I know few years ago there is few bike shops that involve in our local races

like First Motor,Wing Yap,Xtreme,Teo Spray,Sporting Motor n many others.......

wondering this coming season any bike shops got support some of their customers

or sponsor riders for the event :confused:

I may not win but I can crash as good as anyone

• Replies 21

How do one get sponsorship from the various shops ahh ? :sweat:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y153/nocturnized/Sep2.jpg

"Me don't love fighting... but is better to die fighting for freedom than to be a prisoner all the days of your life." - Bob Marley

Originally posted by nocturnized@February 04, 2007 07:02 pm

1st, for full sponsorship.. you must be damn lucky, be Somebody or damn quick(which does not really matter actually, slow also ok)!!! My pals and I not sponsored, the shop just support us in whatever way they can... By giving us good guidance and maybe priority service if needed...

I think in 2001-2003, TSP, HKL, Wing Yap fully sponsored their riders( bikes, parts etc..many money involved). Excel too at one point. I'm not too sure about the underbone classes but surely many out there... In Singapore, got people help already fortunate. Most are not too concerned bout winning or whatever, just help out for the sport's sake and the riders who put in the effort to race ---- which is very kind. Good luck to all...:hungry:

Originally posted by nocturnized@February 04, 2007 07:02 pm

first i think u got to be fast. but not very very fast la.. :sweat:

then must have some race experience lor n also result.

if not who want to sponsor right?

Maybe i guess one have to fork out his/her own money for the expenses in the beginning. Only if they're lucky to get spotted by a talent searcher, maybe then it'll be a different story laa..

Money money money :faint: hehehe :sweat:

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y153/nocturnized/Sep2.jpg

"Me don't love fighting... but is better to die fighting for freedom than to be a prisoner all the days of your life." - Bob Marley

Originally posted by Newbie`41@February 04, 2007 06:53 pm

How about above 400cc Categories ? So far, I think Bikelab has the most number of competitiors coming from them.

Any other shops ?

Gerry Looi. A couple of bikes, suport mostly. :thumb:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

It's a matter of who you knows and who knows you.

Even if you are the fastest rider, that doesn't mean you will get full sponsorship (e.g riding on the shop's bike). Only 1 or 2 riders have been paid to race in the Johor Race Series.

As 5th rider mention, you must be damn lucky!

Being 'partially sponsored' is already good enough. That means buying equipments at cost price, and maybe free servicing.

I've personally seen, heard and experience that 'slower riders' get full support instead of faster riders because they have been the shop customers for many years.

Unless media coverage is increased, a race track is built here and the shops can reap benefits from the sponsorship, things will remain this way.

This is a 'rich man' sport, as you would already know it by now.

Meanwhile, you will have to fork out your own $$.

Originally posted by KISS@February 05, 2007 09:17 am

Unless media coverage is increased, a race track is built here and the shops can reap benefits from the sponsorship, things will remain this way.

Yup....here in SG, all race for PASSION rather for PROFITS. Respect those who are joining the 2007 races in Johor Circuit and Sepang!!!

:bow: :bow: :bow:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by KISS@February 05, 2007 09:17 am

It's a matter of who you knows and who knows you.

Even if you are the fastest rider, that doesn't mean you will get full sponsorship (e.g riding on the shop's bike). Only 1 or 2 riders have been paid to race in the Johor Race Series.

As 5th rider mention, you must be damn lucky!

Being 'partially sponsored' is already good enough. That means buying equipments at cost price, and maybe free servicing.

I've personally seen, heard and experience that 'slower riders' get full support instead of faster riders because they have been the shop customers for many years.

FACT. But "UNfortunately" racing still damn kick leh... Hard to stop.. :help:

Originally posted by Newbie`41@February 05, 2007 08:51 pm

Motor Culture Asia just covered the local Mass sportsbikes gathering.

I wonder if they will cover Johor Race series and give local riders more exposure.

mca should go down pg and sepang for the races n

take some pictures. if not everytime see sdvertisment also sian..:giddy:

Originally posted by JawsJaws@February 07, 2007 11:35 pm

look like not many ppl got supported by shop hor :cry:

or is it u guys pai sey to share :confused:

:confused: Why should one feel paiseh about being a sponsored rider??? :confused:

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg
Originally posted by Slowpoke34@February 08, 2007 01:43 am

Until there is a track in Singapore, there will be almost no support from SG bike shops...

Yup, quite true..

But actually IMO, I felt that "When there is a track in Singapore, there will be an overwhelming support by SG bike shops..." is more apt/ true.

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg
Originally posted by stroker@February 08, 2007 01:58 am

Yup, quite true..

But actually IMO, I felt that "When there is a track in Singapore, there will be an overwhelming support by SG bike shops..." is more apt/ true.

I dun think there will be a track

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg
Originally posted by JawsJaws@February 07, 2007 11:35 pm

look like not many ppl got supported by shop hor :cry:

or is it u guys pai sey to share :confused:

If I sponsored rider I sure damn HAO-LIAN leh...I mean "happy" in the most extreme way... :help: