quizesilver said:
This castrol 4t is fully syn?

This Castrol 4T (white bottle) sold by LAB is non-synthetic oil (my friend call it dinosaur oil) :(

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

• Replies 7.1k

  craigchua said:
i changed myself.. using motul dat i bought in jb.

but i haven't change gear oil, cos not cheap lo..

i went to source and bought royal purple gear oil 75W-140 as its cheap, $23 for 1L.

tonite will try to change myself.

another thing i wish to ask everyone is dat whether can use car engine oil anot? cos its cheaper by buying a 4L than

buying small bottles. thinking of trying out.. with some engine treatment as well..

Hi Craig,

I check the manual it says 85w140 for the transmission oil...

Anyways, which fully syn oil is the best?

I am confused with so many brands la:

Motul

Maxima

Mobil 1

X-REV

etc... :(

http://www3.picturepush.com/photo/a/14045926/640/14045926.jpg
  Atlantic 200 said:
This Castrol 4T (white bottle) sold by LAB is non-synthetic oil (my friend call it dinosaur oil) :(

Yup dat one is mineral oil

and the Gold colour ones is Semi-syn its sold for 8bucks at LAB

So ah boy dun have fully syn?

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
  etkach3 said:
Hi Craig,

I check the manual it says 85w140 for the transmission oil...

Anyways, which fully syn oil is the best?

I am confused with so many brands la:

Motul

Maxima

Mobil 1

X-REV

etc... :(

i know manual says 85W-140, but dat brand only has this 75W-140. still can use de lo.. i did ask the guy selling about it.

u try for urself different kinda brands and u can feel which one u prefer.. cost also a factor la.. haha

  craigchua said:
i know manual says 85W-140, but dat brand only has this 75W-140. still can use de lo.. i did ask the guy selling about it.

u try for urself different kinda brands and u can feel which one u prefer.. cost also a factor la.. haha

lol..yeah cost factor..ystd i go n do some price check:

- Maxima 10w40 Fully Syn - $32/Bottle

- Mobil 1 10w40 Fully Syn - $25/Bottle

- Motul 10w40 5100 Fully Syn - $25/Bottle

How much is the 85w140?I try to find but they dont have it :(

Huh?! maxima cost $32? Serious? Which shop? I use them but NV so ex abt 20+

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
  quizesilver said:
Huh?! maxima cost $32? Serious? Which shop? I use them but NV so ex abt 20+

Maxima the red one 10w40 fully syn..i ask at Auntie Shop..the auntie like bo-chup leh..wen i ask she say..32 32 32..

i tink coz they wanna close alrdy..today i come there again to double check:)

  etkach3 said:
lol..yeah cost factor..ystd i go n do some price check:

- Maxima 10w40 Fully Syn - $32/Bottle

- Mobil 1 10w40 Fully Syn - $25/Bottle

- Motul 10w40 5100 Fully Syn - $25/Bottle

How much is the 85w140?I try to find but they dont have it :(

for gear oil, from the same store, they carry motul $40, mobil $30+, royal purple $23. the guy told me to get the cheapest one can liao.. so i did. haha

last nite changeout my gear oil. the royal purple one really thick sia.. must be heavy duty.. haha

Maxima Extra 10w40 and Motul 7100 both are fully Syn and cost about the same near $23 (with service).

Motul 5100 is semi-syn...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Wah all change eo n gear oil liao? So where did u all change out?

Price n where :l

Was overseas, didn't catch up.

Wah all change eo n gear oil liao? So where did u all change out?

Price n where :l

Was overseas, didn't catch up.

  craigchua said:
for gear oil, from the same store, they carry motul $40, mobil $30+, royal purple $23. the guy told me to get the cheapest one can liao.. so i did. haha

last nite changeout my gear oil. the royal purple one really thick sia.. must be heavy duty.. haha

u know how to diy change eo and engine transmission?can teach me? :D

  SW9000 said:
Maxima Extra 10w40 and Motul 7100 both are fully Syn and cost about the same near $23 (with service).

Motul 5100 is semi-syn...

thanks for the info :D

SW9000 which eo would u prefer to use?i still confuse which one to buy...:(

  etkach3 said:
u know how to diy change eo and engine transmission?can teach me? :D

its not difficult actually.. just dat u need the correct tools..

how u want me to teach u?? lol..

anyone knows how to access to sparkplug?? i wanna change it as well..

  etkach3 said:
thanks for the info :D

SW9000 which eo would u prefer to use?i still confuse which one to buy...:(

You won't go wrong with either the Maxima Extra 10W40 or the Motul 7100.

Both are similar in performance but maybe the 7100 feels a bit heavier that's all.

10W50 EO might be too heavy for normal bikes. It is mainly for high performance race bikes or if riding temperature is above 40 degrees (atmospheric).

Me use Maxima for years and it's good for 6k-8k service range.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

  craigchua said:

wahh u really DIY King :p

  SW9000 said:
You won't go wrong with either the Maxima Extra 10W40 or the Motul 7100.

Both are similar in performance but maybe the 7100 feels a bit heavier that's all.

10W50 EO might be too heavy for normal bikes. It is mainly for high performance race bikes or if riding temperature is above 40 degrees (atmospheric).

Me use Maxima for years and it's good for 6k-8k service range.

Thanks :) I will use the Maxima 10w40 Fully Syn in my next oil change :D

Just change my engine oil at M1 Motor, its free cos I bought during the promotion. Change to semi syn one cos still running in. Will change again in another 800km.

Also got my Coocase box, very good box indeed. I forgotten to pay for the box as it is going to rain and the salesman is very nice and allow me to pay next time.

Changed EO and Oil filter at 200km. Engine seems to run alot smoother. Yes I am a wuss and have yet clocked 500km........

Observations......

80km/h @ 4000RPM

100km/h @ 5100RPM

Does anyone know the part number for the oil filter rubber O ring? My mech suggest me to stock up a few myself and change the Oil ring after every 3-4 servicing cos the it might get worn out by then and lose it's sealing features.

Cheers and ride safe.

  2992 said:
Changed EO and Oil filter at 200km. Engine seems to run alot smoother. Yes I am a wuss and have yet clocked 500km........

Observations......

80km/h @ 4000RPM

100km/h @ 5100RPM

Does anyone know the part number for the oil filter rubber O ring? My mech suggest me to stock up a few myself and change the Oil ring after every 3-4 servicing cos the it might get worn out by then and lose it's sealing features.

Cheers and ride safe.

if its the same as suzuki burgman 400, then take a look at this..

http://jtp.tzo.com/scooter/oilchange.pdf

  craigchua said:

Spark plug on the left side. Access by taking the front part where the petrol compartment, at the seat front got screw.