i was not blockin other bikes nor cars and placed a valid coupon. n still i got summoned for parkin illegally n obstructin the road. if i had known, i wudnt even bother puttin coupon. i park there quite often and always in dat same scenario..sometimes will kena fine, sometimes will not. does dat mean dat if i swey, i get strict warden, dey will juz saman n hope dat e person wun appeal or as long as u park outside a lot, even wif coupon dey will still saman u..

i own a car wif season parkin too. at nite, my mscp sure got no sheltered parkin end up have to park at highest floor with no shelter nor lift. if i were to park at the washin bay or at vacant bike lots..will dey saman me?

the open space carpark near borders is under URA, not HDB.. URA guidelines a bit stricter.. to URA, an offence is an offence. it is much more difficult to appeal against a URA notice. certis cisco compliance team and URA parking inspector are always on the wardens' tail anytime. and if u think u wanna tamper with ur coupon at a URA carpark, there will be a 75% chance u will get caught. cos not only the URA parking inspectors are authorised to issue u a notice, most of the ura cisco wardens are authorised to do so and confiscate ur coupon(s). minimum fine is about $500, maximum about $5000 depends on how badly u tamper with ur coupon. must attend court. these cases u can see motorists, especially people who are working for the government, on their knees begging.

all URA cisco wardens are also issued a digital/hp camera to snap photos of ur illegal parking and some other infringements.

sometimes u have to experience it urself to know what its like to be on the other side of the leaf.

http://distilleryimage11.s3.amazonaws.com/4ad27eb6714811e3b59a0ebb7344746f_6.jpg

silverstein says it. High or continuous traffic shopping area sure strict one. Technically parking outside the lot is illegal parking, doesn't matter if you put a coupon.

The patrolling wardens can't saman you but parking in washing bay and bike lots are very easy targets for residents to complain about. Because of that no escape from getting saman after a quick call to the hotline.

Sensitive question: Why do wardens turn a blind eye to illegal parking during some religious gatherings for prayers and not other religious gatherings for prayers.

Constructive comments only pls.

how did you get the job?

is it throught the MPs ot the town councils?

what requirements are there needed to be a parking warden?

how much is the pay? what benefits are there?

good qn..especially dat stretch along balestier rd :D

Sensitive question: Why do wardens turn a blind eye to illegal parking during some religious gatherings for prayers and not other religious gatherings for prayers.

thanks for e reply bro..but r u doin tis fulltime or part time?

silverstein says it. High or continuous traffic shopping area sure strict one. Technically parking outside the lot is illegal parking, doesn't matter if you put a coupon.

The patrolling wardens can't saman you but parking in washing bay and bike lots are very easy targets for residents to complain about. Because of that no escape from getting saman after a quick call to the hotline.

can i ask what kind of bike you target most?

The bigass bikes and expensive cars usually don't put coupon.

Illegal parking at road not my jurisdiction, just carpark at hdb neighborhood building. There are two place of religious gathering - at a religious building sharing hdb carpark or under void deck.

They've told us wardens that Mosque authorities are informed about illegal parking and that we are by right to enforce on it. I assume the same for Church and Temple authorities. Under void deck, avoid all costs.

Wardens and the carpark situation aren't all the same, you'll have to ask the specific warden why he issued the saman there. If got residents complain, maybe no choice for the roaming officer but as much as possible, no point creating bad blood right.

Does anyone check if we squeeze out through the barriers when exiting?

will we get summoned for that? because i often see a camera at the barrier.

I think that depends on the barrier operator. There is Ramky, Wilson, Metro, etc. As a biker, that's what I've been doing all the time if there is some way to snake out. Still safe so far. Some barrier got hidden booth somewhere with a person watching mostly during day time only... so *shrugs*.

how did you get the job?

is it throught the MPs ot the town councils?

what requirements are there needed to be a parking warden?

how much is the pay? what benefits are there?

Parking warden jobs are always available btw, like cleaners, lol. They got put out ads in the newspaper at times. I got mine by talking to two parking warden ladies under the void deck and called their company's number.

Requirements, just basic education with decent english and ability to follow instructions. Pay, after all those deduction around 900. Benefits, laughable. You can upgrade to roaming officer if you can ride a bike, then the pay reach up till almost 2k with OT. I don't recommened the hdb warden job however, there are like thousands better jobs out there. Cisco wardens.. better pay and benefits surely.

thanks for e reply bro..but r u doin tis fulltime or part time?

There is no part time, we're working in shifts.

Edited by erebos