i tink height not a prob , im 1.7m n i can flat foot on 1 leg when at traffic lights or

u if i want to put both feet just a slight tip toe no probs~~~

u should try a super tenere xt660 then u knoe the diff haha~~~~

Hey all. Looking to upgrade to a used Honda Silverwing 600 should I get my Class 2 next year. Currently riding Majesty 400. Haha. I'm currently 20yrs old, just graduated from Diploma.

May I just know what's the reason why BoonSiew don't bring in the NC700S DCT version?? I sat on a NC700X and my 1.68m frame struggles to have my feet flat on the ground. The NC700S being the street version feels less cumbersome and seems more agile than the Adventure version of the NC700X.

I really love the dummy fuel tank storage. I think it makes a lot of sense. That's the reason why I probably won't be going for the CTX700 (cruiser style NC700) as the fuel tank is not under the pillion seat, but where it usually is located. Thus it will lose the really useful dummy tank storage, in favor for only a small glove compartment.

Although the NC700S doesn't have road presence parked with CBF150 and FZ150i, it makes good practical sense as an everyday ride as it's narrow enough to squeeze between traffic and all (Not that our roads / parking spaces are getting larger by the day)......

So the NC700S DCT ABS model is only available via parallel imports from Japan??

Hey all. Looking to upgrade to a used Honda Silverwing 600 should I get my Class 2 next year. Currently riding Majesty 400. Haha. I'm currently 20yrs old, just graduated from Diploma.

May I just know what's the reason why BoonSiew don't bring in the NC700S DCT version?? I sat on a NC700X and my 1.68m frame struggles to have my feet flat on the ground. The NC700S being the street version feels less cumbersome and seems more agile than the Adventure version of the NC700X.

I really love the dummy fuel tank storage. I think it makes a lot of sense. That's the reason why I probably won't be going for the CTX700 (cruiser style NC700) as the fuel tank is not under the pillion seat, but where it usually is located. Thus it will lose the really useful dummy tank storage, in favor for only a small glove compartment.

Although the NC700S doesn't have road presence parked with CBF150 and FZ150i, it makes good practical sense as an everyday ride as it's narrow enough to squeeze between traffic and all (Not that our roads / parking spaces are getting larger by the day)......

So the NC700S DCT ABS model is only available via parallel imports from Japan??

both the ctx700 and ctx700n has a small glove compartment as well...

just not as huge as the NC...

the fuel tank is slightly smaller at 11+L...

height is not a problem...

i am about 1.67-68 and riding a NCX...

you can trim the seat slightly or you can get the lowering kit...

with the lowering kit you need to trim the side and main stand...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

I'm comfortable on the NC700S. All I'd want is DCT model, and ERMAX aftermarket tall windshield. Haha.

NC700X is too tall for me already.

V-Strom 650 pre-current model is better IMO. Haha. If it's on the current V-Strom model with the new headlights, I'd say, go change to the NC700X. haha.

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

i like the older version's v storm's head light alot better than the current too haha, but one great plus is the wind deflecting ability. heard even with stock windscreen, the wind protection is good enough

By the way, can someone enlighten me the difference between getting PI bike and agent bike??

my two babes..

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/malex_sky/signature.jpg

hot babes...

@yinghai basically agent bike = covered by boon siew warranty, if there are any official recall etc.. boon siew settle for you. but have to go back to agent for servicing and caution on what you do in order not to void the warranty

PI bike = warranty given by the shop, which the shop will determine what is covered and what is not.

looking at the history of the bike, so far there has been 1 recall for bikes with a certain type of chain, which have been resolved.

it will be soon 1 year since the first nc7 touches down singapore which means that batch warranty will end soon.

will you be pimping your bike extensively to void warranty or bringing to your own bike shop for servicing?

end of the day, PI bike should be slightly cheaper than agent. with this you can weight the difference and see if you want to take agent bike for warranty, or PI for the $ savings.

last consideration might be, the availablity of the bike if you are in a hurry.

hope it helps.

(\__/)

(='.'=) This is Bunny. Paste bunny into

(")_(") your sig to help him gain world domination

I'm comfortable on the NC700S. All I'd want is DCT model, and ERMAX aftermarket tall windshield. Haha.

V-Strom 650 pre-current model is better IMO. Haha. If it's on the current V-Strom model with the new headlights, I'd say, go change to the NC700X. haha.

i have sat on a fellow nc7 who installed lowering kit and shortern his sidestand and mainstand. i am about the same height as you and i was able to flat foot on both.

on my own bike, initially i also felt a little uncomfortable having only abt 1/3 foot on ground. but after running in the suspension, putting rear boxes, it helps a bit to make the bike lower. i believe the bike can go even lower if you add in panniers to add on the weight.

(\__/)

i like the older version's v storm's head light alot better than the current too haha, but one great plus is the wind deflecting ability. heard even with stock windscreen, the wind protection is good enough

Mine is the old model....

jus went bike shop yesterday..

Boss say :" ur engine everything in very good condition....Can keep la..."

Me :" .really ah...er... .okay lor"

I agree the headlight is big and windshield is so much better

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

;7865948']i have sat on a fellow nc7 who installed lowering kit and shortern his sidestand and mainstand. i am about the same height as you and i was able to flat foot on both.

on my own bike, initially i also felt a little uncomfortable having only abt 1/3 foot on ground. but after running in the suspension, putting rear boxes, it helps a bit to make the bike lower. i believe the bike can go even lower if you add in panniers to add on the weight.

Wizard you refering to a red/black color one right.

I think he went to Ah Ann's to shorten the side stand and he came to me... hahaha. Nicely done.. looks ok to me

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

My dad used to own the K4 V-Strom 650. Haha. I'd say, it's the best 650cc adventure tourer out there in the market. It has good road presence and all. My dad sold the bike off as he don't want to ride something which he has to tip toes on.

Well, the NC700X does look good luh, especially with the front beak. But realistically, the height just ain't mangeable for me (at least when compared to the NC700S where I can comfortably put my feet flat on the ground). I don't intend to install side panniers also as I'll be using the bike as an everyday ride; Peak hour traffic lane splitting will be affected with side panniers.

Honda did say in their press announcement that there will be more models based on the NC-chassis which will be released in the coming months. Not to worry for me, as I can afford to wait =D

P.S. Parallel Import is where one bike shop here liaise with another distributor in OEM country to carry their stocks here. So in that sense, both parties win. The shop back in the OEM country is able to achieve more sales, and the local shop is able to sell at a more competitive price than the official distributor / agent.

My dad used to own the K4 V-Strom 650. Haha. I'd say, it's the best 650cc adventure tourer out there in the market. It has good road presence and all. My dad sold the bike off as he don't want to ride something which he has to tip toes on.

Well, the NC700X does look good luh, especially with the front beak. But realistically, the height just ain't mangeable for me (at least when compared to the NC700S where I can comfortably put my feet flat on the ground). I don't intend to install side panniers also as I'll be using the bike as an everyday ride; Peak hour traffic lane splitting will be affected with side panniers.

Honda did say in their press announcement that there will be more models based on the NC-chassis which will be released in the coming months. Not to worry for me, as I can afford to wait =D

P.S. Parallel Import is where one bike shop here liaise with another distributor in OEM country to carry their stocks here. So in that sense, both parties win. The shop back in the OEM country is able to achieve more sales, and the local shop is able to sell at a more competitive price than the official distributor / agent.

I read is a 500 version coming up.... hmmmm

I wonder if there is a "torque-ier" version coming up? hhahahaha

Mine is the old model....

jus went bike shop yesterday..

Boss say :" ur engine everything in very good condition....Can keep la..."

Me :" .really ah...er... .okay lor"

I agree the headlight is big and windshield is so much better

it could also means your bike is in a resaleable condition to contribute to your upgrade :)

(\__/)

;7866152']it could also means your bike is in a resaleable condition to contribute to your upgrade :)

I would think so too..

no one wanna let go... ^_^....

I touch up abit since my completion of my part time studies... .i see liao lagi 舍不得 ... .hahahah

You mean the CB500X or V-Strom 500?? There will be new license legislation coming up in Europe. Their Class 2B equivalent is for 16years old to hang L-Plate and ride up to 125cc. Their Class 2A is for 17years and above teenagers to ride up to 50 (or was it 55bhp, I can't remember the exact figures).... Then after 18-19years of age, they can ride anything....

So Singapore ain't the only country with the 3-tired motorcycle license =D

I initially had wanted to consider the Honda Integra 700, however, after seeing the dismal underseat storage compartment, and the wider seat which meant I had to tip toe, really, the NC700S got more appealing to me by the day. Now it's just a matter of having the DCT version coming in (and of course to adopt the wait and see approach for newer NC-based models to be launched in the coming months, if not years).

My dream bike is actually the Yamaha XVS950 / 1300 luh. But Cruisers aren't practical as a daily ride (especially not during our peak hour traffic conditions)....

You mean the CB500X or V-Strom 500?? There will be new license legislation coming up in Europe. Their Class 2B equivalent is for 16years old to hang L-Plate and ride up to 125cc. Their Class 2A is for 17years and above teenagers to ride up to 50 (or was it 55bhp, I can't remember the exact figures).... Then after 18-19years of age, they can ride anything....

So Singapore ain't the only country with the 3-tired motorcycle license =D

i mean e NC700.. got a 500 series version...

Yes, the CB500 series.

The seat height only 1+ inches lower than NC700X's. And it is a big question whether local shops would bring this model in. 500cc only.

http://i.imgur.com/lghM9Dn.jpg

Model CBR500R / CBR500RA

Price: $5999 ($6499 w/ ABS)

Engine Type: 500cc liquid-cooled parallel-twin

Bore and Stroke: 67.0mm x 66.8mm

Compression ratio: 10.7:1

Valve Train: DOHC; four valves per cylinder

Induction: PGM-FI with 34mm throttle bodies

Ignition: Computer-controlled digital transistorized with electronic advance

Transmission: Six-speed

Final Drive: O-ring-sealed chain

Suspension

Front: 41mm fork; 4.3 inches travel

Rear: Pro-Link single shock with nine-position spring preload adjustability; 4.7 inches travel

Brakes (Optional Honda ABS)

Front: Twin-piston caliper with single 320mm wave disc

Rear: Single-caliper 240mm wave disc

Tires

Front: 120/70-17

Rear: 160/60-17

Wheelbase: 55.5 inches

Rake (Caster Angle): 25°5'

Trail: 103mm (4.05 inches)

Seat Height: 30.9 inches

Fuel Capacity: 4.1 gallons including 0.7-gallon reserve

Estimated Fuel Economy**: TBD

Colors

CBR500R: Black, Pearl White/Blue/Red, Red

CBR500RA: Red

Curb Weight*: 425 pounds (CBR500R) / 429 pounds (CBR500RA)

Goo

Current - Honda NC700XD

Previous - Honda Deauville 650 VY

Previous - Honda ST1100

Previous - Honda Super Four Version S

Previous - Honda Phantom TA200

Recently, Honda USA's VP announced that they are already developing a higher CC version based on the NC700X's engine, after feedback from the US market.

This new model could be the "torque-ier" version that you are looking for.

But the VP never clarify whether this new model would be a true adventure bike or another commuter cloaked in adventure styling.

Just in case it turns out to be HONDA GT1200HFT, I am putting aside my teh si money now.

1200cc parallel twin engine tuned for maximum torque and fuel efficiency.

Transmission: HFT 2.0 with infinity gearing and maintenance-free for 200,000km.

(Upgraded version of DN-01's Human Friendly Transimission)

Power: 110HP @ 6000rpm

Torque: 120Nm @ 5000rpm

25 litre tank under the seat. Front stowage compartment can be converted to 30 litre auxiliary fuel tank with optional accessories.

23km/litre. 55 litre full tank (both stock and auxiliary) can send you straight from Singapore to Hatyai without any need to top up along the way. LOL!

PS. I am a really big fan of Honda's HFT.

Edited by goomeister

Goo

Current - Honda NC700XD

Previous - Honda ST1100

Whoa lao.... The GT1200RD you made it up yourself one is it?? Haha. Can't find anything about it via google leh.

That'll be great lor. Anyways, CB500X no DCT. I only interested in auto-shift leh. I since Class 2B ride scooter liao. Hehe.

There's the Honda VFR1200X CrossTourer (with DCT option). But I sat on it first time at Looi's Motor, I thought it was manageable (though it took effort on my part to lean against the direction of the bike lean to get it off the side stand). 2nd time I went, whoa lao, can't even tip the bike from the side stand. Forget it lah. S$32k is way beyond my affordability. Haha.

Whoa lao.... The GT1200RD you made it up yourself one is it?? Haha. Can't find anything about it via google leh.

That'll be great lor. Anyways, CB500X no DCT. I only interested in auto-shift leh. I since Class 2B ride scooter liao. Hehe.

There's the Honda VFR1200X CrossTourer (with DCT option). But I sat on it first time at Looi's Motor, I thought it was manageable (though it took effort on my part to lean against the direction of the bike lean to get it off the side stand). 2nd time I went, whoa lao, can't even tip the bike from the side stand. Forget it lah. S$32k is way beyond my affordability. Haha.

Of course lah. But I decided to change the name to GT1200HFT.

As much as I like DCT 2.0, I would like HFT 2.0 even better.

DN-01's HFT is very satki! Infinite gear ratio! Can you imagine the fuel efficiency at top speed?

CB500X is a CB series afterall. Honda's CB series bikes all manual transimission only. This bike is made to bridge the gap between 1st and 3rd tier bike licensing for Europe market.

Prior to buying my NC700XD, I was also considering the CrossTourer with DCT.

But its FC really sucks with that V4 engine and that tiny fuel tank... 21 litres... WTF.

I strap 2 x 1.5 litres Coke bottles of Shell 95 to my ol'Deauville's 19 litre tank ah, I would have longer range than the $32k CrossTourer.

Some say you pay for the ego trip lor.

Fortunately, my peasant income only allows 1 bike and NC700XD it is.

Goo

Current - Honda NC700XD

Previous - Honda ST1100

Of course lah. But I decided to change the name to GT1200HFT.

As much as I like DCT 2.0, I would like HFT 2.0 even better.

DN-01's HFT is very satki! Infinite gear ratio! Can you imagine the fuel efficiency at top speed?

CB500X is a CB series afterall. Honda's CB series bikes all manual transimission only. This bike is made to bridge the gap between 1st and 3rd tier bike licensing for Europe market.

Prior to buying my NC700XD, I was also considering the CrossTourer with DCT.

But its FC really sucks with that V4 engine and that tiny fuel tank... 21 litres... WTF.

I strap 2 x 1.5 litres Coke bottles of Shell 95 to my ol'Deauville's 19 litre tank ah, I would have longer range than the $32k CrossTourer.

Some say you pay for the ego trip lor.

Fortunately, my peasant income only allows 1 bike and NC700XD it is.

Haha. Ok. I sure do hope Honda comes out a bike with the Honda Jazz engine strapped to it. Haha. But I'm guessing, it won't be 1.3L but more of 900cc max. Afterall, it's still designed and engineered for fuel efficiency (thanks to rising gas; Ang Moh term for petrol, prices).....

The dummy tank storage idea ain't new. It first appeared on the Aprilia Mana 850; Another road bike but using CVT with manual override function. Mah Motor can bring in, but it will need to pass LTA homologation tests. Then again, I don't trust italian bike when it comes to reliability. Haha. The Japanese do a better job at that.

hahaha... come come join us ... on the darkside... muahahahah:cool:

Wizard you refering to a red/black color one right.

I think he went to Ah Ann's to shorten the side stand and he came to me... hahaha. Nicely done.. looks ok to me

Haha. Ok. I sure do hope Honda comes out a bike with the Honda Jazz engine strapped to it. Haha. But I'm guessing, it won't be 1.3L but more of 900cc max. Afterall, it's still designed and engineered for fuel efficiency (thanks to rising gas; Ang Moh term for petrol, prices).....

The dummy tank storage idea ain't new. It first appeared on the Aprilia Mana 850; Another road bike but using CVT with manual override function. Mah Motor can bring in, but it will need to pass LTA homologation tests. Then again, I don't trust italian bike when it comes to reliability. Haha. The Japanese do a better job at that.

Ah Yes.... the Aprilla Mana 850...

http://i.imgur.com/DdmHOsD.jpg

I've never liked CVT transmission in cars and would probably dislike them in bikes too.

Pity there's no Mana in SG, else I would love to take this bike for a test spin just to feel how the CVT works.

I think there's a real-world reason for Honda's choice of storage compartment placement. They probably do not want to deal with all the potential safety issues arising from placing 14 litres of petrol on top of the engine.

They really skimped on materials in this area. The storage compartment is actually pretty warm after my commute. You probably wouldn't want to stow any ice-cream or chilled products in there for too long.

I was kinda surprised by how hot the NC700 engine runs. Honda did a pretty good job of deflecting all the heat away from you during the ride.

But the radiator was actually hot enough to toast you when you stopped the bike. And the radiator fan was still whirring like mad when the engine was killed. After a ride in the hot sun, it takes a few minutes for the radiator fan to decide that things are finally cool enough.

I just wished Honda gave us a separate headlight switch instead. You can't switch off the headlight without turning the ignition to OFF. Which means that to keep the radiator fan running, you have to leave the headlights on at the same time, draining the battery. Grr...

Goo

Current - Honda NC700XD

Previous - Honda ST1100

if honda really comes out with 1 n do it adventure bike style i buy it..............

Recently, Honda USA's VP announced that they are already developing a higher CC version based on the NC700X's engine, after feedback from the US market.

This new model could be the "torque-ier" version that you are looking for.

But the VP never clarify whether this new model would be a true adventure bike or another commuter cloaked in adventure styling.

Just in case it turns out to be HONDA GT1200HFT, I am putting aside my teh si money now.

1200cc parallel twin engine tuned for maximum torque and fuel efficiency.

Transmission: HFT 2.0 with infinity gearing and maintenance-free for 200,000km.

(Upgraded version of DN-01's Human Friendly Transimission)

Power: 110HP @ 6000rpm

Torque: 120Nm @ 5000rpm

25 litre tank under the seat. Front stowage compartment can be converted to 30 litre auxiliary fuel tank with optional accessories.

23km/litre. 55 litre full tank (both stock and auxiliary) can send you straight from Singapore to Hatyai without any need to top up along the way. LOL!

PS. I am a really big fan of Honda's HFT.