Pes C damn relax. 4 weeks in tekong,Dan 5 weeks in either STC(supply & transport centre),paya lebar air force,kanji camp3

After get lic,n bmt Dan get bike

1st hand bike beta..if u dun intend to upgrade.

Think now recruit pay $500 le

• Replies 45

by the way im not that big la

arnd 178cm like that

which bike would suit me??

some say phantom ta200

is it a good bike??

but looks like ahpek uncle bike le

unless i make it look nice2 then shld b ok ah

put box also nice

exp or not this machine??

how bout pulsar le?? no1 say anyhting about pulsar?? exp or not

i see the body dam chio

oh ya like i mention in my 1st post

the reason i wan get 1st hand bike is bcos mayb i wont b upgrading to 2a or 2

i wan a brand new good starting bike that would last me all the way till i can afford a car

i only need a bike 4 transport n convenience

hopefully in 5 ~ 7 yrs time by the time im in my mid or late 20s i wan 2 drive a car n settle down

the above is 1 scenario

the 2nd scenario is :

i get a cheap 2nd hand bike with like 4~5yrs coe left

by the time i finish NS i will start working (i no intention further study, got diploma only)

then i upgrade 2 a bigger bike

then get a car

this 1 long way

which scenario better??

1 - buy good 1st hand bike that would last all the way

2 - buy cheap 2nd hand bike, upgrade big 1 then car slowly

There's no big bike then slowly car. Its usually ride everywhere, corner everywhere, race everywhere, small or big bike, get married then get car.

OR

Drive car. End of story. Ride also at most 2b only.

There's no big bike then slowly car. Its usually ride everywhere, corner everywhere, race everywhere, small or big bike, get married then get car.

OR

Drive car. End of story. Ride also at most 2b only.

i wonder where u get this kind of concept ....

Save the money,dun get a bike till you confirm your vocation.

ytd went 4 prac

met 2 guys also enlisting same date as me 9 nov

they also same batch graduate 1 poly 1 ite

i ask them they when they buying bike 1 say dunno the other say after bmt see how

so i guess this is pretty much the norm

after bmt then see where my vocation

but then again i wan try tahan 1yr clear my probation period

after 1yr insurance got go down is it??

btw im aiming 4 a 2nd hand pulsar

http://i304.photobucket.com/albums/nn197/teddykekek/58-1.jpg

In case anyone is interested... do check out

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/335720-Available-2009-Derbi-Terra-125?p=7312081#post7312081

My current weekend toy/joyride is up for sale.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]219522[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=CONFIG]219523[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=CONFIG]219524[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=CONFIG]219525[/ATTACH]

-- Make/Model: Derbi Terra 125

-- Colour: Matt black (wrapped by 219 Sep 2010)

-- Original Colour: Dark Red/Maroon (see pic below - Asking price is exclusive of the boy)

[ATTACH=CONFIG]219527[/ATTACH] [by removing the wrap]

-- Date Of Registration: 28 Aug 2009 (I am the first and only owner)

-- Mileage: 8,800+km (currently)

-- Insurance/Road Tax expiry: 27 Aug 2012

-- COE expiry: 27 Aug 2019

-- Price: SGD$7,999 negotiable (cash, or find your own financing) - this is a pricey bike to begin with, so pls manage expectations.

-- Other accessories: Generally stock items, except for (1) Pirelli Scorpion Tyres (front and back); (2) Barkbusters handguards; (3) BMW handgrips

-- Condition is very good, close to excellent (I'd be lying if I say it is immaculate), with very minor wear and tear expected of a two year old bike. Always parked in MSCP, and always avoided wet weather riding... because I hate wet socks, since NS.

-- Serviced regularly.

-- 100% accident-free and it has never been dropped (What to do?... I am both a careful AND excellent rider :p).

-- Transfer and all applicable fees shall be borne by buyer.

-- Viewing of bike in Redhill area only in the evenings.

-- PM me if interested.

Additional notes (from http://www.singaporebikes.com/used_bikes/1672/derbi_terra_125/)

This bike is meant as a weekend toy, and not the main mode of transport. And hence extremely low mileage thus far. Always parked under shelter, and avoid wet weather riding. I'd be lying if I describe it as immaculate condition. It is kept under very good conditions, with very minor wear and tear to be expected of a 2-year old joyride - never dropped and totally accident-free (due to careful rider :p).

View to assess yourself, and viewing only in the evenings at Redhill area.

All transfer fees to be borne by buyer, and pls seek your own financing.

Nice 2B bike that is easy to ride while honing riding skills as one upgrades to 2A and 2 eventually. Comfy seat too.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=224954

2B(8/09);2A(10/10);2(12/11)

Derbi "Black Maverick" Terra 125 (8/09-9/12)

Honda "Burly Bison" Varadero XL1000V1 (10/11-12/12)

Ducati "Banded Mustang" Hypermotard 1100 EVO SP (12/12-)

Vespa "Vicki" GT200 (05/14-)

"Brothers, what we do in life echoes in eternity."

I suggest holding on till you POP from BMT... then see where you ar.. Stay in or can go home daily.. If go home daily, Then go for a bike. If not, Just hold and wait till you get your class 2a and by the time your out. You can get a 2a bike..Just nice.

P.s During Bmt period you cannot ride your bike to camp.(If you tekong)And since you mention you have only 1 month b4 entering.

Edited by bluelabel
I suggest holding on till you POP from BMT... then see where you ar.. Stay in or can go home daily.. If go home daily, Then go for a bike. If not, Just hold and wait till you get your class 2a and by the time your out. You can get a 2a bike..Just nice.

P.s During Bmt period you cannot ride your bike to camp.(If you tekong)And since you mention you have only 1 month b4 entering.

Extremely sound advice. Pls take heed.

just wonder if TS has passed his TP

HHHHUUUUUUUUUAAAAAAATTTTTT ARRRRRRGHGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH

JUST PASSED MY TP JUST NOW

GOT A FREAKING 18 PTS

got 50 testee but i think a few absent so arnd 46 47

i was no. 32

the instructor 1 by 1 call the no. to leave the room go another room

he say 28 29 then 34 i was like woaahh dont haf 32???

then he say 49 n 50

no. 49 n 50 left the room the instructor closed the door n said

"you all pass"

then the rest of us in the room was like FFFFFF AHHHHHHHHH HUAAAT ARGHHH BAEEKKKK AHH

KNN CCB WE PASS SIA

but i feel bad we inside the room celebrate then the others guys in the other room hear us cfm they know they fail we pass

the feeling dam shiok those guys of all ages n races in the room congratulate each other pat each other back n shake hand n hug2 like brothers

ive already paid 4 the driver license card $50 sia exp

1 mth then can get, 4 now they give me this slip of paper which allow us 2 ride bike

soon i will haf a new card in my wallet hehehe

arnd 18 people pass only sia my batch, that is less then half

while waiting 4 the queue 2 make our card i ask arnd alot people get 18 pts

the lowest i saw was 16

i think by right alot more people including myself fail then they try 2 let us pass or help us abit

if not i think only a few pass

but my 1 all the pts is those stupid 1

- incorrect technique

- incorrect posture

- wobble when moving off

- wobble when turning

- speed 2 slow

- braking while negotiating bend/turning

all this bit by bit 2 n 4 pts add up to 18

the rest of the courses mine is ok

got 1 guy sad sia he say his plank go all the way ok then when going down the ending part his rear wheel drop off from the plank, his rear wheel never follow the plank go all the way

finally man this phase of my life is over

very tiring man

after work 8.30am - 5.30pm faster go home, eat , rest awhile

8pm go out need go practical, end arnd 11pm then reach home 12am

but dam it was all worth it

just now when i was on my way home in the bus i just cant stop smiling stupidly 2 myself

so next mth on the 9th i can enlist army without any unfinished business

tahan 9 week (or 5week like some ppl said cos i PES C), see where i kena posted

then decide wan buy bike or not

btw when i going enlist i think i will haf arnd 7k+ or 8k

congrats on getting your 2B!

for your case, i'd suggest getting a not so old 2nd hand bike... cause u mentioned you have fren/relatives who are riding, so it shouldn't be an issue if u scare to buy a bad machine. Box wise... i bought daelim roadwin R, due to convenience needed, i put a box, true, looks disappoints abit, but well, when u need it, u still needs it.

financial point of view, above suggestion is good (go ns n settle down first) as some units have odd working hours, u take cab can claim, but is claim = pay first hahaha... still depends on unit posted to, their timing. after that u can apply for DRC (defensive riding course)grant, you need it to ride into camp/s anyway, not buying bike also good, day off + foc to learn how to ride better =P

with your savings, you should be able to handle, not to the extend of scrimping n eating grass though... newer bikes (4strokes) are good in fuel consumption, generally ease of maintenance...

Blacky Aka Xiao Hei May 2011 to ???

Hi all

ive been reading thru this 4rom 4 a while but havent been posting ..... TILL NOW

pardon me 4 the wall of text but i hope u guys can help me

im going 4 TP soon n after i get my license i still dunno wad bike 2 get

so a bit info about me

im a 20yr old guy enlisting army this coming nov

im considered a big guy im almost 1.8m n over 80kg so i cant ride a small bike like kupchai

im just a decent guy n only need a bike 4 transportation n convenience since im enlisting soon

so im not that interested in sports bike (for now since i only 2b, but mayb 2a or 2 who knows)

i also need a box 2 store my helmet n stuff so a box on a sports bike is not nice

my preferences r street/naked bikes like rxz, pulsar, cbr150, fz16

1st - 1st or 2nd hand bike

so i need some advice

i currently haf 5k in my bank

im going 2 stop working soon so i wont b having any income till i enlist

recruit pay also $300+ only right?? (i could also use some NS tips if u guys haf any)

is it enough 4 me own a bike???

my fren say cfm can but is 2nd hand bike

but my father n uncle say try 2 get 1st hand n i also agree with them

i scared 2nd hand the bike always sick need go doctor often n the cost ends up the same as buying a 1st hand

im also planning long term n getting a 1st hand bike n using it all the way till i can afford a car (mayb in my mid 20s??? 4~6 yrs from now god willing)

so is this ok??

2nd - What Bike should I get???

i dont really know the types of bike so i hope u guys can intro me

1st choice is RXZ since i read here its good

my father has been using RXZ for god know how many yrs n i know RXZ is a good bike but it stop production so i cant get a 1st hand right??

so the next yamaha model is fz16 right??

the 1st time i saw it i fell in love with it straight away esp the body n outlook

but i dunno is it a good bike or not

another choice 4 me is the bajaj pulsar

i like the sporty look of it

other then that i dunno unless u can recommend other model n i can go n look it up

3rd - Finances

like ive said earlier i haf 5k in my account

i would like 2 know how much does the machine cost

like the fz n pulsar

how much in total do i need when purchasing a bike

insurance, deposit, monthly payments - how do i manage?

or u guys haf any links 2 any good website that i can read

thx

urs sincerely noob asrudiano

My advise is to get your bike only after you have settled down in the army.

You may earn from 300+ to 1k plus. You may be a stay on or a stay our personnel. Perhaps you would like to share a bike with your relative?

A second hand bike costing below 3k would be a good option for you. Avoid brands which are not that common eg pulsar daelim as parts are costlier.

If you get a new bike now, you have to go by installments and if anything happens to that machine, there goes your savings.

A typical maintainence of a 2b bike would cost from 100-200 inclusive of insurance, wear and tear, parking, oil changes etc. Excluding petrol. Excluding the monthly installments.

So if youre earning 300, i'd say scrap the idea and you'll be happier

congrat on u passing. nw sure itch want to buy bike so think carefully wat bike tat u can afford so wont hit yr pocket tat bad. just ride safe buddy.

do not DRINK n RIDE:cheeky:

congrats on passing! passing 2B is indeed a moment that will be remembered for a long time. treasure the license, don't beat red light(12 demerit points!)

anyway when you are in army, riding time probably not that much. i suggest get a 2nd hand cheap bike (below 2k). after ns, get a 2A, which will be more suitable to use as transport till you get a car. 2A got the "fun" factor that 2b cant offer much. this way, you get to save that little peanut salary from army for your own use. unless you sign on la. haha

last time i passed and got a 7year old phantom 200 for $1600, 3mths before enlistment. cheap and good for my use. 1year later changed to cb400. =D

this sunday i coming back to bbdc

theres a new class called expressway familiariarisation smthing2 arnd there

its optional n foc so i just took it with a couple of guy who pass the tp wif me

looking 4ward to it

will b using p plate instead of L plate uwahahaha

the feeling of just pass 2b is just like the same when just f some1

dam happy

congrats on passing! passing 2B is indeed a moment that will be remembered for a long time. treasure the license, don't beat red light(12 demerit points!)

anyway when you are in army, riding time probably not that much. i suggest get a 2nd hand cheap bike (below 2k). after ns, get a 2A, which will be more suitable to use as transport till you get a car. 2A got the "fun" factor that 2b cant offer much. this way, you get to save that little peanut salary from army for your own use. unless you sign on la. haha

last time i passed and got a 7year old phantom 200 for $1600, 3mths before enlistment. cheap and good for my use. 1year later changed to cb400. =D

i was planning on doing wad u did

try 2 get a cheap n good 2nd hand bike then get a super 4

so ive done my research n talk 2 my fren uncle (his quite an expert he know alot about bikes n prices, he got 2 bike 1 is r1 another is i dunno wad model the tank dam big2 1 honda)

1. RXZ with 3~4yrs coe left arnd 1k~2k

2. CBF 150 with 6~7yrs left arnd 3k~4k

3. ta200

4. or a pulsar 200

so if i spend 4k on the machine i haf arnd 4k+ left in saving

BUT BUT BUT BUT THEN ........ JENG JENG JENG (SOUND EFFECT)

my father ask me wad bike i wan buy n i said like the abv paragraph posted

then he say y dowan buy 1st hand bike n no need get 2a la, ride bike 4 transport only then get car

wad he said is true if can i wan get a 1st hand bike so i can ride that bike all the way till car

i tell him i scared cannot afford 4 the bike since i set aside only arnd 4k+ 4 bike n the rest 4 saving

then he say wait nxt yr arnd february like that cos we moving house later got xtra money i give u

I WAS LIKE "WTF!!!!"

cos when i enroll he got say the course n bike all i buy myself n my mindset was already dead set that i was on my own

but wad he said is true, cos he himself ride 2b all the way till now mid 40s

my mother dont let me ride bike but my father let me cos he know the reason is only 4 transport n i cant afford a car yet

so i must respect his decisions n take into consideration his opinions

i ask him how much he give, he say dunno cos must buy new TV, furniture , renovation bla bla mayb "A FEW THOUSAND"

then he say get 1st hand bike arnd 7k can buy last u all the way

rather then i buy 2nd hand bike 2k~4k wad if spoil or wad

then need mod waste money, n also no need buy 2a waste money, just get a good 1st bike all the way

im seriously considering this n THE FZ16 straight away come in mind( or was is the FZ150,same or not?)

but i try not 2 get over my head

he said "A FEW THOUSAND" so if the amt is 1k only he will say "one thousand" but he said "a few" so i take the min. amt "a few" which is 2k

so by the end of this mnth i will haf arnd 8k +-

n by nxt yr february with my share of money from moving house, i will haf 10k (min. if he give me only 2k)

then NS pay from nov dec jan feb got 4 mth pay but i dowan count that 1 in 1st

so 10k hmmmmm

how??

i cant wait to enlist so i can faster POP n get posted n then see the situation

Edited by Asrudiano Hernandez