Safety officer

ET

Hi Bro,

In course, during discussion, KNN, don't even know what PPE stand for (By the way, you know?).

Sex Kid

I know la brudder PPE means Personal Protection Equippement hahaha i was in HSSE for a long time brudder....don't look me down so fast la...*joke joke*

Aiya, i understand but back then when i first joined i did projects for my logistics on Risk assessments, Forums for drivers, Toolboxes, management process reviews and Audits for 1401 so my safety Officer whom overseas these things kept asking me to go take the course.

I tried apply 2 times, Basket Singapore poly kept telling me no engineering can't get in. so i give up... but this was before WSH regulations came in, meaning it was still the Factory act time...

So now that there is a regulation for all companies to have an inhouse Safety personal, it's become more open to gather more people i guess, people like me back then never got a chance to actually educate the right way...and i know a lot of them right now don't know it's more open and less regulated.

As you said, now it's the knowledge to embark that gives us the edge to move further. i'll just have to hit the books from scratch and get it all in line again.

As for my Safety guy, he was earning 12k easily without OT hahahaha its suprising how much ppl tend to pay for nothing but delegating projects. (manhours reporting to MOM can be deflated brudder there are means and ways)

http://images.cryptic.multiply.com/image/3/photos/3/600x600/15.JPGMy Rides :

Black XJ-6 Diversion *Elisa* ( Jan 12' - Current )

Galaxy Blue FJR1300A ABS *Dorothy* ( Jul 07' - Dec 2011 )

Black Super 4 V Tech II *Jessica* ( Apr 05' - Jul 07' )

Yz designed DTWR 200 *Jennifer* ( Feb 04' - Dec 2009 )

Subaru Justy / White WR2 *REVOKED* (Feb 98' till Mar 00')

• Replies 2.3k

... A pal of mine, a Safety Supervisor with 3 years exp is bringing home $5k after CPF...take the cert in NEBOSH if u wana go further.it'll do u gd in countries like Bahrain,Saudi Arabia etc..dun dismiss it just yet

If Safety Supervisor take home $5K, that means coordinator take home $6K and Officer take home $8K? No way lah bro. Believe me.

KNN, what the H*ll am I doing here getting SGD 3K, having to be in charge of Compliance (all govt controlling agencies Licences and Permits), EHS and Security (Employee passes accessibility) in my company??

I have been "short-changed" by such a big gap...

Must go talk to my mgr to increase my pay liao... hahahahaha... :cheeky:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Yea la brudder get your Pay increased and come back to the DARK side of being an FJRian...:thumb:

http://images.cryptic.multiply.com/image/3/photos/3/600x600/15.JPGMy Rides :

Black XJ-6 Diversion *Elisa* ( Jan 12' - Current )

Galaxy Blue FJR1300A ABS *Dorothy* ( Jul 07' - Dec 2011 )

Black Super 4 V Tech II *Jessica* ( Apr 05' - Jul 07' )

Yz designed DTWR 200 *Jennifer* ( Feb 04' - Dec 2009 )

Subaru Justy / White WR2 *REVOKED* (Feb 98' till Mar 00')

Yea la brudder get your Pay increased and come back to the DARK side of being an FJRian...:thumb:

hahahaha, if my company can give me S$5K for the three responsibilities that I am holding now, I will join the "dark side" immediately manzz... lolz... :cheeky:

I still missed my 661... :)

I know la brudder PPE means Personal Protection Equippement hahaha i was in HSSE for a long time brudder....don't look me down so fast la...*joke joke*

Aiya, i understand but back then when i first joined i did projects for my logistics on Risk assessments, Forums for drivers, Toolboxes, management process reviews and Audits for 1401 so my safety Officer whom overseas these things kept asking me to go take the course.

I tried apply 2 times, Basket Singapore poly kept telling me no engineering can't get in. so i give up... but this was before WSH regulations came in, meaning it was still the Factory act time...

So now that there is a regulation for all companies to have an inhouse Safety personal, it's become more open to gather more people i guess, people like me back then never got a chance to actually educate the right way...and i know a lot of them right now don't know it's more open and less regulated.

As you said, now it's the knowledge to embark that gives us the edge to move further. i'll just have to hit the books from scratch and get it all in line again.

As for my Safety guy, he was earning 12k easily without OT hahahaha its suprising how much ppl tend to pay for nothing but delegating projects. (manhours reporting to MOM can be deflated brudder there are means and ways)

Hello bro,

I think you intelligent guy lah. Go for the course, sure no problem for you one.

Just get into the course. I think you can try Nee Ann or maybe they say BCA starting SDWSH in Nov.

Bro, I know there are ppl earn quite high pay. But I say EM not pay Safety supervisor so high lah like what many ppl say. OT can deflat but EM won't do that lah. They little bit on the ball one.

Anyway, no need talk about others earn how much. For us, if we satisfy how much, ok. No need complain.

Sex Kid

KNN, what the H*ll am I doing here getting SGD 3K, having to be in charge of Compliance (all govt controlling agencies Licences and Permits), EHS and Security (Employee passes accessibility) in my company??

I have been "short-changed" by such a big gap...

Hi Bro,

Like what I said just now lah, if you happy with pay, cannot complain. Also whether you passion for safety work.

Seriously, my next job as WSHO, I take home lower than now. Now I got OT, sometime work sunday, sometime work overnight, etc, etc. I anytime take home more than 2 half times my basic leh. But as some ppl say, work no day no night.

My next job, got no OT one. No work on Sunday also. Standard 5 half day per week. But I accept. First, I learn and experience more as WSHO job. Also more free time for family. Also if I want, I can be trainer like teach BCSS or whatever, which I quite like to do leh.

Sex Kid

Hi Bro,

Like what I said just now lah, if you happy with pay, cannot complain. Also whether you passion for safety work.

Seriously, my next job as WSHO, I take home lower than now. Now I got OT, sometime work sunday, sometime work overnight, etc, etc. I anytime take home more than 2 half times my basic leh. But as some ppl say, work no day no night.

My next job, got no OT one. No work on Sunday also. Standard 5 half day per week. But I accept. First, I learn and experience more as WSHO job. Also more free time for family. Also if I want, I can be trainer like teach BCSS or whatever, which I quite like to do leh.

Sex Kid

No lah, I am not complaining...

Just making a teasing remark only lah... :)

that depends on the purpose of the meet up.

Sex Kid

How about sex kid giving a talk/lecture on how we can write up on the professional review??

Then we can bring along our note-book to take down valuable pointers.

heehee... :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Usual hang out lah .... If not come out do RA together ar? Siao sibo.

Risk Assessments have to be done even before we move out for the meeting.

We must do RAs for the travelling on the road to our meeting place... What are the hazards involved in travelling to the meeting place, etc...?

heehee... :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Cousin of mine is interested in the safety line, as the remuneration is quite good..

The problem is, he got no experience in anything... :lol: Any advise??? Or maybe should tell him to stick to PT jobs...

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Cousin of mine is interested in the safety line, as the remuneration is quite good..

The problem is, he got no experience in anything... :lol: Any advise??? Or maybe should tell him to stick to PT jobs...

there are lots of other jobs with better remuneration, this may be one of them but safety is not just about remuneration, it's about people lives. do not just jump into a job just because the remuneration is good, there are lots of the safety guys couldn't even conduct a proper Tool Box Meeting but just talk about wearing PPE. Hazard right under their nose which they couldn't spot but only knows how to find fault with Indian/Bangla workers when being told to submit inspection reports.

however if your cousin has passion and want to start somewhere, go here http://wsq.wda.gov.sg/GenericSkills/WSH+Professionals/

remember, it's other people lives!

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Couldnt agree more... i was an inch close in getting the neBOsh... :cheeky:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Apparently the common thinking is that one can earn big bucks by becoming a safety supervisor/WSHO.the truth is, if u cant perform,ur OUT.u have to liaise with govenrment agencies, members of public and your management.if u have what it takes to be part of the safety dept, by all means go ahead.dun jump head first into the water.

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

True. especially if there's a CAT 1 accident...

Hi, im currently working as a safety coordinator with a sc cert from BCA with 1 yr experience.Is it necessary to take the WSQ Advanced cert as the structure has now changed .I would like to progress from my current position.

no need for that.progress to the next stage,that is Specialist Diploma in WSH.

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you